Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 13 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #328

Sep 102012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

September 2012 I had both front drive axles replaced because there was shaking in the steering and the mechanic said it was those axles. May 2013 the shaking was still very persistent and I was hearing a popping noise when turning the wheels. Mechanic replaced the sway bars. This still didnt solve the problem. 6-3-13 when driving about 25mph "power steering" came up on radio dial and car was very hard to steer. After turning car off and restarting didnt have a problem. It has done this many times since then. Today 06-17-13 I still have power steering, but now there is a scrubbing sound and the steering wheel is real "jerky" when turning the wheels, especially to the left. I am very concerned that I am going to lose my power steering while on the highway and I wont be able to control the car. Something needs to be done immediatly before lives our lost.

- Camden, MS, USA

problem #327

Jul 192012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that a noise was heard while making a turn. The contact also mentioned that there was a popping noise and vibration while decelerating. The vehicle was taken to independent repair shop who replaced the rack and pinion, the outer tie rod, the brakes and drums. The failure recurred. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 70,000. The current mileage was 100,000...updated 08-07-13 the consumer stated the rack and pinion, as well as the outer tie rods were replaced twice, and the consumer continues to experience problems. The consumer was informed the rack and pinion and outer tie rods needs to be replaced again.

- Helendale, CA, USA

problem #326

Dec 152012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated while parking and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the steering column would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #325

Mar 212013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I pulled out of the parking lot of my job one day and my power steering warning flashed on my radio. At the same time my car shut off in the middle of traffic. I did not know what to do so instinctively I cut my car off and cut it back on. It temporarily fixed the issue. Now out of no where if I make any sharp turns the power steering shuts the car down. This is very dangerous and could cause an accident especially if it happens in traffic. This should definitely be recalled because it is very serious issue with these cars. I read online about how a lot of Chevy Malibu's are doing this. Why hasn't this issue been addressed?

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #324

Apr 242013

Malibu

  • 72,145 miles
Since 4/24/13 my power steering warning light has come on at least five times. Thankfully at this point I have not lost steering but it does scare me when it happens because I almost always have had my child in the car with me when the warning has come on. With as many complaints I've seen on this matter I feel as a single parent I should not have to pay up to $500 for repairs. A recall should be in place to protect those of us who have this particular issue. If steering should go out in the middle of a turn I could be involved in an accident. I think it is terrible that a recall may never be put in place unless an accident with serious injury occurs.

- Fort Mohave, AZ, USA

problem #323

May 022013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,208 miles
My wife was driving from work when the car lost power steering. This happened as she was leaving the parking lot of her company. She parked and turned off the car. When she restarted the car the problem went away but the power steering seems different and not as smooth.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #322

Apr 032012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I lost power steering when I ignite my car. There is chiming and message for checking power steering. Turn off the motor, and power steering was back. While I accelerated onto highway, I heard the same chiming. Had no time to look at the message. I searched online, and found that my power steering was lost for several seconds. This is horrible. This is absolute a safety issue. I wonder why there is no recall on this. GM took billions of dollars from tax payer's pockets to bail it out, but can not make a right car. Shame on GM.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #321

Apr 122013

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
I was driving on the highway. While driving on the highway at around 60 mile per hour the powersteering warning came onto the radio display. Shortly after the steering wheel became extremely hard to turn. I was able to pull over to the side of the road once I dont that the car cut off. I was towed to have the car looked at, once the car was looked at I had the alternator replaced. When I picked up the car from the place where it was serviced, while driving it home the car locked up again and I had to have it towed again to the place. Once at the place the problem was fixed and the car ran fine for two days. While driving to work once pulled in parking space the battery light came on again. Now I am afraid to drive it in fear that it will happen again and cause an accident.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #320

Jan 102013

Malibu

  • 78,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy Malibu, first incident was probably Jan 2013 I filled gas tank and instantly the gauge goes to empty and engine light comes on, then gauge goes from full to empty for up to 3 days, then it goes back to normal. Now I have a problem with the steering pulling me from left to right, sometimes very suddenly. Had the alignment done and new tires still have the same problem. Getting scary to drive. Cant figure out what problem is will have to take to dealership.

