Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,067 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Impala brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Apr 192015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 70 mph, the traction control light illuminated as the vehicle stalled. As a result, the vehicle crashed and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The driver and passenger sustained minor injuries to their hands and legs, but did receive medical attention. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the impact was not hard enough for the air bags to deploy. The failure mileage was 56,000. Updated 6/8/15 updated 11/6/15

- Custer , WI, USA

problem #15

Oct 302014

Impala

  • 34,239 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled as the traction control and check engine warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that while attempting to inspect the vehicle, burning fumes emitted in and around the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the failure could have been directly related to NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of failure. The failure mileage was 34,239.

- Selma , AL, USA

problem #14

Feb 012014

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle decelerated to 40 mph. The traction and engine power reducing warning indicators illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Ozark , AL, USA

problem #13

Aug 012013

Impala

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated when making a turn, the ABS and the traction warning lights illuminated. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Jul 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 70 mph, the traction control and reduce engine power warning indicators illuminated as the vehicle decelerated to 10 mph. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 12/30/14 updated 05/28/2015

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 282013

Impala

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the ABS sensor and traction control sensor illuminated each time the contact made a turn or applied the brake pedal. The failure was getting progressively worse. The contact stated that the vehicle made a loud noise upon pressing the brake pedal and when making a turn. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician indicated that further diagnostic testing was required to determine the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that there was a loss of the signal from the ignition to the ABS system causing the brakes to lock. The contact was referred to an authorized dealer to have the repairs performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Chiopee, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 042014

Impala

  • 51,818 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped at a light and the front end hesitated then took off normally. I got on a highway, drove 30 miles and as I was decelerating my check engine light came on and a message to service my traction control light appeared. I looked up this problem on the internet and see that it is a common problem across many models and numerous model years. It was suggested to log the complaint.

- Stratford, NJ, USA

problem #9

Apr 252014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 50,865 miles
While on freeway check engine light and traction control came on and display read "reduced engine power" and "service stabilitrak" apparently a very common and dangerous issue that has not been recalled.

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #8

Apr 182014

Impala

  • 47,000 miles
Started car had car for 2yrs now no problem what so ever and the service traction and stability control and also reduced engine power came on as well as engine light it jerked went it shifted and didn't act like it had it power as always but I just drove it 35 mph to get it home this I would think is a great big safety issue shouldn't GM have a recall on this?

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #7

Apr 142014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 40 miles
Driving on the highway with my daughter who is 9 months old exited to go to my mothers house and the car just died completely out of no where I was driving about 40 mph and barely got it off the road car wouldnt start back up and was flashing service stabilitrak/ service traction control/ and engine power is reduced I had to wait 5 minutes and then the car started thank god my wife wasnt driving who knows what would of happend but it is her car and we need to get this resolved asap before anyone gets hurt so im driving the Impala and hope to be safe and let my wife drive my car please help asap we have a 9 month old girl and twins on the way. And this is not the first time my wife has told me this has happened. Its very serious and could be deadly!!!

- Roanoke, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 132014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In may of 2013 I received a message on my dash board about stabili track, traction control and reduced engine speed. I took my car to the Chevy dealer so I could get a diagnostic, and they replaced a sensor behind my pedal. Just this weekend, Sunday April 13, 2014. The message displayed across the dashboard again. I'm going to call the Chevy dealer that fixed it the first time. Then I'm going to call GM. This is a very dangerous malfunction in these cars. From viewing and reading other stories, this is something GM should have known about and addressed.

- New Carrollton, MD, USA

problem #5

Jan 102013

Impala

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, there was a reduction of engine power with the illumination of the traction control and stability control warning indicators. The failure occurred on icy and dry road surfaces. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #4

Nov 242013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 43,110 miles
This is the second time this has happened. Less than a year ago, we received a service stabilitrac/service traction control/engine at reduced power message and speed dropped from 40 mph to 5 mph. We brought it to the Chevrolet dealer and a traction position control sensor was replaced. Today, on 11/24/13, we were driving 15 mph in a parking lot and received the same message resulting in the same problem. This is a safety issue due to the fact that the vehicle essentially stalls out with little to no power and nearly caused a collision at an intersection. When will NHTSA force GM to recall and fix this issue? this is extremely dangerous.

- Durham, NH, USA

problem #3

Sep 122013

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
On my way to work: On highway all lights came on service traction control, service stabilitrak and engine power is reduced, and my check engine light came on as well.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #2

Jul 182013

Impala

  • 56,000 miles
While travelling on the highway, in the rain, the power to the engine suddenly and drastically slowed down. The warnings showed up on the screen" stabilitrak, traction control, engine power loss.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #1

Sep 202012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I have 42,000 on my 2011 Chevy Impala and the service traction control and then reduce engine power as well as the check engine light came one. I have read it is the throttle body and not covered under the extended warranty, but numerous people are having the same problem with the same exact thing and no recall or any kind of care is coming from GM.... and those of us that are still paying for our cars are getting the short end of the stick...

- Bay City , TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?