Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,860 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Aug 072005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I unlock my car, get in, put my key in the ignition and go to start the car, which it doesn't because the theft system light starts flashing. I then have to wait 10 minutes with the key in the "on" position, wait for the theft system light to go out, turn the key off, then start the car. This has happened at least 20 times. No parts have been replaced.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #33

May 122006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,496 miles
2001 Chevy Malibu 70000 miles.. bought in February 06 was replaced in may of 2006 theft light comes on while driving then after a few months of that car wouldn't start took to a Chevy dealer and replaced passlock sensor few months later 07/06/06 problem restarted again dealer put car on computer cant find problem no code stored now less then a year 03/03/07 car is now flashing theft light and car wont start until I leave in the on position and wait 10 mins then car resets again. Dealer wants more money to find problem and I have to pay another 500 dollars for part I shouldn't have to pay for this when I already did that less then a year ago. There are many complaints on this issue isn't Chevy going to find why this is happening and recall it..I wont buy a Chevy every again.

- Bourbon, IN, USA

problem #32

Mar 072007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
My 2001 Malibu suddenly would not start. The battery checked out okay, etc. It did not have any power at all. My husband removed the battery cables. Upon replacing them the anti-theft light came on and the car still would not start. Upon resetting the system, the anti-theft light went out and the car is running again. Now I am concerned that the car will stop again on the interstate with my infant in the car.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #31

Feb 202007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Malibu 2001. First I wasn't able to start my car. I went to the shop and they changed the fuel pump. I didn't realize then that problem was the theft system. Same thing happened 20 days after I changed fuel pump. I went to same store and mechanics started car without any problems. Now twice a week theft system light turns on and I cant to start car without resetting it. A few days ago theft light turned on while I was driving a car and turned engine off. I have almost been killed. After I pulled over car I was able to turn it on again.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #30

Feb 222007

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving down the road one day in my car and the theft system light stayed on then started blinking for a couple of days then one day the car wouldn't start and the theft light just stayed on in I took it to a dealer in they said it was a theft system malfunction and that many 2001 Malibu's have the same problem and that it would cost $300 to $400 to be fixed.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #29

Feb 162007

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,474 miles
2001 Chevy Malibu won't start or when started will switch off for no apparent reason. Have had the vehicle in the shop numerous occasions and have had many repairs (e.g. new ignition switch) that were supposed to fix the problem but have not. To this point the car has refused to start on three occasions because of a problem with the computer's theft system and has died while driving on dozens of occasions for unknown reasons. Fortunately, every time the vehicle has died, the driver was able to avoid accident. Unfortunately, we may not be so lucky in the future. Although the Chevy dealership has indicated that they're unfamiliar with my complaints, the people who towed my car this last time indicated that almost every Chevy they tow is for the same reason.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #28

Aug 142006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,512 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns 2001 Chevrolet Malibu. Less than one month after purchasing the vehicle the ignition/starter failed. The contact paid a repair shop to fix the ignition, and the failure recurred. The towing mechanic stated that when the lights blink allowing the vehicle to sit for 20 minutes, it will restart. The mechanic stated that the starter sensor failed. The contact was advised that there was a recall related to the failure, and the driver requested reimbursement. After the ignition repair the contact experienced problems the air conditioning problems. The mechanic repaired the air conditioning and stated a few days later that there had been a compressor defect, a possible leak which caused air conditioner failure. The contact had been disputing the lemon law, reimbursement, and the failures for quite sometimes. The manufacturer refused to assist her. The current and failure mileage were 61,512. The contact has provided the repair order, the buyer's guide information at time of purchase and a list of major defects that may occur in used cars. Update 5/3/07

- Aiea , HI, USA

problem #27

Jan 292007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 121,000 miles
The car will not start no warning signs.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #26

Jan 302002

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,990 miles
- the contact stated that the anti theft system engagesdfor no apparent reason. The contact stated she has taken the vehicle to deale R 4 times for this failure. The dealer has reprogrammed the crankshaft, reset sensors and reprogrammed the pass lock systethe check engine light came on intermittently and also the anti-theft light will flash as an indication that the anti-lock systemwas not going to engage. The contact stated this has happened quite frequently in the last two weeks. The contact stated someone has told her how to bypass the failure, but she felt this was a safety problem.

