Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,389 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Aug 292008

Impala 8-cyl

  • 11,278 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During the course of owning this Impala since it was new, it has had 12 replacement tires installed in order to correct a vibration problem, which is felt at or around 55 mph. It has taken approximately 10,000 miles for each of the tires to wear unevenly. Each time a tire was replaced, I was given an explanation that the defective tire was no longer round (egg shaped) and would not properly balance. A majority of the defective tires were from the rear of the Impala. The last replacement tires were installed on 06-28-10 when the vehicle had 26,264 miles on it. During the dozens of visits to multiple Chevrolet service depts, no mechanical suspension parts were replaced. I've been in contact with the General Motors executive customer service office (gmecso) for years and have dealt with multiple representatives. The Impala again has a vibration, and I would like to get the vehicle serviced. Gmecso informed me that they wanted me to take the Impala to a different Chevrolet service department if I needed to get the car looked at for issues regarding the tires. Since 02-05-12, I have made 5 phone calls to the gmecso and have yet to receive a call back.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #29

Jun 162008

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
I noticed things about my car but ignored them because I thought, this is a brand new car and it shouldn't have any issues. From the very beginning I would notice that my car would slide a lot when there was snow/ice/rain on the ground. As if it wasn't sitting on the ground properly. I would look at it from the rear at a distance and it always seemed to slant/droop at an angle. About a year and half of ownership while getting my oil changed a service tech from an authorized Chevrolet dealer informed me that I had excessive tire wear and stated that I needed all new tires. Note he never stated that I needed a wheel alignment or that there was a possible recall notice that we could fix while your car is still under. He just wanted to sell me tires. From doing my research it looks like I am not alone with the issue of excessive tire wear. Looks like GM is also aware of this issue. There is a GM bulletin 08032 but GM only states that government cars are affected. I know of several people that work on GM assembly lines and they will state that there is no difference, so why has there not been a recall on this issue. This is very dangerous for GM to knowing know that something is not correct on these cars and they are refusing to do anything about it. How many lives have been lost or have to be lost for GM to call a recall and fix the issue on these cars. Update 2/22/2012: I have gotten the "needed" "special" wheel alignment but am still constantly replacing tires that have been on my car not even a year. Will never buy a Chevy again. Not reputable and doing the right thing which is to correctly fix over 400,000 cars.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #28

Feb 012012

Impala 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Massive rear tire premature wear caused by defective design and defective tri-coiled rear springs, trailing arms, and spindle rods.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #27

Aug 152011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear suspension is unstable, third set of good rear tires being put on, again. The car now has 69K miles.

- Bloomington, CA, USA

problem #26

Jan 012012

Impala

  • miles
Recently bought 2007 Chevy Impala for son. This car cannot stay on the road in wet/snow conditions. It fishtails and is scary to drive. I've lived in Wisconsin all my life and drove many different cars but never a car as dangerous as this.

- Port Edwards, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Dec 162010

Impala

  • 121,610 miles
I have had to replace the rear tires on my Chevrolet Impala twice in under 20,000 miles due the rear suspension spindles being worn. The discount tire representatives report that they see at least two Impala a week with the same. Problem. Only replaced in police Impala..

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #24

Apr 142010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the rear end of the vehicle was out of alignment twice each time the rear tires had to be replaced. The manufacturer stated it was not a known failure. The dealer stated the manufacturer was repairing police vehicles with the identical failure. The contact was concerned about the safety defect. The failure mileage was 43,000 and the current mileage was 72,000.....updated 12/03/12

- Lewiston, MN, USA

problem #23

Nov 302011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
Sirs vehicle has just turned over 62,000 miles replaced 4 sets of tires tires wearing out from camber caster problems in rear end G.M. has not had a recall except for 20,000 police made cars mon. 11-28-11 a GM person finally said you have warranty for 100,000 miles take car back to dealer and tell them to fix the vehicle this car has no value anymore dealers don't advertise them for sale anymore in Maine papers, they know of the problems. You folks have to demand that G.M. recall and repair every car 2007-2008 Impala with problem. One set of tires on this car wore a strip 2 inches wide from outside edges toward center in 4 months my mechanic who was changing the oil called me out to look at them, he had put them on the car. They were down to canvas and steel belt, my wife drives this vehicle and she never noticed anything this was shear chance in spotting problem I feel this is very dangerous problem. A high speed blowout on inter state, the only place she drives fast to visit kids would have been catastrophe. Please take action on these cars 400,000 plus sold and over 20,000 to police which were re-called and fixed best regards [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Pembroke, ME, USA

problem #22

Aug 012007

Impala

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the rear tires would wear prematurely. The contact believed that there was an issue with the rear axle that was affecting the tires. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the failure, but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #21

Oct 082008

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
07 Impala for excessive front tire wear not rear as has been the problem. Car has now 52,000 miles on it. Dealership has tested the car for problem with rear alignment bolts, checked it to GM specs. Contacted GM who said there was no problem with the car. Car goes through a set of front tires approx every 15000 miles. Complaint started after replacing first set of tires @ 16,000 miles

