If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,570 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Impala lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Oct 042011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 32,531 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Over a period of time, the headlight lenses have become cloudy and murky. Cleaners do not help. When driving at night (worst in rain or snow and at higher speeds) the visibility of the headlight lamps projection become less and less. Do not suggest using the high beams as these would be a cover-up. When sealed beams were used from 1940 to 1996, this problem did not happen. (the cloudy/murky lenses) until the manufacturer's went over to plastic lenses because of the new safety codes required. Updated 01/30/12

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #24

Sep 282007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,500 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that on two separate occasions while driving at various speeds, the headlights and instrument panel lights shut off. The first failure, the lights illuminated again and the second time, the contact could only use the high beams. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current mileage was 73,500 and failure mileage was 53,500.

- Ranier, WA, USA

problem #23

Feb 032007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,047 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the turn signals failed and would not engage. The dealer replaced the module and there had been no further occurences. In addition, the contact stated that the headlights worked intermittently. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The current mileage was 75,100 and failure mileage was 75,047. Updated 05/21/08 the consumer stated the dealership reapired the problem. Updated 05/20/08.

- Hastings, MI, USA

problem #22

Feb 222008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 25 mph in the snow, the headlights failed. The contact played with the headlight switch until the lights illuminated again. The lights dimmed again shortly afterwards. The dealer stated that the dimmer switch may be the cause of the failure. No repairs were made. The current and failure mileages were 66,000. Updated 3/25/08 the consumer stated this is the 2nd incident and very dangerous. Updated 03/25/08

- Somerdale, OH, USA

problem #21

Jan 292008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,250 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. While decelerating to 10 mph and activating the turn signal, the headlights completely dimmed. Two or three seconds later, the headlights illuminated again. While the vehicle was parked, the contact conducted his own test; each time he activated the turn signal, the headlights dimmed and then illuminated. The contact spoke with the dealer, but he has not taken his vehicle there at this time. The current mileage was 29,299 and failure mileage was 29,250. Updated 4/8/08 the consumer stated lights would go out completely with no warning until repaired on 02/19/08. Updated 04/08/08

- Youngstown, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Dec 012007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds at night, the headlights would be on high beams, but the lights would shut off automatically. When the lights shut off, it would take 10-15 minutes for them to illuminate again. The failure would occur every twelve to fifteen miles. The mechanic stated that the defect was very frequent for his type of vehicle. The estimated cost to repair the vehicle is $500. The purchase date was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 75,000. Updated 02-14-08 updated 02/14/08

- Battle Creek, NE, USA

problem #19

Jan 012008

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

High-beam headlights sometimes go out, no pattern detected. Relay is suspected.

- Denmark, ME, USA

problem #18

Dec 272007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
Headlights went out during vehicle operation and would not turn back on. Headlights came back on next time the vehicle was operated, but went out again during operation a few nights later.

- Fpo, AP, USA

problem #17

Dec 202007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
My wife stated that her 2003 Impala the headlights did not come on one night auto mode so she turned on manually. 2 weeks later, she is driving in the dark and the fog, and headlights go out. Stopped along road and tried high, low, and pull light switch with no luck. Very dangerous if would have been in busy area. Abandoned car and had mother pick her up. Moved home when daylight came out. Now waiting to solve the problem in the shop.

- Spencerville, OH, USA

problem #16

Dec 022007

Impala

  • miles
Headlights would unexpectedly turn off while driving on the highway.

- Mechanicsville, IA, USA

problem #15

Oct 312007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,872 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlights shutoff automatically while driving.

- Clyde, MI, USA

problem #14

Apr 012007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 60 mph, the headlamps failed without warning. The contact took her vehicle to the dealer and they charged her $669 to repair and replace the unit. The dealer stated that she had a faulty multifunction switch. The current mileage is 102,000 and failure mileage was 101,000.

