Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,379 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Mar 012010


  • 129,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated while driving at 40 mph, the vehicle overheated without warning. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic but the failure could not be duplicated. The dealer advised diagnostic testing before repairs could be made to the vehicle. The contact declined. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the compliant. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 129,000 and the current mileage was 130,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #19

Feb 162010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Catalytic converter has failed.

- Batesburg-Leesville, SC, USA

problem #18

Jun 101999


  • miles
Chevrolet Impala 2003: Car won't start or even turn over when hot. After engine cool down start again as normal as new. If I turn the engine off after driving few miles I see on the information centre the passlock warning, radio is dead, interior lights are dead, and if I try to crank the engine absolutely nothing happen. I have the same problem even when the car was running ok let's say the night before, next day in the morning in a sunny day the car gets warm with the sun just by seating on my driveway and if I try to start the engine I have the same problem. I have to push it under a tree, open hood and doors let it seating on the shade for few minutes and when the body is cold, the car start normally. This is driving me crazy because I cant use my car during the summer (it won't start), and during spring, fall, and winter I have to leave the engine running while I do my shopping and other stuff. This is a risk, my car can be stolen and is too much gas consumption. Thanks for your attention. How can I fix this problem. I took my car to GM dealer but they changed BCM and battery but never fix the real problem.

- Niagara Falls, 00, USA

problem #17

Nov 062009


  • miles


My 2003 Impala has trouble starting when the car is hot: When we drive the car for over a hour sometimes less we can not get it to re-start until it cools down for a least a hour. Have taken it to the dealer they can not get it to duplicate they replaced all kinds of parts and have no idea, had it towed several times to the dealer when it happens (there request). Makes it difficult to travel as you have to leave it running to get gas etc. Unless you want to sit for a hour every time.

- Fayetteville , GA, USA

problem #16

Oct 202009

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,651 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The vehicle will stall without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for inspection. Since the dealer could not duplicate the failure, they could not provide a remedy. The current and failure mileages were 50651. Updated 12/09/09 the consuemr stated the vehicle will turn over, but will not start. Updated 12/10/09

- Riceville, TN, USA

problem #15

Jun 012009


  • 124,864 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that there was a persistent burning odor in the vehicle. While pouring oil into the vehicle, the engine compartment erupted into flames. The contact extinguished the fire with water. A few unknown components were damaged; however, the vehicle was still able to be driven. She later received a recall notice, which stated that there could potentially be a fire under the hood due to drops of engine oil deposited into the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repair. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were less than 124,864. Updated 07/14/09 after the recall repair was completed, it was discovered the vehicle had an intake manifold leak which caused the vehicle to overheat. Prior to the recall, the consumer stated she never had a problem with the vehicle overheating. Updated 07/15/09.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 142009


  • miles


I bought a 2003 Chevrolet Impala about a year and a half ago. On valentines day I pulled over on the side of the road for a funeral, the next thing I know my then boyfriend now husband told me to get out of the car the whole passenger side of the vehicle was on fire. I am grateful that we got my then five month old daughter out of the vehicle. We had no idea that could happen. My father called and informed me that there is now a recall on that model car. The car burnt completely. On the recall my father informed me that it was for 3.8 liter. I do not believe mine was a 3.8 liter but my vehicle was a V6. It was either a 3.4 or a 3.6 liter. I was wondering if there was anything that could be done about this incident. I lost everything in that vehicle. It would be great if there is anything that could be done. The police were not contacted but the fire department was present to put out the fire.

- Mercer, TN, USA

problem #13

Jan 012009


  • 36,300 miles
My 2003 Chevy Impala had lost all the dex cool antifreeze and was overheating w/the engine light coming on. On further investigation, my mechanic says it is the intake manifold and is likely caused by the dex cool coolant as this has been an ongoing problem with that particular coolant clogging up and destroying the intake manifold. I checked out the website for dexcool and you had to be in on the claim by October 2008 to get any type of reimbursement. It is January 09 so I guess I am now stuck with the problem"???" I am requesting a total recall of all the vehicle made with dex cool as this is eating through and destroying the cheaply made parts of my car. A search on the internet amazingly brought up so many problems with these poorly made parts it is sickening. I am upset that I received nothing from my dealer regarding this problem or from GM for that matter. Recall this problem and make the automaker responsible. By the way, my car has only 36,000 miles on it. Take that for a car in need of a costly repair with that few of miles! thanks for your help in this matter as it is very frustrating as a consumer.

- Bascom, OH, USA

problem #12

Oct 152007


  • 61,437 miles
2003 Chevy Impala with 61,000 miles had transmission rebuilt, replace radiator, heater core, water pump and intake manifold all due to dexcool dumping into all the above from radiator called chervolet and dexcool manufacture they blamed one another for the problem, neither did anything about. Resulting in $2293.87 worth of repairs and not to mention no vehicle for over 3 weeks does not include price of rental for a week or so and time off for running vehicle to repair shops.

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #11

Nov 052005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,694 miles
Took vehicle in to dealer for regular maintenance, told that lower intake gasket was leaking bad and needs immediate replacement as well as coolant flush. Total for repair is $1450. Vehicle has only 83K miles.

