Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: Top complaints for the 2006 Chevy Impala include how the transmission slips, clunks and fails. Or how the power steering knocks and squeals. In other words, this car is a noisy bucket of eventual failure points.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,071 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Impala steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #102

Feb 082016


  • 96,200 miles


My car won't shift from the park position, I had to lift up console cover and push release button in order to avoid paying for a tow. Found out it was the wired connector or module or possibly wires that move when you shift gears.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #101

Oct 182015


  • miles
1) car is hard to turn stationary & while turning, steering knuckles--2) power steering whining & just started losing fluid, --3) drivers seat stopped being able to adjust to different positions--4) oil leak on engine--5) paint on trunk & surrounding area is is flaking off.

- Bentley, LA, USA

problem #100

Sep 042015


  • 187,369 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at approximately 10 mph and making a turn, a knocking sound was heard from the steering wheel. The failure recurred constantly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 09E005000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 187,369.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #99

Jul 062015


  • 71,000 miles


Power steering failed. Upon starting vehicle one morning, had little to no steering power. Had power steering pump replaced, three times, first pump failed, second pump failed also.(mechanic source for parts bad). Hole in hose also. Problem has occurred again. Must now have rack and pinion replaced, power steering fluid leaking in that area.

- London, KY, USA

problem #98

Aug 202015


  • 258,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 40 mph, the steering failed and the vehicle veered off the interstate into the median. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was also towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that a bolt fell out the vehicle and needed to be replaced. In addition, the dealer stated that the air bags were affected. The vehicle was repaired; however, the air bags were not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 258,000.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #97

Feb 152015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle was reversing from the driveway, the steering seized. The vehicle would not respond to the repeated attempts to steer. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the vehicle needed a re-manufactured power steering pump with reservoir and the cooler hose replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000....updated 06-11-15 the consumer was informed, it was highly unlikely he would receive reimbursement. Updated 07/20/15.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #96

Apr 192015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles


I was turning off of elberton road onto veribest road & I heard the front tire made a knocking sound about 3 times while turning & continued to drive after the car felt okay, then I felt as if the car dropped or the tire was coming off & the steering wheel locked up, traction control light started to blink & the brakes went out & we crash due to me not having control of the vehicle! me & my 3 kids were badly injured!

- Lexington, GA, USA

problem #95

Apr 192015


  • 186,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph in very light rain when the vehicle exhibited an abnormal clicking noise four times successively. The front end of the vehicle then seemed to drop to the ground causing the steering wheel to seize, the traction control warning light to flash and the brakes to become inoperable. The contact also stated that the air bag erroneously deployed and knocked her unconscious. The vehicle then traveled off the roadway, into a woody area and crashed into a tree. The contact was awoken by the screams of her small children, who were sitting in the rear of the vehicle. Two child passengers were injured and suffered lacerations to the face, contusions of the shoulders, face, head injuries and a concussion. The contact sustained a sprained neck, fractured spine, and a concussion, clotting in the skull, a chest wall contusion and lacerations to the legs. All three passengers required medical attention. The contact and all passengers were able to exit the vehicle without further injuries. A police report was filed of the incident, and the vehicle was towed from the scene. The contact was advised that the transmission and the motor had both fallen out of the vehicle prior to the crash and were still in the roadway. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of a recall on the ignition switch one week after the crash occurred (NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 - electrical). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 186,000.

- Lexington, GA, USA

problem #94

Feb 242015


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While making a turn at a low speed, the contact heard a noise emitting from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 09E005000 (steering) but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Stuart, VA, USA

problem #93

Apr 032015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 134,989 miles
This incident first occurred a few weeks ago while driving on the highway I got the engine power reduced message. My car didn't seem to run different and the engine light went off the very next day. Then about 1 week later it happened again but this time my car was acting funny when I needed to accelerate. I was trying to wait until paid day to take it to be checked but I couldn't wait. On Wednesday, April 1, 2015 whenever I stopped at a light or stop sign when it was time to go my car would not accelerate. I made it work ok, but on my break I needed to go take care of some important business and my car just stopped on me while I was making a right hand turn. It would not start up. I could not turn it or anything. My car stalled and I ended up on the wrong side of the road. I was able to push my car out of the way and I had to walk back to work. After work my car started with no problem and I drove it less than 1 mile to Firestone tire where they did a computer diagnosis and told me the accelerator control was bad. I asked them if they were sure that was the problem and not the throttle body and they said yes. While on my way home tonight Friday, 4/3/15 engine came on and engine power reduced message again. I am very upset and scared from what I have research and read about others this has happened to. This is very dangerous and I feel I should not have to be injured, killed or someone else for this to be fixed. Signed, [xxx] (very unhappy consumers) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #92

