Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

8.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$595.00
Average Mileage:
88,636 miles
Total Complaints:
71 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. turn ignition to ON for 10 mins, off for 5 seconds, car starts (35 reports)
  2. not sure (21 reports)
  3. replace the passlock sensor(kit) (6 reports)
  4. replace ignition cylinder (4 reports)
  5. onboard computer reset by a mechanic (2 reports)
  6. cut yellow wire, install a single pole toggle switch (1 reports)
2001 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Feb 182010

Malibu 3.1L V6 Ohv

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,889 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

my car was locking on everyday so i found out that my ignition cylinder was going out. so i got the part witch ran me 170$. I changed it out my self. do not change it out your self!!!!!! i am automotive tech!!!!

- , Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #50

Sep 292009

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

I made my final payment of 5 years on 9/29/09 for my 2001 malibu. What a great feeling it was, I was happy........ did all my errands that day, got home and when I went to leave for work that night, my car would not start. The kicker is the warranty ending 9/9/09 - 20 DAYS too late. I have always had this problem with the theft system light through out the 5 yrs, had many parts replaced by dealer promising that the problem was fixed but never was...........because I finally learned about this 10 min FIX,( thru a co worker, not by chevy!!) the fix never failed, always worked 10 mins to the sec, but on 9/29/09 this 10 min fix didn't work. We even tried the 3x reteach step, but nothing. Now nothing is working...locks,trunk release, radio (but clock display is working weird?!). So hubby, who is an electrician, starts looking at all the wires,ignition, RADIO....now we hear that if car is equipped with the radio theft ( which there is a blinking red light on radio on at all times) the dealership will have to reset something because of the radio being disconnected...............ughhhhh Anyone with some input we would love the hear from you. I am sick to my stomach over this and can not afford to take it to the dealer and get robbed because you know how they all work. They have you by the ba**s and there is nothing you can do about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! please help :D

- , West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #49

May 152006

Malibu 3.1L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

the problem is the computer doesn't recognize the key in the ignition switch, if you reprogram key it should last for a while (couple weeks or months) to do this crank car, stop cranking, leave key in the run position for 15 minits, repeat this for three times, never turn key to off, you will have to start all over again. after the third 15 min wait, it should start and run normal.

- , Tampa, FL, USA

problem #48

Sep 022009

Malibu 3.1L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,899 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Man this car is a load of crap!! my Blinker lights go out whenever it feels like it. all the lights on the dash go out whenever they want...ughh sucks big ones.!! the damn anti-theft light has been on for about a couple days and today on the hottest day ever my car wouldn't start. I had to walk my happy ass home. This is my 1st car ever and man its a bitch. Good thing there's ppl out there that know how to fix it. I can't wait to get rid of this car..GOOD LUCK TO CHEVY MALIBU OWNERS!!

- , Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #47

Aug 012009

Malibu ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,567 miles

This car was suppose to be my going to college gift but i would bearly call it a gift its more like a curse because since i got it it has only been in and out of the damn repair shop... the car SUCKS ASS ... its had the ignition switch problems, it would waist the batery in 2 weeks , now the theft system sh*t... sorry for the language but im pissed... the car is not worth losing my mind over it

- , Sanjuan, PR, Puerto Rico

problem #46

May 112009

Malibu V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,578 miles

My mechanic(Meineke in Lubbock, TX) was great and did not charge for reset. However, it cost $70 to have the car towed from super market to his shop. Waited 45 min. for tow truck and did without car a day while mechanic checked for cause of Anti Theft light coming on...which he did not find.

- , Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #45

Jan 222007

(reported on)

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I think Chevy Sucks, This is the 6th time having this problem repaired, 2 times it was paid for after tax and labor, the cost was darn near 1,000 each time. usually within 30 days of the car coming out of the shop the problem occurs again.

The car was repaired once at a Marathon in Indiana, and worked on the last 5 times in Los Angeles, at a Chevy Dealership.

I believe Chevy should reimburse me for all this wasted money on there product!

I will never buy a Chevy again as long as I live

- , Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #44

Feb 082007

(reported on)

