Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

7.4

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,038 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #12

Sep 282004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer stated while applying the brakes pedal went to the floor. A loud grinding noise was heard coming from the front. Consumer took vehicle to dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that the brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced.

- Waldoboro, ME, USA

problem #11

Apr 202004

(reported on)

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,908 miles
Left and right hub bearing needed to be replaced. Steering wheel vibrates when braking due to front rotors having excessive runout and pads worn out evenly. Also, consumer heard noise coming from hub bearing, dealer replaced bearing.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #10

Nov 192003

(reported on)

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Front and rear brakes wore out prematurely at 12,000 miles. Daler has replaced them three times.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #9

Oct 122003

(reported on)

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 13,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problems with brakes on 2001 Chevrolet Malibu. Brakes were replaced twice along with resurfacing the rotors and replacing the right front caliper. The consumer stated there was a metal-to-metal sound and the brakes went to the floor when applied. In addition, consumer stated the brakes should not have to be replaced (7855 miles) after the initial replacement.

- Deer Park, NY, USA

problem #8

Mar 032003

Malibu

  • miles
Brake pads wear out prematurely.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #7

May 302003

Malibu

  • miles
Vehicle would vibrate when applied the brakes. Dealer was notified replaced five times pads/ rotors turned three times and replaced one. But problem still recurring. Please send copy. And further information.

- Buckhannon, WV, USA

problem #6

Apr 102003

(reported on)

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,047 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brakes pads were replaced 4 times, however they continued to experienced uneven wear. On four occasions the brake rotors were machined, and on two occasions they were cleaned, lubed, and caliper slid. Scc

- Westernville, NY, USA

problem #5

Mar 312003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Excessive brake repair:front and rear since vehicle was purchased on 9/12/01 to 3/31/03: Brakes serviced on 12/14/01-machine front rotors and rear drums, 3/14/02-replace front brake pads and rotors machine rear drums, 8/12/02 R&R rear drums & machine R&R rear brake shoes & lube backing plate, 3/31/03 front brakes needed clean and adjust rear brakes. Mileage was respectively: 5836, 12450, 21975, 33533. All brake work done by dealer. Independent brake inspection on 4/3/03 shows front brakes needed and 20/1000ths left on rear drums. This will be the third set of brakes put on this vehicle before the manufacturer's warranty expires. Also rear drums are within 20/1000ths of drum spec discard prior to manufacturer's warranty expiration.

- Shepherd, MI, USA

problem #4

Mar 122002

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
In 2001 we purchased a new Chevrolet Malibu. After just 17,000 miles we were informed it would not pass a safety inspection because the brakes had worn out. GM replaced the brakes for us. 13,000 miles later the same thing happened. After much complaining and letter writing, GM replaced the brakes again. I inspected the brakes in both instances and noticed that only the inner brake pad was worn, the outer pad looked brand new. The caliper is cast aluminum and it bends when the brakes are applied much like a cheap "C" clamp that you might find in a dollar store. There are two major concerns I have about this condition. First and foremost is the safety of this system. With the constant flexing I am concerned that the caliper may fracture at some point down the road. In addition to the flexing, I believe the inner pad is overheating, since it is doing all of the work, and this could cause brake fade. The caliper also appears to bind on the guide pins when the brakes are applied. When the casting bends, it causes a misalignment of the guide pins and consequently the caliper then binds. The second issue I have is with the life of the brakes. GM says the brakes should only last between 8,000 and 12,000 miles. If the caliper didn't flex as much and the pads were wearing evenly the life expectancy of the brakes would go up significantly. In either case GM blew it with their choice of these calipers on this vehicle. At the very worst, they are putting people at risk. I wonder how many accidents involving these vehicles could be attributed to the brakes, and are people even looking at the brakes as a cause? at best, GM is shafting their customers. People are paying needlessly for service work they don't need. There is the potential for serious injury resulting from this. It also speaks to GM's integrity and ethics, allowing an inferior brake system to be used on its vehicles.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 022003

Malibu

  • miles
Brakes pads had to be replaced and rotors turned at 25K miles. Premature wear but dealer would not replace under warranty. Now at 46K miles car is again in need of brake pads.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #2

Dec 162002

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a 2001 Chevrolet Malibu in April 2001 VIN [xxx] and have had the following work/problems with the brake system repaired at capital Chevrolet where I purchased the vehicle. Dateproblem/repairsmileage Nov 2001abs warning light on, brake pads, rotors 7,754 Jan 2002front suspension9,080 Mar 2002front suspension12,000 May 2002brake pads & rotors14,555 July 2002abs warning light ON17,170 Oct 2002brake pads & hub21,055 Nov 2002abs warning light on, rotor, hub kit22,005 Oct 2002rotors21,310 Dec 2002caliper & brake pads24,066 from the information above, I can generally get about 7,000 miles on the brake pads. I have contacted General Motors customer service department (request # [xxx]) and was able to get an extended warranty on the vehicle in June 2002 after several complaints, however the brakes have needed repair several times since my original concerns. I am concerned about what happens if there is a catastrophic brake failure" my recent conversations with GM customer service department have been less than cordial. I have considered trading in the Malibu and purchasing another vehicle, but the trade in value offered for the Malibu is not acceptable. My question is: What kind of assistance does your Office Of Defects Investigation offer" I firmly believe there is a serious safety issue with the brake system on my vehicle and General Motors bears the responsibility for correcting the defect or replacing the vehicle. Thank you. Ts information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Juneau, AK, USA

problem #1

Mar 052002

(reported on)

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving, vehicle shakes erratically. It vibrates from inside. Also, had new struts put on rear. Consumer stated that driver side head lamp out of adjustment, front brake pads make noise, engine makes tapping noise when first starting, there was a shimmy in vehicle while driving due to struts leak.

- West Decatur, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?