Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,921 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Apr 212014

Impala

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair had not yet been manufactured. Both the dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced the failure specified in the recall; however, the vehicle had intermittent issues with the turn signal indicators and the engine hot/ ac off indicator would illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Wolcott, NY, USA

problem #44

Jul 052014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
My family and I were traveling from newark, NJ from the July 4th holiday back home to raleigh nc on 95 South in Virginia and going at a speed of 72mph approx. And the car/engine just turned off at that rate of speed with 2 children in the back seat of the vehicle. After we sat on the side of the road for about 45min the vehicle proceeded to start and we made it home to nc. The following business day after the holiday I took it to my mechanic giao auto located on capital blvd in raleigh nc and he could not determine why the vehicle shut off the way it did. So I continued to drive just with precaution. I received a letter on 8/21/2014 regarding the recall and was livid because this has happened to my family while driving on the interstate! I believe that this may happen to my family again and do not want to risk this, so I would like to know what can be done to ensure that my children have a safe vehicle.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #43

Mar 102014

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after several attempts. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Holmstead, FL, USA

problem #42

Sep 182013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. While the brakes were applied, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck, back, and shoulder injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for repairs. The driver and rear passenger side doors, side panel, trunk, and rear bumper were repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 10/09/14 the consumer stated fumes would enter the vehicle through the vents. The vehicle experienced roaring noises in the rear on the highway. Updated 3/26/2015

- St Louis , MO, USA

problem #41

Aug 082014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 39,900 miles
The car keeps running after it is turned off. The fan also keeps running, then the next morning the car wouldn't start. The air won't turn down and sometimes it doesn't work at all. There doesn't seem to be a difference between air and defrost. While I am driving, the light keep getting dim, then brighter, then dim, then bright. It was the next morning then when it wouldn't start! sometimes when we put the key in, we couldn't get it out. We had to keep trying to turn it on and off, then it finally let us take the key out.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #40

Jul 262014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Throttle control shut down, engine power reduced, car shut down on highway without warning.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #39

Feb 172014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 72,180 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While I was driving the service stability pack and traction control light came on and immediately after the reduced engine power came on. The car then jerked, and shut off while I was still driving, and wouldn't start again until approximately 30 minutes later. There were no wet nor road hazard conditions that would have caused this to happen. Furthermore, I was driving at 60mph when this occurred in moderate traffic and almost got rear ended. This is a very unsafe issue, and I was told that the gas pedal needs to be replaced. Since then my vehicle has done this several times. This issues needs to be recalled because a lot of individuals have complained about having the same issues with the Impala. What is it going to take an injury or fatality for a recall on these vehicles. Moreover, any vehicle that shuts off while driving at any speed because of an issues with throttle body/gas pedal needs to be recalled because this is a major safety issue.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #38

Jul 242013

Impala

  • 22,000 miles
Pulled into 35 mile per hour traffic and lost engine power. Warning lights and message for stabiltrac, service traction control and reduced engine power came on. Experienced reduced engine power with traffic approaching from behind. This happened with 22,000 miles in 7/2013. The engine control module and stabilizer shaft link were replaced. This happened again 2/2014 with 26,000 miles. The throttle body cover and sensor kit were replaced. Just today, 7/23/2014, it happened again with 30,000 miles. Each time it has happened pulling into 35 mile per hour traffic and experienced reduced power.

- Ravenna, OH, USA

problem #37

Jul 102014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I was driving down I-74 outside peoria il and the stabilitrac power reduced popped up on the dash and 3 seconds later it stated the anti-theft engaged and shut my car off. I almost got rear ended by multiple cars on the interstate. I was in the left lane and barely made it to the side of the road. I emailed GM and they have not gotten back to me yet. I emailed them the same day it happened.

- Mackinaw, IL, USA

problem #36

Jun 262014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 79,800 miles
The service stabilitrak, traction control, and reduced engine power warnings came on and the car started to lose power going around a curve. I temporarily lost the ability to accelerate nearly causing me to get rear ended by a vehicle behind me. Since the incident occurred the car has been very sluggish and unsafe to operate. I am planning to get this serviced asap. After reading many forum posts online regarding this safety issue, I believe a recall should be issued. I was shocked to see how rampant of a problem this and that it is usually caused by a faulty throttle body that isn't covered in the 100K mile powertrain warranty. Myself and many others from what I have read believe this to be a very dangerous malfunction. If this were to happen at high speeds on the highway someone could very easily be killed if their car loses power due to this.

- Holly, MI, USA

problem #35

Jun 022014

Impala

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the engine warning light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to dealer for diagnostic testing however, the failure could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #34

Jun 012014

Impala

  • miles
While starting my car. Notification came up engine power reduced. Wasn't able to drive more then 40mph! engine was shaking.

- N Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #33

Jan 212014

Impala

  • 64,613 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle began to rapidly decelerate. The service traction, check engine and reduced engine power lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the throttle position sensor malfunctioned. The throttle body and gasket were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 64,613. The current mileage was 72,200.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #32

Feb 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
2011 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine problems. The consumer stated on several occasions, the vehicle stalled without no warning. When the engine power reduced, a light appeared and the consumer was unable to accelerate. The consumer stated he waited several minutes, before trying to re-start the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, for an inspection, but they were unable to duplicate the problem. However. A couple of weeks later, the engine service light and engine power reduced light illuminated again.

