Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 12 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #339

Aug 282013

Malibu

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the steering column, steering box, and several other unknown components needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Canal Fulton, OH, USA

problem #338

Aug 172013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,401 miles
I have had issues since the day after I got it. I have had this vehicle for less then a month and within 24 hours of having it the issues started. The fuel gauge drops to empty, when I fill the tank. The starter will crank but the car will not always start, sometimes the start is a long crank & sometimes it will not start at all, now today the check engine light is on. The steering wheel makes a popping noise.

- Rogersville, MO, USA

problem #337

Jul 142009

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
The steering wheel locks up and doesn't unlock until I let off the gas pedal. It happens all the time when I try and pass other cars it will lock up. I did some research and found out its the power assist unit getting too hot and shuts off so it does not fry the motor of the unit. I feel that this should be a recall as it will lead to an accident.

- Gridley, CA, USA

problem #336

Aug 302009

Malibu

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle erroneously veered to the left. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Waseca, MN, USA

problem #335

Aug 162013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 156,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed while driving 20 mph. The steering wheel became hard to turn as the power steering light illuminated. The contact turned the engine off for a moment and the steering wheel briefly returned to normal function before the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic and a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the power steering motor. The manufacturer denied assistance with the repair, because the vehicle had exceeded the power steering motor replacement mileage. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 156,000. Updated 10/24/13 updated 02/18/15 updated 10/2/2015

- Aurora , MO, USA

problem #334

Jul 222013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 74,964 miles
Steering became difficult due to loss of power steering. Warning chimes sounded and "power steering" message illuminated on stereo console. After turning off the vehicle and restarting, steering seemed to be fine. Two days later I began to experience a tugging from side to side in the steering wheel. I brought the car to my dealer and after paying a diagnostic fee it was determined that there was a short in the steering column. There is a service bulletin published for this (10183) but they won't inform you unless it occurs. They also are only covering repairs for a certain range of VIN numbers, even though the same problem occurs on vehicles of the same model year outside of that range. Any known problem with steering should be considered a safety issue and be corrected by the manufacturer.

- Avon, NY, USA

problem #333

Jun 282013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 149,930 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving and as I was making a left turn the power steering warning came on but at the same time I couldn't turn my wheel which almost caused me to have an accident. Three months ago while my teenager was driving alone he told me that the power steering had gone out while he was turning and almost had an accident. But when I drove it after him I didn't have a problem until June 28th. Because it happened twice on the 28th I had the car towed to hendricks auto mall in durham nc on June 29th for fear of having an accident. They told me that the module needed to be replaced and that there was a recall on the 2006 Malibu but my car was not part of the recall even though it's has the same issue as the vehicles being recalled. I spoke with a representative at Chevy and they told me that it's my problem and if I wanted it fixed that I would have to pay because I was the 2nd owner of the vehicle. I asked the representative at Chevy if the power steering warning and bell should give me a warning or just go out and was advised that when it appears it should only be a warning. I would like for Chevy to acknowledge that my vehicle should be a part of the recall as it has the same symptoms. My car is still at the repair shop as I have not heard back from the rep jr who advised me on July 5th that he would call me back with a resolution. I feel this is a very serious issue because it puts me and others on the road around me in danger.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #332

Jun 172013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving my power steering keeps locking on me and the power steering warning light appears on the dashboard. I pull over turn off the car and then turn it back on and it resets itself but then keeps happening. It is very difficult to drive the car when the power steering keeps locking on me and was almost in an accident because of it. This needs to be recalled and fixed as soon as possible.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #331

Dec 102007

Malibu

  • 31,680 miles
This car had hardly driven off the lot, as a certified used car with 31000 original miles on the od and I put only 800 miles, when the rotors, and brakes, and steering started knocking, and becoming what I would call "stiff, non-functional" power steering, and pull violently to the left, when uphill. The harsh shaking, of the rotors, and the "stringy feeling of the brake pad, loose was not stopping at a proper safe level. At the future, within 2008-2009-2012 the steering column, was recalled, and put in twice and the brakes were not good, requiring more replacements, and rotors shaved for my safety as it rattled the front end, and caused steering, and distracting for driving safely. I had multiple close calls on basic driving, in rural area, uphill, where power steering went out, the car was not able to be controlled. Prob 10 times, on freeway I could not go past 60 miles, or the engine would act strange, pulling, and again threatening to fail power steering. To date, ,now the maf failed, and shut off the engine while driving, again locking up the brakes, and in the middle of traffic. In total it has 30000 new miles in less then 6 yrs and it remains a deathtrap.

