Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

4.3

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jun 032008

Impala

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought 2007 Impala new. Have replaced rear tires 6 times due to camber issue. Impala is designed with no adjustment for camber on the rear suspension. Tires wear on the inside at a fast rate. Nothing in the trunk to cause weight issues, standard highway driving on a daily basis. Tire sound is horrible and increases with speed. First set of tires replaced at 9,000 miles. GM recalled police models of the Impala to fix the issue, but not Impala that weren't police models. So GM knows there is an issue with the rear suspension causing excessive tire wear but won't perform a recall. My wife wouldn't even drive the car because she was afraid tires would blow out on the highway. 6 sets of tires on a vehicle with 90,000 miles is absurd. I finally had to have another shop install aftermarket camber adjusting bolts and get an alignment to fix the issue. Shop I dealt with says they've been performing this repair on Impala's since mid 2007. $20 for the bolt kit and $80 for the alignment. $100 to fix an issue (not including tire replacement costs) and GM won't own up to it. This is a basic design flaw that GM has been aware of, with no action being taken on there part.

- Middletown, MD, USA

problem #38

Mar 302012

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
Bought the car Jan 2012. Car has 31,000 mi. The inside of rear tires are wearing out. Had car aligned mechanic says tires need replaced. It looks to me by all of the reports of the same problem. There is definitely a mechanical issue here. Maybe NHTSA should check this out.

- Willmar, MN, USA

problem #37

Nov 112013

Impala

  • 140,000 miles
In November of 2013 I noticed weird tire wear on my 07 Impala lt (rear).. thought it was due to low grade tires so I purchased a two better tire for the rear.. March 16 2014 I received a flat while parked... attempted to change and inside tire wear four months brand new tires destroyed. So I researched why this would happen and found out that GM had class action lawsuit against them for know about this and only recalling law enforcement issued Impala's.I purchased the car 2010 and November 2013 is when I first seen problem.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #36

Mar 032008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tires are wearing terribly. This seems to be a alignment or suspension problem because the tires wear on the inside. There has never been an accident in this car. The rear tires seem to be the issue. About a year and 1/2 ago, I bought very expensive 80,000 mile tires top of the line unknowingly that there was a defect. The tires were completely trashed- the wires were sticking out of the inside of the tire when I brought them into my tire dealership. The manager there told me to check on a possible recall because he sees this happening with all the 2007 Chevy Impala that he works on. I am afraid that it could cause a accident or worse.....

- Burnsville , MN, USA

problem #35

Sep 302011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
When purchased, the vehicle exhibited rear tire tread wear on the inside of the rear tires only. We bought new tires in 2011 and had the vehicle balanced and aligned. In July 2013, we find that we need to replace our 70,000 mile tires (driven 20,000 miles in that two years) because of rear wear to the inside of the rear tires. Certified Chevy dealer says nothing wrong with car...tire company blames mechanical problems...no help from Chevy as they indicate they stand by the certified mechanics. In reading histories on this vehicle, it appears that some 2007 models have had replacement parts issued by Chevy, but not any vehicle not used for personal usage. It seems to be a significant issue as the tire wear could cause an accident.

- Ogallala, NE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Sep 102012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
I bought this car used 9 months ago and put new tires on it, one of the rear tires blew out on the inside where it was worn down the to steel and the other is down to showing steel and needs to be replaced as well. It is only the inside of the rear tires and it not visible when approaching the vehicle. This is something that seems to have been a recall on "police" Impala's but not the standard Impala but from a short search on the internet this seems to be a wide spread problem.

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #33

Jun 162008

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed things about my car but ignored them because I thought, this is a brand new car and it shouldn't have any issues. From the very beginning I would notice that my car would slide a lot when there was snow/ice/rain on the ground. As if it wasn't sitting on the ground properly. I would look at it from the rear at a distance and it always seemed to slant/droop at an angle. About a year and half of ownership while getting my oil changed a service tech from an authorized Chevrolet dealer informed me that I had excessive tire wear and stated that I needed all new tires. Note he never stated that I needed a wheel alignment or that there was a possible recall notice that we could fix while your car is still under. He just wanted to sell me tires. From doing my research it looks like I am not alone with the issue of excessive tire wear. Looks like GM is also aware of this issue. There is a GM bulletin 08032 but GM only states that government cars are affected. I know of several people that work on GM assembly lines and they will state that there is no difference, so why has there not been a recall on this issue. This is very dangerous for GM to knowing know that something is not correct on these cars and they are refusing to do anything about it. How many lives have been lost or have to be lost for GM to call a recall and fix the issue on these cars. Update 2/22/2012: I have gotten the "needed" "special" wheel alignment but am still constantly replacing tires that have been on my car not even a year. Will never buy a Chevy again. Not reputable and doing the right thing which is to correctly fix over 400,000 cars.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #32

