Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

6.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,281 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 152005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front brake pads and rotors keep needing to be replaced. Car was purchased new in Sept of 2003, need new pads/resurfaced rotors at 13,000 miles and again at 28,000 miles.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #11

Jan 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states that she owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu ls. She purchased the vehicle in September of 2003. January 2004 she noticed a quivering pulsating brake problem. She took vehicle to the dealer, they cleaned the brakes and then they were fine. March 204 she took vehicle in for a regular Pennsylvania inspection and she had them check the brakes. They said they were excellent. May 12 2004 she had brake failure. The brake pads, shoes, and rotors had all burnt off the vehicle. So she had all of them replaced. She takes her vehicle in every four to five weeks for an oil change. Every other oil change she has brakes inspected, so it is about every 10 weeks. The last week of March she went in for another inspection everything, including the calibration on the brakes looked perfect. May 10th 2005 brake failure again, the brake shoes, pads, and the rotors burnt off again. The contact called three dealer in the pennsylavnia area and all the dealers stated that Chevrolet Malibu are known for brake problems. She called GM on May 10th, and they were only worried about how many miles on the vehicle she had, and told her to get brakes serviced more often. In a total of six weeks vehicle has burnt out the brake pads, shoes, and rotors.

- Pittston Township, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
While driving between 30-35 mph a metal to metal noise occurred upon depression of the brake pedal. Vehicle was driven to a mechanic, who indicated that the front driver brake pad broke in half.

- Olmsted Falls, OH, USA

problem #9

Nov 032004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have not had any accidents or injuries but I have had to replace the brake pads and rotors twice since purchasing the vehicle 6/18/03. I was told the first time which was in January of this year that I had to have my brake pads and rotors replaced that it was because my brake pads were sticking and had worn completely away so they were replaced under warranty because it had occured before I had put 12000 miles on the car. The second time was in September and they had to replace the brake pads again, but after I took my car home I noticed that my car would shudder violently when braking so I took it back the first week of November and they had to repair/replace the rotors for the second time as well.

- Thetford Center, VT, USA

problem #8

Oct 262004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
I have put 3 sets of brake pads and rotors on my Malibu. I had the right front hub assembly changed twice. My cars brakes throw off alot of brake dust and must be pushed way down before stopping.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #7

Oct 122004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When the consumer applied the brakes, the pedal went to the floor. A loud squeaking noise was heard when the brakes were applied. The consumer was able to drive to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the driver that the brake pads and rotors needed replacement. Please fill in additional information.

- London, KY, USA

problem #6

May 142004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer replaced at 12,000 miles the fronts rotors and pads, at 23,000 miles fronts rotors and pads were replaced, at 25,000 miles rotors were resurfaced and replaced the pads, and at 27, 000 miles dealership indicated the needed resurface the front rotors and replaced the pads once again.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #5

Mar 192003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
I have had to replace not only the brake pads but the rotors as well, every 20,000 miles dealer tells me it's the way I drive. It just so happens that I drive for a living and I'm sorry it's the product!

- Winchester, NH, USA

problem #4

Oct 212003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
While driving at 50 mph and when depressing the brakes vehicle shuddered violently and the pulled to the right. This problem occurred on many occasions, and the consumer felt that lost of control was imminent. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the front brake pads. Afterwards the vehicle performed worse than prior to repairs. The rotors were warped.

- Rainier, WA, USA

problem #3

Nov 282003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Manufacturing safety issue - Chevrolet Malibu 2003 front wheel assembly hubs rotors, and brakes. Continuous problems. Dealer and General Motors refuses to correct. Rotors warped, causing brake pads to wear out. Turned twice already. Left hub replaced. Now experiencing same problems again with braking. Dealer refuses to repair during November 28, 2003 visit.

- Nitro, WV, USA

problem #2

Aug 202003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,375 miles
2003 Chevrolet Malibu brake pads and rotors need replacement after 8,000-25,000 miles due to rust and wear. Brakes were "excellent" at 10,871 miles, then needed replacement at 16,350 along with new rotors.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #1

Aug 052003

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Chevrolet 2003 Malibu - the car was leased in March 2003. The brakes were failing and the car was taken back to the dealer. They could not detect any problems since no lights came on in the car. The problem occurrence is unpredictable. Brakes become very hard and car doesn't stop, steering wheel vibrates, car does not accelerate, consumes a lot of gas. Problem detected was brake pedal remained down even when it wasn't being used. The car was brought back to the dealer three times before the defect was detected by the service manager. The car was reportedly repaired (readjusted switch for proper release of brake, replaced ft pads and rotors due to excess heat on ft brakes), but after a week, the problem represented itself. The car is now (8/21/03) at the dealer for repair (4th time it goes in). The manufacturer customer service is giving me a difficult time admitting that the car has a serious defect. They are trying to convince me that the symptoms the car presents may not signify that the problem is the same. I totally disagree because, it is the same problem. My husband and I were almost killed on the NJ turnpike due to this problem. I have asked them to take back the car but I have had little success. I am hoping that this complaint will spark an investigation. The dealer mentioned that this exact problem was found on the Avalanche models.

- Edison, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?