Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Jan 082006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased 2002 Malibu new Nov 2001. Turn signals quit working once in 2002. Reoccurred 3-4 times in 2003. 2004 occurred 6-8 times. 2005 occurred at least once a month until Oct-Dec when signals malfunction weekly. Jan 2006, signals malfunction 1-3 time a day sometimes. Vehicle has approx 32,000 miles. Cycling the hazard switch usually once or twice cures the problem. Called dealer Nov 2005, but no recall on 2002 Malibu for this problem.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #19

Jan 052006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
:the contact stated both turn signals intermittently turn on without assistance. If the engine is turned off for an extended amount of time the lights sometimes turn on. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they alerted the contact that they were unaware of any problems.

- Loyalhanna, PA, USA

problem #18

Dec 042005

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Turn signals stopped working, hazdards work all other lights work and all fuses are good. This is a common problem on this years Malibu.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #17

Oct 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Turn signals and emergency flasher do not always work. Turn signals may work fine for days then suddenly not work. Or, turn signals may work for awhile while driving, then stop working suddenly.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #16

Oct 032005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,600 miles
Malibu 2002 turn signals and turn signal indicator do not work and will come on every once in awhile. Have seen many other complaints of this but Chevy has not recalled the 2002 model. This is very dangerous if you are trying to merge onto the freeway or just around town. Do not want to take car in and spend hundreds of dollars if the problem can not be corrected like I've seen so many people say they have tried to do.

- Mather, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Sep 032005

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
The turn signals do not always work. Consumertr contacted Chevrolet corporation, and was informed that this vehicle was not recalled due to VIN. But, need to emphasize that this vehicle has a similar problem. This incident H happen at least 4 times in the last month.

- Leeton, MO, USA

problem #14

Oct 112005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Chevrolet Malibu, turn signal malfunction that leads to total failure of the turn signals lights and the indicator on the instrument panel.

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #13

Aug 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Dt the contact stated the blinkers worked poorly. Sometimes they will work and they will click at a fast pace, faster than when the turn signal on the outside of the vehicle were blinking. Other times the blinkers will not work at all, and then there was no clicking, no noise, and no lights. Noticed this problem on August 1, 2005. Consumer contacted the dealer, and they said there was recall, but this vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN. Updated 11/17/2005.

- Lindenwold , NJ, USA

problem #12

Sep 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Turn signals will not work-seems to be a defect in the flasher. Started just occasionally, but has gotten worse. Will work sometimes, but usually not.

- Humansville, MO, USA

problem #11

Oct 032005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,690 miles
The turn signals on my 2002 Malibu fail to work on an intermittent basis. The problem first appeared about two days ago (early-October). The signals have failed twice during that time the dash indicators do not light up when I signal both right and left. I have less than 45K miles on the vehicle. If I move the dimmer switch back and forth, the signals will begin to work again.

- Rockport, TX, USA

problem #10

May 012005

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet, turn signals are working improperly. Consumer can hear the turn signal, like it is blinking, but sometimes it will not light up on the inside. If it does not light up on the inside then it is not lighting up from the outside. The bulbs have been changed, and this was not the problem. A couple of contact's friends own Chevrolet cars and at one point and time this happened to them as well. The problem recurred, so she is going to have to take the vehicle to dealer for repairs. Aof months ago the problem did not occur as often as currently.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The vehicle is a 2002 Chevrolet Malibu, the turn signals and the hazard lights only work about 25 percent of the time. This problem started after 32,000 miles and on around the first of April of 2005. Sometimes when flipping on the lights they will work, then go off without warning. At times after flipping the lights on they will not come on and then after driving further they will all of a sudden turn on. The lights would have to be in the on position before it will come on. The problem occurs in any type of weather and under any driving conditions. The consumer contacted GM and they told her to get a diagnostic test ran on the vehicle, and afterwards that they would get in contact with the dealer and get some kind of payment figured out. The consumer has not contacted the dealership as of now. The consumer states that she knows that it is the same problem they are having with the 2000 & 2001, and those models were recalled.

- Carnegie, PA, USA

problem #8

Jun 202005

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
I bought my Chevrolet 2002 Malibu brand new and have owned it for three years, just two months ago it started having intermittent turn signal problems. I have tried little things like manually using turn signals and turning them off prior to turn completion, restarting the car, and using my hazzard lights to trigger the turn signals to work. Sometimes these things will work momentarily, other times they have no effect. Also I am noticing my hazard lights do not always work, and sometimes they will interrupt my turn signal from working and other times my turn signal will cause the hazard lights to turn off! this has almost caused several accidents for me, is a very dangerous situation. The dealership will not help me, my car is just past the warranty period and they want to test it for a rather large fee. Although my research on this problem has told me that GM has not fixed the problem in 2002, but possibly in 2001, and 2000 models. I am very disappointed, and will not own a Chevy again.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #7

Jun 122005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,100 miles
On 06-12-2005 my blinkers started working intermittantly. They may not work for a few minutes or for longer periods of time and with no warning. They don't work right away even if you restart the vehicle. I've saw this was a common problem with previous models. This is not a problem to be over looked especially if we travel. It is a danger in high traffic driving.

- Lupton, MI, USA

problem #6

Dec 122004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
2002 Chevrolet Malibu turn signal works intermittently. My daughter drives this car and was involved in a minor accident in December 2004. She was trying to merge left in heavy traffic when a car just behind her, and two lanes to the left, went for the same spot. Because the turn signal failed, the driver in the other lane did not know she was trying to merge and proceeded into the spot. My daughter had to swerve back into her lane to avoid the other car, and could not avoid rear-ending the vehicle ahead where traffic had suddenly stopped. I recently took this car to the dealer, who could find nothing wrong. A quick internet search reveals that this is a common problem, and in fact the previous two model years were recalled for this same problem, which is related to a bad hazard switch. I fiddled with the switch and found that tapping the switch causes the signals to malfunction. Although we didn't get this checked out until after the accident, I believe the accicent would have been avoided if the signals had been working, and I am really annoyed that the dealership seemed so ignorant of this well documented problem. Fortunately no one was injured, but they easily could have been.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #5

Nov 222004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
My turn signals work intermittently my, fuel pump failed at 38,000 miles, coolentent system acts up off and on it overheats and then it might work just fine, head gasket starting leaking at 39,000 miles, motor is very loud and noisy when it first starts, it misses out while running but parked, gas gage doesn't read properly it bounces all over the place.

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #4

Sep 072004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,029 miles
Turn signal intermittently failed, and the consumer was unable to warn other drivers. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #3

Sep 152004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
Consumer stated turn signals failed. A recall was issued for the turn signals in the 2001 model year, however the 2002 model year was was not included in the recall.

- Havelock, NC, USA

problem #2

Aug 152004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The consumer stateed the turn signals failed intermittently. Please provide additional information.

- Oxford, NC, USA

problem #1

May 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
2002 Chevrolet Malibu. Turn signal switch operates intermittently -- symptoms are identical to 2000-2001 my, which was recalled at 03V327000. Has been like this for a couple of months but has gotten worse. ABS light is on all the time.

- Edgewater, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?