Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
18,182 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #11

Jan 012008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles


Key can be removed from the ignition lock cylinder while the engine is running.

- Pelham, AL, USA

problem #10

Oct 092000


  • miles
Car has stalled over 35 times over a two month span. The repair shop has replaced ignition switch, reprogrammed the PCM, and replaced the PCM. I have replaced the battey and the fuel filter. The car will stall at any speed. It would restart 'till 12/24/00 when it stalled for the last time as I approached an intersection. My two children were with me at the time. I managed to pull over. I tried over fourty times to restart the car. The engin turned over fine. It did not drag. Finally, I had it towed to the dealer for repair. This is the third time that I takit in with in a two month period to have the stalling repaired. About two months ago, we were coming back form vacation when the car died on us over twenty times form san diego to sacramento. At one point, while running, the car would accelerate and deccerate as if someone was puming the accerator in a rapid motion. Then the car would die out. I would pull over and restart it. After a while, I got the hang of it. It would die out, I would put it in nuteral, and I would restart the car. It was night time and it was very dangerous every time that I had to pull over to restart it. I was with my wife and two children. Second problem: The ABS light lit up when the car had 35,800 miles approximatly. I took it in to the dealer and at that time the light was out. It would come on intermittenly. The dealer could not diagnose a problem. Around 37,000 miles, the ABS would come on everyother day, and the car would go into an ABS brake every time the light wold come on. I took the car in to the dealer and had the left front wheel sensor replaced. That took care of the ABS problem. I put off the repair because I did not have the money to have it fixed. I have also replaced the brake pads at 30,000 miles and it soulds like they need to be repalced again. They squeek when I brake. My primary concern is the car's defect with the stalling. I am afraid that some day we may get in an accident.

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 302000

(reported on)


  • miles
While traveling and without any indication vehicle would stall at any speed.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #8

Jul 172000


  • miles


Vehicle would hesitate or almost stop while driving. Also occurred when attempting to accelerate after vehicle was stopped for a minute or two. In December 1999, reprogrammed PCM(power control module)/clr codes. Referenced bulletin 99-0604032. In January 2000, problem recurred, replaced ignition coil. In July 2000, problem recurred, roadtests conducted. Technician contacted "tans" and determined that fuel pressure below specs. Replaced sending unit (sender) and filter.

- Chester, PA, USA

problem #7

Sep 082000


  • miles
Please see comments from previous entry (forgot to add stop/tail lights) to list. No safety defect mentioned.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #6

May 011998


  • miles
I am so not satisfied with this vehicle every time I turn around, something different is going wrong. I don't know where else to turn. I sure would love for GMC to buy this piece of junk car back. It is really bad when you have a new car and it won't run!! the first time it was in was for it not starting, that has happened about 15-20 times. They have no idea what is wrong with the car. They have replaced the windshield 3 times because it leaked air. Still does! the headlights have condensation inside of them, makes visibility bad at night. Help!

- Siloam Springs, AR, USA

problem #5

Feb 161998


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Key cylinder malfunction causing bell to ring continually.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #4

Jun 041999


  • miles
When ignition turned to accessory position, the shift lever can be moved to any gear without pushing the brake pedal and the brake locks up when the car rolls backwards. The car rolled backwards almost hitting a car. This is dangerous and could be a tragic situation for small children if unattended or senior citizens unaware this could happen.

- New Baltimore, MI, USA

problem #3

Jul 271998


  • miles
Purchase 07/24/98 cash payment $18, had 152 miles at that time..withing a few days of owing the car brake pedal was making constant noise when applying...I took it in to the garage and they oiled it and it continued 8-7-98 lubricated brake had rent a car and they ordered new assembly..8-11-98 new assembley installed and the brake still made the noise...finally rent a car again they found out 8-18-98 that master cylinder leaking..had to replace power boaster and master cylinder and lubed front calipers and adjusted the brakes....also I have constant squeal noise and pulling of brakes in the back when apply and mushing sound...they adjusted and cleaned and still does it cold wet warm does not matter...the manager called and said that there wasn't much else they could do for it. Between all this the dash board was warpped and replaced, back tail gasket kept coming off after several visits to the chev. Place they orderd and replaced the warp gasket....then the gasket seal around the back window was coming off...he glued it down...I have mentioned to them it started funny at times and he said count to 15 seconds and that would be everytime I get into the car I am concerned is it going to start or not..finally 3/12/99 I got into the car to do my errands and it would not crank over and start after several tries it finally started and I called and the car is again in the garage I now have a rent a car again and will not know what the problem is until next week. Also the wire that holds the gas cap when you pump gas broke off. The first few months of owning the car and trying to repair the problems and get to work and rent a car and continue on with life have been disrupted. All I wanted to do was buy a new car be able to trust it and not end up going every other week in for this or that. I have talked to the manager and have filed a claim 980 503 718 to get a refund. I hate the car its junk.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #2

Feb 231999

(reported on)


  • miles
1.}front brakes are prematurley wearing out within 20 miles. 2.}tranaxle shaft seal is leaking oil, part was replaced. 3.}radiator coolant reservoir busted, causing the coolant to leak. 4.}intake manifold is leaking. 5.}igintion wiring had to replaced. 6.}air distrubutor completely failed which is not pulling in air.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #1

Aug 311998

(reported on)

Malibu 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle stalls while drivng. Dealers have replaced ECU unit and ignition system and reset all codes to factory specs, but problem remains

- Wildwood, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?