Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,849 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Oct 012009

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Malibu. Occasionally either one or both of the turn signals will suddenly stop working. If she turns the hazard light switch on and off and then push on the lower left corner, the turn signals will then began to function properly. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 64000. Updated 01/15/10. Updated 01/19/10.

- Escanaba, MI, USA

problem #35

Jun 252008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,400 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Malibu. The hazard warning switch worked intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the diagnostic indicated that the hazard switch wire shorted out, which caused the hazard lights to work intermittently. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V327000 (exterior lighting: Hazard: Flashing warning lights: Switch recall). The failure mileage was 30,400 and current mileage was 31,100. Updated 09/10/08 updated 09/10/08.

- Wolcott, CT, USA

problem #34

Jan 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
There have been problems with my hazard switch and blinkers on my car. They work basically when they want to. I had brought it to a Chevrolet dealer over a year ago and they had no idea what I was referring to. It seems as if its a defect with the car and I'm not sure bout finding out what to do about it.

- Mount Holly, NJ, USA

problem #33

Sep 012007

Malibu 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,258 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hazard lights and blinkers will quit working or not work at all.

- Lavergne, TN, USA

problem #32

Mar 172007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,500 miles
Turn signals on my 2002 Chevy Malibu only work occasionally. I tried to find a recall but this problem only has a recall for Chevy Malibu's up to the year 2001. I have replaced the turn signal switch and the ignition switch still having the problem.

- New Hartford, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Aug 152006

Malibu

  • miles
My blinkers on my Chevy Malibu 2002 work intermittently. This is a problem because I need to turn the blinker to the left to turn on my car as a safety procedure installed by the producer. It is also a problem because when I drive I have to change lanes and even though I turn my blinkers on they do not work so I am cutting people off all the time. I tried taking it to the GM dealership but they told me there was no recall for that kind of problem. It is getting very annoying and today I had to wait about 10 minutes to turn my car on when I was trying to get some money from the atm. It is annoying because if the left blinker does not turn on and I start my car it does not start and the horn sounds. People were looking at me funny because the horn sounded like 30 times.

- Fresno, TX, USA

problem #30

Aug 152006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The hazard/ turn signal switch in my 2002 Chevrolet Malibu failed, and I had to replace it in order to be able to use my turn signal and hazard lights effectively.

- Somerville, MA, USA

problem #29

Jul 282006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,459 miles
On July 28 2006 my wife and I purchased a 2002 Chevy Malibu. We drove the vehicle home, with the A/C running, and everything was fine. The vehicle sat over night in our garage, and the next morning my wife drove the car to work. As soon as she got to work she called me saying the turn signals quit working. She attempted to use the hazard lights, and they would not work either. We called the auto dealership where the car was purchased. They had us bring the car to them. After driving my van for 45 minutes, with no working A/C, I arrived at her place of employment. I took the car to the dealer, and they kept it over night. The next morning they called and said the car was ready for pickup. I again drove 45 minutes in 100 degree temperature to pickup the car. Everything was fine. The technician said it was the computer needed to be reset. So I again drove the car back home. This time with no A/C. when I arrived at the turn to my street I moved the turn indication lever down for a left hand turn. Nothing happened. The turn signals did not work again. A large truck was behind me and almost slammed into the rear of the vehicle. I made the turn, only to be pulled over by a police officer. The officer asked why I did not use my signal. I explained to him the turn signals quit working again. The officer did not cite me, but told me if it was not corrected I would face a citation the next time. I drove the car back to the house, and did some investigation of my own on the internet. I have read over 300 different reports about this happening to other 2002 Malibu owners. The turn lights and hazard indicator button have not worked correctly since. This car has been in the shop twice since this has happened. Chevrolet did a recall on the 2001 model for the same problem. It appears the soldering of the circuit in the hazard indicator button on the 2001 model was the problem. I have not heard of or found a recall for the 2002 model.

- Okemah, OK, USA

problem #28

Jul 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Hazard switch has stopped working or works only sometimes. Causes the blinkers and the hazard lights not to work, causing a possible accident.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #27

Nov 262005

Malibu 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,492 miles
I first purchased this Malibu 2002 in Feb 2002. Nov 02 ( 9 mos later) I had to have my ignition switch replaced which was under warranty. Around the same time my turn/hazard signal went out and I haven't had it replaced yet after 4yrs of having this car. If I want to use it I have to keep pressing the hazard button to make it come on. Nov 2005 I tried to start my car, but it kept cutting off. My dad stated it was the fuel pump. I had the fuel pump, crank sensor and module replaced. My car still didn't start. Finally my dad went under the steering wheel and pressed this black button (cut off switch) and that was the only way it would start. I have to travel 25 miles to work so I was tired of worrying about the car. I thought it was the theft system. I took my car to the dealer 11/29/2005 they had the car until 12/15/2005. I was told that it was my ignition switch, crank sensor and my alarm/automatic starter. I was out of $366.73 to the dealer and taking a cab to work at 5:30am for X7dy coasted$210. I was also out of money for a rental car for the last 7ys they had my car plus gas on both because they used all gas in my car. I have had X2 ignition switches put on my car, I have to change my tail/park/brake bulb seemingly every 6mos. I am only getting my hazard/turn signal replaced when NHTSA reviews it as being an defect. I am having a hard time with the speed of my car also on the E way. I have to put my foot to the floor in order to make it take off at 60mph. I have to put gas in my car every 3dys. I last changed my fuel filter 1yr ago and again having it replaced 1/1/06. My check engine light came on 1wk after I got my car out of the shop on 12/22 and it has been on since. My coolant light comes and goes off every now and then. I have had my coolant/fuel flushed. I had it winterized what's the problem. If we have 47-50 people complaining about the same thing why cant it get done. Please respond and help us Chevy owners asap/wf.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #26

