Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 12 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #348

Nov 222013

Malibu

  • 152,803 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were never notified about a recall that occurred with the entire steering systems for Malibu's. the manufactures extended the recall up to 150,000 miles. On Friday November 23, 2013, we were backing out of our parking spot when our power steering went out on us. We had none. Then we turned the car off and back on, suddenly it was there again. Here lies the problem; we took it to the local dealership and "they" informed us that there was a recall in the U.S. however, we were not notified and since our Malibu was out of the 150,000 miles; they said the recall would not cover it. How can owners of cars/trucks get their safety items fixed, when they have never received the recall notice"! this is a safety issue, not a physical appearance issue. If I am driving along a corner and my power steering locks up, or suddenly stops and I kill or maim another individual who is responsible? GM" as I read the other "complaints" on this site; this is not about car owners trying to receive brand new cars.we all just want our cars to be fixed by the recall regardless of the mileage and to be safe! perhaps, we all should get together and sue everyone who is involved with not getting the information out to the public and GM. Just a thought. I do not know about the other owners, but I cannot restart my car in the middle of a corner or going down the interstate at 55/65 miles per hour.

- Aumsville, OR, USA

problem #347

Nov 232013

Malibu

  • 143,218 miles
As I was pulling out of a parking lot a message came across my radio/temp screen and said power steering. All of a sudden my power steering went out. I drove it a few blocks to make it home with absolutely no power steering. It was tough, but I made it home. I turned the car off and did a little research on the internet concerning my power steering. I seen a lot of people said once they started their cars again the power steering worked, but also went out again intermittently. So I went outside and started my car and sure enough my power steering is working....for now. I am scared to drive it again fearing it will go out and I won't be able to control it and cause a horrible accident. GM needs to recall these cars because this is a huge safety problem!

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #346

Nov 032013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
When starting the car in the garage, there were 4 chimes, and a message on the dic 'power steering.' The electric power steering had failed and was extremely difficult to back the car out of the garage. The car was then shut off and restarted with no recurrence of the problem. It happened again 3 days later, same problem. Then again, 4 days later, same situation. We have notified GM of the situation. To us it is a very dangerous problem. There was a recall in Canada with GM cars with this problem and the steering column was replaced. Why doesn't GM recognize that this problem exists in the usa? as I stated, it does not occur all the time. We were told to take the car to our Chevrolet dealer but unless the problem occurs at the dealer, there is no way that they can detect the problem. The computer only stores 'error codes' for a short period of time. We are fearful of driving this car.

- Dix Hills, NY, USA

problem #345

Oct 012011

Malibu

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the power steering failed to operate normally as the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician stated that the steering control module would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 40,000. The current mileage was 78,859.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #344

Aug 092013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 71,750 miles
My car had a dinging and then across the radio it said power steering and the car was very hard to steer, I lost power steering. I am an older lady and slowed down and pulled to the shoulder and I could not even turn the wheel. I called my son to come help me. He got in and started the car and the radio didn't say power steering any more. He pulled out and I followed him. We got to our street and he started to turn right into our drive way and he all of a sudden threw up his arms. He got out of the car and came and told me that the car stalled and the bell dinged and power steering came on the radio. We took the car to the dealership on 8/12/13. They diagnosed the car and said the power steering assist motor was shorting out and it would cost me $699.03 to fix. I had no money to get it fixed and the dealer said they re set the computer and said I should have it fixed as soon as possible because it was a safety issue. My son took the car home and it happened twice on the way home. On 9/25/13 we had our local dealer replace the motor. They told me the code the computer read said it was either the assist motor or the steering column. They said the motor was the most likely cause and replaced it. The total was $643.78 and the initial inspection was $99.53. On 10/18/13 I had the same thing happen as I was driving into the local market parking lot, ding, ding, ding and I lost power steering. I almost hit a parked car in the lot and couldn't steer it. I took it back and they said it is the intermediate shaft or the steering column and had nothing to do with the original problem and charged me another $90 to look at it. I cannot afford $1200 to fix the column. My son searched the internet for 2006 Malibu steering problems and found Transport Canada recalled 67,414 2005, 2006 and 2008 Malibu's, Pontiac and Saturn. Why has the us not offered a recall. I am afraid to drive it now.

- Webberville, MI, USA

problem #343

Oct 102013

Malibu

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the power steering assist failed as the warning indicator illuminated and the warning alarm sounded. The vehicle was turned off and upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who informed the contact that the torque control and steering column assembly would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- Williston Park, NY, USA

problem #342

Apr 132013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 119,345 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first notice of my eps problem began when I attempted to have my front end aligned. The loss of control to the steering began around July of 2013. It has occurred more frequently since then. It's happen to my wife on the streets and to me also. I did some basic research due to the potential costs from the dealership. This included the inspection & replacement of the eps fuse, examining the ignition coil and checking the alternator. It still recurs. Has there been a factory recall for this vehicle's steering problems?

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #341

Sep 022013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
I have a problem with my car overheating. This car overheated and antifreeze came pouring out of the overfill hose. I had a mechanic check it and fix it, next day same thing. The car anti-theft light come on, the steering wheel sometimes freeze up. This car sometimes turns on and off by itself, yes the key need not be inside. The brakes are horrible and I spent funds to change it. Help!!! this car seems to be a recall big time.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #340

Jun 232008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I was turning off of a bridge and the steering locked up. I almost hit a house. I took it to the dealer, I bought it from them new, not used. They kept it for 2 weeks and they said they couldn't replicate the problem. It has been locking up off and on ever since. Now I have no power steering. They told me every time I brought it in to the dealer, that they couldn't find a problem. Now it is out of warranty and they say they can fix it. I have to buy a new steering column and pay them to install it. It is my understanding that this is a major problem with this vehicle. Will it take people getting killed for something to be done about this dangerous situation?

