If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page
1998 Chevrolet Malibu suspension NHTSA complaints: Suspension:Front:Springs:Coil Springs

NHTSA — Suspension: Front: Springs: Coil Springs Problems

1998 Chevrolet Malibu (Page 1 of 2)

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Feb 242008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,830 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While moving the car from the garage heard a loud bang from the left front suspension. I found that the spring had broken and was jambed against the tire. I had the car towed to the repair shop. I was informed that the spring had broken and we were lucky we were not traveling fast asuredly we would have lost control of the car and would have been forced into oncomoing traffic. The service manager told me that he has had a rash of spring failures with many GM model cars he atibutes it to poor quality material in the springs. He had to replace both springs and both shock struts. I happened to drop by the dealer where I purchased the car and he asked how it was working I informed him about what had happened, he was very surpised, and then told me he had a 2000 chev Malibu on the lot that had the same thing happen while standing. Of course he could not do anything for me. Out of warranty. The cost for the repair was $847.59 but we are glad to be alive. No more GM cars made with inferior chinese metal. Americans take heed.

- Machesney Park, IL, USA

problem #28

Jan 142008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
The coil spring snapped in half while I was in my car and popped my tire. I was traveling at extremely low speeds, otherwise it could have been terrible. I replaced it with a junk yard spring and strut since I have never heard of this type of failure. Several weeks before the failure there was a low squeak or rub coming from the front wheel well. I thought at the time that it was snow build up, but now I know better.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #27

Jul 232007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,727 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the front struts that hold up the vehicle with the coil springs were defective. He stated that the coil springs are not heavy enough. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that they are aware of the defect. They also stated that there are no current recalls for this particular year, make, and model of vehicle. The contact stated that the front right and left coil springs were damaged. The struts have not been repaired because the part that the vehicle needs must come from another General Motors vehicle. The current mileage was 87,742 and failure mileage was 87,727. Updated 02-01-08.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #26

Jul 162007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front suspension coil spring broke, puncturing the tire causing blowout.

- Surrey Bc, 00, USA

problem #25

May 282007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,400 miles
Left side, rear coil spring broken. One month later, right front coil spring breaks causing coil spring to rub on inside of tire resulting in tire damage.

- Vanburen, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Apr 032007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact drove the vehicle approximately 150 yards when a popping noise was heard. While driving 10 mph the driver's side of the vehicle collapsed to the ground. The contact discovered that the front coil spring failed and cut the tire from the wheel. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, and the coil spring was replaced. The consumer stated that the cause of failure was due to a batch of coil springs that were improperly heat treated. There was a defect investigation for this failure, PE 03031. The contact still possessed the failed coil spring and tire. The current and failure mileages were 98,000. The consumer has provided pictures of the defect. Update 05/04/07 updated 06/20/07.

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #23

Apr 042007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 161,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side front coil spring broke, followed by driver's side front coil spring. Passenger side spring began rubbing into tire, melted side wall of tire. Tire destroyed. Replaced springs and tire.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #22

Mar 222006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 171,000 miles
Replaced wheel bearings (common GM problem, no grease nipple). Having fuel problem (getting too much). Noise coming from the front end (sounds like coil spring).

- Brantford, 00, USA

problem #21

Jan 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,523 miles
The driver side front coil spring broke while I was backing up on my driveway. I took it to a trusted local mechanic who replaced both front suspension units which included the strut, coil spring and mounting plate. According to the mechanic, it's safer to replace both sides at the same time. I agreed with him, who knows if I did not replace the right side it could have broken while driving down the highway causing a serious accident. The results could be detrimental to the driver and others. My 1998 Chevrolet Malibu has less than 57,000 miles on it and the coil spring should not break in half in such low mileage. That said, I am thinking if there¿'s any defect in the design and/or build material of the coil spring. I spent $634 to fix it and it could have cost much more, including my life, loved ones and others. I strongly urge NHTSA to take actions, inform GM and begin a recall campaign immediately before someone gets killed. Regards, scott shyu shyuscott@aol.com.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #20

Sep 102005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,755 miles
Front passenger coil strut broke while driving. Rubbed up against tire. Left my car in the parking lot until I could afford to replace it. I took the car to a trusted local mechanic who fixed my car. Front passenger coil was replaced as well as the two front struts. Also two new tires were replaced up front.

