Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,082 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Impala brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Jun 022015


  • 72,618 miles


On the morning of Tuesday, June 2nd, 2015 just after 10am I was leaving my apartment managers office and when I was going in reverse and then to drive and touched the accelerator the Impala began to shake and on the dashboard it said the engine power reduced to half and there was a problem with the stabilitrak. When I parked in front of my apartment building, I turned the car off then back on and it was still shaking/ idling rough and on the dashboard is continued to read, "engine power reduced by half" and mentioned stabilitrak. The engine light was also on during this time. I left the car and returned 10 minutes later and engine light was still on and while it no longer idled roughly, it still had stibilitrak on the dashboard.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #54

Sep 022013


  • 40,000 miles
We own both a 2011 and a 2013 Chevy Impala. Both vehicles grind and hesitate. They both act this way while taking off from a light, backing out of the driveway and then putting it in drive and any other time it feels necessary to do so. Except while being checked by the mechanic. We owned a 2007 Impala that did the same thing. Our remedy, push the traction control button to the "off" position. Stopped making the noise and no longer hesitates after putting it in drive. Of course, we have to do this each and every time we get in the car. No more buying Chevy's for us.

- Centerville,, OH, USA

problem #53

May 202015


  • miles
Driving along and car just accelerated and could not get it to stop or slow down. Traction control light came on, engine reduce power, low engine power, service stability trak, check engine light. I was pushing down on the brake trying to get the car to stop or at least slow down but the car seems as if it was getting fasting then it made a jerk and I bumped my head against the window, and my foot got stuck under the pedal and knee got jammed. My mom got hurt also and being jerked back and forth.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #52

Jun 162014


  • 53,723 miles


I purchased the Impala on June 16, 2014, there was some popping noise from the dash board on the passenger's side. The sale's manager had me bring the car in for repair the next day. The car was repaired within 2-3 days. I found out it was the actuator sensor. In January 2015 the transmission had to be replaced. Luckily it was under the powertrain warranty. Now 8 months later to the date (March 12, 2015), the stabilizer track-engine reduce power light and message came. I came to a stop. Cut the car off for 15-20 minutes only for the light to reappear after moments of driving. I got to work. The car sat for 9 hours and still the light illuminated immediately upon starting the car. I found out it is the same problem and the extended warranty does not want to cover it. I am at my wits end and now the finance company wants me to continue to pay my monthly car note for a car that is not totally drivable...why"?" GM should pay!!!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #51

Feb 162015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Driving at approx 35 mph, my car showed service stabilitrack / service traction control / vehicle in reduced power. I did have reduced power, could not go any faster than 15 or 20 mph. I continued down the road another block and without warning, the car shuts down while going down a slight grade, , which cause steering to become very hard to use along with little to no braking, I ended up going thru a stop sign at the bottom of the grade because of lack of braking power, luckily no vehicles were coming, I got the vehicle stopped, and looked at the display, it said ignition disabled, service throttle. By the vehicle shutting down that is a safety issue, the vehicle should never shut down making steering and braking almost impossible, if it finds an issue with the throttle, it should just disable the throttle so I can steer and brake without problem. After attempting to start the vehicle a few times without success, the 4th time I tried the vehicle did start back up and was able to continue to work, but was did not seem to be running right and check engine light stayed on.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #50

Feb 032015

Impala 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Driving on 494E in bloomington, Minnesota during rush hour and snowing. The traction control light came on and the check engine light came on, the car started to slow down very fast and lost power.the following msg came up service stabiltrak, reducing engine power.the car felt like it lost a couple of cyclinders and the transmission would not shift up easily. After turning the car off and restarting the stabiltrak msg was gone and the traction control light went off and the cruise control started working again.few days later the check engine light went off. Chevy garage not sure of problem wants car for several days. I have heard may be throttle body not under warranty.

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #49

Jan 242015


  • 103,000 miles


I turned my car on to let it warm up after work, then started driving home. Then some lights popped on. It said service stabilititrak. It said that it was reducing engine power. Service control soon. It was very scary driving home. The car would take off by itself and it felt like it was stalling out. Its a fairly newer car 2011, I shouldn't be having these issues.

- Southbridge, MA, USA

problem #48

Nov 032014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
While driving along a curvy river road my check engine light, my traction control and the stabilize light came out. Then the engine reduced power. Barely made it home. Waited for a few minutes restated the car and it ran normal but still feel the car hesitate. Every time I drive it I worry that its coning to do it again. I live in the part of the county that gets snow and am worried its going to happen during a storm, this needs to be addressed.

- Pennellville, NY, USA

problem #47

Nov 192014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
In October I took my car to sandy sansing in pensacola fl the replace the keypad to my car, but now when you use the keypad it start to ticking on the right side of the dashboard we time it. The ticking last about 60 seconds and then it stop when ever you use the key pad to lock or unlock the car it make that ticking sound. It there any thing they can do to fix this.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #46

Mar 142013


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the check engine and stability control warning lights illuminated. Also, the vehicle's speed reduced independently as the engine reduced power light illuminated. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000.