Jul 012014


  • 91,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the power steering and brakes seized without warning. As a result of the failure, the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. A police report was filed. The contact did not specify if any injuries were sustained. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Huston, TX, USA

problem #91

Oct 162012


  • 83,571 miles
The power steering pump has been replaced 4 times in 5 or 6 years. There was a recall on the power steering cooler line which was repaired by replacing clamps and hose as per recall in 2011.on 10/12/12 the steering gear and the power steering pump were replaced. On 10/25/12 the power steering pump that was put on 10/12/12 was found to be leaking and was replaced. It was still under warranty. On 12/16/14 another power steering pump had to be put on as the previous one had failed. The pump that was replaced was not under warranty.

- Grandview, MO, USA

problem #90

Dec 132014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
Popping noise coming from front end of car. Noise occurs with acceleration, braking, shifting transmission or passing over speed bumps or rough roads. Generally occurs at lower speeds, less than 35mph, but occurs with higher speeds as well, although not as frequently. (possibly coming from sub-frame or sub-frame bolts?)

- Mount Airy , NC, USA

problem #89

Nov 252014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 113,900 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while reversing at 3 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,900. The consumer stated the power steering hose was leaked, which caused the rack and pinion to fail. One year later, the power steering hose failed again. The power steering hose failed again for the fourth time. Updated 01/29/15

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #88

Sep 232009

Impala 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Impala ss brand new in 2006. I've been a loyal GM customer my whole life. At 99,000 started experiencing transmission issues, slipping, and hard shifting... at 101,000 miles I was driving down the highway and my transmission stopped working. I refinanced my car to rebuild the transmission for $2,200. After the rebuild transmission was working ok. Then at 122,000 miles it stopped working again... it was snowing and I was stranded in the turn lane of a road with a speed limit of 55mph... I turned off my car let the engine cool down and back on at least 20 times... my car moved about 200 feet each time... an hour later I got back to my house that was 5miles from the failure. I cant afford to fix it now and I am still paying for the car. Its been sitting in my yard for 10 months. This issue is very dangerous and needs to be resolved. I also received a recall for my power steering hose, got it fixed and the brackets came loose from my frame causing my steering to get very hard. I pulled over and checked my power steering fluid at walmart and it was empty. I filled it and everything was working. The next morning I had no power steering again... my hose had rubbed on my frame making a hole. I went to the store and bought more power steering fluid but after I put it in my steering was making a loud sound and didn't turn well. I think it was damaged due to the leak. I too have a loud clicking sound coming from my dashboard when I turn on my car. I was told by the dealership it was the vent flap motor... $750 dollars to repair... part is only $65 the rest is labor... also when I first bought my car I had to get all 4door windows replaced (under warranty) due to improper window guide adjustment. And my automatic trunk release works off and on, my keyless entry only works 5 feet from my car with new batteries, and all tire pressure sens. Went bad$100 each help.

- Dinwiddie, VA, USA

problem #87

Aug 012014

Impala 8-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Popping sound in steering, when turning.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #86

Jul 102009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 45 mph, an abnormal smell emitted from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the power steering box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Bakersville , CA, USA

problem #85

Jun 032014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
My daughter was driving down the road when she was not able to steer the car. The car entered the ditch and rolled. My daughter was banged and bruised up but did not require going to the hospital. I then receive a recall notice that there is a fault in the ignition system and to remove all items from the key ring. Also, that GM was aware of this problem and did nothing about it. Praise the lord that my daughter was not killed or seriously hurt but I am out $6700 for the car. I did not have full coverage on the vehicle. I had liability and comprehensive but not collision.

- Culbertson, NE, USA

problem #84

Sep 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to power steering and power brakes recall notice issues. The consumer was informed, the parts were not available.

- Mantua, NJ, USA

problem #83

Aug 282014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
All I am trying to do is get a loaner car until the parts are in so I don't have to be involved in an accident and file a complaint. I have been on hold for 25 minutes waiting for a supervisor at the customer assistance center. My safety and my children's safety is my concern. I do not believe that I am asking for much after being a loyal customer for 40 years and a GM mastercard holder in good standing. My email is [xxx]and my number is [xxx]. thank you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Avon, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?