- Cedar Falls, IA, USA

problem #19

Sep 152003

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sudden failure of right front spring causing punctured tire sidewall and sudden deflation of tire.

- Hilton, NY, USA

problem #18

Jun 142005

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,300 miles
One of the coil springs on front driver' S side punctured the tire. The consumer did not contact the dealer or the manufacturer. There was a big boom sound. This happened on June 14, 2005. The consumer did contact the manufacturer, however it was not the response she hoped for.

- Mediville, PA, USA

problem #17

Jul 172005

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,722 miles
We drove our car to our camp which is 60 miles away. The next day we went to move our car when the front end on the passenger side went down with a hard and loud bang. At first, we thought it was the tire since it was flat, but when we looked under the car it looked like the spring had broken off and punctured the tire. We had to have it towed to our dealership. They told us that the spring was broken and the strut and the mount were also blown out. They replaced the right front strut, mount and the spring. They also replaced the left front spring to the vehicle to even it out. Both front tires also had to be replaced. The total cost was $1171.43 we could have been seriously injured, if this had happened on the highway. We had taken our two grandsons to camp with us. (ages 2 & 4) it is scary to think what could have happened to them, if we had been in a crash. Fortunately, we were just moving the car a few feet.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #16

Aug 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles
(1) front passenger shock spring broke in two places, I began to hear a slight grinding noise (2) spring broke puncturing the tire and forcing the weight of the car on the frame and tire rim (3) car was towed to a GM dealer, the spring was replaced. Tow truck driver advised that this is the fourth incident for this defect that he has seen.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #15

Jun 202005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,600 miles
I was backing out of my garage when the front end of the car dropped down with a hard bang. It felt like the wheel fell off. There was a terrible noise when I tried to back out of the garage. I left the car in my driveway. The next day I called for a flat bed tow to take the car to the dealer. The dealer informed me that the front spring had broken in half and damage the strut. The dealer suggested that I have both springs and both struts replaced at a cost of $1391.64 which was paid to the dealer when the car was ready for pickup on June 24, 2005. On June 22, 2005 I filed a complaint with General Motors. I contended that I could have been seriously injured or worse if this happened on a high speed highway which is where I was going at the time. Fortunately, this happened while backing out of my garage. I explained to General Motors rep. That the springs should never break in half and that General Motors should accept responsibility for the cost of the repairs. After 2 weeks, General Motors would only give me a $500 credit towards a new car. I told them that I am not planning to buy a new car and that I would like some financial relief for the costs of the repairs. They refused.

- Manahawkin, NJ, USA

problem #14

Jun 102005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chevrolet, Malibu. The front coil spring broke. There was no shield guard, and it caused the right front cv shaft to break. Also, had to do other repairs. According to the mechanic vehicle could have been involved in serious accident if she drove the vehicle after the coil spring broke. The coil spring could have gone through the front tire, causing consumer to lose control of the vehicle.

- Maumee, OH, USA

problem #13

May 282005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I pulled out into the street when I heard a pop. Thinking it was my power steering I drove on and within a mile my tire blew. Upon removal of the tire, the coil spring on the front right side had snapped. There was no rust, only a complete break in the coil spring.

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #12

May 202005

Malibu

  • miles
Both coil springs failed within a 2 month period.

- Middletown, RI, USA

problem #11

May 132005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,303 miles
Dt consumer stated her son was driving the vehicle when he heard a grinding noise coming from the right front of the vehicle. There was a loud bang. When the vehicle was inspected it was found that the coil spring snapped, the front right strut broke and caused the coil spring to slit the tire which lead to a blow out of the tire.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 302005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer indicated that he heard a loud thud while driving about 20 mph. A couple minutes later after going probably 50 ft he heard something rolling under his vehicle. He pulled over and exited the vehicle. He saw what looked like a piece of coil spring and picked it up. He looked under the car and saw were the coil spring slipped off from the drivers side of the vehicle. He called the mechanic but has not had any work done to the vehicle. He also took the actual piece of the coil spring to his dealer. The dealer indicated that he had sold several coil springs to different people. The road was brick paved road and there was no warning prior to the failure except for the noise.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?