Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,726 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #12

Jun 222012

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle was turned off and failed to restart. The contact mentioned that after waiting, the vehicle was able to start. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #11

Dec 212012

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the ignition failed to start until after numerous attempts. The failure recurred seven times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the ignition switch would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 8/19/14 the consumer stated the steering mechanism failed also. Updated 09/5/2014

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #10

Sep 052011

Impala

  • 70,000 miles
TL the contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at an unknown speed, the security warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle because the lock system reset itself automatically. Additionally, the headlights shut off intermittently. The dealer stated that the ignition was the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 70,000. Jcc

- Lake Ann, MI, USA

problem #9

Jun 062014

Impala

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ignition has gone out.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 252013

Impala

  • miles
Ignition problems. Sometimes vehicle will not start and the security light will come on. Other times the vehicle will have trouble starting and the ignition does not catch to start and takes multiple attempt to successful start. A few times the vehicle has started and after moving 500ft or more it stalled and lost all control of brakes and steering.

- Garden City, MI, USA

problem #7

May 182014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 124,628 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact noticed that the anti-theft security system warning light was illuminated and it became difficult to move the gear shifter from park. It took the contact between 10-15 minutes to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they repaired the ignition switch. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall. The failure mileage was 124,628. Updated 8/28/14 updated 09/8/2014

- Bigrun, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 062008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Chevy Impala, currently with 22,320 miles. At my oil change and tire rotation, (~20,500) I was informed by repair place that they would not perform the tire rotation as I would be needing to replace the tires soon. I asked why they were wearing so fast- I was told, they noticed it on many Impala- premature tire wear between 18,000-25,000 miles. ~ 15 months ago, with only about 13,000 miles, when I had an oil change done I was informed me the engine was leaking oil from the rear of the engine, I should take it to the dealer for repair. The dealer had to replace (under warranty) several seals/gaskets- oil pan, drain plug, oil filter, plus replace the drain plug. The car is sometimes hard to start and have to hold the key in the start position, and/or lightly press the gas pedal to start it. About two weeks ago, I grinded the starter. Sometimes the car will start roughly and immediately stall, or will stall the first few seconds as I am backing out the drive way. Dealer about this they told me I was using cheap gas and to use a better brand, but I always use "brand" gas, I even use fuel injector cleaner dealer later told me I needed to have the fuel injection "flushed" with their system for $199, plus tax and charges, hearing it was not good for the vehicle, I declined. I have also noticed a "clunking/bumping/banging" noise when turning, especially hard turns. My brakes need to be replaced, the front brakes are starting to make a thump when braking, and yesterday when braking hard, I heard a squeal noise, (rear?). fuel gauge sometimes rapidly fluctuates, when driving, and at times when accelerating, (though not concurrent) I hear a "swoosh/gargling" sound. I was accelerating too hard. The fuel gauge will swing as much as a 1/4 tank when driving before recovering to the correct position. Gauge shows low fuel level, low fuel light comes on, I only needed 10-12 gals to fill it (~16 gals).

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #5

May 012006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had stalling upon attempting to start my vehicle. I have contact GM & was told that nothing is defective in my car. My car has been to a GM service dept. For service more than 10 times since May 2006. I would like to know what recourse do I have with regards to addressing my vehicle's defect?

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #4

Jan 052006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,884 miles
Rear window molding loose will not stay in tact after repair, delayed crank-hold key in ignition for a few seconds before starting then at times it wobbles then cuts off, electrical shocking, going over humps or turning there is clunnking noise, passenger side feels a lighter weight when operating, intermittent chuggle or hesistant when in light acceleration, on star system comes on automatically when key in ignition and the push is not pushed to activate, car only had 5600 miles at time of purchase and now has 11300 only had the for 5 1/2 months, engine make a whirling noise when accelerating from light start, transmissions is now starting to hesitate as if it shifting, when A/C is on and sitting in vehicle the car mumbles and stops when A/C is turned off. I've saved allm paper work from services performed when problems occured and will be taking the car back in again mon 7-24-06.also have a reference number on file with GMC concerning these defects.on star mailed me a notice concerning system alert this week. I have a 2005 Chevy Impala base model. Had about 15 or more failures on the aspect of delayed cranking.dealer still cant solve the issue to keep me from having to repeatedly taking the car in for inspection and service as well as resolution. I purchased the car Dec. 15, 2005.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #3

Mar 092006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,899 miles
The vehicle hesitated to start therefore you have to hold the key several seconds to start. The car has a rough idle. Only had the car three month and have return it about 10 times for the same issues. I was told that it's normal for it to run that way. I was also told that the Grand Am are the same way with the same engine by the dealer.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #2

Sep 282005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Impala. About 2-3 times weekly, my car will not start properly. I turn the key to crank the vehicle, and it turns over without firing up. Sometimes it may do this one time, at others it may do it 4-5 times. It is very irritating, and sounds horrible. I am not sure if this is damaging to my vehicle in any way or not. I have taken it to the dealership about 3-4 times since I purchased it. They have told me that there is nothing wrong with it. They say that GM has installed a chip in the ignition that will cause this to happen. I do not believe that is true, and cannot get a response from GM. I have sent them emails, and have gotten replies but nothing that helps. I would appreciate it if you could give me some help of any kind. Perhaps you have heard of this problem already and know of a solution. Thanks so much.

- Oak Grove, LA, USA

problem #1

Apr 182006

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,899 miles
2005 Chevrolet Impala, car idle is rough, delayed crank, may be necessary to hold key in start several seconds until start.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?