Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,838 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Impala accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #90

Dec 102010

Impala

  • 65,301 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at an unknown speed, the speedometer malfunctioned. The failure recurred multiple times after being repaired. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,301.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #89

Nov 092015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the speedometer and fuel gauges were not functioning. The battery warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not provided. The VIN was not provided.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #88

Jun 012006

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 65 mph, the gauges and instrument panel lights intermittently failed. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Portage, WI, USA

problem #87

Dec 122014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 50 mph, the speedometer displayed improper readings. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing, but there were no diagnostic results. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000. Updated 04/10/15 updated 11/4/2015

- Pro City, HI, USA

problem #86

Dec 152013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the temperature warning light illuminated but the vehicle was not overheating. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 11/12/14 the consumer stated the check engine light has since illuminated. Updated 02/03/15

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #85

Jul 092013

Impala

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the speedometer and temperature gauge were not providing accurate reading levels. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #84

May 192014

Impala

  • 74,711 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The speedometer malfunctions. This incident is the third I've experienced in the last year. I researched this and found the problem to be widespread for 2000-2005 Chevrolet Impala. The speedometer registers 95-110 mph all of the time from a complete stop to a slow roll. This is very dangerous because a faulty speedometer reading can and will lead to accidents.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #83

Jun 082011

Impala

  • 90,000 miles
The gas gauge works off and on and does read correctly from over full to not at all and every place inbetween. The speedometer reads every where from correctly to 130 mph when you are driving at 50 mph and sometimes goes all the way around to it hits the stop.other times the speed odometer says you are moving at 40 mph when you are stopped.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #82

May 092012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at night, he noticed that the instrument panel failed to illuminate. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000 and current mileage was 200,000. Updated 7/22/14 the consumer stated there was an issue with the ABS and ignition. Updated 07/29/14

- Shakopee, MN, USA

problem #81

Dec 092013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
After shopping, my wife started the car and the fuel gauge needle went far to the right well beyond the full mark. At that time, there was approximately 1/2 tank of gas. We noted the mileage from the odometer and have used that as a basis on when to fill the car. We checked with a garage and they showed us a notification that had come from Chevrolet that this happened frequently with 2005 Chevy Impala. They said it is probably the dashboard cluster or the sensor from the fuel tank. Either repair would cost over $500. I checked online and noticed that Chevy SUV's from that era were fixed for free if they had less than 120,000 miles. I also noted a large number of complaints from 2005 Chevy Impala drivers about the lack of response from Chevrolet. If that is the case and their is no compensation for a mistake made by the manufacturer, then this will be the last Chevy product I or my family will ever buy.

- Lolo, MT, USA

problem #80

Aug 082013

Impala

  • 49,528 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my car at 45mph and suddenly my speedometer and instrument panel went crazy. It said I was going 120mph. Furthermore, my temperature gauge was inaccurate causing my car to overheat. This caused the head gaskets to blow and other parts had to be replaced. I have spent over $1,900 fixing this issue. I was told the instrument panel cluster is not working properly and needs to be replaced which is over $2,000. Chevrolet knows about this problem yet chooses to sit on the sidelines as thousands of people are having the same issue. Action needs to be taken with Chevrolet to resolve these issues. Thank you

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #79

Nov 042013

Impala

  • miles
Speedometer getting stuck & not registering properly. Driver is not able to tell what speed the car is traveling at. This could result in traffic infractions for an otherwise very good driving record & could be a safety hazard. Chevrolet really needs to step up & fix this issue as research has shown this is a common problem with this make, model, & year. A family member also has the same car but the base model & his gas gauge suddenly stopped working about a year ago.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #78

Feb 012013

Impala

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to lack of recall on vehicle with bad sensor clusters. The consumer stated the speedometer was inoperative, due to a bad sensor cluster.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #77

Jan 272012

Impala

  • 194,000 miles
Speedometer does not work most of the time. Car will shut down without warning going down road. The check engine light does not come on. After pulling over it will start back up. Have been placed on diagnostics machine and no codes are triggered. We have replaced fuel filter. Had a tune up done. Nothing is working and mechanics cant figure out what is wrong. Very dangerous. Has happened many times. Last time going down mountain on a curve with no where to pull over. Luckily no traffic at the time.

- Valhermoso Springs, AL, USA

problem #76

Nov 102010

Impala

  • miles
2005 Chevy Impala: Rough shifting, lost some hp, speedometer isn't working, engine leaking oil.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #75

Mar 152011

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the instrument panel was defective, none of the gauges were displaying the correct readings. The vehicle was taken to the an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the instrument panel was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 66,000. Updated 06/01/11 updated 06/13/11.

- Tullahoma , TN, USA

problem #74

Apr 012011

Impala

  • 115,000 miles
Instrument cluster panel fails off and on for awhile and then completely quits, causing you not to know your speed or the health of your vehicle. I have seen online way too many complaints of this particular problem for there not to be a recall. The instrument cluster panel needs replaced.

- Cortland, OH, USA

problem #73

Dec 122010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
My speedometer went out on my 2005 Chevy Impala. It happened about 3 months ago. I just had the inspection done and had to have a new cluster put in. My total cost was $500. After searching the internet for complaints, I noticed that there were alot of them regarding the cluster to stop working in the 2005 Impala. For being only 6 years old, this should not be happening.

- Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #72

Feb 202011

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the speedometer and tachometer would not register an accurate reading which caused difficulty in determining what speed he was driving. In addition, the low fuel level alarm failed. The failure mileage was approximately 74,000. Updated 08/01/11 updated 08/02/11

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #71

Oct 102010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The speedometer quit working in my 2005 Chevy Impala on or about Oct. 10, 2010. This is a big concern since we can not afford to have this repaired & we don't know how fast we are going.

- Fellows, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?