Jul 222009

Impala 6-cyl

  • 33,428 miles
Tires bald at 33,428 miles & replaced replaced another tire 7/2011 around 52,000 miles three others are within 1 or 2 /32 nd of being worn out again at 56,056.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #31

Nov 212011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
My 2007 Chevrolet Impala was recently in Chevrolet shop for 30,000 miles maintenance. I was shocked when told I needed tires. I am the original owner and drive to and from work and an occasional weekend trip. I have my tires rotated every 10,000 miles. What gives?

- Northfield, NJ, USA

problem #30

Aug 122008

Impala

  • 23,109 miles
Tires completely worn at 23,000 miles dealer said because not rotated properly ($500 for new tire)I rotated every 7000 miles they failed at 61,209 miles put on four new tires (3rd set another $470) and rotated every 5000 dealer said poor choice of tires installed Goodyear premium tire next set went in 20000 miles wheel alignment done every year no adjustments needed, last set of tires now worn at mileage 83,300. I have had 15 new cars during my lifetime and never have I encountered the premature wear I have on this Impala. Driving all highway miles I do not speed or corner fast I rotate tires check air pressure in addition to TPMS system why am I seeing tire failure on three different brands of premium tire?

- Swanton, VT, USA

problem #29

Sep 062011

Impala

  • 74,769 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had numerous problems with this vehicle (almost through my third set of tires, oxygen sensor going at 46,000 miles, rust beginning at 38,000 miles {car was two years old}, and the battery going prematurely). Last week, I attempted to put on my rear defogger. The light came on, but my rear windshield was still fogged up. The defroster also does not blow cold air if the car is in park.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #28

Jul 202011

Impala 8-cyl

  • 56,743 miles
We purchased our 2007 Impala ss on 11/17/09 with 33,003 miles on it. On July 20, 2011 while driving home from work with my wife and stepson on the I-94 freeway in clinton township, mi., the leftside rear tire blewout. We notice that it had broke the inner plastic piece and bent the muffler tip and there was clearly no rubber left on the inside of the tire all you saw was wires. Had to put our spare tire on. Took the car into the tire shop on July 22, 2011 to have that tire replaced, service guy said there was no rubber left on the inside of the left tire in the rear, and the wires were clearly visible and showed us them, which we had noticed when this occurred. He also stated that on the rear rightside the wires were showing too. We had him replace all 4 tires on the vehicle. He also stated that we had been the 4th Impala they had replaced tires on in the past week. While on the lift we noticed that the back tires were slightly leaning out, like (/) left side and (\) right side, I told him that I want the tires back and he gave them to me. We took them home and took picks of them and the back of our car to show how the tires were still leaning out, and also took pictures of where the plastic had been broke in the wheel well. This has happened in less than 20,000 mile since we purchased the vehicle. I went to the dealership that we purchased the vehicle from and told the service guy what had happened, he stated that there was no recall as of yet on this problem but that other people had came in with the same complaints, that I should get ahold of GM and see what they say. He told me that he was aware of the police vehicle that had been recalled but as of yet knew nothing about all others. He stated that he wished he could do something for us but there was nothing he could do. When is GM gonna do something about this?

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #27

May 152010

Impala

  • 6,000 miles
My 2007 Impala tires wore out prematurely. I noticed the tires starting to wear out on the inside at about 6,000 miles and had the tires aligned and rotated. The tires continued to wear out on the inside. I brought this to the attention of luck Chevrolet at about 32,000 miles and they said GM would not cover this repair under the warranty. However they did say there was a problem and a kit could be installed to correct. I replaced the tires and had Goodyear install the camber kit to correct the problem. I spent $800 for new tires wheel alignment and the camber kit.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #26

Jul 032011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 22,500 miles
Tires wear unevenly and prematurely with possibility of unexpected blow-out at highway speeds.

