If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,959 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Aug 222011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear tires wearing too prematurely due to bad engineering and design in the 2007 Chevy Impala. I'm at 50,000 miles and second set of tires is wearing too soon as well. There is a problem with the suspension & spindle rods angling the tires in the wrong position causing the car to be unsafe during any ice, snow and or slippery conditions. GM has recalled all police vehicles to fix the problem in the exact model car. However, they are leaving the individual owner to scramble and find a solution, knowing it's a dangerous situation. Rear spindle rods part numbers 10329689 (2) and 10329691 (2) need to be replaced as noted on bulletin 08032 by GM and they sell a complete kit to correct their mistake. This is a $600 to $700 repair plus new tires G.M. will not replace anything stating this only applies to police vehicles. But all part numbers are the same on police and regular Impala's. updated 09/27/11.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #34

Feb 252011

Impala

  • 32,366 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that all four tires and rear struts needed to be replaced. Upon returning from a trip, the front drivers side tire was flat. While inflating the tire, the contact noticed that wiring was coming out of the tire. The vehicle was taken to the location of the tire manufacturer, where the contact was informed that the rear struts were faulty and needed to be replaced. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was equipped with a heavier duty police issued suspension system which caused the failure. The manufacturer of the vehicle was then notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was actually not equipped with the police duty suspension system. The failure mileage was 32,366 and the current mileage was 32,591. Updated 9/13/11 updated 2/22/12

- Beumont, TX, USA

problem #33

May 052009

Impala

  • miles
I had heard about a recall on the 20007- 2008 Chevy Impala. It involves the spindle rods on the rear suspension. I have a 2007 Impala and the bad spindle rods are effecting my rear tires. I purchased 4 tires in 2009. As of today, my rear tires need replacing really soon due to this problem with the spindle rods.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #32

Jul 202011

Impala 8-cyl

  • 56,743 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased our 2007 Impala ss on 11/17/09 with 33,003 miles on it. On July 20, 2011 while driving home from work with my wife and stepson on the I-94 freeway in clinton township, mi., the leftside rear tire blewout. We notice that it had broke the inner plastic piece and bent the muffler tip and there was clearly no rubber left on the inside of the tire all you saw was wires. Had to put our spare tire on. Took the car into the tire shop on July 22, 2011 to have that tire replaced, service guy said there was no rubber left on the inside of the left tire in the rear, and the wires were clearly visible and showed us them, which we had noticed when this occurred. He also stated that on the rear rightside the wires were showing too. We had him replace all 4 tires on the vehicle. He also stated that we had been the 4th Impala they had replaced tires on in the past week. While on the lift we noticed that the back tires were slightly leaning out, like (/) left side and (\) right side, I told him that I want the tires back and he gave them to me. We took them home and took picks of them and the back of our car to show how the tires were still leaning out, and also took pictures of where the plastic had been broke in the wheel well. This has happened in less than 20,000 mile since we purchased the vehicle. I went to the dealership that we purchased the vehicle from and told the service guy what had happened, he stated that there was no recall as of yet on this problem but that other people had came in with the same complaints, that I should get ahold of GM and see what they say. He told me that he was aware of the police vehicle that had been recalled but as of yet knew nothing about all others. He stated that he wished he could do something for us but there was nothing he could do. When is GM gonna do something about this?

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #31

Jul 182010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
2007 Chevy Impala - very dangerous to drive on slick roads - abnormal rear tire wear due to alignment issues - wears out tires in approximately 15000 miles due to excessive inner wear / camber out of alignment.

- Buhl, ID, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #30

Sep 092009

Impala 6-cyl

  • 16,900 miles
On 9/08/09 I went to a local tire dealer to repair 2 slow leaks in my tires. I was advised the tires badly needed aligned. On 9/09/09 I got my alignment. The repairman advised me the tires were all worn badly, and I needed new ones before winter.at that time my mileage was about 16,900 miles. On 11/02/09 I bought 4 new tires for a cosdt of $425.79 out of necessity for upcoming winter driving. I thought it was very odd that I needed new tires on the Impala that I had purchased two years ago, but I trust my tire man, so I did not question what he told me I needed to do. It has been almost two years again, so now I am concerned about whther I need new tires again already due to this GM problem of defective spindle rods, which connect the suspension to the rear wheels. I am concerned about this problem as a safety issue when I am driving my vehicle!!!