- Deridder, LA, USA

problem #45

Sep 092013


  • 58,175 miles


Suspension problem

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #44

Dec 202013


  • 42,000 miles
Dec 2013 vehicle hit pot hole while braking at approaching intersection, after that warning lights started flashing ABS brakes/tract control/stab control, I was unable to brake, then shut down. Since then temp gauge went bad N was replaced. The 3 above dash warning lights continued intermittently, worse when it rained. At take offs N turns car would jar N ABS brake system would pulsate(grabs). Hub/speed sensor was replaced, this did not help. Accessory outlets, when contained w a charger, doesn't maintain contact w power source (such as disconnection/loose connection), causing power surge resulting in 2 iphones to have bad aux ports. May 2014 blower motor started intermittently not working for seconds, then minutes until today Sept 6th, 2014 when something under-dash (near blower motor) overheated filling car with smoke, then car shut down while moving once again, car smells awful from the burning! car has been a lemon and not covered under power train! seems like auxiliary elect fuse box(passenger rt foot board), and harness is shot as well as whichever harness is sending power to speed sensor, among many other things I could not mention (problems/defects) due to so many other issues w this 2011 Impala which is now worth 7000 as trade at Chevy, I paid 13500 on oct14, 2014! I've checked several ground connects N they seem okay.

- Harrison, OH, USA

problem #43

Feb 172014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 72,180 miles
While I was driving the service stability pack and traction control light came on and immediately after the reduced engine power came on. The car then jerked, and shut off while I was still driving, and wouldn't start again until approximately 30 minutes later. There were no wet nor road hazard conditions that would have caused this to happen. Furthermore, I was driving at 60mph when this occurred in moderate traffic and almost got rear ended. This is a very unsafe issue, and I was told that the gas pedal needs to be replaced. Since then my vehicle has done this several times. This issues needs to be recalled because a lot of individuals have complained about having the same issues with the Impala. What is it going to take an injury or fatality for a recall on these vehicles. Moreover, any vehicle that shuts off while driving at any speed because of an issues with throttle body/gas pedal needs to be recalled because this is a major safety issue.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #42

Jul 162014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 71,900 miles
First time I was slowing down to make left turn when engine light came on then message to check stabiliy trac and then traction control car lost power while making turn and jerked.I got the car back home by driving at low speed had to shut off and start several times before it would clear after it cleared drove fine for about ten miles at low speed as soon as I got up TO50 mph engine lite came on started jerking and lost power again again message the same only now all messages are messed up everything is followed by cal I am afraid to drive this car as it is very dangerous.only had the car one month bought it on 6/16/2014 first problem happened on 7/16/2014 second 7/19/2014.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #41

Jul 102014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I was driving down I-74 outside peoria il and the stabilitrac power reduced popped up on the dash and 3 seconds later it stated the anti-theft engaged and shut my car off. I almost got rear ended by multiple cars on the interstate. I was in the left lane and barely made it to the side of the road. I emailed GM and they have not gotten back to me yet. I emailed them the same day it happened.

- Mackinaw, IL, USA

problem #40

Jun 262014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 79,800 miles
The service stabilitrak, traction control, and reduced engine power warnings came on and the car started to lose power going around a curve. I temporarily lost the ability to accelerate nearly causing me to get rear ended by a vehicle behind me. Since the incident occurred the car has been very sluggish and unsafe to operate. I am planning to get this serviced asap. After reading many forum posts online regarding this safety issue, I believe a recall should be issued. I was shocked to see how rampant of a problem this and that it is usually caused by a faulty throttle body that isn't covered in the 100K mile powertrain warranty. Myself and many others from what I have read believe this to be a very dangerous malfunction. If this were to happen at high speeds on the highway someone could very easily be killed if their car loses power due to this.

- Holly, MI, USA

problem #39

Jun 112014


  • 86,000 miles
The car started jerking while driving on the highway message panel said that the stabilitrac needed service and that engine power was reduced and the traction control needed service. I had just bought the car I took it back to the dealership they said it was something simple and fixed it. The next day it happened again only worse and the car would not go over 40 mph. The car is jerking and I am afraid to even drive it to the dealership. There are many complaints just like this. There really needs go be something done to help with this problem.

- Carthage, TX, USA

problem #38

Jun 042014


  • 51,818 miles
I was stopped at a light and the front end hesitated then took off normally. I got on a highway, drove 30 miles and as I was decelerating my check engine light came on and a message to service my traction control light appeared. I looked up this problem on the internet and see that it is a common problem across many models and numerous model years. It was suggested to log the complaint.

- Stratford, NJ, USA

problem #37

May 162014


  • 46,000 miles
I was on the highway doing 60mph and my dash showed a message engine power reduced, service traction station, service stabilitrak. The steering wheel completely locked up and the car shut off. I almost caused a major accident a car had to swerve around me. I managed to get to the side of the road in the construction area. This has to be looked into. I've researched online and I see a lot of Impala are having this same problem. This should be considered a serious safety risk.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #36

Oct 162013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Traveling at highway speed, the dashboard lights came on and the vehicle began to lose speed. Stepping on the accelerator pedal had no effect and I moved to the right lane, I had been passing another vehicle at the time. I drove the car at the speed which it permitted with my four-way blinkers on until I arrived home. It was at night and there was no where else to go. The next day, the problem was not evident, but I took it to the dealer from whom I had purchased it, used. That dealer was unable to ascertain the problem, and took the car to a local Chevrolet franchise where it was "repaired" and returned. Several days later, the same problem occurred when I was entering a highway I could not accelerate into traffic. This time, as it happened during the day, I again took it to my dealer. It was suggested that I deal directly with the local Chevrolet dealer to whom he had taken the car the first time. That dealer had it for several days. The dealership contacted the factory directly for instructions to fix the problem, . to date, there has been no re-occurrence of this, nor any other problem. The first visit for repair cost about $200 and the second $500. I contacted General Motors directly and they agreed to refund $250 earlier this year.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?