Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,211 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Aug 042011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2001 Chevy Malibu ls 6 cyl. This year has 670,000+ cars recalled for the exact same problem I am having and the exact same year. Yet because my VIN isnt included or enough people with my VIN have not reported the problem..I am excluded from having them fix this for me. My turn signals are not working, they will not flash, click or go on as of recently. This is a safety hazard that GM did recall for my car year and type, yet I am excluded because of my VIN, so my life..does not matter" because...maybe only a few hundred have had the same problem? this is a known recall with my type of car, and I am in danger here...I called GM 2 times 8/8/2011 I was told there was nothing they could do for me, simply because of my VIN...ummmmm how about include my VIN!!! my life matters just as much as another others and if I am having this problem and reporting it, then include the VIN..for the safety of others as well!!! half a million Malibu from 2001 were affected by this recall...what makes them think mine wasn't"! please help..I am a college student and I am driving a car with no turn signals and I have to pay for text books and now dealing with a safety hazard because GM does not want to recognize the recall. Please help...! is your file number, where you guys have the recall posted: 03V327000.

- Ephrata, PA, USA

problem #27

Dec 122009

Malibu

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Malibu. The turn signals on the vehicle are inoperative. As a consequence he cannot use them to signal intent to turn that, which could result in a crash. He contacted the dealer in reference to recall # 03V327000 (exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch). He was advised that he would have to pay $200 to repair the vehicle because his vehicle identification number was excluded from the recall. No repairs were made. The failure and current mileages were 36,000

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #26

May 132009

Malibu

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the turn signals work intermittently. He cannot use the turn signals while preparing to turn the vehicle. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 03V327000 (exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch). The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 125,000.

- Freeville, NY, USA

problem #25

Jul 222007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Malibu. While attempting to make a turn at an unknown speed, the turn signal indicator failed to illuminate. The failure occurred intermittently. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall and the repairs would cost approximately $362. Over the last year, the failure has become more frequent. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and current mileage was 107,000. Updated 09/25/08 updated 09/25/08.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #24

Apr 032008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,600 miles
Hazard switch malfunctioned and was replaced in 2005 under recall # 03V327000. Hazard switch malfunctioned again in March 2008. Dealer and manufacturer state the policy that switch cannot be replaced more than once under the recall, and second replacement was at customer expense for a known and recalled issue.

- Groton, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Feb 242008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Please see NHTSA recall campaign number: 03V327000 2001 Chevrolet Malibu recall to replace defective hazard/turn signal switch on this vehicle was completed in 2004. Recently hazard and turn signals have become inoperative on an intermittent basis. Warning/turn signal lights either do not flash, stay on constantly, do not turn on, or different lights behave differently. GM dealer has not been able to locate problem.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #22

Sep 102007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety recall #03043A (03/08/2004) - turn signals/hazard warning flashers inoperative * the turn signals work intermittently: You have to push the hazard switch off and on to get the turn signals to work. In order to make the turn signals work, the driver must take one hand off the steering wheel to push the hazard switch on and off and this defect also forces the driver to take their eyes from the road and to the dashboard of the vehicle in an effort to make the turn signals work properly, which is a major safety hazard. I brought the vehicle to classic Chevrolet in altamonte springs, fl on 9/10/07 per this safety recall. Although the recall covers VIN #'s from 1M500024 to 1M669822 (the vehicle clearly falls within this range VIN# 1M551207), the dealer refused to replace this part under that recall. I called Chevrolet, and was first told that it was part of the recall, and that the dealer should replace the switch at no charge, then was told it was not, as there are certain VIN #'s within this range that are not effected. Ultimately Chevrolet refused to address the defective turn signal safety recall issue. This vehicle is having the same exact issue as the others in this VIN range and could not possibly not be part of this recall. I am asking that the nhsta intervene in this matter, as it is clear that Chevrolet is not willing to address this very dangerous safety issue. I fear that there will be an accident in this vehicle because of this defect.

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

problem #21

Nov 082006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles
: the contact stated the turn signal intermittently shut off when in use and, while driving various speeds, turned on without warning. There was a NHTSA recall, # 03V327000, regarding the hazard warning light switch. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #20

Mar 132006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,230 miles
: the contact stated without warning the turn signals have become inoperable. There was a recall, #03V327000, concerning the hazard light switch; however, the component has failed again. The dealership has been notified, but the vehicle was not subject to the recall any longer and no repairs were made. Updated 03/28/06.