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #29

Mar 312010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This complaint is about my 2007 Chevy Impala. On 3/31/10 I was on the highway coming back from Florida when my rear tire started loosing air. I immediately got off the highway and found a tire repair shop in barnesville ga. They looked at my back tires and both were worn on the inside as though my rear end was out of alignment. I had to get 2 new tires for the back. The original tires had 37,000 miles on them. Cost of the new tires were $296.23. Then when I got back home I took it to the Chevy dealer where they said I needed a 4 wheel alignment at a cost of $89.95. I recently read in the paper that this problem may have been caused by a defective spindle rod that the dealer should have known about.

- Jenison, MI, USA

problem #28

Feb 012010

Impala

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the rear passenger side tire continuously wore prematurely. The contact had several alignments performed on the vehicle within two years. In addition, when driving in snowy weather, the contact was unable to travel above 35 mph or the rear end of the vehicle would fish tail. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The current mileage was 109,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Worden, IL, USA

problem #27

Jun 252011

Impala

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The vehicle was taken for routine mechanic when the contact was informed that the rear tires were worn from the inside. The contact stated that the tired were recently replaced and only traveled approximately 7,000 miles on the tires. The contact believed the failure as caused by faulty suspension rods. The tires were replaced. The contact called the dealer regarding the rear suspension and they advised that there were no recalls related to the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #26

Jan 112011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Vehicle performed poorly over 35 mph on highway with the rear of the vehicle swaying excessively during snowy or wet conditions. The tires on the back of the vehicle wore prematurely on the inside. I purchased four sets of new back tires in a span of 4 months and had to have two alignments done at separate times because the first didn't initially fix the problem. It came to a point that I was frightened to drive my vehicle during snowy or wet conditions in fear of causing a major accident. I have spent roughly $700 on this issue and believe it could have been resolved if GM would have addressed the consumer's vehicle problem initially.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #25

Jan 202011

Impala

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Impala has bad rear end alignment, new tires bought in January 2011, already showing uneven wear on rear tires only. The damage is on the inner part of the rear tires. I should not have to pay out of my pocket for the rear cam kit to be installed to fix the problem.

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #24

Jun 012008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Vehicle performed poorly over 35 mph on highway with the rear of the vehicle swaying excessively. The tires on the back of the vehicle wore prematurely. I had a dealership look at the vehicle and there was no damage to vehicle suspension. I had to have an alignment and new tires put on the vehicle. I complained to General Motors but they were only reimbursing police vehicles for premature rear tire wear.

- Crystal, MN, USA

problem #23

Mar 062011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 91,875 miles
2007 Chevy Impala exhibits severe wear on two inches of interior rear tires due to factory error.(difficult to see unless you do a visual inspection) both rear tires exposed steel belts with one blowing out at 62 mph. I would have died if on a two lane highway as car was out of control. Chevy and G.M. are aware of this problem described in program bulletin 08032 and will only repair "police" vehicles. Regular Impala use identical defective parts. My tires were professionally rotated and balanced at 3840,5724,7822,8087 miles driven and blew out at 33,062 Michelin "X" tires rated 65,000 mile-my other car had same tires lasted 80,000mi.). rear spindle rods part numbers10329689 (2) and 10329691 (2) need to be replaced as noted on bulletin 08032 by G.M and they sell a complete kit to correct their mistake.this is a $600 to $700 repair plus new tires G.M. will not replace anything stating this only applies to police vehicles. But all part numbers are the same on police and regular Impala. Please use all of your resources to complain about this deadly problem. Write to your congressmen, state reps. And any one else that will get the message out and try to help save a life. If you see what these tires look like, you will be devastated and glad to be alive. There are hundreds of comments about this unsafe condition on the internet. Dealers will not help in any way. This is GM's ultimate disregard for public safety. I have been in law enforcement for more than 30 years, millions of miles driven, no accidents, police cases at 140 miles per hour. Never a blowout or have seen such a severe unsafe tire/alignment condition. Also a note from the Georgia assoc. Of chiefs of police dated 23 June 2008 warning members of this deadly defect can be found online (google) please check your tires immediately as your family is at risk. Many reports I've read say an alignment won't do, the parts upgrade kits must be installed or condition will persist, tires will wear quickly.

