Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,361 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Jan 032011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brake lights would work intermittently. The contact replaced the brake lights on numerous occasions. The independent mechanic repaired the wiring harness but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the BCM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) the remedy failed to rectify the failure. Additionally, the contact also stated that the heated seat function failed and the power steering seized intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 60,000...updated 10/01/14 the consumer stated the fuel tank would show 1/8 of a tank, but in actuality the tank was empty.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #39

Aug 202014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
I filled my car and my gauge says I am low on gas. I stop turn off car and restart it's ok for about 2 minutes. And it does it again.

- Hanover1016, PA, USA

problem #38

Feb 102014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Upon filling the car with fuel and turning the key on, the fuel light, check engine came on and the fuel gauge was reading empty. Turning the key off and back on many times did not fix the issue. However, if driven sometimes the gas light, engine light turn off on its own and the fuel gauge reads properly. However, it shows after 5 miles of driving that there is only a half a tank even through the gas tank is full. This does not occur every time I fill up. I have contacted my dealership and they stated there was a recall on fuel pumps pertaining to this problem. However, I have not received any information.

- Dugway, UT, USA

problem #37

May 142014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


I was un able to get my car from park to drive. I had to pull extremely hard on the shifter to get it to move.

- Nauvoo, AL, USA

problem #36

May 072014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
On 5/07/2014 I got in my car that morning to take my 4 children to school the car started and died 3 times. When it finally did start I couldn't get it out of park! while on the way to school I was nearly hit from behind because my brakes lights failed to function! the problems have gotten worse daily since then. When I would drive the car it would take off on its on, the cruise control no longer functions, I have to try at the minimum of 7 times to get it to crank!! now it is very unsafe for me to drive I can't even take my children to school my neighbor has to take them and pick them up! I was finally sent a recall letter the last day of July 2014. In this recall are all the problems I am having. They say when called that they do not know when the parts to fix it will become available. What am I to do? I have a car I am paying for and can not drive!! I can't afford to go buy a different car. I told them since they had no idea when parts would be in to just replace my car and the answer was no!! they also want me to pay to have it inspected. This is their fault not mine I should not have to pay for anything!!!

- Nauvoo, AL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Jul 012010


  • 90,000 miles
Beginning in 2010 I had to replace the brakes on my car multiple times. To date I have replaced brake pads, drums, and lines 5 different times. My brakes seem to wear easily and frequently screech. Beginning in 2013 after filling my car with gas my "low fuel" indicator dings and my fuel gauge shows empty. This happens every time I fill my car with gas. I have received a recall notice regarding power steering. On two separate occasions I have experienced my power steering going out and I am forced to pull over and turn off my car and turn it back on for the car to work properly. I have contacted GM regarding the recall notice and I have been advised that no parts are available and they will not provide me with a rental vehicle and expect me to continue to drive the vehicle "until the parts are available". they will not provide me with a timeline and have been unresponsive to my other complaints regarding the vehicle.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #34

Jul 012014


  • miles


My car stalls and you can smell gas. It hasn't been working in three weeks now.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #33

Jan 202012

Malibu 8-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
On May 20, 2014 I filed a complaint regarding the electronic power steering, the fuel level indicator and the clunk noise in the steering system on my car. I contacted General Motors by E mail and they gave me a telephone number to call. Today, May 27, 2014 I called General Motors regarding their recall for the power steering problem. They informed me that my car was not included in the recall. They gave me the telephone number of a dealer in puerto rico where I have to take the car for a diagnostic. GM will not cover the cost of the repairs. Why do we have to pay for the bad job the car manufacturers do when they make their cars? there must be a way in which consumers get compensated by these companies for the expenses they impose on us with their defective vehicles. For me this may be the last Chevrolet I will buy.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #32

Mar 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
After filling the gas tank completely and driving away from the gas station the fuel gauge suddenly dropped to empty, my low fuel message came on and the check engine light came on. The fuel gauge will bounce back and forth between empty and full all the time, its one or the other never anything in between. My low fuel light comes on sporadically and the check engine light stays on all the time. When filling the tank completely I have to set my trip set to keep up with mileage.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #31

Apr 092014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
When I filled up my gas tank it started reading incorrectly, and would show empty. Over the period of a week the gas gauge does not work at all and my check engine light is on all the time. Took it to mechanic and he stated that the senor needs to be replaced. This is over a $500 cost.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #30

May 142014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 42,310 miles


Fuel level sensor failure. Fuel reads empty even though the gas tank is filled. It took 3 hours and 322 dollars to fix.. unreasonable is all I can say...

- Bedminster, NJ, USA

problem #29

Apr 142014


  • 146,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that after refueling, the fuel gauge would display an inaccurate reading. The contact mentioned that the low fuel gauge and the fuel cap warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that two fuel level sensors and the fuel level sending unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 11E009000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 146,800 and the current mileage was 147,414.

