Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,810 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

May 162007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It has been over 5 months since recall, and GM has still not come up with the replacement parts. This delay appears to be intentional. Can NHTSA do anything to speed up this process?

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #22

Oct 012014

Malibu

  • miles
Letter from senator warner on behalf of constituent re 2005 Malibu recalls (attn: Shane clem). The consumer stated each time he called the dealer, to inquire about getting the recall issues rectified, he was informed the parts were not available. Also, the emission control valve had to be replaced.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #21

Sep 182014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacture was not notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 252014

Malibu

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle shook and lost acceleration. The check engine warning indicator illuminated after the failure occurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Portage , IN, USA

problem #19

Sep 252014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train), NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), and NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Castle , PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Sep 112012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that there was an intermittent failure with the connection of the fuse box and the connecting screws. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the screws and the fuse box. The contact also experienced a failure with the power steering. The steering wheel was tight and the contact experienced extreme difficulty turning the steering wheel left or right. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the steering column. The remedy corrected the failure. The contact had been waiting for months to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact also indicated that the vehicle idled high and it was difficult to change gears. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 11/14/14 updated 8/11/2015

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #17

Jun 062014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic and vehicle speed control), NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering), and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V224000 (power train). The contact stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Wilkesbarre, PA, USA

problem #16

Sep 032014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hertford, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 022014

Malibu

  • miles
My name is [xxx]. I am submitting this complaint on behalf of a close family member, [xxx] is 90 years with no access to a computer. He resides at [xxx], and owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. [xxx] received three safety recall notices that are summarized below: June 2014 - first recall notice stated: Your vehicle, equipped with eps may experience a sudden loss of power steering assist that could occur at any time while driving. Steering control can be maintained, as the vehicle will revert to a manual steering mode, but would require greater driver effort at low vehicle speeds, which could result in an increased risk of a crash. July 2014 - second recall notice stated: Traction control, electronic stability control (ecs), and panic braking assist features, if equipped, may be disabled. Service ESC and/or traction control tell-tales lights may illuminate with this condition. These conditions may increase the risk of a crash. July 2014 - third recall notice stated: Your vehicle has a condition in which the transmission shift cable may fracture at any time. If the driver cannot place the vehicle in park, and exists the vehicle without applying the park brake, the vehicle could roll away and a crash could occur with prior warning. [xxx] contacted the local Chevrolet dealership in June 2014. The local Chevrolet dealership is: Keller Chevrolet ([xxx]),. resolution: [xxx] feels that while he is waiting for GM to receive replacement parts for his 2005 Malibu, the local dealership should provide him with a safe loaner vehicle as his existing 2005 Malibu. [xxx] can be reached at: [xxx] thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #14

Jun 282014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V15300 (steering); however, the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #13

Jul 302014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter in July from GM advising me of a recall of my transmission shift cable. In short, it could fracture at any moment, causing an accident. It also has begun shifting to different gears without pressure being applied to the gear shift button. In other words, it can shift into a different gear on its own. This as my primary transportation. The problems with my car are a result of the transmission shift cable, under recall 14152. In the letter (again, received in July) I was informed that Chevrolet dealerships do not have the parts to fix the problem. It is now the end of August and the parts are still not available. My question to GM, as a single woman with one vehicle that I can't safely drive, what am I supposed to do" they had no answer. When is GM going to be held accountable for the position in which they have put thousands of consumers? why isn't there a forced buy back? and what am I supposed to do until they make parts available"

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #12

Aug 152014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train) however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Forked River , NJ, USA

problem #11

Jul 312014

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would be available. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact that the vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). The contact mentioned that the vehicle had exhibited the failure related to the steering multiple times. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Connersville, IN, USA

problem #10

Aug 112014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
We have received 3 separate recall notices from GM. (1 for electric steering, 1 for brake apply sensor and 1 for a shift cable fracture). However, GM will not fix any of the problems. They tell us to call the dealer. The dealer then tells us that GM will not supply the parts. Upon calling GM a third time, they will not reveal who is making these parts, where they are coming from, or have any idea when they will be available. They again instruct us to call the dealer. Each recall states that it is an "important safety recall" in accordance federal laws but yet nobody will fix any of the issues. The first recall notice came in 2012 for electric steering. We are still being told there are not parts to fix this. The brake apply sensor came in July 2014. The shift cable fracture also came in July 2014. (this indicates that the cable can snap while driving).

- North Versailles, PA, USA

problem #9

Feb 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I received 2 notices about 2 recalls on my car that could cause a crash without warning or control. I did experience one of the conditions were I could not put the gear in park or drive when I was trying to start the car to drive. Also once the key was stuck in he ignition fortunately these occurrences were during me trying to start the car when it had been parked. This problem was stated in the notice as a condition in which the transmission shift cable may fracture at any time.currently there are no parts available to fix these recalls. I am afraid for my safety as well as my family.

- Wallkill, NY, USA

problem #8

Dec 252013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Vehicles brake lights stick on while driving. Sometimes they flash when going aprox 65 and up. It appears the brake lights also flash when car is changing gears. The car once would not shift into drive while reversing and lost all power steering. Also the brakes or something at front of car shakes rapidly when accelerating and even worse when going down hills.

- Oakdale, PA, USA

problem #7

Mar 032014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 73,670 miles
My husband was driving 65mph down hwy 75 and the engine just shut down, rolled to a stop and after a little while he got it started and we went on down the road. The next two weeks when driving, the car would just die and I would have to wait a bit to get it started. After dying in heavy traffic I took it to armbruster motor co. In falls city nb. Where they said it was the ignition and put a new one on. Coming home going 60mph and nearing a curve the car died and locked up and I almost had a wreck. Armbruster motor took it back and put these parts on. 1each #19210069 PCM 3.670, ach 19210069 core charge and 1 each 19210069 core return. Also parts: 1each 3157 bulb, and 1 each 3057 bulb. Parts and labor came to $663.06 now the car works great and haven't had trouble since getting it back but there is always that fear of wrecking when I get on the highway now. Is this a manufacture defect" is this going to happen again" I feel that everyone should be warned about the chev malfunctions and how your life is one the line when you take a chev on the highway.

- Sabetha, KS, USA

problem #6

May 092013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling 50 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated as the vehicle became unresponsive to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was advised that the vehicle had engaged into limp mode. The dealer stated that the second and third shift cylinders had also failed, indicating that the transmission would require replacing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 119,000.

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #5

Apr 012011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
At 45000 miles I noticed a popping noise in the front end (passenger side) when I made a left turn. I took it into my mechnic and he said the cv shaft was going out, but it would take awhile before it did. It didnt get worse for awhile, now at 62000, the front end has a horrible shaking, pulls to the right side, pops all the time and the tire on that side makes a weird flapping noise, it almost feels like the tire itself is out of round or something, and it is wearing smooth on the inside of the tire. I have been doing some research and it seems other Malibu owners are having the exact same problems, is this a safety issue that needs to be under recall" is GM aware of this issue"

- Dearing, KS, USA

problem #4

Oct 072011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Shift level does respond when shifting into low (L). Dealer said shift lever cable is bad and is a common problem. Second item had to replace fuel sensor in gas tank as it failed also was sending an over voltage signal to gas gauge. Also a common problem.

- North Bellmore, NY, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?