Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: Top complaints for the 2006 Chevy Impala include how the transmission slips, clunks and fails. Or how the power steering knocks and squeals. In other words, this car is a noisy bucket of eventual failure points.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,191 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

Jan 182016


  • 128,000 miles


I have had my car for almost a year now and ever since I bought it, it has caused nothing but an issue. I always get an "engine power reduced" or sometimes even "starting disabled service throttle." This can happen anywhere from 1-100 times a day while I am driving. It has happened on city streets, highways, turning, you name it and it has happened. It is becoming a very big safety issue as it will do it in the middle of intersections and I fear that I will get into an accident. I have ran the codes and replaced every part in the car that dealerships have told me to replace but it still keeps happening. I have done a ton of research on what could be wrong and it not only seems like this is happening to a lot of people but the things they replaced in their cars fixed the issue but mine seems to not ever be able to be fixed. This has become a dangerous thing, as it has happened to me in the middle of snow storms on icy highways.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #42

Apr 102016


  • miles
Ongoing issue with error message relating to "service traction control" "reduced engine power" appeared 4/10/2016. Ongoing history and service related to throttle position and sensor (also serviced) codes P2176; P 2135. 8/1/15 I have addressed through replacing of throttle position and sensor; battery cable (dealership svc dept suggested low voltage related to this issue - retested, issue continues) parts store has suggested "throttle actuator control module P 1516' codes also include P0121, PO2135, P2119 found pmc to be faulty -- "repair and replaced" 12/30/2014; throttle body assembly replaced on April 5, 2014. This has been an ongoing issue for two years. Engine power drops and car will only drive at a low speed < 40mph. This is when the car is in motion. Various attempts to resolve the problem have been unsuccessful. This issue began at apx 140K miles and has reoccurred at 166L, 167K, 180K, 193K. Speeds that it has occurred has been at highway speeds of 60-65mpg to residential 25-35mph. Records have services dates are available; too many to upload all.

- Plattsmouth, NE, USA

problem #41

Jan 012015


  • 114,000 miles
Oil leak.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #40

Feb 122016


  • 191,000 miles


Driving at 70 mph on interstate and engine slowed down suddenly, ,,reduced engine power message came

- Dyersburg, TN, USA

problem #39

Dec 012015


  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at 11 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The "reduce engine power" and 'shut off immediately┐ warning messages displayed on the message board. In addition, the contact stated that the check engine warning light remained on. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Calumet City, IL, USA

problem #38

Dec 282015


  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at various speeds, the check engine and "power down low" warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the vehicle would not drive at normal speeds. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,000.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #37

Apr 122012


  • 150,000 miles


My 2006 Chevy Impala frequently has "reduced power engine" "service traction control". we have replaced accelerator pedal sensor, replaced computer in steering column, replaced throttle body. Going on 2 yrs like this. My sister just received a recall on her 2011 Impala about "reduced engine power". I called Chevy dealer and my car is not part of this recall. In which im having same problem.B

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #36

Oct 182015


  • miles
1) car is hard to turn stationary & while turning, steering knuckles--2) power steering whining & just started losing fluid, --3) drivers seat stopped being able to adjust to different positions--4) oil leak on engine--5) paint on trunk & surrounding area is is flaking off.

- Bentley, LA, USA

problem #35

Oct 022015


  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 65 mph attempting to avoid a deer, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a guardrail. The seat belts failed to latch and the engine failed to disengage after the crash. The air bags did not deploy. Prior to the failure, no warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle had to be towed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 136,000.

- Reedsville, OH, USA

problem #34

Aug 062015


  • 140,000 miles
I was driving my vehicle when it suddenly cut off with an "engine power reduced" sign and the car ultimately shut off completely. The car would not come back on. It had to be towed home and then towed to a Chevy dealership in frankfort, il. The Chevy dealership could not depict the problem and held my car for almost two weeks. The dealership said that it may be something intermittent but failed to fix the issue. The dealership released my car to me and the engine power reduced returned the next day. The car is currently out of commission.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #33

May 202015


  • 130,100 miles


The transmission on my 2006 Chevrolet Impala skips, it started skipping at 130,000 miles. It is a safety hazard when I am stopped at a intersection and the light turns green I press the gas and the engine takes a few seconds to react, it has happen to me several times and has caused me to get in several close collisions. Also when I start the car and try to back up from my car space the same thing happens I press the gas to back up the engine takes a few seconds to catch and then dangerously jerks in reverse

