Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

6.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,144 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Impala lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #17

Sep 012016

Impala

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My drivers passenger side headlamp assembly leaks every time it rains or when the vehicle gets washed. I've been stopped twice by law enforcement and given a warning about my headlamp being out. I've replaced the head light twice at $57 each time. I can't afford to keep replacing this light. GM wants over $1500 to replace the headlamp assembly. I don't feel I should have to pay for this replacement. Cadillac & equinox are having the same problem. I never in all of the GM vehicles I have ever owned had this kind of a problem. I feel GM should have to pay for the replacement. I was on the highway when it happened. This can be very dangerous. Driving without proper visibility. When it's raining, or while deer are running all over the place.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #16

May 092014

Impala

  • 54 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Impala. While driving various speeds, the brakes locked up. The contact stated that the engine blew out, which also caused the catalytic converter to fail. The contact stated that the dealer could not determine why the vehicle overheated. When the vehicle overheated, the contact became locked inside the vehicle until it cooled down. In addition, the high beam headlights were very dim and dimmer than the daytime running lights. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was designed in that manner. The vehicle was repaired several times for the failures, but the remedies failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 54.

- Keystone Heights, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 122015

Impala 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The headlamps do not illuminate the road sufficiently to see oncoming features safely. Based on my research, I'm not the first one to complain about this issue.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 202014

Impala

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The headlamps on this vehicle are sub-standard. Visibility is very poor on both low and high beams. I refrain from driving this car at night.

- Vulcan, MI, USA

problem #13

Nov 232015

Impala

  • 8,800 miles
The headlights on this model do not provide enough coverage for night driving. The beam does not spread to see the side of the roads or project far enough ahead to give you enough visibility at higher speeds. The dealer says they meet government standards. I don't drive this car at night because of this issue. It is hard to do in the winter when it gets dark so early in the evening.

- Durham, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jul 042015

Impala

  • 22,000 miles
I have a serious problem with the 2014 -15 Chevy Impala lighting, the headlights at night do not shine or fan out to see when turning right or left on a darkened road the lights seem to be adjusted to a pin point setting straight ahead. I was tuning left from a road to a unlit road that was totally black when looking out the left side window to turn when I turned I was headed for the woods luckily I wasn't going fast so I could back up to turn to the road there should be a recall to fix this problem before there are some accident's because of these headlights there could be a person crossing a street that you won' see on a dark street turn. Very dangerous situation. I have seen the same complaint ODI # 10651739 & others please fix the problem before its to late thank you.

- Medina , OH, USA

problem #11

Jan 202015

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds at night, the vehicle headlights failed to illuminate. The contact stated that he nearly collided into cows in the middle of the road because the headlights were not illuminating the road effectively. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the headlamps were working up to standards. The manufacturer was not made aware of this issue. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000. Updated 4/20/15 updated 10/9/2015

- Billings, MO, USA

problem #10

Apr 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The problem that I have with my 2014 Impala is that the headlights do not illuminate the road very well. The light beam is narrow projecting straight out in front of the car. Very little illumination to the sides of the road. This complaint may sound trivial but let me assure you that I'm not Chevy bashing. This Impala is a beautiful car, I love it except for the headlights. This is a real problem for me. If I had taken a test drive at night I would not have purchased this car. Hard to test drive at night in July. I expected much better lighting on a car like this. A halogen bulb in a well designed and poisoned fixture works great. I copied the above from a prior complaint. I really like the car and the new design. I was looking on the internet to see if I could upgrade the headlights( better bulb or something else) because I too thought that the lumination of the headlights was sub par. I found this complaint site and wanted to state my dissatisfaction also. Thanks.