- North Street, MI, USA

problem #10

Apr 082007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,991 miles


My 2003 Impala cuts off at low speed high speed and while in idle the car has been to the dealership for repairs they cannot answer what is wrong with the car, but I keep getting billed for them to diagnose the issue, I got my car back on 4/11/2007 and on the next morning while the car was warming in the drive way it shut off and was hard to restart I was advised by the dealership my fuel filter was the issue

- Coolidge, AZ, USA

problem #9

Mar 042007


  • miles
Bought Chevrolet Impala in 2002 car had 5 miles on it and I put the 5 miles by test driving the car I wouldn't recommend anyone to by a Chevrolet. Chevrolet doesn't stand by their cars I had to replaces the intake gaskets and a catalytic and a water pump and this week I had to put a transmission in it this week and that cost me 2400 and Chevrolet would nt help us a all, Chevrolet said that it had to many miles on it what do they want for a car to have no miles on it I drive to work and back. I don't think Chevrolet should had to paid for the transmission but I would like them to help us and stand by a american made car.

- Amelia, OH, USA

problem #8

Feb 122007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,275 miles
Noticed it took longer for the car to heat up last winter; this winter started out the same, and I noticed the blower wouldn't work on setting 5 sometimes. Then it quit heating altogether, and the fan would quit but start back up. Now the fan quit blowing altogether. No heat, no defrost, in sub-zero weather, and I'm looking at about $1000 in "repairs" which should be covered as a manufacturer's defect. Thanks GM. I'll be sure to buy another of your vehicles. There is a manifold gasket leak, and the blower motor needs to be replaced.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #7

Dec 182006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,904 miles
I have a 2003 Chevrolet Impala which has 46,904 miles on it and it required the following at a cost of $1,150 to fix. I brought it to the dealer for a no heat problem, upon inspecting the vehicle it was found to need new lower intake manifold gaskets, new water pump, flushing and new dexcool antifreeze because of contamination.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #6

Nov 112006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,671 miles
Complaints of engine temperature always ended with no found problems on vehicle owned and serviced regularly since purchased new in April 2003. Regular oil changes and engine coolant flush as recommended by manufacturer were completed and still no problems found. At 75,671 miles dealer found intake gaskets leaking and said engine damage would occur if not replaced. Repair cost $658. Found that technical service bulletins indicate this is a know problem in a host of GM vehicles from 2000. Public is being forced to pay for major engine repairs for poor engineering on the part of the manufacturer. Engine failure due to this problem could result in serious accident for the less than knowledgeable driver. Environmental concerns with poor less than optimal engine performance, loss of coolant, oil, etc. Should also be considered. How many of these repairs have been done over the span of years by the manufacturer" how many uninformed consumers have been duped by this lack of manufacturer responsibility"

- Crimora, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 242006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The car starting smelling like anti-freeze and then a big puddle appeared in the front passenger side of the car. The only thing we did was drive from nampa, id to billings, mt, which we have done four times before. It has been determined that the heater core needs to be replaced. The car has 68,000 miles on it right now as of July 28th, 2006. In novemeber of 2003, three months after I bought the car, the heater core was replaced at 31,000 by the lithia dealership in helena, mt. The intake manifold was also replaced in May 2006 because the car was overheating and making a ticking noise.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #4

May 252006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,350 miles
Had to have upper and lower manifold gasket replaced on 2003 Impala. Sound of water within the dash. Tsb on same issue back in 2000 GM is aware of this why aren't owners being helped with faulty gaskets. Tbs #03034 NHTSA #10003430. Why are we in a position to damage an engine or worse and GM has no responsibility in such a crucial componet. Its affected every model year Impala 2000-2003 many tbs's listed each year. They repaired my Impala at full cost to(48K.) me. I would not purchase a new car with this being a hazard to me and my family. I was just surprised no reaction until someone gets hurt. Also a very expensive repair for a newer car.

- Fishersville, VA, USA

problem #3

Jan 062006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
Experienced engine temp fluctuations during this time the heat in the vehicle would not work, after the car was running and warmed up problem would stop. Car heated up to just below the over heat point in rush hour traffic. Brought the car into repair shop they stated the intake gasket need to be replaced ($900). The car is only 3 years old with less than 50,000 miles on it.

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #2

Mar 202005


  • miles
Took car to have a simple oil change, I get a phone call informing that I need major work done. I purchased my Chevrolet Impala in 2003, and now I'm being told I have almost a thousand dollars of work that needs to be done. I recently found out that a close relative and a neighbor who also have 2003, Chevrolet vehicles (cars) needed the same work done to their car. The cars coolant is somehow mixing with the oil, becoming a slude like substance causing the oil to dirty. This is causing all kinds of problems, the car is running hot, and the temperature guage is jumping frantically. Three different cars, all the same year/make, and engine setup; I think there is definitely a defect in here somewhere.

- Laplace, LA, USA

problem #1

Jan 052004


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at various speeds vehicle intermittently stalled. Consumer towed the vehicle to the dealer, technician could not duplicate or correct the problem.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?