Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,668 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Aug 112012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 96,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Monday August 7,2012 I started experincing problems withmy car not starting so we replaced the battery. Then sat. August 12, 2012 my car completely shut down. After I got jumped we drove it home only to realize the car wa going only 30 mph. Having to climb hill was very fustrating. Took it to O'rielly and the computer read P0606 which has to do something with the modules. Also all the electrical inside the car is going haywire, key stuck in ignition, and has to lock doors automactially due to keypad not working. Please do a recall on this before someone or family is seriously injured or killed. As a parent I travel alot with mine.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #19

Apr 232012

Impala

  • miles
While I was driving an error message appeared on the panel "engine power reduced". the car immediately slowed down as if the engine had cut-off completely. It did not and I was able to drive to the side of the road at about 10 mph. Luckily it was late at night, the few cars that were driving near me were able to change lanes before a collision occurred.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #18

Apr 102012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 49,784 miles
Shifter cannot be moved from park position (repair/reroute brake transmission shift interlock (BTSI) solenoid harness) models: 2007-2009 Chevrolet Impala supercede:this bulletin is being revised to end the need for information from the field and provide repair information. Please discard corporate bulletin number 08-07-30-007A (section 07 - transmission/transaxle). Condition some customers may comment on either of the following conditions: - the key cannot be removed from the ignition. - the transmission gear selector (shifter) cannot be moved out of the park position. Cause this condition may be caused by an incorrectly routed brake transmission shift interlock (BTSI) solenoid harness which can make it difficult to install. In some instances, the wiring looms are tangled, causing stress on the wires in the connector at the BTSI. If the BTSI harness is routed incorrectly, it may also result in a wire pinching issue. Correction important do not use force to move the gear selector (shifter). Using force may cause damage to the BTSI. Inspection/routing and repair of the BTSI wiring harness/connector 1. check for wire damage at the BTSI connector terminal ends. Refer to si for repair procedures. 2. for very intermittent issues, check the BTSI wire harness individual circuits for broken or crimped wires. Refer to si for repair procedures. 3. inspect the routing of the wiring harness leading to the BTSI connector. The illustrations above show the BTSI harness routed incorrectly. 4. reroute the wiring to create available slack and avoid future occurrences.

- Rockingham, NC, USA

problem #17

Nov 232007

Impala

  • 7,915 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

11-23-07 remote start intermittently inoperable, 10-14-08 when braking vehicle has pulsation in front, 7-1-10 purchased new set of tires -46,388 miles on car (85,000 warranty on tires ), 7-10-10 replaced muffler-seam split, 11-18-10 heavy engine repair-head gasket leak(52284 miles on car), 3-11-08 rust specks on complete vehicle, 2-1-11 transmission repair-replaced piston & resealed input clutch housing (54756 mi on car), 2-10-12 purchased another set of tires 72,820 miles on car (85,000 mile warranty-tires wore bare on inside of 4 tires-outside had good tread there was 58,568 miles left of tire warranty) too many repairs for new car.-lemon-

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #16

Nov 282011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
The electrical system on the above mentioned vehicle.is acting up. Fault display on the dash indicates engine is running hot. And that the ac unit is off. Waited for car to cool off sufficiently to allow visual inspection of cooling fluid levels. They checked ok. Also checked to make sure fans operate, they both come on. Took vehicle to place of purchase for second opinion. Mechanic checked vehicle out. Could not find any mechanical issues with car. Could not explain why the dash is showing that fault code. Also replaced thermostat thinking it might be bad. Problem still persists, now temp. Gauge will that engine is running hot when accelerated. And return to normal when engine is idling.

- Sunray, TX, USA

problem #15

Dec 022011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Yesterday, 12/1/2011, my passenger headlight failed. Over a year ago, I had went to replace the bulb, and it came on after jarring it, so I waited to replace the bulb until today. This morning, neither bulb worked. Thinking this may be a problem with the headlight switch, I turned automatic lighting off, then back on. That failed, however the brights did work. I pulled over and rapped on the driver headlight housing a few times, and the light came on. Then I did the same to the passenger side, which also came on. Very unsafe to affect the visibility of a driver, especially since I suspect this can happen while driving, or leave somebody stranded at work when they go to leave and have no headlights.