- Thibodaux, LA, USA

problem #339

Aug 282013

Malibu

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the steering column, steering box, and several other unknown components needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Canal Fulton, OH, USA

problem #338

Aug 172013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,401 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had issues since the day after I got it. I have had this vehicle for less then a month and within 24 hours of having it the issues started. The fuel gauge drops to empty, when I fill the tank. The starter will crank but the car will not always start, sometimes the start is a long crank & sometimes it will not start at all, now today the check engine light is on. The steering wheel makes a popping noise.

- Rogersville, MO, USA

problem #337

Jul 142009

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
The steering wheel locks up and doesn't unlock until I let off the gas pedal. It happens all the time when I try and pass other cars it will lock up. I did some research and found out its the power assist unit getting too hot and shuts off so it does not fry the motor of the unit. I feel that this should be a recall as it will lead to an accident.

- Gridley, CA, USA

problem #336

Aug 302009

Malibu

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle erroneously veered to the left. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Waseca, MN, USA

problem #335

Aug 162013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 156,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed while driving 20 mph. The steering wheel became hard to turn as the power steering light illuminated. The contact turned the engine off for a moment and the steering wheel briefly returned to normal function before the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic and a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the power steering motor. The manufacturer denied assistance with the repair, because the vehicle had exceeded the power steering motor replacement mileage. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 156,000. Updated 10/24/13 updated 02/18/15 updated 10/2/2015

- Aurora , MO, USA

problem #334

Jul 222013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 74,964 miles
Steering became difficult due to loss of power steering. Warning chimes sounded and "power steering" message illuminated on stereo console. After turning off the vehicle and restarting, steering seemed to be fine. Two days later I began to experience a tugging from side to side in the steering wheel. I brought the car to my dealer and after paying a diagnostic fee it was determined that there was a short in the steering column. There is a service bulletin published for this (10183) but they won't inform you unless it occurs. They also are only covering repairs for a certain range of VIN numbers, even though the same problem occurs on vehicles of the same model year outside of that range. Any known problem with steering should be considered a safety issue and be corrected by the manufacturer.

- Avon, NY, USA

problem #333

Jun 282013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 149,930 miles
I was driving and as I was making a left turn the power steering warning came on but at the same time I couldn't turn my wheel which almost caused me to have an accident. Three months ago while my teenager was driving alone he told me that the power steering had gone out while he was turning and almost had an accident. But when I drove it after him I didn't have a problem until June 28th. Because it happened twice on the 28th I had the car towed to hendricks auto mall in durham nc on June 29th for fear of having an accident. They told me that the module needed to be replaced and that there was a recall on the 2006 Malibu but my car was not part of the recall even though it's has the same issue as the vehicles being recalled. I spoke with a representative at Chevy and they told me that it's my problem and if I wanted it fixed that I would have to pay because I was the 2nd owner of the vehicle. I asked the representative at Chevy if the power steering warning and bell should give me a warning or just go out and was advised that when it appears it should only be a warning. I would like for Chevy to acknowledge that my vehicle should be a part of the recall as it has the same symptoms. My car is still at the repair shop as I have not heard back from the rep jr who advised me on July 5th that he would call me back with a resolution. I feel this is a very serious issue because it puts me and others on the road around me in danger.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #332

Jun 172013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving my power steering keeps locking on me and the power steering warning light appears on the dashboard. I pull over turn off the car and then turn it back on and it resets itself but then keeps happening. It is very difficult to drive the car when the power steering keeps locking on me and was almost in an accident because of it. This needs to be recalled and fixed as soon as possible.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #331

Dec 102007

Malibu

  • 31,680 miles
This car had hardly driven off the lot, as a certified used car with 31000 original miles on the od and I put only 800 miles, when the rotors, and brakes, and steering started knocking, and becoming what I would call "stiff, non-functional" power steering, and pull violently to the left, when uphill. The harsh shaking, of the rotors, and the "stringy feeling of the brake pad, loose was not stopping at a proper safe level. At the future, within 2008-2009-2012 the steering column, was recalled, and put in twice and the brakes were not good, requiring more replacements, and rotors shaved for my safety as it rattled the front end, and caused steering, and distracting for driving safely. I had multiple close calls on basic driving, in rural area, uphill, where power steering went out, the car was not able to be controlled. Prob 10 times, on freeway I could not go past 60 miles, or the engine would act strange, pulling, and again threatening to fail power steering. To date, ,now the maf failed, and shut off the engine while driving, again locking up the brakes, and in the middle of traffic. In total it has 30000 new miles in less then 6 yrs and it remains a deathtrap.

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #330

Jun 282013

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000.

- Mamaroneck, NY, USA

problem #329

Jul 202012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 74,601 miles
Power steering light came on, steering stiffened. Unable to turn car. Put car in neutral, turned off, restarted, until I could steer car into a parking lot. Each restart gave me a few seconds of steering. Dealer replaced electronic power steering motor, other adjustments, plus $115 charge to diagnose, plus rental car for 3 days: For a total repair cost of $1,023.36.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?