- Anderson, IN, USA

problem #19

Feb 212006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
I bought my car when it was a year old, since buying the car, I have had to pay 800 dollars to have the ignition switch changed, which I found out later the dealership should have only charged 400. I have also responded to the turn signal recall to have the hazard switch fixed only to have the same switch go out again, not even 2 years later. I am being told that it will cost at least $200 to fix. Instead of the turn signals not working now there is a constant clicking in the dash, which they said is caused by the hazard switch being defective...if that is the case then why would they replace the original switch with a defective one and not replace the defective one?

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #18

Sep 102005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hazard flashing warning lights doesn't work and my turn signals are sometimes inoperative. GM said my vehicle is not included in they recall no.03043 although I having same kind of problem stated in that recall(NHTSA campaign no.03V327000).

- Palm Beach Gardens , FL, USA

problem #17

May 072005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
Driver's side window switch stalls before rolling up. Turn signals do not work all the time. Internal fan switch only works on 5. if I turn the fan switch on or off, turn signals will start working instantly. Turn signal problem started right after the blower went out. I cannot listen to the radio and run the rear defroster at the same time. The driver's side seat belt will not release all the time when I try to put it on. The car has died as I tried to turn left at a stop light. This was a used car with less than 30K miles when I bought it in March 2005, no problems until about May. Now a problem a day seems to appear. The car now has 39K miles on it and my husband wants me to trade it in already because he says it is going to "nickel and dime us to death". I have seen several of these problems on recall sites, but the dealer said that my VIN was not included in the recall.

- Blackwell, OK, USA

problem #16

Mar 262001

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Malibu has developed problems with the braking and the cooling systems.** answer required***. one month after the vehicle was purchased the rotor assembly was replaced. The vehicle would turn over but it wouldn't start. The dealer replaced the fuel pump. When accelerating the vehicle's coolant light illuminated on the dash. The dealer determined that there was a leak at the by pass pipe at the lower intake manifold. The alternator was replaced under warranty. The hazard and turn signal switch were replaced. The right outer tie rod were worn loose. The dealer replaced the right outer tie rod ends and set the front end. The right front wheel bearing was replaced. The ABS malfunctioned.

- Bridgton, ME, USA

problem #15

Feb 282005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
Consumer's vehicle turn signal would operate intermittently. It worked some times, and some times it would not work. Consumer fixed, it was an open circuit in the hazard switch. Which failed. Consumer knew of NHTSA recall 03V327000 on same make/ model, and year, but consumer's vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN.

- St Petersberg, FL, USA

problem #14

Nov 012002

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Malibu experiencing problems with brakes, turn signals, cooling system and theft deterrent light. The consumer experienced the following: A continuous brake problem with the rotors, the theft deterrent light illuminated, so the dealer replaced the ignition cylinder the signal lights worked intermittently and the dealer replaced the hazard switch. The right side hub assembly was replaced. There was water in the oil, therefore the intake gaskets were replaced due to leaking.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #13

Jul 012004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Hazard lights and turn signals will not work due to defective switches.

- Madras, OR, USA

problem #12

Sep 012004

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Consumer stated the vehicle was experiencing the very same problem as mentioned in recall 03V327000 concerning hazard flashing warning light switch.

- East Chicago, IN, USA

problem #11

Apr 022002

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Hazard light switch does not function correctly. Bad switch causes hazard lights and blinkers to quit working without warning. Switch was replaced once under warranty, but it failed again. I purchased another part and installed myself. I have the old part.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #10

Aug 252004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,800 miles
Exterior hazard warning light faield to illuminate intermittently. Dealership was notified with GM manifactor but did not resolve the problem.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #9

Jan 052003

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Security light keeps coming on car wont start. Emergency flashers comes on by themselves sometimes and the flashers dont work at times unless you touch the flasher switch then the blinkers will work. Didnt get no letter about the recall on the flasher switch just found out about it on this website. I have a 2001 Chevy Malibu sl I bought it from harvey Toyota in bossier city Louisiana...I took the car to them told them what the problem was on the security system they couldnt find any problem with it. I told them about the flasher switch and they told me they would replace it but I would have to pay unless I wanted to do it myself. So can you tell me what I can do cause it is an annoying and agravating especially when your stuck on the side of the road and your car wont start un till the security light goes off and you have to reset it every time. Thankyou P.S we I bought the car in 2002.

- Haughton, LA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?