- Minooka, IL, USA

problem #14

Jan 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the interstate, a message was displayed saying "service traction control" and "reduced engine power". I was using cruise control and it shut off after the messages were displayed and I was unable to stay at the speed limit or accelerate quickly if needed. In another incident, I was driving and the two messages displayed and a few minutes later the engine shut off completely. The power steering was not working and the engine was not responding. The only way to get the car running again was to shut it off and wait several minutes until it would start again.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #13

Feb 262011

Impala

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the vehicle would not start and the failure occurred intermittently after driving the vehicle. The contact stated the vehicle would often take up to one or two hours before it would start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and an independent mechanic where the technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #12

Nov 192010

Impala

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the all four tires were worn down to the metal after a short period of time. The tires were replaced. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that they were unaware of the problem. A local mechanic stated that the wheels were the cause of the tire wear. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they would look into the problem. Additionally, there was corrosion on the emissions solenoid which she was alerted to when the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that either carbon was stuck in the valve or the solenoid was full of water. The vehicle was repaired. Also, the cable to the battery was corroded. Two mechanics inspected the vehicle and stated that the failure was not caused by normal wear and tear. The vehicle was repaired. The current mileage was approximately 73,000. The failure mileage was approximately 66,000.

- Westerly, RI, USA

problem #11

Sep 082010

Impala

  • 45,000 miles
We bought our 2007 Chevrolet Impala 3lt new in February 2007. The car just turned over 50,000 miles. At 38,000, we noticed the passenger seat heating element quit working. Chevy dealer estimates the cost of repairs at about $200. At 48,000 the shifter release switch stopped working, so the shifter could not be moved from the park position. Chevy dealer said a wire broke in the center console and repairs were $137. From about 45,000 miles to present, the transmission occasionally slips when accelerating from a stop at an intersection. The engine revs for about a second or two before the transmission engages. The Chevy dealer has had the car in twice for this problem, the second time for more than a week, and we're told it doesn't happen in the shop. The slip happens about once every two days that we notice. Now, at 50,100 miles, the exhaust has gotten louder and a repair shop said there's a crack on the top of the left muffler. The Chevy dealer says it's not in warranty, and the job will cost $1,152. An independent repair shop says the muffler can be replaced for $160.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 092010

Impala

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Chevy 2007 Impala fails to start at certain times due to passlock defects. The internet lists complaints all over the web about this GM problem, but no recall. It has done this 14 times in the last 30 days. Sometimes starting 10 minutes later, sometimes not starting until the next day. I need a car that starts when needed, especially if I am in a bad area or parked in an area that has become unsafe. Have soldered connections to terminals that seemed to work for 3 days but problem came back. Next will try after market byemass module as mentioned on complaint sites as a fix, as Chevy appears to charge in excess of $500 for temporary fixes. Just had my second tow job after a shop couldn't fix it, over 70 mile tow this time back home because shop couldn't determine problem.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 012007

Impala

  • 3,000 miles
Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, electrical system and on-board computer issues started occurring: Tire monitor system (TPMS) in-op. Warnings randomly appearing in dash: Check tire monitor system. Check left/right rear tire pressure. TPMS did not warn of a flat tire even though a significant amount of air was lost. Increasing no. Of issues with electrical system: Keyless entry fails. Check airbag warning appears. Check A/C warning in dash. Ambient temperature gauge erratic. Compass showing N (or ne/nw but always incorrect heading). Cruise control will not resume at times or set incorrect speed (a few M/H higher or lower). Speed has increased on its own. Once, I noticed the speed at over 80M/H when I had set the cruise control at 70. Dash displaying warnings quickly and yellow warning lights flash briefly, which is extremely distracting and warnings cannot be read. TPMS light comes on routinely after driving for 1-3 hours. Warnings may flash at any time. Took the vehicle in six times at the request of GM. Some parts were replaced but electrical issues keep increasing and original issues cannot be fixed. Keyless entry working for now, after components were replaced twice. E-brake did not work when the vehicle was purchased. Though promised by delivery, car had to be taken in five times for E-brake to work modestly. I am not in possession of any old parts as repairs were performed under warranty.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 242009

