Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 16
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,881 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Jan 012011


  • 64,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the turn signal bulbs melted the lens cover, causing a hole. With the hole in the cover, water was able to enter causing electrical failures with the turn signals. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer and they advised him that the front lamps had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 64,000.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #51

Jul 012011


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the front signal indicator was malfunctioning. The contact mentioned that he changed the bulbs which failed to remedy the problem. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer, the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 78,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Columbus , KS, USA

problem #50

Aug 152006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the turning lights burned out and also caused the headlights to burn out. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the failure was a known issue with his particular year vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 140,000. Have replaced lights 3 times since owned car. Something is wrong to make it burn out turn signal and melt the lens and connectors. Updated 09/14/2011 the turn signal lights were replaced three times. Updated 12/13/11

- Carrollton, AL, USA

problem #49

Jul 202010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 119,291 miles


The turn signal bulb gets too hot and melts the orange plastic covering the turn signal bulb. I replaced the headlamp assemblies because the orange plastic coverings had holes melted into them, and were unrepairable. I also replaced the turn signal bulb with the bulb specified in tsb #06-08-42-004B which specifies use of the osram 3157 lcp bulb, GM part number 13502322. This did not correct the problem, and I am scheduled to have the headlamps replaced again for a second time, because the orange plastic covering the turn signal bulbs have holes in it again. I first had my headlamps replaced on 07/20/2010, and today is 07/18/2011, so it has been less than a year and the problem is reoccurring.

- Hershey, PA, USA

problem #48

Jun 272011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 99,950 miles
My problem is with my 2005 chevorlet Malibu front parking lights. The parking lights bulb socket has melted through the socket and melted the plastic orange relfector around the bulb. This is a huge fire hazard that was luckily found early enough before any major accident occurred. This has caused my light housing to become discolored and has made my headlights less bright. This has occurred on both driver and passenger sides. I have tried different brands of bulbs and I have now replaced both headlight assemblies. I do still have the driver side headlight as well to show for reference of how much the light has melted the socket and the plastic orange housing around the bulb.

- New Baden, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #47

Mar 302011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 44,500 miles
2005 Chevy Malibu front parking light lens melt onto bulb, probably caused by parking lights used as daytime running lights. Also shows heat discoloration on reflective material in light assembly. I've personally inspected over 15 2005 Chevy Malibu, all have same issue. Vehicles with more miles showed more damage. Possible fire hazard and once melted enough violates lighting requirements. Tried working with Chevy customer service who refused to acknowledge the problem.

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #46

Apr 262011


  • 111,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the headlights had overheated and burned through the plastic because of the bulbs becoming too hot. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired for the failure. The failure and current mileage was 111,000.

- Kavot , AR, USA

problem #45

Mar 252011


  • 59,850 miles
While cleaning plastic head/daytime running light cover on left and right side, I noticed both amber daytime running light/turn signal lens are melted at the top and burned from the heat of the bulbs, which may lead to a fire.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #44

Dec 122010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Headlights are dull. Passenger blinker does not work. Changed the bulb a couple times. Amber cover inside the headlight is melted. Hardly any light while driving at night. This is an accident waiting to happen. Went to dealer and they couldn't figure out what was wrong. Told me to go see someone who knows about head lights! really?

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #43

Jan 172011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 87,095 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu ls. The contact stated the rear brake lights were not working. He then realized the brake light bulb element was used not only for the brakes, but also the indicators and emergency flashers. The consumer stated if an emergency occurred all of the rear indicators and signals would be inoperative. The consumer stated he would be unable to warn any traffic that there was a problem and wished to get over to the emergency lane. Nor can he warn an approaching vehicle coming from behind that he is braking which could result in a rear end collision. The failure mileage was 87,095 and the current mileage is 87,180. Updated evoq 02/10/11 updated 02/18/11 the consumer stated the only indication on the vehicle that there is anything wrong is a quick flash of the display signal indicator symbol. In most cases it infers that the signal light circuit has one bulb failure. Updated 03/09/11

- Grant Pass, OR, USA

problem #42

Jul 182008


  • 50,000 miles


The daylight - signal bulb melted the plastic enclosure and smoked the headlights lenses reducing the visibility on night time at less than half.I notice this material-design defent on many cars in parking lots.this happen over the time, is not an instant failure and usual after long trips on night with the long beam on..

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #41

Nov 232009


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu lt contact stated that the headlight socket was burnt. The contact also stated that the turn signal housing was melted. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they would contact the dealer. The current mileage was approximately 93,000. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #40

Oct 192010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Tail lights have filled up with water and condensation every time it rains. Steering pops and makes noises when I make a turn.

- Quinlan, TX, USA

problem #39

Oct 142010


  • 90,000 miles
Front blinkers on 2005 Chevy Malibu, one of the bulbs blow about once a month. I have to replace bulb every time.

- Fort Riley, KS, USA

problem #38

Jun 012010


  • 75,000 miles
Front right drl bulb keeps going out.. when replaced I noticed the socket appears to be bad and the amber casing is melted. The light has been replaced 3 times in the last 3 months.

- St Peters, MO, USA

problem #37

Aug 292008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 64,400 miles
Front turn signals and headlights burn our regularly have replace approximately 18 to date. The amber lens are melted. GM states estimated $700 to repair. Please note numerous complaints post on several web sites. This does not appear to isolated incident is a safety concern. I noticed may be on other recall for same issue, different model year?? tired of replacing bulbs may be a socket failure and circuit board failure. GM reportedly has issued tech. Bulletin but, have not received notice of its publication. Again other owners having same issue reportedly. Reportedly, GM is aware of the issue. This issue started just out of warranty. On my way to the store to buy more bulbs. Tired of buying bulbs.

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #36

Aug 182010


  • 82,000 miles
Since the new purchase of my 2005 Chevrolet Malibu, the turn-signal and brake-light bulbs have failed 30+ times. Most failures have been at the base of bulb where wires contact bulb socket conductors. When the dealer was asked to repair this problem, they said it was not covered under warranty and had no service bulletin pertaining to this problem! I have been stopped by police multiple times and have had near-miss incidents due to other drivers not seeing my turn signal or brake light. Upon approaching my vehicle after using remote unlock, there were flames visible in the headlamp housing at the amber lens area. Two years ago I found an obscure GM service notice pertaining to replacing the turn signal bulb socket. I purchaced the specified parts and replaced them as instructed in this bulletin. ( I am a certified master mechanic) I currently carry the necessary tools and bulbs to replace these bulbs as it is a regular occurrence, but my wife is the primary driver of this vehicle.

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #35

Aug 132010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Brake lights are reversed. They come on and stay on then when you brake the light go out. Safety issue for sure. This has happened 4 times about one year apart each time.

- Dover, PA, USA

problem #34

Jul 232010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Purchased 2005 Chevrolet Malibu in may, 2009. Ongoing problems with brake and turn signal lights not working. Attempted replacement and repair by mechanic. Lights remained inoperable as did fuel gauge by 80,000 miles. While parked, car ignited from under center console, door locks engaged, and interior burned. Total loss of auto and contents.

- Narrows, VA, USA

problem #33

May 162010


  • 72,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the running lights and blinker lights are blowing out on the vehicle every15 days. The contact is worried about the vehicle catching fire because the bulbs blowing out is starting to burn the cover for the lights. The dealer stated that this is a design flaw on the vehicle. The failure mileage 72500 and current mileage was 75600.

- Lakeworth, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?