Malibu 3.1L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

WOW I LIVE IN MICHIGAN AND ITS WORSE THEN EVER B4 HERE ,, THE AMC AOUTO INDUSTRY SUX AZZ , SIMPLY PUT THE COMPETITORS ARE MAKING SURE TO BUILD QUALITY OVER QUANTITY BUT THEY RELY ON THE QUALITY TO BE THERE STRONGHOLD IN THE INDUSTRY AND ITS WORKED FOR THEM ,, GM IS A WASTE CASE , I PREDICT THEY LL BE MAKIN ONLY LUXURY RIDES ,, CADDIES ETC IN 10 YEARS THEYLL BE AT THIS ... WTF MAN I HAVE ALOT TO PAY FOR THIS CAR AND THIS IS REALLY THE MIDDLE OF THE ISSUES IT HAS SOME ARE EVEN MORE EXTREME SUCH AS THE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET LEAKS THAT ARE ALL TO COMMON THE BRAKES LETS NOT GO THERE FREAKN CAVALIER BRAKES ARE NOT INTENDED FOR MALIBUS YOU CRAPPY GM DESIGN ENGINEERS ,, YOU SHOULD BE SHOT DEAD FOR SCREWIN OUR COUNTRY AS YOU HAVE .. MY THERMOSTAT IS BLOWN AND STICKS OPEN ,, WTF 4 1/2 HOURS LABOR ??? WHY ???? IDIOT ENGINEERS ,, THE LIST CONTINUES .. ILL HAVE 30 OOO OR MORE INTO THIS CAR AFTER PAYMENTS INTEREST AND DAILY REPAIR COSTS ... SHOOT I REALLY THINK OF LETTIN IT GET REPOD N RIDING MY PEDDLY BIKE UNTIL I GET IT FOUGH IN COURT N WIPED OFF ... LIKE A KNOCK CHEVY IT IS ... SAD CONTRIBUTION TO OUR COUNTRY .. AS WELL THE AUTO UNION HERE SUX ,, GIVES TO MANY LOOSERS THE CHANCE TO SCREW ALL US HARD WORKIN CONTRIBUTING AMERICANS .. I VE BEEN IN DETROITS FINEST AUTO PLANT ON A FRIDAY SHIFT HAHHAHA WHAT A JOKE .. QUALITY IS NOT A CHARACTER WITHIN THE INDUSTRY .. SO HERES TO YOU GM ................. EAT CHIT YOU BIEATCHESSSSSSSS

- , Petoskey, MI, USA

problem #43

Mar 062009

Malibu 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

Boy am I glad a co-worker told me about autobeef.com. I bought my son a 2001 Chevy Malibu as his first car when he was 16+. That was 21 months ago. It has been in the repair shop 12 times since then. Maxed out our AAA towing limit. Great vehicle!!! After reading the autobeef complaints about the 2001 Chevy Malibu, I realized he has the same recurring problem that centers about the passlock or anti theft activation problem that only 32 others have complained to autobeef.com about. Well, at least he doesn't feel alone!!!

The fuel pump was replaced. Three times the vehicle was towed to the repair shop, only to start fine (maybe Chevy should sell a tow truck with each Malibu to kinda act as a mother ship). A month ago the driver side lock and sensor were replaced. Now it won't start again. Diagnosis - replace the ignition switch at $532. I think not!!! Believe several other complainants went down this road (one person 3X) to no avail.

Solution, buy him another car for graduation and drop this pile of crap 40 miles at sea! I asked him what type of car he would like. Answer, "anything but an American car". How about a cc: Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid. If my son is typical, they can give wonderful GM billions per year for the next half century.

Screw Chevy. Screw GM. Let 'em die!!!

- , La Verne, CA, USA

problem #42

Jan 082008

Malibu V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

This has to be the worst car i have ever owned! I have put in two engines, a new computer, a bunch of other very expensive parts, and know I have that stupid anti-theft light problem now. I also have my car dieing on me when ever it feels like it! I wish someone would just steal it, but they probably wouldn't get to far in it, because it will probably die on them! I have paid off the piece of crap, and really didn't want a car payment right know, but I am so sick and tired of wondering if its going to start or not. Many of you have mentioned waiting ten minutes to restart the car, but have any of you have had the light turn on three times in a row, and having to wait thirty minutes to finally start up! Well that happens to me at least once a week! I will try resetting the code. Lets see if that will help! I really appreciate everybody's input about this situation, because I am willing to try anything!

- , Reedley, CA, USA

problem #41

Jul 142008

Malibu V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the Malibu after my Camry was totaled over the past summer. I haven't been able to afford to get this fixed yet and it's been so horrible that I hate going places, I've found myself late to work and needing to be run home by a co-worker to meet my sons bus (I usually give myself a ten minute window in case it trips but lately it does it two and three times in a row). I even missed the birth of my grand daughter because I had to run home and grab my son... only to be locked out a few times in a row. I don't understand why they don't do a recall- everyone I know who has had a Malibu or passlock complains of the same issue with the only solution: Being able to get a new car.

I really miss my Camry.

- , Salem, OR, USA

problem #40

Jan 092005

Malibu ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

After numerous episodes of my car not starting, and having to use this procedure (turn the ignition on for 10 min, or until theft system light goes out, wait 5 sec and start), my theft system light now stays on continually. Since the light has been on continually, I have not had any problems starting my car.

- , Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #39

Dec 012008

Malibu V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I bought my 2001 Chevy Malibu 2 years ago and I've had one problem after another with it. I noticed a week or so after I bought it that the signal light switch works only sometimes. I have yet to get that problem fixed. I noticed the week after that the car won't start sometimes, especially when gas is low in it. After i had it towed the first time it happened, I was told about the "theft system light" and having to wait 10 minutes. I've had to do that SEVERAL inconvenient times since I've had this car! Now, it does this thing where when I turn the key, I hear silence, except the radio. I have to turn the kay 9 or 10 times for the car to start! I've noticed the theft system light doesn't go off at all now! I'm never buying a Chevrolet again! I guess I need a new ignition switch, tune up, new signal switch, brakes, and a check on this anti-theft system ish!