- Va, VA, USA

problem #25

Feb 012010

Impala

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the rear passenger side tire continuously wore prematurely. The contact had several alignments performed on the vehicle within two years. In addition, when driving in snowy weather, the contact was unable to travel above 35 mph or the rear end of the vehicle would fish tail. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The current mileage was 109,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Worden, IL, USA

problem #24

Jun 012008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Vehicle performed poorly over 35 mph on highway with the rear of the vehicle swaying excessively. The tires on the back of the vehicle wore prematurely. I had a dealership look at the vehicle and there was no damage to vehicle suspension. I had to have an alignment and new tires put on the vehicle. I complained to General Motors but they were only reimbursing police vehicles for premature rear tire wear.

- Crystal, MN, USA

problem #23

Mar 222011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Car purchased used with new tires in March of 2009. In April of 2010 rear tires had severe wear on inside tread that caused belts to show. Four new tires were installed and a four wheel alignment was done. 11 months later rear tires showed the same wear, inside of tire. Was told there was a safety bulletin from GM but didn't cover my car since it was not a police version. Was told by dealership that GM knows about this problem and has come out with a camber kit to fix problem but I had to purchase it and have it installed. When asked why if it was a manufacture defect with the vehicle causing premature tire wear I was having to pay for it was brushed off. Called Chevrolet and filed a formal complaint regarding the matter and was told that it was a maintenance issue and I would have to pay for the repair. Chevy knows that there is a problem with this vehicle and refuses to take responsibility to repair/fix problem and is instead pushing this off on the consumer. Excessive tire wear is a safety problem and I guess people have to die for action to be taken.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #22

Nov 012010

Impala

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala lt. The contact stated that when she inspected her vehicle she noticed that all four tires were worn excessively on the inside to the point where the tread was visible. The vehicle was not inspected nor had it been repaired. The dealer informed her that she should consider an alignment and four new tires. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000.

- Trenton, IL, USA

problem #21

Dec 012010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 28,517 miles
GM 2007 Chevrolet Impala LT2 - Goodyear integrity tires vehicle manufacturing detect causes tire cupping, uneven tire wear and premature tire wear out. Possible tire failure while driving if not detected. Tires rated for 50,000 miles failed at 28,000. 30 June 2007 - 205 miles: Purchased new GM 2007 Chevrolet Impala LT2 - Goodyear integrity tires 05 Feb 2008 - 7,094 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 8/32. 26 Dec 2008 - 14,449 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 8/32. 15 Jun 2009- 18,106 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 8/32. 25 May 2010 - 23,812 miles: Dealer rotated tires - all tires tread greater than 6/32. 01 Dec 2010 - 28,517 miles: Lube shop rotated tires - all tires badly cupped on inside tread. Tires worn out and unsafe, must be replaced asap.steel belts will start to show. All tires tread less than 2/32. 23 Dec 2010 - 28,788 miles: Dealer - after escalation to service manager. Rear strut bolt hole requires elongation to allow proper wheel alignment. Under warranty, elongated rear strut bolt hole, replaced with 4 new tires, complete 4 wheel alignment.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #20

Jun 302010

Impala

  • 10,000 miles
This involves a continued rear tire issue with my 2007 Chevy Impala ltz that has not been resolved despite encounters with dealers & national tire alignment specialists 12/06: Purchased car new, came with Goodyear Eagle LS2 radials. 3/08: One tire blew in charlotte, nc. At just tires, they pointed out that both rear tires including the one that blew had significant signs of wear, replaced both with LS2 radials. The problem was chalked it up to alignment issues that could've started from the factory. 11/08: After more incidents of low rear tire pressure, took car into local just tires. Tired of continued issues, I decide to get top of the line tires from them (Goodyear assurance tripletred) for just under $900. 9/09: Tire kept losing pressure, took car into local just tires. Told tires were not only once again out of alignment, but rear tires again needed replacement (in a manner not covered by road hazard plan) for $507 with treads severely worn down. The problem was again chalked up to alignment issues, though they aligned the tires in 11/08. 6/10: Randomly check treads on my top-line tires. Completely fine in front, but worn down considerably on both rear tires. I drive only city streets & had driven less than 12,000 miles since buying 4 new tires. Research uncovers a plethora of rear-end alignment issues on 2007 Chevy Impala, including a specific identified issue: fleetleader.phh.com/recalls/2008/recallsjuly2008.pdf customer satisfaction program #08032 - uneven police car rear tire wear obviously, this extended to commercial Impala & explains what's been happening. When calling pallone Chevrolet, the service rep flatly dismisses the talk of the police recall, saying that the spindle rod parts involved are completely different. (later checking indicates the parts are exactly the same on both the police and commercial vehicles.) IżM told that the only way they can help is to check alignment, as if nothing else could be causing the problem.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?