Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 1
Average Mileage:
79,291 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 5 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #263

Aug 082013

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was traveling app. 35 mi per hr and went to make a turn and lost the power steering and was almost hit by another car. I have lost the ability to steer properly several times over the last year the worst being when this happens and I am on the interstate. This recall happened in may of 2014 and now it is July and the dealer is saying they still don't have the parts to fix the problem. Are they waiting till our cars are to old for them to be fixed under the recall? I have not received any notice from General Motors.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #262

Jun 242014

Malibu

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the power steering light illuminated and the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 63,000. The VIN was not available.

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #261

Jun 192014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 156,670 miles
While driving home I lost control of my steering wheel. It became hard to steer and I could barely turn off the street into a parking lot. At the time of the incident it was raining and 5 O'clock traffic was getting heavy.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #260

May 202014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 140,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shifting has been hard from park position, wheel alignment very bad, shifting from left to right. A recall was done by GM on 05/20/2014 but my car was not recall until today, I check everyday on GM with my VIN number. On May 1st I went to my auto services and they find out major problems with transmission shift cable and inner tie-rod end. As I did not receive a recall order, GM won't do anything. Very dangerous situation for my 18 year old and I as auto repair shop will charge me over $600++ which I can't afford now. Scary and unfair. Thank you in advance for listening and advising me in the very near future.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #259

Jun 052014

Malibu

  • 142,035 miles
This relates to recall campaign 14V153000. In 2009, I first began having power steering failures when accelerating from stopped. I would feel the steering wheel jerk to the path of least resistance (straighten) if I was in a turn, and would hear three chimes (ding-ding-ding). If I released the gas pedal, the power steering would resume operations, but if I maintained pedal activation, power steering would remain off and an alert would illuminate on the dashboard indicating power steering failure. The problem occurred with increased frequency on hot days, especially when air conditioning was operating on high (leading me to believe that it was a loss of power to the steering column, induced by a problem with the way that the electrical system was set up--giving higher priority to A/C fans than to the power steering). In October 2009, the vehicle was repaired under special bulletin 10183. However, in April 2014, I began having this problem again. On every day where the temperature was above 75 degrees, I've had this issue. I called GM and they stated that my VIN is not among those affected, though I drive a 2005 Chevy Malibu and I clearly have had the same problem that other vehicles using the same parts. The dealer refuses to look at it unless I have a recall letter. NHTSA should look into how many customers have been notified out of this my, especially since there is nothing in the language (or logic) of this recall that should exclude my vehicle.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #258

Mar 282014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
While driving making left turn, power steering seized making steering impossible. Dash message screen indicated "power steering" problem.

- Riverside, CT, USA

problem #257

Dec 242007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 62,694 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My family and I were returning from portland, Oregon to our home in woodburn, Oregon. The steering froze (power steering ceased to work). I had to struggle to pull the car off the road, as all systems seemed to shut down. I checked under he hood, but of course could see nothing wrong. After an unspecified period of time, I tried to start the car again. The car started and the power steering started working again. The steering made a squeaking noise when I would make a left turn.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #256

Apr 022012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
The warning chime will sound, then I sometimes get a warning note across the dashboard stating "power steering" & then for a brief moment I will have trouble turning the steering wheel; one time when this happened all the warning lights flashed across the dashboard and I lost power for a second & then everything went back to normal until several miles later when the chiming came on again; I paid the Chevy dealer to replace the power steering in the summer of 2012 but the problem recurred almost immediately afterward. I am now afraid to drive the car. I don't want any refund, I just want the car to operate reliably & safely.

- Accord, NY, USA

problem #255

Sep 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The brakes lights on my vehicle come on without pressure applied to the brakes resulting in the cruise control to kick off. The brake lights will go off once the brakes are pressed. This presents an unsafe situation as it is never known when it will happen. This resulted in my vehicle being rear ended while at a stop sign coming off the off ramp from the highway. I have had to have this issue fixed several times and it keeps reoccurring. The power steering goes completely out on the vehicle while driving at random times. I have had to have this fixed at least two times. I know that there have been recalls on both issues for my make, model and year however I keep getting told that my vehicle is not on the list.