- Gladwin, MI, USA

problem #13

May 012007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The car was bought new from dealership, with occasional grinding noises noted in reverse and headlights "surging" at night while driving. Dealership unable to replicate with the exception of grinding. I was told a loose wire was causing noise in reverse. On 09/26/05, after noticing hard stalls while attempting to start, the fuel pump went out $281.60 for new one. 12/09/05, to dealership for starting concerns and maintenance. 04/13/06-car would not start to leave work. Ward's Chevrolet came to my work site. Left me a rental and kept my car until 04/20/06. I paid $674.56 for a 2nd fuel pump and fuel module. 06/21/06- to local garage with same complaints. $100 paid for "short" in electrical that caused no start and towing. 08/04/06-cooper Buick in monroe, la- $281 for another fuel pump and recall on 2003 Impala headgaskets that I was unaware of. 11/22/06-no start, turn over-went outside 3 hours later-starts with hard start. 12/06/06-brakes went from quiet to grinding-slow hard starts continue. Ward's kept the car for a month-never told me what was wrong with car except brakes. Did not charge. At this time I had requested a GM investi.-no results-states"the dealership was unable to replicate concern". the car continues to have slow, hard starts with very noticeable gas smells. The smell of gas has been occurring since 04/20/06 repairs. Now service, ABS, security lights come on and off intermittently with the smell of gas and slow, hard starts. I have been calling ward's since the first week of March 2007 requesting factory rep. To meet and drive car after their having a month with no improvements in cars functioning. I called this a.M. to be informed that new service dept. Manager was not aware of problem. This is the 4th time since March I have requested the factory rep. With no response from ward's.

- Grayson, LA, USA

problem #12

Mar 042007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 35 mph the headlights failed to illuminate automatically, and the contact was unable to turn them on manually. The following day the contact was able to turn on the headlights. The vehicle has not been inspected to determine the cause of the failure. No other failures have occurred. The current and failure mileage were 38,000.

- Lanesborough, MA, USA

problem #11

Dec 282006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Frequently at night, when switching from low beam to high beam all the headlights go out.....found by flickering back to low beam they will come back on. Sometimes they go out w/O switching to high beam. Seems to be a serious safety risk!

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #10

Sep 252006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling various speeds, the high beam headlights would shut down within the first 5 minutes of turning on. The dealer and manufacturer were not contacted.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #9

Nov 272006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
When high beams are on, the headlights will occasionally go out entirely with absolutely no warning. This problem has caused us to quit using the high beams due to the safety risk.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #8

Nov 132006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
About 9:00 pm I was driving about two km. From home when my headlights went out. I had hazard lights, parking lights and rear lights. I tried high and low beams turning lights on and off but they would not turn on. I took it to the shop the next morning and still no lights. When they flipp the hi-low beams the lights came back on-they do not know why this happened.

- Rr#4 Goderich, 00, USA

problem #7

Apr 142006

Impala

  • 44,800 miles
2003 Impala ls - headlights go off while driving. Just shut off. Doesn't matter if manual headlight switch is engaged or not. Intermittent failure, sometimes not for two hours, sometime every few seconds, sometimes when switching low to high beams, no specific speed or driving conditions. All interior lights and parking lights appear to remain on when the headlights fail. Sometimes can get headlights back on by switching off and on again, sometimes by flashing low to high, but they don't always come back on regardless of action. Sometimes just have to park the car until daylight. Car had just over 44,000 miles on it when I bought it. Drove for two weeks, but never at night, so not exactly sure of mileage of first incident. Happened second time I drove the car at night. Unable to repeat incident at dealer, but car was in "park" when they looked at it, and it was daytime. It could be happening while daytime, too, but I can't tell from inside the car. I could get a ticket in Maryland for driving with no headlights while using windshield wipers.

- Perryville, MD, USA

problem #6

Mar 302003

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
I purchased my Chevy Impala 2003 brand new in March of 2003. Every since then when I turn on my headlamps, they turn off at random, which is very dangerous on a darkened road at night. Everything goes off (interior, tail lights, ect).

- Crescent, IA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?