If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,486 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Impala steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #8

Oct 052008

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It was raining, car started to skid to the right, steered left to correct, lost control and struck a tree head on. Serious injuries to belted driver.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #7

Apr 082003

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,239 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. 3,000 miles after she purchased the vehicle she had brake failure. On April 8, 2003, dealer replaced rear rotors, Nov. 19, 2003 freed up sliders, March 26, 2004 full rotor assembly replaced in Florida, June 7, 2005 complete brake change. Aug. 16, 2005 resurfaced brakes and rotors, Jan. 16, 2006 refaced rear rotors, June 30, 2006 replaced rear rotors and refaced front rotors, Jan. 10, 2007 resurface work needed to be done but did not perform repairs, May 23, 2007 replaced all 4 rotors. The contact paid for the repairs, May 22, 2008, replaced rear pads and serviced calipers. The dealer will not make any additional repairs and feel as though they have done all they can to remedy to failure. The failure mileage was 3259 and the current mileage was 50295. Updated 7/3/08 the passenger seat heater and rear window defogger were inoperative. There was a noise coming from the steering. The dealer lubed the intermediate shaft. The rear stabilizer shaft and link was replaced. Updated 07/15/08.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #6

Dec 272007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,405 miles
The intermediate steering shaft in my 2003 Chevrolet Impala had to be replaced at 25,000 miles. Now at 45,000 miles the steering shaft needs to be replaced again also, both rear brake rotors were replaced at 25,000 and need to be replaced again at 45,000 miles.

- Seekonk, MA, USA

problem #5

Jul 262003

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Chevrolet Impala (I bought it new) problem turning the steering wheel and braking, I hear and feel clunking coming from the front end of the vehicle in the steering column. I also felt a vibration in the steering wheel. I had the car into the dealer 3 times. Each time the problem wet away for a month or so but returned. Each time I drive the car I hope the steering does not fail and cause an accident. No more General Motors cars for me. I have bought GM since1969. I will not buy another GM car.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #4

May 012005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. While driving between 1 and 25 mph, the contact heard a loud clunking noise coming from the front end of the vehicle. He also felt a vibration in the steering wheel. There is a technical service bulletin (01-02-32001H) regarding this same failure. The manufacturer stated that the contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The current mileage was 40,000 and failure mileage was 30,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #3

Jun 062005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
On the afternoon of Monday, June 6, 2004, I was driving a 2003 Chevrolet Impala down haddonfield road in cherry hill, New Jersey when, suddenly and without warning, its speedometer dropped down to zero, its brakes became inoperable, and its steering wheel became rigid and virtually un-turnable. I was forced to coast to a stop. Fortunately, the incident did not cause a crash. This is the second time that such an incident has occurred with this car, with the previous incident occurring in or around July 2004. I am reporting this to my local Chevrolet dealership.

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #2

Dec 092004

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Experiencing clunk in steering; also failed rotors.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #1

Nov 052003

(reported on)

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 740 miles
While driving, the consumer noticed there was too much play in the steering wheel. Also, the transmission was not working properly and the vehicle failed to accelerate. Dealer was notified of the problem. The dealer attempted to repair the transmission, but the vehicle was still unable to merge into freeway traffic. The vehicle pulled hard to the left and would become uncontrollable. The tires were replaced, but the problem remained.

- Yakima, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?