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 172014


  • miles
Had purchased vehicle from dealer in ashland va back in September 2014. Had no concerns about the vehicle until first trip not driving vehicle for a week and upon return vehicle would not start. Had jumped started vehicle and got check engine light which was on for three days then cut off. In February 2015 had not driven vehicle for two week period and upon return vehicle would not start again. Checked battery and had replaced along with cleaning positive battery post for corrosion. Check engine light was on for two to three days then cut off - check code at Firestone dealership showed code P2135 - dealership could not determine where possible power drainage could be coming from and recommended to take vehicle to Chevy dealership and have them test for power drainage. As long as the vehicle is started/used without prolonged period of inactivity, vehicle operation for this model year is acceptable.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #31

Apr 032015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 134,989 miles
This incident first occurred a few weeks ago while driving on the highway I got the engine power reduced message. My car didn't seem to run different and the engine light went off the very next day. Then about 1 week later it happened again but this time my car was acting funny when I needed to accelerate. I was trying to wait until paid day to take it to be checked but I couldn't wait. On Wednesday, April 1, 2015 whenever I stopped at a light or stop sign when it was time to go my car would not accelerate. I made it work ok, but on my break I needed to go take care of some important business and my car just stopped on me while I was making a right hand turn. It would not start up. I could not turn it or anything. My car stalled and I ended up on the wrong side of the road. I was able to push my car out of the way and I had to walk back to work. After work my car started with no problem and I drove it less than 1 mile to Firestone tire where they did a computer diagnosis and told me the accelerator control was bad. I asked them if they were sure that was the problem and not the throttle body and they said yes. While on my way home tonight Friday, 4/3/15 engine came on and engine power reduced message again. I am very upset and scared from what I have research and read about others this has happened to. This is very dangerous and I feel I should not have to be injured, killed or someone else for this to be fixed. Signed, [xxx] (very unhappy consumers) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #30

Jul 012014


  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the power steering and brakes seized without warning. As a result of the failure, the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. A police report was filed. The contact did not specify if any injuries were sustained. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Huston, TX, USA

problem #29

Feb 172015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Upon entering my vehicle and waiting for the engine to warm up as it was around -05 degrees F there were no issues to be had. About 15 seconds after leaving my parking spot at my place of employment and 70 feet later my engine started feeling weird, heard a chime and saw my dashboard with the wording "engine power reduced." Not knowing what it was and knowing I had no other choice continued driving home. 4 days pass no issue then yesterday when it was 27 degrees F outside again had the car warm up and about same time frame and same distance later the same series of events occurred but this time the RPM was bouncing between 700 and 1100 when I was moving in idle. Pulled over and opened the hood to inspect (car was shaking a lot at this point) and the engine is shaking as much as it could while still in its restraints, upon revving the vehicle the engine leveled out but with the foot off the gas again the shaking started again. Until further notice a vehicle that I need for my commute to and from work is parked. I do not feel safe driving not knowing what can happen.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #28

Mar 042013


  • 80,000 miles
While driving home from work received engine reduce power and service traction control light. I was on the freeway going 65mph when this message came on and lost power to my car. I was nearly hit by cars behind me. Apparently my throttle body was at fault. About a year later had the exact same thing happen while coming home from work. Throttle went bad and was nearly struck by traffic again. Google Chevy Impala throttle body and you will see all the problems. Not sure how this has not been recalled yet. When I took the vehicle in for service I was told that they do at least 3-4 of these a week. How is this allowed to be put on cars when at any random point this could quit. They said it has an issue related to oil corroding the wires which would also explain why I go through 3-4 qts of oil every 3,000 miles. The oil does not drip anywhere but GM said this was standard and common.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #27

Dec 262014


  • 183,000 miles
My car will be in drive and going down the road and my service traction control light comes on and then flashes between that an reduce engine power. Causing my car to have reduced power !

- Lyons, MI, USA

problem #26

Apr 032014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 159,000 miles
I've had an ongoing issue since this spring with an issue on traction control and the display reporting 'reduced engine power ". I've now had the throttle body sensor and power train computer module replaced. I'll be driving at a rate of speed on the highway of apx 60mph and then these error messages appear and the cruise kicks off. There's hesitation as I try to accelerate.

- Plattsmouth, NE, USA

problem #25

Jun 302014


  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at a low speed, the engine seized. The vehicle was not able to be restarted and was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The contact received a recall notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Whitehall, OH, USA

problem #24

Oct 012010


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the brakes were rapidly engaged in order to avoid a crash and the vehicle suddenly shut off. The contact stated that after restarting the engine the vehicle operated as normal. The contact indicated that the same failure had occurred on multiple occasions while making a sudden stop. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?