Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,912 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Impala transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #3

Oct 222010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 3,838 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had purchased a 2010 Chevrolet Impala in July, 2010. The first attempt at repair of the front end vibration was on 10/22/2010. The dealership did not recognize the vibration. The vehicle tires were rotated on 01/26/11 in an attempt to stop the vibration in the front end. The vehicle was taken in on 03/18/11 for front end noise (thump) while turning the wheels. The vehicle was taken in on 07/07/11 for the thumping noise in the front end while turning the wheels. The vehicle was taken in on 07/28/11 for a front end thumping noise when turning the wheels. The vehicle was taken in on 08/16/11 for a front end thumping noise and the dealership notices the tires were wearing slightly cupped on the inside edge. The vehicle was taken in on 09/08/11 for a whining noise from the engine bay and power steering fluid was flushed. The vehicle was taken in on 04/09/12 for front end thumping noise, wheel bearing, transmission surge, and whine noise from radio. The vehicle was taken in on 06/27/12 for rough idle, tire replacement, transmission. The vehicle was taken in on 07/27/12 for rough idle, transmission surge, thump noise in front end and whine noise in radio. The vehicle was taken in on 10/05/12 for transmission surge, rough idle, thump noise in front end, and whine noise in radio. The outcome at this point is the dealership tried to reprogram the vehicle, GM approved replacement of all four tires, a replacement of the power steering pump, wheel bearing on driver front side. The dealerships have done two throttle body cleanings. The dealership has stated they will replace the rotors but GM would not approve replacement only turning on the rotors. This case has been opened with the better business bureau whom advised me to contact NHTSA. GM refuses to replace parts because their computer system cannot tell them what is wrong with the vehicle. GM has recalled the police vehicles for front end suspension and has a lawsuit pending in Michigan for personal vehicle.

- Herrin, IL, USA

problem #2

May 222010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 49,778 miles
May 9th, I parked my car in a school parking lot. Upon trying to move the car to go home I could not get it to go in to gear. I called for a tow truck, while waiting for a tow a friend of mine helped me remove the center console to see if we could locate the issue. We ended up having to manually depress a button on the side of the shifting system to get the car to go into gear. Once out of park the shifter moved freely between R/N/D. on 5-22-2010, while traveling approximately 15-20mph on my home street in my neighborhood the left front (driver) tie rod snapped in half sending my car up over the sidewalk curb and into the grass/trees. The car jerked hard left and was surging forward and hard to control and kept jerking pulling and surging for approx 75 feet until I was able to gain some control and get mycar back onto my street and into my driveway. It is undrivable and am waiting on a tow to the local Chevy dealership to address these issues.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #1

Dec 062009

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The vehicle was parked on a slight incline without the paring brake engaged. The gear shifter was not placed in the "park" position and unexpectedly, the vehicle rolled into a retaining pond. There were no occupants in the vehicle. There was also a malfunction with the ignition switch releasing the key whenever the gear shifter was not in the "park" position. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the malfunctions. The cause of failure has not been determined at this time. The failure mileage was 120. Updated 05/06/10. Updated 09/20/10

- Cheltenham, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?