Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,368 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 11)

problem #212

Apr 232016

Impala 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In April I was driving G the car noticed that the temperature kept going on up and a smell was coming from under the hood. I took it to several mechanic and they all say its my I take manifold and/or head gasket. Also when [xxx] was driving [xxx] the car before anything the car would cut off while in a gear other than park. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #211

Feb 012016

Impala

  • miles
When I am driving down any road, stopped and turning the ABS system engages causing grinding noise. Loss of power and periodically brakes lock up and gas pedal locks. When pulling off from a stop I can not accelerate & RPM goes almost red line, car starts to jerk and and transmission doesn't shift. I have to let off gas pedal and allow to shift. It has stalled numorus times when pulling into traffic and almost caused me to be hit. The service traction control/ABS warning light dings and stays lit. I manually turn off ABS but problem still occurs. Also the wiring thru out the car has failed to my rearview mirror, domelights and radio panel. My gas mileage has significantly decreased. The problem started around the beginning of the year and has progressively gotten worse to the point I and scared to drive my car.

- Baker, FL, USA

problem #210

Aug 282016

Impala

  • 130,207 miles
Takata recall the security system is malfunctioning causing my car not to start sometimes when the sun is out. Also it takes a long time for the security system to reset itself and it takes forever

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #209

Jul 052016

Impala

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was traveling 45 mph when air bags deployed. No collision occurred, no one was injured, road was dry and smooth, traffic was light, road was very familiar. Called GM and they took vehicle to walter jackson Chevrolet in ringgold, ga for inspection. The cause, they found, was a persistent water leak behind the glove box which caused corrosion and caused the airbags to deploy. We have attempted to have this leak repaired multiple times, but attempts only succeeded temporarily, if at all. Found from internet searches that this is a common problem with GM vehicles. As I also drive a 2004 Impala that has had the same leak, I am concerned that its airbags could also deploy at any time. We are the second owners of this vehicle but are familiar with the car's history, as it was purchased from a family member. Kelley blue book values it at $2,000 and repairs are estimated at $4,000. Following is a list of repairs on the car, excepting routine maintenance: 12-20-2007- right side cowl panel seal- to fix leak under glove box 5-15-2010- body repair- grass fire got close enough to blister paint on right side of car before fire dept. Put it out. (we weren┐T there to move it.) 11-19-2013- windshield and gasket- leaking again. 5-13-2016- repair water leak- leaking again. This is a design flaw. There are several different after-market fixes on the internet that mechanically inclined people have devised, but this should not be necessary. The vehicle should be safe from this problem when it rolls off the assembly line.

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #208

Aug 152016

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Willoughby Hills, OH, USA

problem #207

Jul 022016

Impala

  • 275,000 miles
My turning signals work on and off all of a sudden. The first time it happened I was on the freeway and was attempting to get over and my right turning signal wouldn't work but the left turning signal worked fine. Then after a day or two the right turning signal would work but then the left turning signal won't work. Then all of a sudden they would both work then both stop working. Now a month has passed and neither one of them work most the time, but will work for a hot second and then stop working. This is only for the rear turning signal though the front turning signal have always worked properly and still do.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #206

Jul 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passlock theft deterrent system is not pleasant. The issue occurs whenever I have driven the car and then park it then when I come back to the car and try to start it, nothing happens. All the lights turn on and the needles on the gauges move and the security light is lit. I am left unable to start my vehicle for 15 minutes or longer. I have had to have my car toad home not nowing what this was and has also had to deal with this when I was out of town and not sure what was going on this is very inconvient. Why is this happening" I have been told by other Impala owners an dealers this is common in the Chevy Impala's. would like to know why this would not have been a recall seeing this has been an ongoing issue" I gave my son the car and would like to find out what is the cause of this. I do not want him strainded and I cant keep replacing parts hoping that works. Thank you for your time

- Massena, NY, USA

problem #205

Jun 272016

Impala

  • 170,000 miles
The passlock theft deterrent system is not pleasant. The issue occurs whenever I have driven the car and then park it for a few minutes and then when I come back to the car and try to start it, nothing happens. All the lights turn on and the needles on the gauges move and the security light is lit. I am left unable to start my vehicle for 10 minutes or longer. I live in an area where temperatures rise up to 120 plus degrees so being "stuck" trying to start my car is not pleasant especially when I have my child with me. Sometimes disconnecting the battery and reconnecting it works but not all the time. It seems like the passlock is kicking in more than usual. Is there a way to permanently disable this so I have no further problems, it is very frustrating and unsafe.