- New Buffalo, MI, USA

problem #31

Apr 262014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 42,400 miles
I was driving and suddenly the car lurched and the check engine light came on as well as messages that said, "reduced engine power, check stabilitrak and service traction control". I made it home and parked the car in the driveway for a day and a half and when I started it again, the messages were gone but the engine light was still on. I brought it to my local dealer and when they checked it, it came up stored code P2122- accelerator pedal sensor. I have had this car 6 months and it only has 42426 miles on it and now I've had to spend over $300 on a repair. It is ridiculous that this sensor failed already. After doing some research, I found that this is a common problem with many people experiencing the same thing. GM should be forced to fix this issue and reimburse all of us who have had to pay to fix their mistake. They are obviously using inferior parts and their consumers are paying the price. It's no wonder the american car market needed a bailout when their parts don't last 40,000 miles.

- North Mankato, MN, USA

problem #30

Apr 142014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 40 miles
Driving on the highway with my daughter who is 9 months old exited to go to my mothers house and the car just died completely out of no where I was driving about 40 mph and barely got it off the road car wouldnt start back up and was flashing service stabilitrak/ service traction control/ and engine power is reduced I had to wait 5 minutes and then the car started thank god my wife wasnt driving who knows what would of happend but it is her car and we need to get this resolved asap before anyone gets hurt so im driving the Impala and hope to be safe and let my wife drive my car please help asap we have a 9 month old girl and twins on the way. And this is not the first time my wife has told me this has happened. Its very serious and could be deadly!!!

- Roanoke, TX, USA

problem #29

Apr 132014

Impala

  • miles
In may of 2013 I received a message on my dash board about stabili track, traction control and reduced engine speed. I took my car to the Chevy dealer so I could get a diagnostic, and they replaced a sensor behind my pedal. Just this weekend, Sunday April 13, 2014. The message displayed across the dashboard again. I'm going to call the Chevy dealer that fixed it the first time. Then I'm going to call GM. This is a very dangerous malfunction in these cars. From viewing and reading other stories, this is something GM should have known about and addressed.

- New Carrollton, MD, USA

problem #28

Jan 022013

Impala

  • 40,000 miles
I was driving down the highway on the homestretch of a roadtrip from pa to fl when the "service stabilitrak", followed by "engine power reduced" message started flashing. The two lights on the dashboard also went off. Since I was in the middle of the highway, I was unable to find a good place to address the issue, and I figured like most times the "check engine" light goes on, that it was something that I could wait to deal with when I got home. I continued driving for about 15 minutes and then the message changed and said "disabling throttle" or something to that effect, and I felt the engine losing power. I was in the middle lane, doing around 55 miles per hour with cars all around me. I immediately put on my four-way flashers and fortunately people in the right lane slowed down and let me coast to the shoulder but it could have been disastrous. I sat there for a few minutes trying to figure out what to do. Finally after a few minutes I decided to try starting the car again and it started, with just the check engine light on and I was able to continue on my way. Since then it has continued to occur intermittently. I took it to the dealer, but they told me it was a sensor in the gas pedal but that it was not under warranty.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #27

Mar 232014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
July 2013 had hub bearings replaced in order for car to pass inspection. Issue with "service traction control" had never occurred the prior winters -- car slows down, engine slows down -- this just started happening after the hub bearings were replaced. On March 23, 2014, after paying tolls on the turnpike, the "service traction control" warning again appeared (no snow, nothing to trigger the warning) and then my car stopped, no power...the steering locked...fortunately I was going slow enough and somehow made it to the breakdown lane. Car had absolutely no power...completely dead. Waited about 1/2 hour and was able to restart. Called GM 3/25 who contacted the dealer for an appointment for me. Dealer never called me (now 4/7/14). I have placed another call to GM. The vehicle should not completely shut down. Asked GM if there was a recall and was told no. I hope others who experience this will file complaints so that they will recall. Had I been in a different lane, I may have had someone crash into me at 65 mph and I probably would not be alive. This needs to be recalled. Too dangerous.

- Sebago, ME, USA

problem #26

Apr 012014

Impala

  • 51,042 miles
I was driving on hwy 41 N in South Georgia and my engine light comes on and 3 messages come up: 1) service stabiltrac, 2) service traction control, 3( engine power reducing (and it did). Then the car seems to want to stop or hesitate like its running out of gas (still have half tank). I become afraid I pull over and put car in park and it's like the car wants to shut off but it doesn't until I shut the engine down (when I slowed down the car started shaking). I bought this car less than six months back and it had only 46,000 miles on it. Now I here some rattling coming from some where around the wheel. I have read many other complaints almost identical to mine. Today 4/2/2014 the engine light is on but I don't see any of the warnings and the car has not hesitated as badly as it did yesterday. But from what I have researched on this matter GM needs to issue a recall and address this matter as it could cause be the making of some serious law suits.

- Tifton, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?