Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,413 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Impala windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Jul 082012

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles


The vision out of the back window is very poor since there are 3 head rests in the back seat. The center one blocks much of the vision. It is easier to see a truck or an SUV behind you but hard to see another car especially the smaller type. The side view mirrors are much smaller compared to the 2003 I use to own. I was totally happy with my 2003 which is why I got a used 2011. I have added on the small stick on mirrors but they do not help much. Why can GM make such a change? to me this is a big safety issue. Looking on the internet a lot of other 2011 Impala owners have the same issues. GM saves money with no regard to safety.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #15

Feb 012012

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the head rest on the rear middle seat blocked his view. The manufacturer was made aware of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30 and the current mileage was 18,000. Updated 06/05/12 updated 06/07/12

- Surprise , AZ, USA

problem #14

Sep 062011


  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the rear seat headrest sat entirely too high, obstructing the driver's view of the rear window. The contact stated that the head rest was blocking the entire middle of the window. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 10 and the current mileage was 5,000.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #13

Aug 182011


  • 7 miles


The rear visibility both using the mirror and turning your head is compromised by the middle headrest located on the back seat. It should have been designed to be removed but is made into the rear seat. I believe it is an accident waiting to happen. The other two headrests also make it hard to see. I really believe it was an all around bad idea by GMC. I also get a film on my windshield like I've been smoking but nobody in my family smokes. I suggested to the dealership that it may be the heater core but they assured me it couldn't be the heater core. They told me to keep washing the windshield and it would eventually go away.

- Plains, KS, USA

problem #12

Jan 282011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 434 miles
My complaint with this vehicle is visibility caused by the rear headrests when using the rear view mirror. GM built the back seat with 3 large headrests "which cannot be removed" that blocks almost the entire rear window. When driving the car, the most I can see in the rear view mirror is the tops of the car(s) behind me, sometimes not that much. When backing up, you have to look around all three back headrests in order not to hit someone or something. These back seat headrests can be replaced by buying the 2012 Impala headrest components from GM which cost at least $400 just for the 3 parts needed. I feel like GM should be required to replace the back seat headrests due to the hazard posed by the headrests.

- Summertown, TN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Nov 172011


  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the three rear headrest were elevated too high and the contact was unable to see out of the rear window. The contact stated that the head rests should be lowered or the vehicle should have come equipped with a back-up camera. The failure mileage was 21,000 and the current mileage was 22,000.

- Scandinavia , WI, USA

problem #10

Mar 012011


  • 0 miles


The headrest in the middle of the back seat makes it impossible to have a clear view out the rear window.

- Two Rivers, WI, USA

problem #9

Jan 032011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the head rest located in the middle of the rear seat was blocking the drivers view when she used the rear view mirror. The manufacturer was notified, but denied any assistance with repairing the vehicle. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 0 and the current mileage was 10,000. Updated 11/25/11 updated 11/30/11

- Two Rivers , WI, USA

problem #8

Jan 272011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 125 miles
Huge rear headrests (3 of them) block nearly 70% of rear visibility and make it impossible to see vehicles directly behind or approaching from behind. Even stopped at a traffic light, the middle headrest blocks the view of any vehicle behind. Changing lanes is incredibly difficult and dangerous, at best, because driver can't see what's directly behind. Tried seat adjustments, outside mirror adjustments, rear view mirror adjustments, and nothing works to improve the rear view. This is an incredibly dangerous situation, which has apparently been addressed in the Impala for 2012; why has Chevrolet not contacted drivers for a safety fix or recalled" I have contacted my dealer and am still waiting for a response. In the meantime, we are hoping no accidents occur as a result of this poor visibility issue. It seems to me that Chevy would be concerned about liability, if nothing else. Does anyone know if there are fixes for this, short of sawing off the middle head rest? they can't be adjusted or even folded down with the seat since they're built into the rear window shelf and not the seats. (who the heck came up with this one") I'm hoping you can help before somebody gets injured or worse. There are many complaints out there about this issue, including those on your site. Please help! thanks.

- Dimondale, MI, USA

problem #7

Jul 272011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased 2011 Impala lt/4 door sedan 3 weeks ago. Rear center headrest completely blocks the view of vehicle traveling behind, which prevents you from seeing the car in the rear view mirror. This is a dangerous situation. This also poses a hazard when backing up, due to 90% sight blockage. A recall needs to be issued by GM to remove the center rear headrest from this vehicle. The 2012 model of this vehicle does not have a center headrest. It only has headrests on the left and right, which proves this is an issue they have corrected for the newer model. Something needs to be done to fix this problem in the 2011. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle because of the lack of visibility.

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #6

Jul 182011


  • miles


Bought 2011 Impala, rear seat head rests obstructing view on rear view mirror. Very hazardous, will probably cause many accidents and possibly deaths. Lot of persons complaining to dealer and GM and they say nothing can be done about this. They have been notified and their refusal to do anything about it needs to be looked at.

- Beasley, TX, USA

problem #5

Mar 302011


  • 170 miles
I cannot see when using the rear view mirror due to the reduced visibility caused by the head rests on the rear seats. The view when using the rear view mirror is obstructed significantly with only 4 inches of visibility between the ceiling of the the car and the top of the head rests. Also, the side mirrors are small increasing the poor visibility in this vehicle. The head rest problem would have been noticed if the car salesman had not sat in backseat in the middle. The car dealership suggested that the car be taken to a local seat cover company to have the headrests rebuilt. This is a new car and should not have problems such as this.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #4

Mar 312011


  • 68 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact entered the vehicle and noticed that he could not see when using the rear view mirror due to reduced visibility cause by the head rests on the rear seats. The contact stated that the view when using the rear view mirror was obstructed by approximately seventy percent. The contact also stated that while driving at any speed, the head lights from vehicles in the rearview mirror would intermittently disappear due to the reduced visibility. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed and was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68 and the current mileage was 118.

- Pompey, NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 152011


  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the seat headrests were too high and obstructing visibility thru the rear view mirror. In addition, he stated that the side view mirrors were abnormally small. The dealer was contacted but offered no assistance, stating that they could not alter the design of the vehicle. The dealer advised the contact that an independent mechanic could possibly lower the seat or cut down the headrest. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 500.

- Grove City , OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 232011


  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the three of the headrest located in the rear of the vehicle blocked 75% of her view. The failure made it difficult to see the vehicle behind her and to change lanes. The dealer stated that they could not adjust the rear headrest, because it would make them liable. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 200. Updated 03/11/11 updated 12/30/11

- Brookfield, CT, USA

problem #1

Sep 232010


  • 60 miles
I own a 2011 Chevrolet Impala which has a serious traffic hazard involving the three rear head rests affixed/sewn - which makes them non-adjustable. The problem is aggravated by the fact that the head rests are higher than most vehicles. The fixed position of these head rests block the driver's vision out of about one third of the rear window. The middle head rest is especially troublesome. I wrote General Motors about this approximately 2 weeks ago and they have not responded. The sales and the service departments at the dealership are well aware of my concerns. NHTSA complaint 10358310 was also filed concerning this identical problem, I have 61 years of driving experience - all sizes/types of autos. In my considered opinion this is a design flaw. I have raised the driver's seat to the highest setting and have tried all possible adjustments to the inside and side mirrors in an attempt to solve this to no avail.

- Dayton, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?