- Imperial, CA, USA

problem #204

Oct 142014

Impala

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver as the cruise control warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact also mentioned that when the ignition key was turned further to the right, the vehicle started to operate properly. The contact stated that the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #203

Nov 172015

Impala

  • 204,684 miles
I was in my car moving forward on a state highway with the air conditioning on when smoke stated to come out of the air vents. I turned off the air immediately, when I went to turn it back on it only worked on high sometimes. I took the car to get looked at, when they finished the inspection they said there was an electrical fire. They said the blower motor resistor, and temperature control assembly would need to be replaced, as well as the ac resister and control head needed to be replaced as well.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #202

Aug 112014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V400000 (electrical system) and 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling). The dealer was unable to supply the parts within a reasonable time frame so the contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact was to check with the manufacturer to determine if the parts would be supplied to a dealer to receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #201

Apr 142016

Impala

  • 32 miles
First was hazardous switch driving night lost lights on dash and driving light, took to dealer short out wiring from hazard switch cost $650 was told by service rep on going problem with it, next was security light coming on pulled over on highway turned key off would not start took to dealer said have issues with ignition switch going to cost $500. Said they know they have issues. We are retired military, this is wrong when they know they have issues they should be recalled.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #200

Jan 022016

Impala

  • 281,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the engine stalled several times, while driving at 60 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch failed. The ignition switch and cylinder were replaced however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle will be taken back to the dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 281,000.

- Sant Clara, CA, USA

problem #199

Mar 162005

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start until after several attempts and the anti-theft warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The engine computer was replaced however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 05/03/16 the consumer stated she was stranded on several occasions and had to wait anywhere from 15 minutes to 1/2 before the vehicle would re-start. Updated 05/05/16.

- Erlanger, KY, USA

problem #198

Mar 012016

Impala

  • 57,000 miles
After putting key into the ignition, then attempted to start the vehicle, the key would not turn. The key would go in/out, but would not turn to start the car. The steering wheel was not locked. After 20 minutes of tapping/shaking the key the ignition switch turned and the car was able to start. For the next week, the key was in/out of the ignition with trouble, then it happened again, stranding me at the store. This time it took over 1 hour to jar the key to be able to turn/start car. After review internet regarding this issue, it seems this is a well known issue with Chevy ignition cylinder locks. There are also many same complaints listed on file on this. Repair shop quotes $500 in parts/labor to fix. This should be a recall fix. This vehicle has only 57000 miles and I bought it used 6 years ago with only 9500 original miles.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #197

Feb 082016

Impala

  • 120,000 miles
Arrived at job, finished and car failed to start. When key was in ignition it would not turn. I waited over night and tried again it would not start. Car was parked, could not shift, steering was not locked. With door open the car dinged when key was inserted in the ignition.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #196

Feb 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle still does not operate properly after ignition switch recall notice repairs. The consumer stated the ignition continued to lock up. At times, he was unable to turn the key in the ignition, or it would simply cut off.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #195

Jun 202015

Impala

  • 100,000 miles
The airbag light constantly flashes off and on while driving.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #194

Jan 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall repairs issues. The consumer also stated the check engine, ABS and tire pressure light was on. Also, there was a click in the steering wheel when turning it, the vehicle had an oil leak, freon was leaking from the vehicle..

- Colerain, NC, USA

problem #193

Sep 142015

Impala

  • 195,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start as an abnormal sound emitted from the vehicle and various gauges fluctuated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact previously received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) and was informed that the part and tools to remedy the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 195,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Philadelphia, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?