- Alma, MI, USA

problem #254

May 172014

Malibu

  • miles
I had sent an email regarding the recalls I had heard about. Someone from your company called and also contacted nick Chevrolet. When I was talking to the service tech ([xxx]) he made an appointment for me to drop my car off so that they could look at all of the issues I was having. When I got to the dealership on Saturday May 17th I spoke with louis and explained what was going on and what [xxx] told me to do. [xxx] then proceeded to tell me "he didn't care what I was told, he was the service manager" at that point he proceed to tell me that the only recall for my car was some wire and that they didn't have the part and didn't know when it would be in. So he didn't listen and anything I had to say about my email to you or my conversation with [xxx]. I am extremely disappointed with GM and this dealership and would not recommend either to my worst enemy, hence my last email. If anything happens to me or my vehicle because of GM and/or [xxx] from nick Chevrolet both will be held accountable! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Oakmont, PA, USA

problem #253

Mar 122014

Malibu

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was pulling out of my garage I had no power steering.

- Oakmont, PA, USA

problem #252

Nov 202012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
It seems that I have a recall problem with my steering, I think it has to deal with the torque because it always wants to steer to the right and I have to keep pulling the wheel to the left. If the car is on a lift with no pressure on the tires, as soon as the car is started, the wheels turn hard right which is very dangerous on icy and wet roads. This is an on going problem every day at any speed.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #251

Sep 092007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I, was driving my Chevrolet Malibu (2005), on the afternoon of 9/9/07. I was driving to the selma, Texas located live-oak shopping, and my vehicle electrical power steering became unstable, the speed keeled, and the vehicle shut-down completely within 5-8 ft of the mall stop-sign. This incident cause back car traffic jamming, horns blowing near crash. I, immediately had to call my geico automobile representative to assist my vehicle for towing. This same exact vehicle failure occurred again on 1/3/08. Again on 1/09/11 my vehicle had a electrical power steering becoming unsafe, with the speed keeled, and the vehicle shut-down completely on the 1-10 East Texas interstate highway, and unfortunately I was en-route traveling for a physical therapy job assignment. The fourth incident on 11/09/11 my vehicle experience an complete electrical shutdown at a hotel travel assignment, which resulted a immobile vehicle for four days due to rural area delayed towing. The fifth and final unsafe impaired vehicle incident on 6/11/11 my vehicle loss electrical power steering on the Texas 1-10 West interstate traveling from a job assignment in the george West Texas areas. My vehicle loss power steering control and steered into a right-shoulder animal pasture areas, the interstate state trooper had to assist with my safety to return to the highway. Therefore, on 8/11 I had no chose but to trade in my vehicle to banner Chevrolet in new orleans, Louisiana.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #250

Apr 272013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 264,092 miles
Going through a drive through food place and steering completely stopped working. The power steering stops working intermediately.

- Yreka, CA, USA

problem #249

Nov 112013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I was driving my vehicle when the power steering stopped working and my ebs light on my dash started flashing. The car was still drivable but very hard to steer. It stayed that way for the drive home then it started working again the next morning.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #248

Apr 252014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 209,839 miles
There is a lag on steering and I have been feeling it for a while, sometimes I don't have a proper steering control, pretty scary at times.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #247

Apr 022014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Malibu it has all of the symptoms as the recall for the ignition switch, the power steering goes out when it wants to, it shuts off sometimes when you come to a stop and the air bag light is on, it has not occurred since we put the key on a ring by itself, but they won"T honor it says it's not on the list but the 2005 Malibu maxx is on the list! the maxx is the same car but with a hatchback instead of a trunk, can U please look into this and tell me what if anything can I do?

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #246

Mar 032014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 88,450 miles
I have to turn my steering wheel back and forth and my shifting gear in order to start the car then when going down the highway computer goes off steering becomes harder. A light comes on showing a car and a lock. A message comes on the computer "steering". it does randomly. Is there a recall on this?

- Fort Scott, KS, USA

problem #245

Apr 162014

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized while she was driving 80 mph. There was also a very low warning alarm heard as the failure occurred. The failure was experienced several times. The dealer replaced the power steering motor however the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer advised the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 110,000 and the current mileage was 124,927.

- Heartland , TX, USA

problem #244

Mar 042014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu and the dealer in my area said that my car is not covered in the latest GM recall. The steering in my car has lost power and losing its function. I am afraid to drive my car and it is the only form of transportation I have. My car should be covered in this latest recall. Please advise me of what I should do. Thank you!

- Toledo, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?