Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,368 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 9 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

May 272010

Impala

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Security light blinking car will not start. Had fixed at GM dealership for $559 picked it up 3 days ago it just did the same thing tonight.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #51

Jan 012010

Impala

  • 89,000 miles
Vehicle would fail to start however after 10 minutes would start. High beam out indicator will illuminate but at the same time both high beam headlights are stuck on and will not go off. Multiple diagnostics no problem found. Replaced, BCM ok for a week problem returned. Dealership stumped.

- Ravenswood, WV, USA

problem #50

Apr 152010

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
Car will not start then will start 10 minutes later, or while your riding down the road all the lights interior and exterior will flash on and off.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #49

Apr 012010

Impala

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2003 Chevrolet Impala ls has had this problem for years and everyone else with the Impala have the same problem. Why is there no recall? the dealerships have been charging people $600 to change the ignitian that doesn't even fix the problem. That is what they charged me 3 years ago. The car will not start once in awhile and you have to wait 15-20 minutes for it to finally start. It started out every other month then every month then twice a month. Now in 2010 it happens 2-3 times a week for me. Here is one of the many forums about this problem 64.13.204.178/Chevrolet/Impala/2002/electrical/passlock_problem_wont_start_and_security_light_is_on.shtml

- Quincy, MA, USA

problem #48

Dec 172009

Impala

  • miles
I own a 2003 chev. Impala, ls and cannot drive with the bright lights on as they only remain on 3-to-5 minutes and go out completely. This is very nerve wracking and dangerous. Thus, I no longer use high beam and was told a new switch for $500 plus installation was needed. This has occurred since I purchased with warranty left, but thought it was just a once or twice occurrence.

- Prince Albert , Sk, Canada, 00, USA

problem #47

Mar 102010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I have a 2003 Chevy Impala that has starting problems(no start). Since 2004, there have been at least 4 BCM and PCM modules installed on this car from the GM dealers in which I have all the paperwork for. For the first year, the security light would come on then car wouldn't start for 10-15mins. Then the second year car wouldn't start for 30-45mins. Take to dealer and they couldn't find any problems. So the third year, after missing alot of time from work, it starting doing the same thing and I had it towed to GM. They had it a week and still found no problems. Then the following week the same thing happened and towed again- this time they started throwing parts at it because they didn't have a clue( bill heard in plant city, fl). So after new parts, it ran for about 4-6 months and started doing the same thing. I again took to dealer and no problem found but they decided to put another BCM on it. Then it would work for a few weeks and then the security light, traction light, ABS light would come on and next time I try to start it then nothing would happen. So this is happening almost every other day now. This car has left me stranded so many times that I am sick of it and I keep putting money out for towing bills and all the GM dealer can tell me is to bring it in and they would look at it again. I have put out alot of money for bcms every year now and no warranty nor my money back for defective parts. I think GM has done a poor job at evaluating these concerns and do not care about the customer. Something needs to be done about this issue and a recall needs to be on all of the vehicles with the passlock II system.

- Mulberry, FL, USA

problem #46

Jan 012007

Impala 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2003 Chevy Impala that has starting problems(no start). Since 2004, there have been at least 4 BCM and PCM modules installed on this car from the GM dealers in which I have all the paperwork for. For the first year, the security light would come on then car wouldn't start for 10-15mins. Then the second year car wouldn't start for 30-45mins. Take to dealer and they couldn't find any problems. So the third year, after missing alot of time from work, it starting doing the same thing and I had it towed to GM. They had it a week and still found no problems. Then the following week the same thing happened and towed again- this time they started throwing parts at it because they didn't have a clue( bill heard in plant city, fl). So after new parts, it ran for about 4-6 months and started doing the same thing. I again took to dealer and no problem found but they decided to put another BCM on it. Then it would work for a few weeks and then the security light, traction light, ABS light would come on and next time I try to start it then nothing would happen. So this is happening almost every other day now. This car has left me stranded so many times that I am sick of it and I keep putting money out for towing bills and all the GM dealer can tell me is to bring it in and they would look at it again. I have put out alot of money for bcms every year now and no warranty nor my money back for defective parts. I think GM has done a poor job at evaluating these concerns and do not care about the customer. Something needs to be done about this issue and a recall needs to be on all of the vehicles with the passlock II system.

- Mulberry, FL, USA

problem #45

Jan 302010

Impala

  • 75,900 miles
2003 Chevy Impala 4 door. Whenever we drive the car at night with the headlights on high beams the go off completely. So when we are driving the speed limit like 65 it becomes very interesting. This happens about one minute after high beams are turned on. This has been happening since we purchase in February 2009. We want a vehicle recall, as there are many complaints on the webb. Does anybody have to die before action is taken by the gov or General Motors on this problem with the Impala.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #44

Feb 182009

Impala

  • miles
The pass lock security light would come on while driving then it would not allow me to restart the car. This happen at first 2 to 3 times a month at first then the last three of four months it takes place about 3 to for times a day. First the security pass lock would come on then the car dash boards ant every thing else would work but I just could not crack the car. Then the pass lock security would make everything the car turn off the car would not make a sound. Then it started running my battery down. Then it would run down the battery every other day. This is a danger because it has left me stranded late a night and also during the day. I have missed work due to this defect. I hope Chevy will do a recall. I see that I am not the only consumer with this problem. Even thou no death or accident took place due to this defect this is still a serious matter due to the fact that this problem has cost me wages and rest. I a life threatening emergency this car could cost a life all because I might not be able to get it to start.