- Latham, NY, USA

problem #9

Nov 102014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the headlight beam, both on high and low beams, are very narrowly focused so that the area immediately to the front and side of the vehicle and objects located there cannot be seen making driving at night on anything other than straight highways an unnerving experience. The contact believes it represents a serious safety risk both to the vehicle occupants and to pedestrians who might be outside the headlights' narrow focal range. The dealer stated they had no complaints. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Warsaw, CT, USA

problem #8

Oct 312014

Impala 4-cyl

  • 13,600 miles
I would like to report an ongoing issue with 2014 Chevrolet Impala ls with standard halogen headlights. The headlight beam, both on high and low beams, is very narrowly focused so that the area immediately to the front and side of the car -- and objects located there -- cannot be easily seen. The lights work reasonably well on a straight road, but when executing a turn the path of the car is in near darkness as the lights point a narrow beam to the outside of the turning radius. This makes driving at night on anything other than straight highways an unnerving experience and I believe represents a serious safety risk both to the vehicle occupants, and to pedestrians who might be outside the headlights' narrow focal range. Note that the headlight design is unusual for a halogen unit in that it uses a shutter to switch between high and low beam, a feature more commonly found with hid lights. By comparison, our 2003 Chevrolet Malibu, with separate reflector based halogen low and high beams, does a much better (I believe much safer) job of illuminating a broad area in front of and to sides immediately in front of the vehicle. I think that GM must address this serious safety issue on an otherwise fine vehicle.

- Rose Valley, PA, USA

problem #7

Sep 272014

Impala

  • 14,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was our first time driving the car at night and we were on a country road with no lines. We knew there was a stop sign there somewhere the sign was partially hidden by a tree branch but we could see neither because the lights did not reflect high enough and to each side (high beams and low beams did not make much difference)) and we drove across the intersection and into a ditch resulting in minor damage to the bottom of the front bumper. Fortunately there was no traffic coming on the cross street. Since then we have done minimal night driving but always have had trouble seeing on roads with no lines and especially seeing to make both right and left turns. This is very dangerous and disappointing as we like the car overall but we cannot drive it at night. We thought the problem was with us but now we know that it is the car.

- Tylersport, PA, USA

problem #6

Jul 072014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The problem that I have with my 2014 Impala is that the headlights do not illuminate the road very well. The light beam is narrow projecting straight out in front of the car. Very little illumination to the sides of the road. This complaint may sound trivial but let me assure you that I'm not Chevy bashing. This Impala is a beautiful car, I love it except for the headlights. This is a real problem for me. If I had taken a test drive at night I would not have purchased this car. Hard to test drive at night in July. I expected much better lighting on a car like this. A halogen bulb in a well designed and poisoned fixture works great.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #5

Aug 012013

Impala

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at night and operating the head lights, both the low beam and high beam lights would not illuminate far enough in front of the vehicle to see on coming vehicles. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but no defect was diagnosed. The contact was informed that the head lights were operating as normal. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 9,000. Pam

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #4

Jun 292013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns 2014 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the headlights did not provide sufficient visibility while driving at night. When the contact used the high beams, the light was pointing upward instead of eye level. The contact also stated that the high beams remained pointed to the left or right which displayed very poor lighting. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the lights were compliant with federal regulations. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000. The consumer stated there was no lighting on the sides of the vehicle. So, when making a right turn onto a street it became a guessing game as to where the curb was. Updated 08/14/14 updated 08/29/14 updated 09/17/2014 updated 11/20/14 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 01/17/15

- Denver, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 052014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
High beam lights will not activate. The indicator light turns on only.

- Wilson, WI, USA

problem #2

Jul 092013

Impala

  • 10,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the head lights were too dim causing his visibility to be reduce. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was working up to specifications. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 10,000.

- Jetersville, VA, USA

problem #1

Dec 122013

Impala 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the headlights failed to provide sufficient illumination to the sides of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the vehicle was performing according to manufacturing specifications and that they were unable to alter the design of the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 2,100. Updated 2/5/14 the consumer stated the headlights pointed inward and did not provide adequate light to the side of the vehicle. The consumer stated only after the turn was completed the headlights illuminated the roadway. Also, the brightness of the headlights were weak. Updated 02/06/14 the consumer stated the lack of adequate light to the sides both right and left is a serious urgent safety issue. He almost ended up running off the road and into some trees, due to the inadequate light. When making right or left turns, the headlights did not light the arc of the turn to the sides. Updated 02/24/14 the consumer stated the headlights pointed inward and did not provided adequate light to the sides of the vehicle. Updated 07/23/14

- Flushing , NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?