Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,575 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Impala brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #20

Mar 032016


  • 54,000 miles


Front brake calipers binding on my 2011 Chevy Impala lt. New rotors and ceramic pads installed 2,000 miles ago and now warped again. I have $275 invested and was told by my mechanic that there may be a factory recall on the calipers. There is 56,000 on my 2011 Impala now. The vehicle was in motion while this was happening and got worse after a few hard stops. Also check stability control system warning came on and vehicle went into reduced power mode which is very dangerous in traffic.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #19

Jun 302016


  • 89,000 miles
Bought car 4 days ago. Now the warning light and message keeps coming on about service brake system assist and traction control system needs service. The car bogs. It does this while driving and when at start. The tcs iimblim stays on at all times. Shouldn't this be a recall or under warrenty"???"

- Onsted, MI, USA

problem #18

Jun 172016


  • 77,595 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle was parked on an incline with the contact's foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle was started and proceeded to shift from park to drive. The vehicle started to roll backwards and struck the vehicle in its rear. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 77,595.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #17

May 302016


  • 85,000 miles


Today our 2011 Impala displayed msgs for "service traction control, service stabilitrack, engine power reduced". we started to pull over as it dramatically slowed. The engine then died. We were on a 6 lane highway going 45. This could have been deadly. We received a recall letter for the throttle position sensor. The dealer did not repair it because they could not reproduce the error.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #16

May 232016


  • 109,000 miles
While driving down the highway, my car shut down. This was very dangerous. I pulled over on the shoulder and every light was on stating engine power reducing. I have had this same part replaced twice in 1.5 years and there is something serious wrong with the Impala.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #15

Feb 182016


  • 135,000 miles
G.M. replaced my ingintion switch on a national recall. I was hit in left rear qtr. Panel. I lost all power and could not stop or steer the car. I careened across highway and ran into a house. No air bags deployed either. G.M. sent a team to recover computer info and has now told me there is no problem.

- W.Alexandria, OH, USA

problem #14

Sep 082011


  • miles


The vehicle is always shaking when braking the vehicle makes weird sounds when turning the vehicle jerks all the time or something when trying to step on the gas the vehicle won't

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 252015


  • 73,433 miles
I was driving down the highway going 70mph when my service engine light came on and a message stating the stablitrak is on and the engine is reducing speed! acceleration pedal wouldn't do its job

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #12

Jan 242015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while approaching a stop sign, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to stop. As a result the contact crashed into a curb and an embankment. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained shoulder and right hip injuries but did not require medical attention. The front passenger sustained ankle injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired and the contact was unsure if the vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 7/23/15 updated 11/9/2015

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #11

Feb 182015


  • 55,575 miles
My wife was driving home from work going 65 down a very busy highway. All of a sudden the reduced engine power light, check engine, stability control off, and traction control lights came on. The car begin to loose speed. Luckily she was able to get over to the right shoulder without anyone hitting her. When she got to the shoulder the car was running really rough. She turned it off waited a few minutes and restarted it. It then ran fine but the check engine light remained on. She made it home and was scared to drive it again. I took it to work last night and made it about halfway to work and it did the exact same thing except I was able to get it to maintain 45mph. When I came to a traffic light though the engine was running so rough the car was very hard to stop. I made it to work. When I came out to go home the first stop light I came to it started acting up again. From the light I was barely able to get it to go 25mph. I pulled over and shut the car off waited a few minutes and restarted. Everything was fine again. I made it about 5 miles and all the lights came on again but I was able to maintain 45mph in the 55mph zone I was in. I took it to my repair shop and they said it needs a throttle body. They also said GM has had allot of issues with these. I called my GM dealer to see if it would be covered under 5 year 100K mile warranty and they said that it isn't. if there hasn't been an accident caused by one of these throttle body issues yet I would be surprised. It's very dangerous in heavy traffic and all of a sudden you can't go.

- Savage, MN, USA

problem #10

Feb 172015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 95,620 miles


2/17/2015 was the second event. I was driving approx- 65 mph up a mountain when my electronic display panel showed stabilitrack/service traction control/vehicle in reduced power. As the power suddenly reduced I lost power steering control and brake function. Since I was traveling at a up hill grade, I was barely able to jerk the steering wheel enough to roll across the lane of traffic beside me to the side of the road. I wasn't able to get out of the road completely and was almost hit by a logging truck. After removing the keys from the ignition for a few minutes, I restarted the car without any hesitation. The engine light still remains on at this time. I did contact onstar and have them run a diagnostic test which revealed a problem with supposed fuel system. I have not taken it to a dealership yet. After so many complaints on various sites that I have reviewed, looks like GM would do a recall and investigate the problem before someone loses their life.

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #9

Dec 232014


  • 114,694 miles
Reduced engine signal came on shortly after service traction, brakes, steering, came on then car shut off no power to anything. Brakes, steering nothing worked. Put car in neutral to try a restart nothing. Got car to a complete stop took the key out. The dash made a weird noise almost like something reset. I put keys back in turned the key car started no problem only thing the check engine light was on. Took vehicle home went back later that night. Started it up and check engine light was off. This happens almost once aweek. 2nd issue heater blower going down the road just shut off weather -2 plus a wind chill. Had it serviced they replaced a module blower ran fine for 4 days, weather advisory windchill temp is -10 45 miles away from home heater blower not working again.

