Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,407 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Impala seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Jun 092014


  • 58,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the service air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing, but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- East Sparta, OH, USA

problem #42

Feb 112009

Impala 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 65 mph, the traction control and engine reduce power warning indicators illuminated. Also, the vehicle's speed suddenly decelerated to 45 mph and the air bag sensor and tire monitoring system indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 2,000. Updated 10/22/2014 updated 4/1/2015

- Winstonville, MS, USA

problem #41

Jan 032011


  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air bag warning light randomly illuminated. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000.

- Rabenna , OH, USA

problem #40

Aug 242014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala LX. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the air bag warning indicator was illuminated. The problem has occurred numerous of times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 10/09/2014 updated 03/26/2015

- Gainsville, FL, USA

problem #39

Jun 302014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a rail. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a whiplash that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the repairs were unknown. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 4/27/15

- Mountain Green , UT, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #38

Sep 302013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
Service airbag light came on very slightly then over a period remained on all the time. It was the passenger side airbag that needed replacement but this makes all airbags inoperable I was told. I then filed case #[xxx] with GM and audia motor millbrook NY but I was told my vehicle not on recall and I had to pay the entire $638.01 because of the mileage currently 163,663. This is not something a consumer should pay as it is a basic safety device. This is the original airbag that was never deployed nor damaged. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lagrangeville, NY, USA

problem #37

Jul 242014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 160,175 miles


Air bag alarm light turned on and was alarming for more than one week, electrical connector issues were diagnosed by the dealership, dealership identified fretting failures. Chevrolet dealership acknowledged that my vehicle is a target for ignition switch update however they informed me that no resolution to the ignition switch for my vehicle would be honored for my car. Neither was there any further explanation for resolution nor was there any recommended safe resolution for me to execute.

- Dighton, MA, USA

problem #36

May 152014


  • 45,698 miles
Check airbag warning came on. The right front seat belt tensioner kit was installed. Checked codes had code B001B. Replacement at the cost of $270.97.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #35

May 022014


  • 20,032 miles
Air bag light came on in May 2, 2014, and an email was received by the owner (me) that they should have a oil change- they did that and at the same time they told the person in the autonations garage that the air bag light comes on and they came back with a check up and said it was the sensor for the air bag rubbing on the seat belt and ruined it. Causing possible injuries to person/persons in the moving vehicle if an accident ever occurred. This was then taken care of by autonations garage with "[xxx] asm" & the tech was "[xxx]" ! amount for replacement $445.07 vehicle had just run out of warranty! oil change along with tire alignment and other check ups that day came to $ $735.63. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #34

Jan 022012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
At about 50000 miles the rear door actuator began to work intermittently. Within months it did not work at all. The dealer said it was expensive to fix. At about 66000 miles the service air bag warning light began to come on intermittently. At 68000 miles I took it to the dealer who diagnosed the problem as an actuator. I replaced it at a cost of $400. He said I could replace the rear door actuator for another $400 which I elected not to do. When I saw a news article about an elderly, disabled man trapped in his Chevrolet Impala because of a defective door lock actuator, I realized that this might be a frequent problem to be addressed.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #33

Mar 032011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles


Airbag light remains on -will go out and then reappear. Never know when it will go out. Remains on most of the time regardless of conditions. Senior and cannot afford a major repair bill, auto company's should be liable for repairs of federal mandated safety equipment. Our government has failed us again. Car has never been damaged or abused. Now has 67000 miles. If a accident occurs, will the airbags I paid for work? if not, contact my lawyer!

- Red Bank , TN, USA

problem #32

Jun 292014


  • miles
The vehicle is displaying "service air bag" with a picture on the dash board. I drove it to work today and it's still displaying the same thing. Can anyone tell me why and is this part of GM recall.I'm scared that if something happen while I'm driving or have my kids in the vehicle will this protect us or hurt us.

