Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,102 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Impala lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Jul 122011

Impala

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the high beam headlights failed to illuminate. The contact also mentioned that two weeks later the high beam headlights illuminated independently and remained illuminated when the vehicle was powered off. The contact stated that the battery had to be disengaged in order to shut off the high beams headlights. The contact stated that there was a smoke emitted from the high beams switch. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the multi-function switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000. The VIN was not available.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #15

Jan 042010

Impala

  • 68,250 miles
Headllghts go off while driviing. As of now they still come back on when switching the low beam to high beam switch. Very dangerous problem. Cannot drive car when dark. Will cost about $600 to repair.

- Pine Grove, PA, USA

problem #14

Dec 032009

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph at night on normal road conditions with the headlights activated. Suddenly, both headlights failed to operate. The driver was able to pull over to the side of the road with extreme caution. After several attempts, the headlights began to function. The vehicle was able to resume normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic; however, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Thetek, WI, USA

problem #13

Aug 012009

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. He stated that the two front headlights looked as if there were frost on them. The manufacturer stated that all headlights in 2001 model year and beyond were equipped with plastic lenses. He stated that the new design of the headlights was a safety issue because of his age and the ability to have sufficient lighting. The failure and current mileages were approximately 51,000. The VIN was not accepted. Updated 09/16/09 updated 09/17/09

- Garden City Beach, SC, USA

problem #12

Aug 012009

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. He stated that the two front headlights looked as if there were frost on them. The manufacturer stated that all headlights in 2001 model year and beyond were equipped with plastic lenses. He stated that the new design of the headlights was a safety issue because of his age and the ability to have sufficient lighting. The failure and current mileages were approximately 51,000. The VIN was not accepted. Updated 09/16/09 the consumer stated sand would blow on the headlight cover which limited visibility. Updated 09/17/09

- Garden City Beach, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Feb 242008

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
Headlights went off during driving at night. This happened eight to ten times over a period of three to four months, with lights on high beam. Lights came back on when dimmer lever was activated. Instrument panel remained illuminated when headlights went off.

- Levelland, TX, USA

problem #10

Jan 022004

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

High beam lights are disabled after about 10 minutes of use.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 122008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,721 miles
Last year around this same time I was driving to work around 4:30 am on I 85 nb in atlanta, ga. Going to work when my car suddenly went totally dark. I didn't realize it until I got to a stretch of highway that had no lights. It was very scary cause I didn't know if any of the other cars could see me. I got off the hwy at the 1st exit and waited until daylight to go continue to work. I went to the 1st mechanic that opened and the lights were working again so the mechanic couldn't find anything wrong. 1 year later on 2/12/08, my 7year old son and I went to the drug store to get his medication and as we were driving up sr 139, I noticed that I couldn't see the road!!! again, I'm on a stretch of road with no street lights and this time I have interior lights, blinkers and parkers, but I have no headlights. I immediately pulled over and cut the car off hoping to reset the computer or whatever was causing the problem and when I restarted the car the headlights still didn't come on. I waited approx 45 minutes and still in the dark. I was sooo afraid because I had my son with me and I had about 2.5 miles to go before getting home. I took my chances and drove home trying to be as careful as possible as oncoming cars flashed their lights at me and honked. My son was scared and kept asking if other cars were going to hit us or if they could see us. I tried to stay calm for him, but truthfully, I was scared stupid. I've been reading up on similar situations like this and GM has got to step up and fix this problem. Why should it take for someone to loose their life for GM to take notice"?" I've owned a 99 Grand Am, 00 Oldsmobile Alero & now the the 04 Impala. I thought that I had moved up and bought a really good car that I loved not a death machine. My next car might have to be a Nissan or a Toyota. My grandma & mom only buy Toyota and have never had these types of problems. But I'm trying to keep my fellow americans employed even though I've lost my job.

- College Park, GA, USA

problem #8

Nov 292007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
While driving with hi beams on the headlights will repeatedly shut completely off. I have to move the hi/low beam lever and the low beams will come on. This can be very dangerous since I live on un-lit country roads. This in not an occasional problem, it happens every time the lights are on.

- Peyton, CO, USA

problem #7

Oct 262007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,980 miles
Last winter I was driving to work on a dark morning and without warning my headlights went totally out. I kept flipping my headlight switch off and on and my dimmer switch until they came back on. I continued down the road and it happened repeatedly until I got to work. Took it to the dealer, they replaced a computer module. I didn't think to much about it until this morning when it happened again. It has been cool or cold out both times it has happened so I don't know if it has anything to do with temperature or not. I have lost time from work because our area auto dealers service depts. Are not open on saturdays, not to mention the danger of driving a black car in the dark with no headlights!

- Huber Hts., OH, USA

problem #6

Dec 162006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving along at night with headlights on and they just went out, luckily, there was a bright moon and straight highway, happened 3 more times on way home, approximately 10 miles. After turning car off and on, lights off and on, they would come back on. Have not driven it after dark since then. Experienced more problems.

- Klamath Falls, OR, USA

problem #5

Dec 162005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
Chevy 2004 Impala for no reason the head lights will turn off and will not come back on... I have been caught several times in very dangerous roads when this has happened.... thankfully no crashes or injuried. I called Chevy several times and they can't tell me why it happens or how to fix it.

- Paige, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 042006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,925 miles
I was driving home one night at about 9:30 in the country and it was pitch-black when all of a sudden my headlights go out. I had to be going about 55 mph when this occurred. They wouldn't come back on until I pulled the dimmer switch in and out repeatedly. Luckily I was familiar with the area to come to a stop without incident. Within the next couple of days I will be taking my car in to a dealer and get an inspection.

- Spring Grove , IL, USA

problem #3

May 222006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
: the contact stated the head lights fail intermittently without warning. The problem began four months ago and the vehicle was taken to service dealer who replaced an unknown module. The problem has now returned and the head lights go out without warning and re illuminate without warning. Manipulating the switch does not automatically make the lights re illuminate. The contact is planning to make an appointment with the dealer later today for inspection. The vehicle is a police cruiser.

- Minden City, MI, USA

problem #2

Dec 022005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
: the contact stated the headlights worked intermittently. It occurred at highway speeds of 50 to 60 mph. The headlights turned off without warning and remained off until the dimmer switch was pressed. There were no warning signals before this occurred. The vehicle was equipped with day time running lights. The vehicle has not been seen by a dealer.. incidental night time headlight failure occurred three times on 01/27/2006; once on 02/12/2006, involving high beam, and 3 times on 02/18/2006, involving 2 high beams. Subsequent occasional failure until the turn signal/dimmer switch was replaced on 03/14/2006. Contact paid $345 for parts and labor.

- Stanley, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 152004

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
The new model year 04 Chevrolet Impala sedans have poorly designed and or mis-adjusted daytime running lights, causing blinding glare to on coming drivers, drivers in front of these vehicles and pedestrians walking at night. These excessively glaring lights distract and cause eye pain to other drivers and temporary blindness. This is a serious safety problem that needs to be addressed especially for pedestrians walking against traffic at night.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?