Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,299 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #8

Jun 252009

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles


2002 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes to express disappointment with the vehicle. The consumer stated the vehicle would not start at times. On several occasions, while driving, the vehicle would shut off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. However, at the time they were unable to determined a problem. The consumer went to her local repair garage, where it was determined, the ignition was the problem. Also, the entire gas cover and cap came off in the consumers hands, due to severe rust. The consumer has since traded the vehicle.

- Cropseyville, NY, USA

problem #7

Apr 182014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 70,300 miles
Antitheft system intermittently causing car to stall and fails to restart tail lights are failing fuel system cutoff.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #6

May 182013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 107,332 miles
May 2013: Car hard to start; multiple attempts before engine started May 2013: Had new key made at local Chevrolet dealer December 2013: Continued problems starting car; replaced ignition switch July 1, 2014: GM announces expanded recall to include 2002 Malibu; called local Chevrolet dealer; they said we have to wait for the letter from GM; dealer did not know about expanded recall July 14, 2014: Car engine turned off while driving July 15, 2014: Called local Chevrolet dealer again; still knew nothing about expanded recall; couldn't advise as to whether car is safe to drive.

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #5

Jun 082014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 69,140 miles


My 2002 Chevrolet Malibu ls left me stranded at a busy fueling station. The car refused to start due to the faulty passlock ignition switch system. These parts were replaced at an authorized GM service center at approximately 47,000 miles due to the same issue of refusing to start. Now at around 21,000 miles later the parts have failed again. GM and NHTSA need to resolve these safety issues. I don't feel safe in this car, and I don't believe it is reliable. Wake up this is yet another GM ignition problem that has been known for decades! anyone in doubt just do an internet search on GM passlock or Chevrolet Malibu ignition problems.

- Corning, OH, USA

problem #4

Dec 202011


  • 160,000 miles
I been running errands. I stopped the car to go into the store, got back into the vehicle and the ignition would not turn over. I was stranded with my 5 year old, had to get a tow to repair shop. I was told the ignition switch was bad, cost me $347. On 12/29/11 same issue, car would not start this time luckily I was at home. I had to get a tow to the repair another $51 and was told the ignition switch must have had a default and I received a new ignition switch, at no charge. Two days ago, almost 2 weeks after last repair, it happened again this time in the parking lot 12 degrees outside car would not turn over called a tow to the repair shop and was told all this time it was the auto theft system was bad and caused the car to not start and also was the cause of the ignition switch to not start the car. I was charged $388, plus a tow fee, for the repair of a new ignition lock cylinder( the part used a the auto theft system). Basically, this auto theft system has caused me over 700 in a month time and left me in dangerous areas with no way of getting home. This needs to reimbursed by GM because if this auto theft system was placed on the car as a benefit and protection to the owner of the car to stop theft it is not helping the owner at all only putting the owner in more harm because it is causing the owner to not be able to start the car with the key. How much since does that make? this is something extra added to the car that is not needed; that is why we have car alarms. I don't need them to add an auto theft system to my car and it stops me from being able to get into the car and drive. What if there was an emergency I needed to deal with, I have children in the home. The last time the car wouldn't start it was only 12 degrees outside and freezing cold. Please tell me how to get a petition of a recall for reimbursement for repairs. This is unsafe!

- Bedford, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Mar 152010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
I drive my car and it cuts off. Try to start it but cranks no start. Bought new battery no start. Smell fuel. Don't know what it is afraid to drive.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #2

Apr 282009


  • 11,620 miles
My 2002 Chevy Malibu has been having problems since I bought it at about 104,000 miles but I am sure that it was having problems well before I bought it because of the low price I paid for it, but I needed a car badly. I have always had problems starting my car and usually would have to turn it on to make sure all the lights come on, not just the anti-theft light. If only the anti-theft light comes on, its guaranteed to not start. At exactly 111,111 miles my car would not start at all no matter how many times I took the key out and put it back in. It kept flashing the anti-theft at me! I replaced the idol speed motor and for some reason it started. A week later it wouldn't start again. I read about tricks online to get the car to start because this seems to be a prominent problem with 2002's. I finally got the car started. A few days later I was driving on a busy highway when I came to a stop light and my car just shut off. I was still able to use my breaks, thank god, but had to sit there in the middle of traffic trying to start my car for several minutes. I keep thinking what if this happens when my 2-year-old is with me" what if this happens in the dark and someone rear ends me because my lights go out" I have had the fuel pump checked, the fuel injectors, the idle speed motor replaced every time I replace something it works for a few days or weeks then it starts to act up again. The point is that the problem always comes back and it seems to get worst, and happens more frequently with every failure. The problem could be the ignition cylinder witch is what I am having fixed next, but I have acquaintances that have had the same problems that come back even after replacing the ignition cylinder. My biggest concern is having everything die again while I am driving because its not just a inconvenience anymore, it is a safety issue that Chevy needs to address before there are deaths and or serious injuries.

- St. Peter, MN, USA

problem #1

Jun 102002


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Malibu. While idling at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact made several attempts to restart the vehicle, and finally the engine turned over. The vehicle was driven to his residence and towed to an authorized dealer. The dealer replaced the air condition compressor. Previously, the engine gasket was replaced. Recently, the vehicle began riding roughly and was taken to the authorized dealer. The service technician stated that the failure was related to the fuel injector, which needed to be replaced. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?