Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,020 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Impala seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jul 162016

Impala

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 50 mph, the front wheel made a noise. The contact attempted to slow down by depressing the brake pedal and heard a loud banging noise under the front end by the accelerator pedal. The contact attempted to pull the vehicle over to the shoulder of the road; however, the steering failed. The vehicle drifted into the left lane and into oncoming traffic. The vehicle crashed into a retainer wall. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. It was diagnosed that the bushing failed and the subframe separated and disconnected from the vehicle. Also, the steering failed and the entire front end of the vehicle fell apart. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #22

Aug 162014

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, a speed bump was encountered and the contact lost control of the vehicle. As a result, the vehicle stalled and crashed into an embankment and guardrails. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a back injury that did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000(electrical system). The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Fair Haven, VT, USA

problem #21

Dec 212009

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. After shutting off the vehicle, it would restart after approximately five minutes. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was involved in a crash where another vehicle crashed into the rear and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were unknown minor injuries sustained that required medical attention. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #20

Aug 042014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the brakes failed to respond and the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 04/10/15 updated 6/26/2015

- Altoona, IA, USA

problem #19

Nov 032014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Impala consumer is concerned about air bags after hitting a deer and they did not deploy and the security light came on. The dealer informed the consumer, the ignition switch and cylinder needed to be replaced. The consumer then went to a repair shop, to have the work done. A short time later, the air bag light illuminated.

- Piedmont, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Mar 052013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 109,334 miles
In March 5 2013 I was driving while a dog ran out in front of me. The car next to me and myself came to a complete stop as the owner came and got her dog from the street. As soon as the owner got the dog a car doing 50+mph in a 35mph zone was texting and driving and the driver didn't even attempt to brake. The driver rear ended me so hard that the car moved over 15ft. My airbags never deployed and also my seat belts never locked so due to that my face broke the windshield. I suffered a lot of injuries. Broke my left foot, really hurt my neck and shoulder. If my airbags would have deployed I would not of been badly injured like I was. The 2005 Impala was completely totaled. The impact pushed the trunk into the rear seats.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #17

Apr 142014

Impala

  • 131,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and the seat belts did not secure around the occupants at the point of impact. A police report was filed and two injuries were sustained. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 131,100.

- Benson, UT, USA

problem #16

May 282014

Impala

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and caused the driver to crash into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact recently received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V40000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #15

Aug 012013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Driving 2005 Chevy Impala on interstate 95 North when vehicle unexpectedly went off the road and crashed into the guardrail, vehicle bounced off of guardrail and spun around three times before coming to a stop with vehicle resting in the middle of the highway in the corresponding direction of traffic. The airbags did not deploy.the vehicle would not immediately start, but after two or three attempts, the vehicle started. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder of highway. The vehicle did not start again and had to be towed from accident scene. The vehicle was deemed a total loss.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #14

Aug 222014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
Ignition failure caused to lose control of vehicle and run into stump causing $3350 of damage to vehicle.

- Emory, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 042014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 157,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle 2005 Impala was in a accident twice once when we first got it. And know 08/04/2014 with front end damage. Either time no air bag was deployed!!!!! the last accident was a direct hit to the left front of the vehicle!!! no air bag deployed!!!!

- Arapahoe, NC, USA

problem #12

May 212014

Impala

  • 178,966 miles
I recently purchased a 2005 Impala in April of 2014. There was no check light engine on for about a week, but the light did come on and also with the airbags light. When braking both lights will disappear. At times of accelerating, the lights will appear. Also, I have a faulty ignition switch that is affecting my headlights, radio, interior lights, and my key will barely turn.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #11

Mar 212014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while making a left turn, she was involved in a head-on crash where the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained a concussion, injuries to the chest and neck. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic however, the technician was unable to determine what prevented the air bag from deploying. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 74,000. Updated 10/02/14 the consumer stated the air bags were not investigated. Updated 3/9/15

- Columbia , TN, USA

problem #10

Mar 042014

Impala

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving, an abnormal clicking noise was heard when turning the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column bearings were defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact also indicated that the air bag sensor light was illuminated. The dealer diagnosed that the air bag coil spring was defective. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defects. The failure mileage was 97,000.

- Adrianne, MI, USA

problem #9

Aug 252013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 79,500 miles
August 2013 involved in a car accident, quick deceleration, frontal crash. Other driver pulled into traffic, with her view blocked of moving traffic approaching her. Once the truck driving in front of me turned she was stopped in the roadway. I attempted to stop my car quickly but did not have more than 4 seconds in which to stop my car. I impacted the front end, driver side quarter panel, and engine compartment of a 2005 Honda civic. The 2005 Chevrolet Impala shoulder harness locking mechanism failed. The airbag did not deploy at the time of the accident. My body propelled forward upon braking and I impacted with a fully extended shoulder harness. The length of the shoulder harness only extends to 1.5 inches from the steering wheel, my body continued to travel beyond the extension of the harness causing injury to my left clavicle, upper sternum, neck, shoulders and ribs. My upper body, sternum and torso hit the steering resulting in whiplash, to include abdominal, neck, sternum, clavicle, shoulder and scapulothoracic injuries. My knee hit the dash underneath the steering wheel.

- Oroville, CA, USA

problem #8

Jan 182012

Impala

  • 70,000 miles
Several types of GM vehicles (approx 2000-2008) have severe leaking and decay problems like my Chevy Impala shows currently. I noticed early February 2012 when my factory speakers stopped working all together. The radio sound didn't get through, door chimes didn't work, safety and warning chimes didn't make noise, etc. A warning chime didn't signal for me to turn off my lights on a rainy day at a grocery store so that when I came back, I was stranded! this however isn't the big problem. This leak under the cowl seems to be prominent in many other vehicles and allowed gallons to enter in under my rugs, floor mats etc., and travel all over the passenger cabin so that wires were submerged, corroded, mold grew, and airbag sensor hubs became islands. Yes my airbag sensors and wiring are submerged with water! please have GM recall this common problem to fix this! my car smells terrible inside from this (especially in the summer) and more importantly, I am worried that my airbags will malfunction. Thank you.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #7

Jan 092012

Impala

  • miles
My airbag light has come on. Has there been any type of recall issued for this that I'm just not finding" if not, can you give me suggestions as to what I should check to make the light go off" I haven't been in a wreck that would cause the light to go off & my air bag has never been deployed.

- Pekin, IN, USA

problem #6

Jul 112010

Impala

  • 159,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle was involved in a rollover crash and the air bags did not deploy. Two passengers sustained moderate injuries as a result. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact stated that he did not notice any problems with the air bags prior to the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were approximately 159,000.

- Roundup, MT, USA

problem #5

Oct 062008

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air bag sensor indicator for the passenger side air bag flashes, even when the passenger seat is unoccupied. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle is not under recall. The current and failure mileages were 61,000. Updated 12/11/08 the consumer was told the problem was the clockspring in the steering column. Updated 12/11/08

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #4

Jun 082007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,020 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Impala. On June 8, 2007, at an intersection, a vehicle crashed into the front driver side of the contact's vehicle. The front and side air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. The insurance company has possession of the vehicle. The contact and three passengers were injured. The crash involved three vehicles. The contact has photos and a police report. The current and failure mileages were 15,020.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?