Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,831 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #115

May 182013

Impala

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at approximately 40 mph, the fuel gauge went down to zero. Also, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle did not accelerate. The service engine soon warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was approximately 115,000.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #114

Oct 042014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the driver's door key fob failed to operate. The contact had to manually lock and unlock the driver's side door. The contact mentioned that weeks later, the both rear doors failed to lock and unlock. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 6/8/15 the consumer stated the problem was diagnoses as dis-functional lock actuators. Updated 06/18/15

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #113

Jan 252015

Impala

  • 68,000 miles
'service traction control' 'engine power reduced' and engine light came on. Car lost all power. I had to wait several minutes before it would start again. I was driving 65 mph on my daily drive of 60 miles one way. Thank goodness I wasn't passing and did not have my children in the car! this has happened several times since where I have not lost all power but partial, the cruise control will quit working and the car has very little power.

- Bovey, MN, USA

problem #112

Aug 232014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to parts unavailable to complete recall notice.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #111

Aug 012012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the vehicles speed reduced after the engine power warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 4/6/15

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #110

Feb 072014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I was approaching a intersection when the engine stopped running, I stopped the car, put the car in park, then I tried to start the car it wouldn't do anything, tried to take it out of park and it wouldn't come out park nor would it start and the key wouldn't come out of the ignition switch. This is a safety problem I could have been killed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #109

Dec 152014

Impala 8-cyl

  • 72,389 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first time the loud noise happen was back in 12/2014. 02/08/2015 the noise was so loud that I pull off the road. It seems to be coming from behind the dash or radio? I call GM and was advised that there is not and has not been a recall form this although there has been several complaints. Per GM the cost of repairs is on the car owner.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #108

Jul 162014

Impala

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that an abnormal noise emitted from the heating system when the driver door was open. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #107

Jan 012015

Impala

  • miles
The key gets stuck and is very difficult to remove the key.

- Stratford,, CT, USA

problem #106

May 302014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a guard rail and rolled over. The air bags did not deploy and the vehicle failed to restart. The contact did not disclose if a police report was filed or not. The contact sustained whiplash all over the body that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 4/27/15

- Mountain Green, UT, USA

problem #105

Jan 012015

Impala

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the steering wheel seized and no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Temple, OK, USA

problem #104

Jan 082015

Impala

  • 71,000 miles
Key went and turned vehicle on. When I stopped to pull key out it would not release.

- Portsmouth, OH, USA

problem #103

Jan 162014

Impala

  • miles
2000 Chevrolet Impala. Vehicle wouldn't start. Took it to service dealer and got it fixed. Recall was issued for same reason. The key, and tumbler were replaced, and the key switch was re-programmed.

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #102

Dec 162014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 50-60 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle could be restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000. Updated 3/3/15 the consumer stated it was obvious the vehicle had a faulty ignition. The engine would stall on a major highway. Updated 03/26/15

- Glen Cove, NY, USA

problem #101

Dec 112014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 79,681 miles
On 12/11 the key would not disengage from ignition although gear shift is in park. On 12/12 the car was able to start with key still stuck. I took the car to the dealer and when the technician went to get basic information to start the service process the gear shift was stuck in the park position. Dealer was unable to disengage shift and key. General Motors escalated representative 800-222-1020 refused to service the vehicle at their expense for faulty manufactured parts. After researching this issue online this is a common GM Chevrolet Impala problem for which GM should accept full responsibility by performing a voluntary recall.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #100

Nov 142014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
After receiving a recall notice followed by an advisement the repair part(s) were in I took my vehicle to the dealer with the belief that the ignition switch was going to be repaired or replaced. Airport Chevrolet-medford, Oregon. All that was done was the size of the key ring hole on the keys were reduced. Was this an acceptable fix for the ignition switch problem, and if so, why was that not mentioned on any of the tv news coverage like ignition switch replacement was? thank you.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #99

Oct 292014

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the key failed to disengage from the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the shift park fuse needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 12/22/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was traded in. Updated 05/26/2015

- Bogalusa, LA, USA

problem #98

Oct 132014

Impala

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle decelerated to 40 mph. The contact also stated that the decrease in power and the traction control warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Mccook, NE, USA

problem #97

Nov 022014

Impala

  • 115,000 miles
At 55 mph, a warning message stating service traction control-engine power reduced appeared. While driving downhill or on level ground, I had sufficient power to continue driving. When headed uphill it was extremely difficult to get the car to shift into a lower gear. When it finally did shift, it shifted hard and really jerked the car. A few miles down the road, I rounded a corner and began to pick up some momentum. Without warning, the engine stopped and another warning light stating starting disabled-service throttle appeared. I had enough momentum to move off to the side of the road. I tried to start the car several times. The engine did not crank and the message continued to flash. I completely turned the key off and sat for a few minutes. I was about to call for a tow truck when I tried again. The engine started and I was able to continue home with no issues. A few days later, the first message I mentioned appeared (service traction control-engine power reduced). I was still at work, so I found a parking space and turned the engine off immediately. A few minutes later, I restarted the engine and drove away. I guess I'm just lucky this didn't happen on the turnpike or interstate. GM has to know about this. I guess they don't pay attention to near-misses.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #96

Aug 012014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?