- Duncanville , TX, USA

problem #43

Dec 232009

Impala

  • 50,000 miles
(1) nothing appears to lead up to the failure. At least there seems to be no rhyme or reason to it. (2) the failure is the car will not start at times. We bought the car used with approx. 26M miles on it. It did not do this for the first couple of years we had it, then it started it. At first we thought it was the battery since the car was about 3 years old at that time. That didn't stop it from doing it. Someone where we go to have the oil changed said he knew what to do when it does it which was disconnecting a battery cable. That seemed to work for awhile and then that stopped working. At first when it did it, it would only be approx. 15 minutes before it would start. Now it is up to over an hour. (3) the only money we have socked into it has been for a battery. From what I can gather on the internet, this is a very common problem.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #42

Oct 052009

Impala

  • 856,232 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2003 Chevrolet Impala has intermittent starting trouble. Sometime it will start fine and other times it wont. The dealership said it most likely the BCM or passlock system. This needs to be a recall. There is ongoing problems with all Chevrolet Impala for this issue. Stranded with kids all the time.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #41

Sep 302009

Impala

  • miles
After changing my battery on my car I notice now that my lights flicker on and off. There is also a clicking sound coming from underneath the dash and sometime my car will not start.

- Maynardville, TN, USA

problem #40

Aug 282009

Impala

  • 129,057 miles
I have a 2003 Chevrolet Impala with a 3.8 liter V-6. the car radio quit working and I had to pull out the fuse because it was sending strange error messages to the body control module. Now the BCM is having even more problems. The car turned itself of then back on while I was driving down the road. I pulled over and shut the car off. Then it would not start again. I pulled the fuse for the BCM an the car started and I made it home. What in the world did General Motors do to these cars. I have been reading numerous horror stories about their cars. Was there a recall to fix this problem or do I have to go to the dealer and spend a fortune to fix this garbage pretending to be a car. How can a car company get away with this poor quality control in this day and age? my security display now shows random errors like low fuel even after I filled up the tank. Not sure if any major damage was done to the car but now the transmission hesitates when it shifts.

- Hutto , TX, USA

problem #39

Aug 172009

Impala

  • 69,764 miles
I was driving my 2003 Chevy Impala and tried to signal a lane change and the flashers would not work for either direction. There was not any accident, but the situation was very aggravating. The car also has a history of oil seepage and it has only 70,000 miles on it. We bought the car 4 years ago at a used car dealer, and I change the oil myself every 3000 miles. The car is hard staring at times, and I had put a new battery in it 2 years ago due to the trouble starting.

- Geneva, OH, USA

problem #38

Apr 152008

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
I have 2003 Chevy Impala and has been failing to start for over a year. At first wait 10 to 15 minutes and try if it didn't start wait again and continue this until it did start. Then I found if you removed the BCM fuse and replaced it, the car would start. So I installed a switch to remove power from the BCM to reset it. Now depending on the outside temp. It takes 1 to 20 tries to start the car. This is very inconvenient and I feel dangerous because my wife primarily drive the car. I have read several forums about this problem and no one has been able to come up this a fix for this. I believe it should be recalled by GM.

- Newbern, TN, USA

problem #37

Jun 232009

Impala

  • 125,000 miles
The security light started flashing on and off, causing my headlights to flash while driving and causing the lights in my dashboard to flash also. It ended up stranding me in a parking lot because the so-called security feature on this car shut the ignition off and would not allow me to start my car.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #36

Jan 022009

Impala

  • 156,000 miles
My 2003 Chevy Impala security light comes on during driving car will stall or die causing me to have to cross traffic a T coast to get the emergency lane of road which is dangerous. Many times when I go to start vehicle it does nothing. After doing some online research I found that this a common issue with these vehicles. This is clearly a manufacture defect.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #35

Jan 012008

Impala

  • miles
Car will sometimes start and often not, unsafe if going on a trip internet says most likely problem is pass key or BCM module....

- Hamilton, 00, USA

problem #34

Feb 012009

Impala

  • 115,000 miles
I have had numerous problems related to the service traction service, ABS, failure starting (pass/lock system), and the security light on for no reason. About 2 years ago I had the ABS and traction system worked on for a total of around $250. About 1 month ago my ABS and traction caution lights came on and have stayed on to present day.

- Portland, TX, USA

problem #33

Feb 202008

Impala

  • miles
Passkey theft detterent system fails not allowing car to start. There is no work around except to return car to dealership.

- Frederick, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?