Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 1
Average Mileage:
78,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 17 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Dec 272007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Grinding, popping noises come from front end and squeaking noise from rear. You can feel the entire car shift when turning or traveling over bumps in the road. Sounds like the whole body of the car is going to slide off of the chassie. January 2007, dealer replaced steering rack and set toe, hooked chassie ears to the front suspension, and replaced rear sway bar bushings. Vehicle had 26,080 miles on it. 11 months later, now 38,800 miles, same issue. Having to take vehicle back to dealership again and it is no longer under warranty, to have steering and suspension assessed again. GM needs to assess this problem before someone gets killed in these Malibu. Another local dealer states they see this same problem in other Malibu, yet no recall. What is GM waiting for? they need to own up to a design flaw.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #19

Aug 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While turning the steering wheel at 5 mph, the contact heard a thumping noise coming from the steering column. The dealer stated that the steering gear failed and made the replacement. Three months later, the failure recurred. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. Three months later, the dealer inspected the vehicle again and stated that they tightened it up, but did not state what they tightened. The contact stated that the thumping sound continued to occur and was louder than before. As of October 29, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 28,000 and current mileage was 42,000. There was a noise when the vehicle was going into 2nd gear. U[dated 11/21/07.

- Somerset , KY, USA

problem #18

Sep 192007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,887 miles
Intermediate shaft had to be replaced at 40,000 miles. I had already had it into the dealership before and they "lubed it" of course the replacement was out of the warranty period. Now the clunking sound is back and I hate to go back to the dealership and pay again. Sounds like Chevy has a real problem they don't want to deal with.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #17

Sep 212007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 40 mph in the rain, the power steering failed. The instrument panel displayed "power steering", but the service engine light never illuminated. She was driving on the left side of a three lane road when the failure occurred. The vehicle continued to veer to the right as she depressed the brake pedal. As a result, she struck the right guardrail, which caused axle failure, body work, and damage to the passenger side tire. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where it currently remains. The current and failure mileages were 55,000.

- Riviera Beach, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 302007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
Power steering will lock and car is hard to turn.

- Hepz9ibah, GA, USA

problem #15

Aug 102007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Chevy Malibu lt I have had numerous problems with the steering. There has been a thumping noise from the front end when turning left or right. Noise can be plainly heard at low speeds. The steering rack has been replaced 3 times and the steering shaft once.

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #14

Jul 012007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Malibu with 50000 miles on it and the power steering randomly shuts off. The car is equipped with electronic power steering and sometimes the steering is real tight and sometimes its really loose. It becomes very dangerous when this happens and the Chevy dealership I brought it to doesn't know what is wrong. I know what is wrong - my steering doesn't work 100% of the time. I have a safe driving record and drive resposibly and do not beat on my cars. I know it is not my driving stlye, rather it is a flaw in design and construction of the power steering.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #13

Jan 182007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Back in January 2007, I was having a popping sound that was made whenever I made a left or right turn. I took it to the dealer. They changed the steering column and right strut. I am now having the same problem on the left side and will be going in again sometime this week. I've only had the car for 4 months with 24,000 miles at the time this first happened. I now have 27,000 miles on my vehicle.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 012007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Pulls to the left, broken struts, broken brake calipers, rear turn signal broke! anytime I mess with tires or brakes the car pulls more and more to the left, haven't had steering checked but its driving me nuts. I thought it was from the front right strut being cracked and broken but the dealership says it shouldn't effect the pull to the left. Got new tires last week and new brakes, still pulls. Tail light quit working, changed bulbs then quit again. Car is driving me nuts, worried about driving it across country this summer! recall it soon - please!!!

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #11

Feb 112007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
The vehicle has a district clunking noise when steering to the left or right and is pronouned when going over bumps. I am very concerned about the safety of the vehicle and have researched the problem on the internet and it appears to common to the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #10

Jan 022007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,770 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sudden loss over power steering while turning. Feels like someone is pulling the wheel in opposite direction. Does not happen all the time happens at random times.

- Kuna, ID, USA

problem #9

Jun 182005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35 miles
Have had the same popping sound in the steering since I bought the car that everyone else seems to have. Dealer told me that it would cost over three hundred dollars to fix. I feel that it is apparently a manufacturers defect and I am not paying to fix it. Car now has 99.000 miles on it. Getting rid of it in December of 06, can't keep a turn signal bulb in the car either. Last Chevy I will buy.

- Henderson, KY, USA

problem #8

Oct 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Email (in) requesting an investigation of General Motors re their dangerous & defective products. Updated 2/15/2007 - the consumer smelled antifreeze coming through the air vents. The driver's side headlight had to be replaced. Problem with brakes. A steering gear associated with the rack and pinion was replaced. The transmission hesitated. The consumer heard a knocking noise when turning the steering wheel. Passenger side front turn signal failed. The dash light and tail light failed.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #7

Jun 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
: the contact stated the steering rack pinion clunks when turning to the left or right regardless of speed. The vehicle was never in an accident. The service dealer determined the problem was the rack and pinion within the steering. The dealership installed a new steering gear. Updated 10/04/06.

- Corcoran, MN, USA

problem #6

Jun 022006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,890 miles
Steering locked up at speed and while accelerating. Been to the dealer once, dealer could not find problem. Ready to bring to the dealer again because this is potentially dangerous for us.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #5

Feb 232006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
Knock, clunk or rattle noise at low speeds with suspension input - intermittent shaft steer steering, ...

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #4

Feb 162006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,967 miles
: the contact stated there is a knock in the steering when turning the steering wheel. This started two weeks after purchase. The dealership determined a new intermittent steering shaft was malfunctioning. Updated 3/9/2006 - the check engine illuminated and the technician found a leak at the sender hose to the canister and purge valve leaking.

- Highland, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 202005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
I purchased a car September 1, 2005. Within the first 20 days of owning the car, the steering wheel locked up. It has been duplicated by bob brown in ankeny multiple times. The steering column has been replaced multiple times, and this has been documented and I have the copies. My concern is the vehicle still has issues with the steering wheel locking up. GM is not willing to do anything further with my car. I have some serious safety concerns. I am afraid this car will kill me and my son.

- Altoona, IA, USA

problem #2

Jul 262005

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle intermittently wants to steer on its own. This happens for only a short time when it occurs. Primarily it wants to go left. Once I tried to go into the left lane of a freeway quite gradually...it wanted to go left alright...although it wanted to go quickly into the lane! car has been to the dealer 5 times for this problem. The dealer has never been able to duplicate the problem. They have replaced the steering column twice. The last time was this past Friday (7/30/05). Hasn't happened since then (Tuesday, 8/2/05)...but...again this is a very intermittent problem. My mileage has dropped from 33 miles per gallon to 29 miles per gallon. Dealer says that nothing they have done should have caused this problem. They say that the 29 miles per gallon is within specifications...this drop is very significant. Have requested a buy back direct from Chevrolet. The vehicle well exceeds the requirements for a buy back according the Ohio lemon law. Chevrolet says that they will not buy back the car...even though it exceeds the requirements for the Ohio lemon law! my biggest concern is that the steering will go totally out and the car will go wherever it decides to...I don't want to be injured and don't want to injur any one else.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #1

Jun 062005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
(1) none (2) loss of steering at 65 mph: Car catapulted rightwards into 2 vehicles, van and semi, and ultimately off freeway personal injuries sustained. (3) recovered fractured part of vehicle at site of collision 2 days later.part identified by Chevrolet dealer as engine mounting bracket belonging to my make and year of car.

- Agour Hills, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?