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #330

Jun 282013

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000.

- Mamaroneck, NY, USA

problem #329

Jul 202012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 74,601 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering light came on, steering stiffened. Unable to turn car. Put car in neutral, turned off, restarted, until I could steer car into a parking lot. Each restart gave me a few seconds of steering. Dealer replaced electronic power steering motor, other adjustments, plus $115 charge to diagnose, plus rental car for 3 days: For a total repair cost of $1,023.36.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #328

Sep 102012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
September 2012 I had both front drive axles replaced because there was shaking in the steering and the mechanic said it was those axles. May 2013 the shaking was still very persistent and I was hearing a popping noise when turning the wheels. Mechanic replaced the sway bars. This still didnt solve the problem. 6-3-13 when driving about 25mph "power steering" came up on radio dial and car was very hard to steer. After turning car off and restarting didnt have a problem. It has done this many times since then. Today 06-17-13 I still have power steering, but now there is a scrubbing sound and the steering wheel is real "jerky" when turning the wheels, especially to the left. I am very concerned that I am going to lose my power steering while on the highway and I wont be able to control the car. Something needs to be done immediatly before lives our lost.

- Camden, MS, USA

problem #327

Jul 192012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that a noise was heard while making a turn. The contact also mentioned that there was a popping noise and vibration while decelerating. The vehicle was taken to independent repair shop who replaced the rack and pinion, the outer tie rod, the brakes and drums. The failure recurred. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 70,000. The current mileage was 100,000...updated 08-07-13 the consumer stated the rack and pinion, as well as the outer tie rods were replaced twice, and the consumer continues to experience problems. The consumer was informed the rack and pinion and outer tie rods needs to be replaced again.

- Helendale, CA, USA

problem #326

Dec 152012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated while parking and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the steering column would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #325

Mar 212013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
I pulled out of the parking lot of my job one day and my power steering warning flashed on my radio. At the same time my car shut off in the middle of traffic. I did not know what to do so instinctively I cut my car off and cut it back on. It temporarily fixed the issue. Now out of no where if I make any sharp turns the power steering shuts the car down. This is very dangerous and could cause an accident especially if it happens in traffic. This should definitely be recalled because it is very serious issue with these cars. I read online about how a lot of Chevy Malibu's are doing this. Why hasn't this issue been addressed?

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #324

Apr 242013

Malibu

  • 72,145 miles
Since 4/24/13 my power steering warning light has come on at least five times. Thankfully at this point I have not lost steering but it does scare me when it happens because I almost always have had my child in the car with me when the warning has come on. With as many complaints I've seen on this matter I feel as a single parent I should not have to pay up to $500 for repairs. A recall should be in place to protect those of us who have this particular issue. If steering should go out in the middle of a turn I could be involved in an accident. I think it is terrible that a recall may never be put in place unless an accident with serious injury occurs.

- Fort Mohave, AZ, USA

problem #323

May 022013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,208 miles
My wife was driving from work when the car lost power steering. This happened as she was leaving the parking lot of her company. She parked and turned off the car. When she restarted the car the problem went away but the power steering seems different and not as smooth.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #322

Apr 032012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I lost power steering when I ignite my car. There is chiming and message for checking power steering. Turn off the motor, and power steering was back. While I accelerated onto highway, I heard the same chiming. Had no time to look at the message. I searched online, and found that my power steering was lost for several seconds. This is horrible. This is absolute a safety issue. I wonder why there is no recall on this. GM took billions of dollars from tax payer's pockets to bail it out, but can not make a right car. Shame on GM.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #321

Apr 122013

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
I was driving on the highway. While driving on the highway at around 60 mile per hour the powersteering warning came onto the radio display. Shortly after the steering wheel became extremely hard to turn. I was able to pull over to the side of the road once I dont that the car cut off. I was towed to have the car looked at, once the car was looked at I had the alternator replaced. When I picked up the car from the place where it was serviced, while driving it home the car locked up again and I had to have it towed again to the place. Once at the place the problem was fixed and the car ran fine for two days. While driving to work once pulled in parking space the battery light came on again. Now I am afraid to drive it in fear that it will happen again and cause an accident.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #320

Jan 102013

Malibu

  • 78,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy Malibu, first incident was probably Jan 2013 I filled gas tank and instantly the gauge goes to empty and engine light comes on, then gauge goes from full to empty for up to 3 days, then it goes back to normal. Now I have a problem with the steering pulling me from left to right, sometimes very suddenly. Had the alignment done and new tires still have the same problem. Getting scary to drive. Cant figure out what problem is will have to take to dealership.

- Chandlersville, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?