Mar 032004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my 2002 Chevy Malibu ls the turn signal/hazard button has become inoperative at random driving times. Basically it mimmicks the exact recall of the 2001 Malibu. I had someone who previously owned a Malibu state that they had the same problem. More times than not, the signals do not work.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #25

Nov 282005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Chevy Malibu turn and hazard signal failure. I just purchased this vehicle used and I noticed the problem right away. I have returned the vehicle to the dealership (a GM dealership) and they haven't been able to identify the problem. I did a "google" search of the issue and found out that you already have this problem under investigation. I just wanted to add my issue to the number of reports registered.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #24

Nov 122004

Malibu

  • miles
2002 Malibu turn signal and flasher switch intermittent failure.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #23

Oct 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Turn signals and emergency flasher do not always work. Turn signals may work fine for days then suddenly not work. Or, turn signals may work for awhile while driving, then stop working suddenly.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #22

Oct 292005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
About two weeks ago, I began to notice intermittent failure of the turn indicators on my 2002 Chevrolet Malibu. About 70 percent of the time, they function normally but they randomly fail and just as randomly begin working again. The problem seems unrelated to power on/off cycles of the turn indicator system or vehicle. Likewise, road vibration intensity doesn't seem to have a direct impact on the condition. When the failure occurs, the four way hazard warning system still functions normally. The failure affects both sides of the vehicle. Neither dashboard indicators nor turn indicator lamps function during the failure. The sound associated with the operation of the flasher unit is also missing during failures. I have replaced the flasher unit and the problem was unaffected. I reinstalled the original flasher. It is available for inspection.

- Pullman, WA, USA

problem #21

Oct 032005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,600 miles
Malibu 2002 turn signals and turn signal indicator do not work and will come on every once in awhile. Have seen many other complaints of this but Chevy has not recalled the 2002 model. This is very dangerous if you are trying to merge onto the freeway or just around town. Do not want to take car in and spend hundreds of dollars if the problem can not be corrected like I've seen so many people say they have tried to do.

- Mather, CA, USA

problem #20

Oct 202005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The turn signal on my 2002 Chevrolet intermittently fails to work causing the need to use hand signals. When it works or not is unpredictable. I saw that the NHTSA has received multiple complaints about this defect. Thank you.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #19

Oct 152005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Turn signals do not work and indicator does not flash on dashboard. Failure began as an intermittent issue, but is now constant. There is no recall on for this issue. Replacement parts work for a short time, then fail.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #18

Sep 152005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,945 miles
I have heard recently about turn signal problems with my 2002 Chevrolet Malibu and I would like to report the same condition. Sometimes the work and sometimes they don't. if they don't work right away you push the hazard button and the signals will work for a short period and then you have start the process over again. I've read that Chevy had this problem with earlier models. Let me tell you the problems is continuing.

- Oreland, PA, USA

problem #17

Jan 302005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own an '02 Chevy Malibu (since 2/28/02). I had the same hazard switch problem w/my '02 Malibu that the '00 & '01 model years had, and I had to pay for its replacement (roughly $130). I had no turn signals or hazard blinkers until it was replaced. Gibson Chevy of South holland, il did the replacement (it's in their repair system). My car presently has a little over 45K miles. GM should reimburse me for the money I was forced to pay, given the history of this defect with prior model years and the fact this situation has not seemingly been replaced with the '02 model year, either. I got no notification of a problem with this switch or a recall on it, either. I have had to have a modulator replaced last week (10/5/05) which affects the blower motor speeds in my vehicle's ventilation system ($152). At speeds 1, 2 and 3, the blower motor wouldn't work at all. Each speed starting with the lowest to the higher speeds was going out-the only speeds working were #4, #5 & defrost. I was forced to have this replaced or I wouldn't be able to use the vents or defroster or the blower itself (& the defroster), would not work at all. This repair was done at brach auto repair (103rd & western ave., Chicago il -- this repair detail is in their system). Brach auto also replaced some parts in my fuel injection system (it was malfunctioning/about to go out). The amt I paid for this is also in their system. At that time, tom beaulieu informed me that GM has distributed a tsb re: This situation (which I was not informed of until I took my car in for the modulator repair), & how I must run my car w/ only shell or bp's 93 octane gasoline (even though the owner's manual states it should/can run on 87 octane). Now, due to a poor fuel injector design, running anything less than 93 octane in my '02 Malibu will result in more costly repairs. (3 separate failures / 3 separate parts on the same car). I want GM to reimburse me for the money I've spent for these repairs.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?