Impala

  • 44,100 miles
On December 24, 2009, after parking my 30 month old 2007 Chevrolet Impala ltz on level ground at 6:30am in the morning and minus 13 degrees Fahrenheit, I attended my morning workout for 1 hour. On return and after successfully starting the car I found the stick shift access button could not be pushed, despite following the recommended procedures, and the car was stuck in park. It was towed to the local GM dealer for $100. After six days and $150 in expenses for another car the GM dealer reported that the problem was a "broken ground wire" in the "shift lock solenoid connector" [inside the centre console where the shift lever is located]. the cost of repair was $137. My internet research shows this problem occurs often in Chevrolet Impala, which suggests that the problem is in the design and manufacture of the vehicle. This problem could be life threatening if the problem occurs in a remote area at this temperature. I thought this was a power train problem since the part allows the transmission to engage, and therefore should be covered under warranty. GM claims it is not part of the power train. My complaint is that the problem could be life threatening, is a defect in design and manufacture, and that the problem is a power train problem and therefore should be covered under warranty.

- Saskatoon, 00, USA

problem #7

Apr 202009

Impala

  • 72,021 miles
While driving, there is an electrical issue where the dash lights and headlight will flicker. On a few occasions, the instrument display would actually go out for a second, and at the same time the headlights would dim to the point where it is not safe to drive at night. This is an intermittent problem noted at all speeds, and is a distraction to the driver, oncoming traffic, and traffic being followed! a Chevy dealer acknowledge the problem and identified it in technical service bulletin #07-08-42-008; however this is more of a safety concern (especially for night driving) than an inconvenience!

- Chadwicks, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 182008

Impala

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 40 mph, the speedometer failed. The contact stated that the vehicle felt as if she were driving 25 mph. Afterwards, the speedometer displayed 120 mph. The vehicle will be taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The current and failure mileages were 62,000.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #5

Dec 062008

Impala

  • 68,000 miles
I have bought a 2007 Chevrolet Impala with 68,000 miles. I have had it for two weeks today. I did not buy the warranty the used dealer offered. Last week on my 60 miles commute to work I noticed the temperature gauge was not working and the dic panel said "engine hot - a\C off". I assumed the dic message was a result of the temp gauge not working. I have searched the internet and noticed that there are possibly thousands of complaints related to Impala and instrument clusters.

- Martin, TN, USA

problem #4

Nov 172008

Impala

  • 36,962 miles
Right after I hit 36,000 miles on my car, I started hearing a clunk sound from the steering wheel. I brought it into the dealership, and the gentleman told me it was probably the steering shaft. I asked if this was a common problem, and if it was covered under my extended warranty. I was told yes, it is a common problem, and no, its only covered under the 36000 mile warranty. Not the 50,000. I asked why this isn't covered seeing as its a part that should never go on your car, especially after only 36000 miles. His reply shocked me when he said that all the ones he's seen break before the 36,000! added onto this, my car remote just stopped working, as well as my tire monitor system is unable to be reset! basically after owning this car less than a year, I'm starting to feel that I have just bought a nice new lemon!

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 192007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Headlights and dashlights flickering on and off. Chevrolet trying to buy me off with an check for $564 and to tell me that they are sorry and they value me as a customer. I still have the letter and the check I haven't cash. The best advise they can give me is trade it in. Why should someone else put up with this car?

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 092007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Impala with 7800 miles on it. In January, my service TPMS warning light came on in my dash. It would go off after a few minutes. I also noticed at the same time that my remote keyless entry and remote start did not work more than 10 feet away from the vehicle. I took the car to a local dealership (graff Chevrolet) and they informed me of an antenna that needed to be replaced. I was told that the part was unavailable for an undetermined amount of time. The dealership would not check to see if the tmps sensor in the left rear tire was defective like I asked them to. They said the new unreleased part should solve the problem, but they don't know for sure. The left rear sensor would always trigger the warning light, but the tire is properly inflated. Not being able to fix the problem is making me think that I have a flat tire on my car every time the light goes on.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #1

Oct 212006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
: the contact stated the tire pressure monitor did not work properly. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer, who determined that the coax antenna needed to be replaced. Updated 12/28/2006 - the consumer was told that the part would not be available until 1/07. The remote start and remote door locks fail intermittently. The radio would turn off periodically. The high beams flickered.

- Wilmington, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?