- , Selma, AL, USA

problem #38

Dec 032008

Malibu V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

The first time the theft system light came on I was towed to a local mechanic and he informed me the problem was computer related and I needed to take it to a dealer. He told me how to reset it by turning the key to on, waiting ten minutes for the light to go off, then turning the key back to off, wait ten seconds and then start it. I got tired of resetting it so I took it to Keller Motors of Hanford, CA. They told me the problem was the BCM controller and it needed to be replaced. This was a cost of $940.00. Keep in mind, no warranty. I was told if the problem was not fixed they would take care of it with no additional cost. The problem occurred 2 months later and I took it back. I was told something in the steering column that reads the key needed to be replaced at an additional $500. I complained to them about having to pay twice for the same problem and it only cost me $120. I just got the car back, if it happens again I am selling the piece of sh*t.

- , Lemoore, CA, USA

problem #37

Sep 162008

Malibu LS 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,654 miles

The passlock anti-theft light started coming on the dash of my wife's car maybe because I tried to use my Monte Carlo key in the ignition and/or the sensor in the ignition switch is going bad. Not sure why this is happening but this is my best guess. My fix was to remove

ignition and cut yellow wire while engine is running and install a single pole toggle switch to the yellow wires I cut. i leave the switch in the open position like the wires are cut and can start and restart car no problem. The theft light stays on while car is running no big deal. Read about this fix on internet and am really glad there are so many helpful people out there. I read about all those people who had their cars towed, taken to GM dealerships to have service for fuel pump or ignition switch or analysis by mechanics costing them quite a bit of money. If you are mechanically inclined you can fix this in about 2 to 3 hours and if not maybe longer. Good Luck to all.

- , Parma, OH, USA

problem #36

Aug 252008

Malibu LS 3.1L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Car will start and drive fine. Then, when you stop for a dinner and try to start, it won't. First time, I changed the fuel pump. The second time, I changed the spark plugs and wires. The third time, I couldn't believe it happened again wall a month apart!!!!! I didn't know what else to do until I found out about the anti-theft problem on the Malibu. Once I did the 10 mins on trick it started right up after 3 days of not starting. What a pain in the butt!!!!! Chevy needs to recall this problem!!!!!

- , Kyle, TX, USA

problem #35

Sep 032008

Malibu 3.1L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 151,000 miles

This first happened to us about a year ago and didn't occur again until 2 months ago. I found the answer in the manual (which begs thwew question, if they knew it was going to be a problem from the start, why didn't GM correct it immediately or remove it completely?). Since then it has happened about 6 times usually in the morning - only on those mornings when I am already late for work!

Waiting the 10 minutes always seems to work.

I took it to the dealership today and they want $110 just to diagnose the problem. Then they told me there were any one of 5 solutions to fix it. I am going to try cutting the yellow wire.

- , Toronto, ON, Canada

problem #34

Aug 032008

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

We have had this problem 5 times this year. $ of the times we have had to have the car towed and had the fuel pump replaced, starter, and several other things to the tune of $2000.00 since April! This web site helped us at least get the car started.

So frustrating. Can you say LEMON???

- , Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #33

May 162007

(reported on)

Malibu LS 3.1L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,351 miles

In the last 30 days, I had my car towed twice for the same pass-key anti-theft system problem. When I first encountered it, I thought it would cost me an arm and a leg in addition to all the work I have done on the car once the mileage on the car passed 100,000 km.

I was fortunate to have the car towed to a rather honest mechanic - it seems odd to use those two words together if you know what I mean. He said the onboard computer was not recognizing the key which shuts down the fuel-injection system. It only cost me about 40$cdn. Which was a relief because I thought I was going to cost me much, much more than that.

A few weeks after that, it happened again. This time I knew exactly what was wrong with the car. So, I had my car towed. Another 40$cdn gone.

After reading the solution to the problem, I will no longer have to have my car towed again. Thank you so much for posting the solution.

It certainly is a design flaw of the vehicle. The worst part is that your whole day is gone because you have to have your car towed for such a minor problem. Chevy should make an ad saying that their cars are so secure that even owners can't drive away with their own Chevy.

When will American car makers learn? Probably never...

- , Toronto, ON, Canada

problem #32

Jan 152007

Malibu 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

IAM HAVING PROBLEM WITH THE THEFT SYSTEM ON MY 2001 MALIBU. WHEN I GO TO START IT AND IF IT DONT START THE FIRST TIME THEN MY THEFT SYSTEM WITH COME ON AND I WILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR ABOUT10 MINS BEFORE I CANT START IT AGAIN . ITS A PAIN IN THE BUTT. THEN AT TIMES WHEN IAM DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD MY THEFT SYSTEM LIGHT WILL COME ON AND STAY ON . I WAS WANTING TO KNOW IF ANYONE ELSE THAT HAS A 2001 MALIBU IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM OR IF THERE IS A RECALLS ON IT IF ANYONE CAN HELP PLEASE LETS ME KNOW THANKS.

- , Estillsprings, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?