- Crowley, TX, USA

problem #31

Jan 302010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
2009 Chevy Impala 2lt the air bag warning light has illuminated on numerous occasions since buying the car new in January 2010. Currently the light has been on for 2 weeks straight with yet another dealer visit scheduled. This warning light when illuminated renders the rest of the electronic display useless since the "service airbag" display never goes off. The dealer service department has failed to fix the problem satisfactorily for the past 4 years despite the multiple times we have had it in for the air bag warning light issue. The problem always returns and the light will stay on from several minutes to weeks. Some of the explanations for returning the car to us without correcting the problem have been downright ridiculous. We have great concern about the safety of driving a vehicle with an ongoing airbag warning light issue. The vehicle only has 31,000 miles on it and has never been in an accident.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #30

Apr 172014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The vehicle displays a "service air bag" label and also a icon associated with the written warning. My 2009 Chevrolet Impala lt is not included in the recall, according to the my VIN number. Can you explain why this vehicle is displaying service air bag. This vehicle has not been in any accidents. I have never had a car display such a warning. I am very afraid to drive this vehicle.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #29

May 282014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 144,171 miles
We own the car listed above and have for over two years. We bought it at a dealership in East Tennessee. The car was previously used as a rent a car for enterprise. Not even a year after we bought the vehicle we had to replace the transmission. The biggest problem is the fact I have drove this car and all issues stated for a recall we have had a problem with. The most recent is the vehicle shutting off while driving it on highways. It's is saying service engine light mad than will say service traction control, than it will shutoff I been going 70 down an interstate and it shutoff mad about kill us. We had the vehicle checked and the accelerator pedal sensor or something like that is the problem by what technician say. I am just now starting to research the issues we have and found numerous recalls on this vehicle in which we have the problems listed above and more. Mainly the airbag steering control arm and vehicle just shutting off. I guess the best way to sum it up is they sold us a lemon perhaps but after looking at the recall list our vehicle meets the requirements for sure. Too many problems for a new vehicle. Just looking to take care of the problem before the car injures us or someone else on the highways. Hope this doesn't take long to get resolved because deaths could occur. Thanks for your time hope to speak with someone soon before it's too late. I mean I thought something major was wrong but the automd website really assured what we been thinking. Thanks for your time.

- Wartburg, TN, USA

problem #28

Feb 032014


  • 92,000 miles
I have owned the car since 9/2013. Shortly after purchasing the airbag sensor light started illuminating on and off. I took it back to the dealer and it was serviced. Shortly after that it came on again. Then back in February the car started making a very annoying and embarrassing clicking sound that comes from the ac/heating unit. I was told that it was common in the Impala and that it is the actuator. It has gotten so bad that it clicks even when the car is not running and is locked. I know at least 7 people here locally that has the same problems as listed above with the same year and model car. Please take a survey or do something because this is definitely a manufacturing issue.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #27

Mar 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact started the vehicle and the air bag warning light illuminated. Additionaly, the service air bag soon warning message illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was notified, but did not offer a remedy. The failure mileage was 31,000...updated 08/11/14 updated 08/19/2014

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #26

Oct 132011


  • 70,628 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated and that there was an abnormal sound coming from the front passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,628 and the current mileage was 74,378.

- Commerce, CA, USA

problem #25

May 182012

Impala 8-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
I was knocked unconscious and have no recollection until gaining awareness in the hospital. The wreck happened in robinson township, pa and I was driving home. The airbag did not deploy as it should have. Thankfully, I was wearing my invisalign, which significantly minimized the sharpness of my teeth or else I would have lost half my tongue. It was still severely damaged and you can see the scar. A mri showed the concussion. I had to spend $6,000 on my car to be fixed. It took me almost a month to be able to walk on conrete due to the damage to my body. I have been through physical therapies and still have neck and nerve damage.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #24

Mar 272014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to the seat belt recall notice. The consumer stated the warning light for the readiness air bag for the driver seat belt as well as the air bag light illuminated. The dealer informed the consumer, only the anchor was apart of the recall, and it would cost$400 to replace the sensor.

- Canton, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?