- Princeeton, IL, USA

problem #22

Jan 292011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 53,754 miles
2007 Chevrolet Impala ltz wears rear tires on the inside of the tire and can cause tire failure. The car tends to skid side ways on wet pavement because of the lack of tire contact with pavement.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #21

Dec 132010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
First snow storm I drove this car in, the cars rear end slides all over the road. I have driven in snow all my life and this was the scariest vehicle I have ever drove in slick weather. I changed the tires believing this was the problem only to see that the rear tires are both wearing on the inside. After having this car for over a year the rear end feels like it slides back and forth and is at its worst in rain and especially snow. I see there are many complaints of this kind for this car. The rear end sliding around and the inner tires on the rear end wearing out quickly. I really like everything else about this car and I have a truck that I drive during bad weather. I would hope that Chevrolet would do something to fix this problem. I will sell or trade the car before I will ever drive it in snow and I cannot afford to keep tires on the rear end.

- Elko, NV, USA

problem #20

Jan 092011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
2007 Chevy Impala - rear suspension problem results in dangerous stability issues in ice, snow, and rain. The rear end of the car slides around making it difficult to stay on the road and in my lane. Also results in uneven and fast tire wear. GM has admitted there is an issue (bulletin 08032), but will only apply to government cars.

- Monticello, MN, USA

problem #19

Dec 012010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 28,517 miles
GM 2007 Chevrolet Impala LT2 - Goodyear integrity tires vehicle manufacturing detect causes tire cupping, uneven tire wear and premature tire wear out. Possible tire failure while driving if not detected. Tires rated for 50,000 miles failed at 28,000. 30 June 2007 - 205 miles: Purchased new GM 2007 Chevrolet Impala LT2 - Goodyear integrity tires 05 Feb 2008 - 7,094 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 8/32. 26 Dec 2008 - 14,449 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 8/32. 15 Jun 2009- 18,106 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 8/32. 25 May 2010 - 23,812 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 6/32. 01 Dec 2010 - 28,517 miles: Lube shop rotated tires - all tires badly cupped on inside tread. Tires worn out and unsafe, must be replaced asap.steel belts will start to show. All tires tread less than 2/32. 23 Dec 2010 - 28,788 miles: Dealer - after escalation to service manager. Rear strut bolt hole requires elongation to allow proper wheel alignment. Under warranty, elongated rear strut bolt hole, replaced with 4 new tires, complete 4 wheel alignment.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #18

Dec 282010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
The 2007 Chevrolet Impala is an extremely unsafe automobile in wet or snow/ice conditions, even sand or salt; this car is the worst handling automobile possibly ever designed by GM. The Impala's rear end slides left or right with only a minimal amount of debris, water, or snow on the road. This is not just a little slip now and again, it is uncontrollable and an extreme safety hazard. Every person that has had any dealings with this type of car will tell you the same thing. Ask any mechanic, dealership, tire sales rep, and most of all, a 2007 Chevy Impala owner and all will attest to the poor design of this car. My wife and I will not, or should say cannot, drive this car when there is any sign of rain or snow in the forecast. Something must be done about this car. Not only is there a handling problem, but tire wear is almost unbelievable. The alignment specifications are at such extremes that tires are ruined in 10,000 miles or less. When looking at the car from the rear, the Impala's wheels tilt in to the point it looks as though they could collapse inward under the car. I have had the dealership and two different alignment shops check the alignment and all say the same; the car is within specs and to be extra careful as that the handling of these cars are unsafe. What gives" does it take a fatality to occur before GM will do anything about this design flaw? please look into this matter, lives depend on it. Anyone, and I mean anyone, who drives this car cannot deny there is something seriously wrong the 2007 Chevrolet Impala. A final note, it was brought to my attention that all police cars of this type were recalled for this very problem, is that indeed the case? if so, what about my family's safety and every other family that owns one of these cars? do we not deserve the same protection"

- Princeton, IN, USA

problem #17

Oct 052010

Impala

  • 34,500 miles
Had clunk noise coming from rear suspension when going over even the smallest bump or crack in the road. Took back to dealer and they found the cross members of the chassis - bolts had worked loose. They tightened them. No more noise so far.

- Claymont, DE, USA

problem #16

Jul 122010

Impala

  • 20,000 miles
I've had to replace rear tires every 23,000 miles. Took car to Chevy dealer and he told me that the holes for the struts would have to be elongated and modified with a camber kit at my expense or else the rear alignment would not be according to specs. I paid for front and rear alignment, Chevy will not pay for this unless its a police car. It is a factory defect, there are a lot of the same model year Chevrolet with the same problem.

- Arlington, TX, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?