Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
51,096 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Jun 182007

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck, as the pedal was depressed and released within a few seconds. The failure recurred numerous times. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 04V528000 (vehicle speed control). In addition, the contact stated that it took several attempts for the ignition key to turn in the ignition switch. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Cahokia, IL, USA

problem #23

May 052015

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 5 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck without warning. The contact depressed the brake pedal and the rpms failed to decrease. The failure occurred on several occasions. While the vehicle was parked with the engine running, the rpms increased without warning. The vehicle was turned off and restarted several times before the rpms returned to normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Orangevale, CA, USA

problem #22

Jun 302013

Malibu

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal would become stuck and not return to the idle position when the temperature was warmer. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 04V528000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Hubbard, OH, USA

problem #21

May 102010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving at various speeds and the accelerator pedal became stuck while depressed. After several attempts, the accelerator pedal released and functioned normally. The failure occurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where they informed the contact of the recall under NHTSA campaign id number 04V528000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The VIN was not included in the recall; however the contact experienced a similar failure as mentioned in the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000. Updated 09/27/11 updated 10/11/11

- Norwalk , OH, USA

problem #20

Jul 192010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving 45 mph when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact able to maneuver the vehicle as the engine exhibited an abnormally high increase in rpms. The manufacturer was contacted who informed him that his vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 04V528000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 02/23/11 the consumer also stated there were times when the vehicle would not start, unless he turned the key and let the vehicle sit for 15 minutes. The theft system light would stay on all the time. Updated 06/02/11

- North Street , MI, USA

problem #19

Jul 062010

Malibu

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 10 mph, she noticed that the vehicle became difficult to stop. The rpms increased excessively to 2000 when she depressed the brake pedal. Within a few minutes, as she drove the vehicle to the dealer, she noticed an odor in the brakes which was heat accumulated after she tried to stop the vehicle. She also inspected the vehicle and noticed that the floor mat was not under the accelerator pedal and was not the cause of the sudden acceleration. The dealer stated that the accelerator assembly system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired when the complaint was filed. When the contact called the manufacturer who stated that the vehicle was not included in recall 04V528000 (vehicle speed control accelerator pedal) and offered no assistance. The current and failure mileages were approximately 101,000.

- Saint Louis , MO, USA

problem #18

Jul 022010

Malibu

  • 43,627 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While the contact was driving approximately 25 mph and approaching a traffic light, , the accelerator pedal became stuck without warning. The contact manually released the accelerator pedal with his foot and the vehicle came to a complete stop. The failure occurred during extremely hot weather temperatures and when the contact comes to a complete stop. The contact reviewed NHTSA recall campaign id number 04V528000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). An authorized dealer was notified and stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall on January 14, 2005. The contact stated the vehicle had no prior recall remedy repair performed. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 43,627.

- Bechtelsville, PA, USA

problem #17

May 032010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 121,405 miles
My 2003 Chevy Malibu began idling very high while driving, causing it to be difficult to control. It was a hot day when it happened and I almost was in an accident. I found a recall on line NHTSA campaign # 04V528000 which was exactly the problem I was having with my vehicle. My VIN number was not on the recall list according to GM. My mechanic performed the test on the accelerator and brake assembly and it failed. The accelerator would not return to the engine idle position when my foot was off the accelerator pedal- it would go 35 miles per hour without my foot on the accelerator- very dangerous. My mechanic replace the accelerator and brake assembly, and gave me the part. They suggested I pursue through GM. I did so, case #71-827370783. I received a call today from GM stating they would not pay for the repair since it wasn't part of the recall, regardless of the fact that it was a defective item, not a wear and tear item, and further, very dangerous. I think there should be a new recall for the rest of the 2003 Chevy Malibu that were not on the original list- they obviously missed some vehicles that were affected. This happened very suddenly and I was lucky I didn't kill someone or get killed myself.

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #16

Jun 012007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer states unintended acceleration. The consumer stated his primarily drove the vehicle. In June 2007, the consumers wife experienced sudden acceleration and continued until the vehicle was repaired in July 2008 via a recall over a one year later. The consumer stated he was charged $189.05 in June 2007 for what turned out to be a recall issue. Again in August 2008 the consumer reported the problem and was charged again. So, for over a year, the vehicle would race and safety was a hazard. Also, the power windows would not operate properly. The consumer stated the power windows have failed twice. Even though the consumer was charged twice for different part replacements, he continues to experience problems with the power windows at times.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jun 022008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal became stuck and the vehicle continued to accelerate. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V528000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). She was advised to take the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing to determine if they will assist with the repair. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 62,000 and current mileage was 64,000. Updated 07/28/09. Updated 07/30/09.

- Adamstown, MD, USA

problem #14

Jul 152007

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Malibu 2003 also has an accelerator pedal that sticks in the hot weather. It started happening intermittently about 2 years ago. If I can get my foot under the pedal to slow it up that works. Of course it never happens at the dealership.