- Standish, MI, USA

problem #8

Feb 022015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Traction control light came on and immediately afterward the stabilitrac light came, engine power was reduced and I was barely able to get vehicle home as the engine had no power, barely enough to get the vehicle to move forward.this is a very dangerous condition and could cause someone to panic and crash may occur. My wife and I own a collision appraisal business and have processed approx 60,000+ claims for various national insurance companies. I also believe that this same condition has possibly been the cause of some of those claims as I think back about insured complaining about brake issues, loss of eng power and now I see that same condition and issue on my own vehicle. I really believe that this should be investigated and fully checked into as this is a very dangerous problem.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #7

Oct 312014


  • 56,000 miles
My service traction control system light keeps coming across the dash board. It seems to reset itself, but there has been a time when dashboard lights came on and didn't reset for about a week. If this isn't a problem, then what is it?

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #6

Dec 202013


  • 42,000 miles
Dec 2013 vehicle hit pot hole while braking at approaching intersection, after that warning lights started flashing ABS brakes/tract control/stab control, I was unable to brake, then shut down. Since then temp gauge went bad N was replaced. The 3 above dash warning lights continued intermittently, worse when it rained. At take offs N turns car would jar N ABS brake system would pulsate(grabs). Hub/speed sensor was replaced, this did not help. Accessory outlets, when contained w a charger, doesn't maintain contact w power source (such as disconnection/loose connection), causing power surge resulting in 2 iphones to have bad aux ports. May 2014 blower motor started intermittently not working for seconds, then minutes until today Sept 6th, 2014 when something under-dash (near blower motor) overheated filling car with smoke, then car shut down while moving once again, car smells awful from the burning! car has been a lemon and not covered under power train! seems like auxiliary elect fuse box(passenger rt foot board), and harness is shot as well as whichever harness is sending power to speed sensor, among many other things I could not mention (problems/defects) due to so many other issues w this 2011 Impala which is now worth 7000 as trade at Chevy, I paid 13500 on oct14, 2014! I've checked several ground connects N they seem okay.

- Harrison, OH, USA

problem #5

Aug 102014


  • 60,450 miles
Coming off of a freeway, the exit is a wide curve. About half way through the turn (going toward the right) the engine turned off. Lost all power steering and brakes. Fortunately, I am strong enough to be able to muscle the car through the rest of the curve and pull over to safety. The muscling caused minor injury to left shoulder. Car did restart without a problem.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 282014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 55,600 miles
I was driving 25 mph when a Dodge Ram 5500 made an impromtu stop and my car an Impala 2011 didn't stop therefore I crashed behind the Dodge Ram 5500. The Impala was totally destroyed and the Dodge didn't have any damage at all.

- Clearfield, UT, USA

problem #3

May 012014


  • 52,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the ESC, service traction, and engine power reduce warning messages illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 52,000. Klmj

- Darien, WI, USA

problem #2

Jun 132013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 52,530 miles
The malfunction indicator (page 5-17 in my manual) came on and the message was to prevent serious damages, go to your service station immediately. I was in the parking lot of a grocery store, and made my way to the interstate heading to our service station when my car stopped dead in the middle of interstate 485 about 3 miles away maybe ( about 7 miles from home and our service station). I was in the far left lane of a major hwy that was/is under construction when I felt something unusual. I grabbed the steering wheel as hard as I could between the cars and just made it to the far right side of this major highway. The steering, A/C and brakes were gone and then I realized if I did nothing I would have been run over by the trucks on this interstate. I got close to the guardrail and collected my wits and called both aaa and the charlotte nc police. Fortunately I did not have the opportunity to see if the air bags would have gone off! the nc police were to come immediately but never showed up, but an hour later the aaa driver came and assisted to help me out of my car into his tow truck. He said to sit in the ac and drink some water. It was a hot day in the carolinas. No ac, nothing to drink and could not open my windows. I could not open my door as cars whizzed by me on the driver's side. The car just died. Finally got it towed to the Chevy service station and the repairs cost (enclosed) $696.84. After seeing the event on tv I realized I could have been killed!!!! please do something about his issue, as I hear all the horror stories of the innocent killed upsets me. I was fortunately to be able to get me and my car off the highway while cars whizzed by on a busy highway but how many haven't.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #1

Aug 212013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
We purchased the Impala in April of 2013 with 35,408 miles on the clock, we drove it around town then we took it on a trip to California from las vegas a few months later, when we where on the way to California on a not so steep downgrade we hit the brakes at about 70mph to slow down the steering wheel shook violently side to side like the famous 'death wobble' but we only slowed to about 60mph. On the way back it did it again this time went from 70 to 67 mph, we took it to the dealer and they said my rotors needed to be turned and gave me the dealer cold shoulder.. I replaced the front rotors and all 4 new tires as of today and it still doing it, went back to the dealer and same thing, this car is unsafe to drive over 50mph but the dealer does not care and is out of warranty... I will never buy a GM product ever as long as I live. I took video of the shaking from 70 to 67mph I will post it on youtube. This car is certified too not that it mean anything to anyone.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Not what you are looking for?