Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,379 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Feb 092016

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.....updated 07/05/16 updated 07/21/16.

- Milwaukee, WY, USA

problem #39

Dec 152015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification for the engine and engine cooling. The parts were not available within a reasonable time frame so the contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was unable to determine when the parts would be supplied to the dealer. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/14/16 the valve cover gasket and trque bolts wrer replaced. Updated 06/27/16.

- Fort Morgan, CO, USA

problem #38

Mar 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to not parts available to repair engine oil leak resulting in engine compartment fire recall notice.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #37

Nov 012015

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact experienced a failure with the exhaust manifold leaking fluid onto the ground. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 04/13/16

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #36

Dec 072015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/14/16 updated 04/19/16

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #35

Nov 252015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine fire after oil spilled onto engine. Consumer states received engine compartment fires recall notice after incident. The consumer stated as a result of the fire, she had to purchase a new vehicle, because her insurance company deemed the vehicle totaled.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #34

Jan 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall repairs issues. The consumer also stated the check engine, ABS and tire pressure light was on. Also, there was a click in the steering wheel when turning it, the vehicle had an oil leak, freon was leaking from the vehicle..

- Colerain, NC, USA

problem #33

Sep 122014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle faulty engineering mistake and requests refund for replacement engine. The repair shop found a misfire in the #3 cylinder. They found the thread pulled out of the head for the rocker arm.

- Ridgway, PA, USA

problem #32

Apr 072015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
I bought a car from progressive auto and they told me it was a inspect able car and that it should run just fine, I bought the car February 20th of 2015 and the inspection was due on the end of February that's when they told me it should inspect fine, but when I took it to my mechanic he told me he couldn't inspect it so I got the fender rust fixed. Then I took it to integrity auto to see if they could inspect it but they could not because the bottom was rusted out then I took it to two more mechanics who also took me it was worth it because its all rotted the intake gasket went the CO2 sensor went and the water pump went and the panels are all rotted... it was a car that shouldn't have been sold and I ended up paying over $1,000 dollars for it... now I'm out of a car I rely on for work...

- Highgate, VT, USA

problem #31

Aug 192014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to trac unit repair and reimbursement. * ld the consumer stated when the traction light illuminated, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. They discovered the lower intake gasket was leaking, and replaced it. The consumer drove five miles, after leaving the dealer, and the traction light illuminated again, and the vehicle stalled. Also, the ignition switch and catalytic converter were replaced.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #30

Oct 042013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Acted as if it dosen't have power steering when turning to the left, very stiff, and jerky. Total cut out on a freeway on ramp for about 20 seconds. When try to put fuel in gas tank have to hold fueling nozzle barley open or it will not take fuel. Drove to work, got off of work went to start it, it would start with out a jump.

- So.Stpaul, MN, USA

problem #29

Feb 042012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
When to start car and would not start. Lights and radio would come on. Had a new battery put in and the alternator checked. 2 weeks later when to pick up niece from the baby sitter, was inside for 3 minutes came back out car would not start again. After 45 minutes of trying to start it finally started. Yesterday, went out to my car to drive to a meeting and once again it would not start. About 40 minutes later I went back out to try it again and it started right up. I did research online and found several complaints. Apparently this is a pass code issue. I do not feel I should have to go and get all this work done when there is no real solution. The code will not always come up so nobody knows what exactly is wrong with the car. In summary, the security system thinks that I am trying to steel my own car. This has left me stranded in the cold 3 different times. I am a 25 year old lady. That is totally unsafe and as there is no real solution to the problem that anyone can find how and I supposed to get it fixed. I have a child on the way. This is not the only year that does it either. All Impala have this issue from the years 2003-2005. How can a recall not be issued. I called Chevy and they basically said to go to a dealer but that is not an acceptable answer when I read that several people have spent thousands of dollars at their dealer on the same issue and are still having issues. Please help!! here are several articles on the issue: www.justautorepair.com/Chevrolet/Impala/589-security-light-not-starting-ignition-2003.html www.chevyhhr.net/forums/showthread.php"T=30631. answers.yahoo.com/question/index"qid=20081001165133aacvyjcwww.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/chevy_impala.html.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #28

Sep 152011

Impala

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, a warning light illuminated advising that the engine was overheating. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that one of the head gaskets failed. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were 160,000.

- Antigo, WI, USA

problem #27

Mar 112011

Impala

  • 60,111 miles
Intake manifold gasket failure.

- Phillipsburg, NJ, USA

problem #26

Dec 262001

Impala

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala, traveling westbound in the center lane when unit unit 1 engine compartment caught fire. Driver pulled vehicle onto the berm and was able to put the fire out. (Ohio traffic crash report # 10-0911-90) updated 02/15/11

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #25

Sep 032010

Impala

  • 125,900 miles
Manifold gasket was leaking on my 2003 Chevrolet Impala.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #24

Feb 152007

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
During an inspection of my 2003 Impala, mechanic advised of a coolant leak in upper intake manifold (a very common defect for this model / year) and it would cost hundreds of dollars to repair. Needless to say, I did not have the funds to repair it and all cars of this model / year should be recalled for repair.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #23

May 132010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I noticed a couple of times in stop and go traffic that my temperature indicator started to inch its way over to hot, never reaching the mark. I told my husband and he said I probably need a flush and new coolant. Took the car to dealership and I had a leaking intake gasket and needed to be repaired. Very expensive! had oil in the radiator with hardly any liquid left. I started to read about other complaints and there were several so decided to report this so others will know they are not alone.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #22

Apr 212010

Impala

  • miles
2003 Chevy Impala. Passlock stystem thinks the car is being stolen, disabling the ignition for up to 30 minutes at a time. Sometimes leaving you stranded. Also ABS and trac control system failure at 100,00 miles. No more ABS or trac control as parts are over $3,000. Oil spill out of filler neck onto exhaust manifold, and recall only moved spark plug wires, oil problem still exists. Interior dash lights dim to complete darkeness, or super birght at all different times. Issue is the dimmer switch. Piss poor design by GM. They should be banned from selling vehicles until they pull their heads out of their [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #21

Mar 252003

Impala 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
2003 Chevrolet Impala motor went on fire.

- Wainwright, 00, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?