- Carson City , NV, USA

problem #28

Jan 062014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 53,566 miles
I had just filled my gas tank to full. I drove down the street for a few blocks and the fuel gauge all of a sudden went to empty. I pulled over to the side of the road and turn the car off, then turned it back on again. The fuel gauge went back to full. But as I continued to drive down the street, it went back down to empty. I took it to the repair shop and was told that I needed to replace the fuel sensor for which I did. However, upon researching the latest recall of GM's that addresses the steering column issue (I'm having this problem too), I discovered that the fuel sensor issue was recalled previously. So I called Chevy and was told that my VIN was not recalled. I need some direction/guidance on how to get my VIN included in the previous recall, if at all possible so I may be reimbursed. Is there anything I can do since my Malibu also experienced the same problem with the fuel sensor as other Malibu's? your assistance/guidance would be much appreciated. Thank you.

- South Holland, IL, USA

problem #27

Aug 312011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I see that there has been a recall for Chevy Malibu 2004-2007 on fuel pumps with a part number of TU456. My fuel pump has not been working correctly, and I am not sure if this was part of the recall or not. I am hoping this is one of the vehicles that was in the recall, so nothing happens to me or my family while driving down the road. If so I would like someone to fix this as in Chevy fixing this problem. Thank you.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #26

Feb 072012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Soon after I purchased this car I started having problems with the power steering system. In many occasions when I start the engine the power steering does not work. I cannot move the steering wheel. I turn the engine off, wait a few seconds and start the engine again, and the power steering works. I have had this problems at least 15 or 20 times since I purchased the car in January 9, 2012. It has never happened with the car moving. Also when I move the steering wheel from one side to the other the power steering alert light comes on and off and I hear a clunk noise that I can feel in the steering wheel. It is like if something is loose in the steering system. I checked the rack and pinion in several occasions and found it had the screws that hold it to the frame loose. I tightened them but the noise does not go away. I drive this car with caution and fear because of the power steering problem and the noise in the steering system. This month (April 2014) I started having problems with the fuel level sending unit. Sometimes it marks full and others empty with gas in the tank. At the same time the check engine light comes on and off.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #25

Apr 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 130,760 miles
Was and the steering wheel locked up while it was raining car stopped and got flooded under the under pass couldn't move the car motor wouldn't start are anything we had to get rescued out of the car due to the power.

- Alexandria, LA, USA

problem #24

Feb 062012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I have been repetitively turned away by various GM dealerships to address serious issues with my vehicle & potential recalls. My issues include - steering malfunctions making the vehicle difficult to control, faulty fuel pump sending unit causing check engine light to illuminate & vehicle to stall, uncontrollable vibrations when breaking at high speeds nearly causing me to wreck, popping sounds in the suspension system, and finally unexplained electrical malfunctions such as radio switching channels on its own, failure of keyless entry system, failure of remote entry system, buzzing of lights when dimming, and flickering of headlights. I have been told by dealerships that because my vehicle is a "fleet car" that it does not qualify for any recalls. Problems began while under warranty. Steering wiring harness was replaced while under warranty. At around 65,000 miles, systems began to fail despite my regular care of the vehicle which I have documented. After warranty expired, I was routinely turned down for recall inspections. A recent emissions inspection caused concern by the mechanic over the steering of the vehicle and I was encouraged to address these problems again. I cannot afford a new car.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #23

Mar 102012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice GM stating that there was a recall concerning the fuel system ie fuel pump on my 2006 Chevy Malibu. This recall cautioned that intermittent stalling may create a hazardous condition that could possibly result in vehicle. As a result I scheduled an appointment to have this condition corrected on the date of the appointment I arrived with the vehicle in question and was turned away. The dealership claimed that this was a limited recall and the recall for repair had expired. I was advised of this recall by my regular mechanic while in for unrelated maintenance. It was then that he instructed me to make an appointment with GM to repair this problem with not charge to me. Before I had knowledge of this recall, my daughter was involved with a motor vehicle accident that directly related to this problem ie fuel system. The accident occurred when the engine stalled on this vehicle, as a result another vehicle collided with mine causing major damage to both vehicles and potential injury to the 2 occupants of my vehicle. If you need further information concerning the accident I will have to get either a copy of the police report and insurance claim information. Please let me know if this is necessary. Thank you

- Blue Point, NY, USA

problem #22

Aug 172011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that after refueling, the fuel gauge would display an inaccurate reading. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 02/11/14

- Panorama, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 232013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 153,101 miles
I was driving at about 55 mph and my car stalled and the loss power came on. I was able to restart and took my car to a local car repair business. They put in a 3 part fuel system kit/acd12568796 throttle body assembly ele and the bill came to $654.92. The mileage at that time was 153101. I purchased my car from an individual. When I purchased the car April 2013 I knew the gas gauge didn't work but I thought that's ok I'll just keep the tank filled up at all time. But I've been having trouble when it is in idle position. It acts like it is going to stop on me. I've asked the car repair business and they told me it was the fuel pump and I would have to have it replaced which would cost me $700. Also I had the calipers replaced at on 10/5/12 with a mileage of 147005 which cost me $531.92. It's always something.

- Batavia, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?