- Council Blufs, IA, USA

problem #25

Jun 292006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 67,189 miles
2001 Chevrolet Malibu would not start. Had vehicle towed to dealer. They diagnosed a bad passlock sensor. This is the second time, in 2006, this has happened. It is very expensive to have repaired. This seems to be a very common problem with the Malibu. I think the govt. Should have GM replace these sensors at no cost to the consumer, as the sensors are of poor quality and over engineered.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #24

Jun 272006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,249 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No injuries - no crash - unsafe conditions - I own a 2001 Chevy Malibu - six times in the past 25 months since I purchased it, the car has failed to start due to a problem with the anti theft system. Checking on the internet and with other Malibu owners this seems to be a constant problem - safety problem - since my wife drives this car my fear is that the car may stall at a busy intersection and then may not start due to the anti theft system problem on the 2001 Malibu - which is a very unsafe situation - since it appears there is many, many 2001 Malibu with this problem it's a safety problem for many people - I'm sure this has happened to several people - I have had my 2001 Malibu towed to gates Chevrolet 6 times in the past 25 months for this problem counting today I consider the 2001 Malibu to not only be a unreliable car but an unsafe car due to this problem.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #23

May 312006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,309 miles
The anti- theft system light came on and then caused my engine to stop while in traffic. This happened twice today. I was able to avoid a traffic jam and possible accident by shifting into neutral and starting the engine while still moving forward. This problem happened once last month also.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #22

May 152006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
2001 Malibu, auto theft that was installed by Chevy keeps preventing my car from starting and it has to be towed this has happen 5 times in the last month. This car has had the fuel pump replace, ignition replace, it wear my tires down unevenly. 2 days after I got the car I returned for 2 weeks due to the fact that the rear end go opposite of front and now it is doing it again. This car has cost me over $2000 in the last 6 months. The paint is chipping away like my baretta did.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #21

Jan 052006

Malibu

  • miles
I went out to start my car and it would not start. Had it towed and was informed it was the anti-theft system again. The same thing happened back in April of 2005 and the whole system had to be replaced which was $300. They are having to replacing the whole system again for $500.

- Enterprise, AL, USA

problem #20

Apr 112003

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
: the contact stated the anti-theft security system malfunctioned. While driving the anti-theft warning light illuminated, and the vehicle shut down. It had to be pulled onto the emergency shoulder and to sit for ten minutes. Then, the key was turned to the accessory position for ten more minutes. After the anti-theft system reset by itself the vehicle restarted. This has been reported to the manufacturer under case file # 1-384-309-432. Updated 01/25/06.

- Ennis, TX, USA

problem #19

Apr 012003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The vehicle has completely shut down five times. The first time was in April of 2003. The contact had it towed ito the dealership. They told her that there was a problem with the ignition cylinder. They replaced the ignition cylinder. The theft system light came on before the vehicle shuts down. The second was in June 2004. The contact had just pulled out of driveway when it shut down. Dealership replaced the fuel pump, which did not need to be replaced. The third time was in July, 2004 and the dealership said that the battery needed to be replaced. The contact had the battery replaced. The fourth occasion happened on October 25, 2004. The dealership replaced the ignition cylinder. In March of 2005 the theft system light came on, and she took vehicle back to the dealership. They told her that they could not do anything because there was no problem. The most recent time was October 4, 2005. She had it towed to the dealership, and they replaced the ignition cylinder again. The service dealer said that the part was known to go out but, not as often as on contact's vehicle..

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #18

Aug 272005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Yes I have a chevorlet Malibu 2001.I took it bob richard chervolet because something was always wrong with the anti theft system and every time they fix it they said it will never happen again. It happen again. This is the fifth time it happen. How I know it is the anti theft system. Because the same problem happen four time already. First of all I'm paying close to 23,000 for this car the car was 14,700 but with the finance charges it costing me 23,000 I am ready to give this car up because of the same problem. I just don't know what to do please help.

- North Augusta, SC, USA

problem #17

Jun 252004

Malibu

  • miles
While driving home from work in 90+ degree heat my car overheated to the point where I had to have it towed in and was told by the mechanics that my coolant had been leaking and causing the car to over heat there blowing the head gasket and causing me to have to pay $1200+ to have another engine put it. I have heard this is a commom with the 2001 Chevrolet Malibu. I don't know what the repair shop done with the old motor, but it was fried.

- Wildwood, FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 142005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,005 miles
Car would turn over once and immediately shut down. Ant-theft light would be on. Had to have car towed to garage. They could find nothing to explain what happened and reset anti-theft system and released the car. All at a cost of approximately $200. This is 2nd time it has happened. First incident cost $100. It is frustrating because you can never predict when/where it will happen. From research I have done it seems that other people have had similar problem and replacing ignition switch/anti-theft system does not help either. Have lost all confidence in my car!

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #15

Jul 022005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My Chevy mailbu 2001 VIN # [xxx] the theft system alarm sets itself and to reset it your having to wait ten minutes. I got on the internet to see if anyone else was having a problem. I found that most all Chevy's from the year 1998 to 2005 are having the same problem. One person said that is alarm set itself while on the freeway doing 60 mph shut itself off. If that's not a safety hazard I don't know what is. I would not want that to happen to me. Can some one do something about this theft alarm system Chevy is putting in their cars? it's very frustrating. I could only wish some one would steal the car. It's a big pain and would of never bought a Chevy if I new this! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Austin, TX, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?