- Penfield, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 212011

Impala

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling eastbound on I-90, low tire pressure warning came on, I pulled over to check my tires and noticed that just the inside of my rear tires were worn down to the belts, however very little wear on the out side of the tire. I visually checked the tire prior to getting on the highway and did not notice any wear. After doing some research, I found this is a common problem with this model. This is definitely a safety issue.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #19

Jul 212011

Impala

  • 53,000 miles
The car has alignment problem. While driving I never felt confident about the feel and felt like traction was not was not good. Original set of tires prematurely failed around 30,000 miles. Excessive wear on the inside. When complained the dealer said it needed alignment and performed on the front wheels. After that I replaced all 4 tires. Upon examining the tires recently I realized that the rear tires are wearing unevenly, inside was wearing fast. The road nose from the rear wheels was increasing steadily. However the front tires seems to be fine. When I called the dealer with the problem, he suggested all wheel alignment for which I will have to pay. I strongly believe the problem was due to defective parts/inspection prior to delivery.

- Burr Ridge, IL, USA

problem #18

Jul 152008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 71,209 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that all four tires were consistently wearing from the inside and were constantly in need of replacement and an alignment. The dealer was contacted who offered no assistance for the repairs. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 71,209. Updated 08/15/11 updated 08/24/11.

- Belton, MO, USA

problem #17

Apr 152010

Impala

  • 57,059 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the rear tires were replaced three times within the last year due to excessive tread wear and blowouts. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the rear suspension was realigned and the struts were replaced, but the repairs did not remedy the failure. The contact was also informed that there was an arm kit that could be installed on the vehicle to remedy the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the situation and the contact was informed that the arm kit would not remedy the failure. Additional repairs were not performed. The failure mileage was 57,059 and the current mileage was unknown.

- East Point, MI, USA

problem #16

May 152010

Impala

  • 6,000 miles
My 2007 Impala tires wore out prematurely. I noticed the tires starting to wear out on the inside at about 6,000 miles and had the tires aligned and rotated. The tires continued to wear out on the inside. I brought this to the attention of luck Chevrolet at about 32,000 miles and they said GM would not cover this repair under the warranty. However they did say there was a problem and a kit could be installed to correct. I replaced the tires and had Goodyear install the camber kit to correct the problem. I spent $800 for new tires wheel alignment and the camber kit.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #15

May 062008

Impala

  • 14,000 miles
I had a company car, 2007 Impala that was wearing the tires unevenly. I went through several sets of tires as a result of this problem. I thought that the tire dealership was not doing a good job however just noticed that there is lawsuit stating there was a problem with the spindles. My father, now owns the vehicle. And want to bring this to the NHTSA attention as well as to be notified of a recall as my father is now driving the vehicle.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #14

Feb 012011

Impala

  • 18,700 miles
Car is almost undrivable in cold weather climates snow and ice, alignment is so far off due to suspension component problems described by GM in a tsb, rear of car wants to come around, all over the road, scary to drive, tires are worn out on inside edges after 19K of driving, we purchased with 8890K, GM says nothing wrong tsb only pertains to police versions, a crock of S--T, somebody will lose their life in these death traps, looking at over $1100 to repair replace tires and components with alignment on a car with 19K, should have gone out of business, unsafe car to drive.

- Buffalo, KS, USA

problem #13

Jan 162011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I had my transmission repaired when the technician realized my brand new tires were worn to the cords on the inside. They said it was the shocks and struts. When they called to get the warranty to cover the problem the warranty inspector said it wasn't the problem. The problem was an alignment problem that required holes to be drilled and a bolt be put in. This is something that GM knows about because they have a kit but the warranty considers this an update not a problem. I have to repair this problem and replace new tires. I want to know why GM isn't recalling the car to put these bolts in.

- Marionville, MO, USA

problem #12

Feb 022011

Impala

  • miles
During the recent snow storm, I discovered that my vehicle constantly skidded and the rear of the vehicle swayed back and forth when going over ice or snow at a speed as low as 15 mph. Due to this problem, I was almost involved in more than one traffic accidents. I just purchased the vehicle 3 months ago and now feel very unsafe driving it. I did some research and discovered that there are many people out there that experienced the same problem. Since this is so unsafe, this vehicle should be recalled and the problem corrected. How can I get this problem fixed? I hate to have to go through the trouble of selling the vehicle due to a manufacturer's defect.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #11

Nov 152010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I recently noticed that my 2007 Chevy Impala is very dangerous in inclement weather. Tonight I almost died! while I was traveling on the interstate the car swerved out of control consistently for at least 10 miles. Semis were surrounding me as my car was going out of control. After reading similar complaints I've realized that this may be a manufacturing issue and not the tires that I recently put on. I was literally scared to death. How can the us government allow this issue to go unchecked. Hey why don't we just bail out some more us auto companies like GM so they can keep making pos cars.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?