- Hamilton,Ontario, Canada, 00, USA

problem #13

Jun 082008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 65-70 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck and would not release. The contact was forced to shift into neutral and turn off the vehicle. He coasted safely to the side of the road until the vehicle came to a complete stop. Once the vehicle was off, he applied pressure to the accelerator pedal and it released. After researching recalls on the vehicle, the contact realized that his failure was identical to that described in NHTSA campaign id number 04V528000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal). The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in the recall and, since the vehicle was no longer covered under warranty, the contact would be responsible for the repair costs. As of June 10, 2008, the vehicle has not been diagnosed. The failure and current mileages were 130,000. Updated 07/08/08. Updated

- Munford, TN, USA

problem #12

Apr 222008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles
Stuck accelerator: On 4/22/08, took foot off gas pedal -- car did not decelerate and maintained 47 miles per hour for 0.86 miles. Made sure cruise control was turned off. RPM's still stuck at 1.5. proceeded through a green light and car continued at 1.5 RPM's for the next 2 miles. Approaching a 2nd intersection, I decided to pull off to the side of the road to be able to turn off the engine, but there wasn't a shoulder; so applied brakes to turn on to quieter side road. Barely made turn. Had brakes down hard and car still traveled at 20 miles per hour. Hit emergency brake and car slowed to 5 mph. I then put it in neutral and turned off the engine. Took it to spur Chevy for repair. They found the prior owner had work done per recall campaign # 04V528000. Nothing came up on their scan test, no fault codes. Cruise control checked out ok. They diagnosed it as the top of the throttle body needing cleaning. This is the 4th time the throttle has been cleaned in the 1 1/2 years I've owned this vehicle. Prior 3 services performed by the seller (barry Dodge) on 8/7/07, 6/5/07 and 4/5/07 were requested as the engine routinely idled at 1500 rpms. The 4/22/08 incident was the first time the brakes weren't able to stop the car. The engine was acting sluggish in the weeks prior to 4/22. The oil change wasn't due for another 1000 miles (barry Dodge or valvoline). I don't use synthetic oil. I always add fuel injector cleaner after an oil change. I prefer sunoco gas and use their least expensive grade.

- Hamlin, NY, USA

problem #11

Jun 212006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Was driving on the freeway at about 30mph changed lanes and sped up to about 45mpm when a car switched lanes at the same time in front of me jus as traffic came to a stop. Went to press on the brake but my car wasn't really slowing down like I was still pressing on the gas. Ended up crashing into the back of the car that changed lanes in front of me. At the time I thought it was jus an average accident where I wasn't given enough time to come to a full start so all the original parts are still on the car. There was no injury jus major damage to the front end of my car and airbags.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 012007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,923 miles
2003 Chevy Malibu accelerates on its own. Customer states that the car would drive on its own without putting her foot on the accelerator. ** the consumer received a recall notice in the mail which stated the accelerator pedal would be inspected only. After having continual problems with the vehicle accelerating on it S own, the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer where it was determined that the accelerator pedal had an internal malfunction. The consumer is seeking reimbursement. The consumer also complained of a rattle noise coming from the vehicle when going over bumps. The dealer inspected the vehicle and found the left front strut and mount were worn. The left side lower control arm was noisy.

- Huntington Station, NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving between 30-50 mph, the accelerator pedal sticks. The contact must apply the brakes and attempt to reach down and pull the accelerator pedal up manually. The contact stated that the failure began on May 30, 2005 and there is safety recall # 04V528000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal) on the vehicle. She called a dealer that sold GM cars but was not actually a GM dealer and informed her that the recall was closed. The consumer heard so many negative things about that specific dealer that repairs were done at another location. The contact stated that her accelerator pedal had been inspected months earlier. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 65,000 and failure mileage was 52,000. The consumer stated the vehicle was taken to a Chevrolet dealer who fixed the vehicle via the recall immediately at no charge. Updated 07/24/07

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 122007

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When weather is warm the vehicle will rev up to 3000 -3500 rpms and will not return to idle speed. The brakes have to be applied strongly to keep vehicle from taking off, this also happens while in drive and the brakes have to be applied in order to maintain a safe legal speed. Checked for possible recall and found one that matches the actions of this vehicle exactly however this one is not included (VIN). This is happening with increasing frequency and starts sometimes as soon as the vehicle is turned on. Very dissatisfied with GM being the first GM car I have owned I am not at all impressed with the response received when we contacted them about the recall.

- Fillmore, IN, USA

problem #7

Jan 072007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,100 miles
Accelerator pedal sticks causing engine to idle at 1500 to 2000 RPM. Engine will not idle back down to normal RPM's until trans is shifted into neutral. Causes additional braking in order to slow and stop vehicle.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #6

Aug 152006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,534 miles
: the contact stated at various speeds, the accelerator pedal would stick. Excessive pressure had to be applied to the brake pedal for the vehicle to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and the accelerator pedal and two retainer clips were replaced. There was a NHTSA recall #04V528000, regarding the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 9/15/2006 -

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 292003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
'recall campaign' for Chevrolet Malibu 2003, vehicle also involved in 2 accidents. The consumer husband believed both accidents were the result of a recall GM had issued regarding the accelerator pedal. (husband on behalf of wife doris nell deceased)

- Visalia, CA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?