- Chandlersville, OH, USA

problem #319

Nov 072012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
When pulling out from a stop and making a right hand turn the power steering quits - making it very hard to steer, power steering comes up in the display center, and the warning center ding is sounded. Started happening about once a week and now happens a couple times each time the car is driven. When the car is shut off and restarted everything is back to normal, until it happens again when making one of your next right turns.

- New Richmond, WI, USA

problem #318

Apr 092013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Either while I am driving or when I start my car the power steering light flashes on the display and dings three times, and the power steering stops working. This is very frustrating especially while I am driving, fortunately it has not happened while I am driving around corners, but I am very fearful that it will and I will be in the ditch with major issues. When I start the vehicle this sometimes happens and I need to shut the car off several times on occasions to get the power steering to start working. This is and could be a very dangerous situation. I am truly amazed that GM cares about the Canadian drivers but not about usa drivers. As they have issued a recall in Canada but not in the United States.

- New York Mills, MN, USA

problem #317

Apr 012013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 97,261 miles
I was taking my daughter to school and the car all of a sudden pulled to the right, I heard the ding ding sound the car makes when there's a problem, the power steering flashed on and off rapidly. The wheel became very hard to turn but it quickly returned back to normal. I went online and noticed that there are a number of complaints similar to what I experienced. I am really concerned about this. The 2006 Malibu has had a recall on the steering column in Canada but not in the us. I think that GM should fix the problem. This could cause an accident if it is not fixed.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #316

Mar 102013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,708 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the power steering warning lamp illuminated and the electronic steering locked up, as the consumers wife was making a left turn. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column had an internal short in one of the sensors. As a result, the steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 40,708. Updated 04/30/13

- Turnersville, NJ, USA

problem #315

Mar 062013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 122,001 miles
I was pulling into a parking lot and the car gave me the 'ding' that tells me something is wrong. I looked at the dash and it flashed power steering. The wheel became very hard to turn and I was able to pull into a parking stall. When I started the car back up the steering was normal again. I went online and noticed that there are a number of complaints similar to what I experienced. I am really concerned about this. The 2006 Malibu has had a recall on the steering column in Canada but not in the us. I think that GM should fix the problem. This could cause an accident if it is not fixed.

- Kent , WA, USA

problem #314

Dec 182012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
The vehicle was being driven on 2 lane highway at 45 mph suddenly power steering warning message appeared in display, warning noise came on (ding) and there was no power steering. The vehicle was pulled over anf the ignition was turned off and the vehicle was re-started and the warning message was gone and the powersteering started working again. I checked for, (diagnostic trouble codes), dtc's with a scantool and there were no codes listed. I looked for service bulletins for this and found the following. Special coverage adjustment - power steering assist2012/05/2310183A this bulletin covers my vehicle and will replace the steering column in the vehicle.

- Linden, MI, USA

problem #313

Feb 102013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,280 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the power steering system malfunctioned. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for diagnostics who stated that the steering a shaft needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The failure mileage was 30,280. Updated 03/15/13 the consumer stated his wife experienced two failures at 25 mph and one at 5 mph. Updated 03/27/13

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #312

Feb 092013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 62,590 miles
I was driving on the highway with 60 mph. I suddenly recognized that it was very hard to steer. It was very hard for me to pull it over. As I knew this issue with 2006 Malibu cars (read many complaints about it on the internet before), I did not panic, and achieved it to pull over without any accident. (by the way, I am a male driver and I do not think any female driver without any knowledge of such problem in advance could pull the car over) I have seen the "power steering" flash on the screen during the incident. After turning off and on the ignition, everything was normal. I do not know whether it will repeat again in the future. I searched for any recalls about the power steering, and found that 2005/2006/2008 Malibu cars were recalled on October 2012 in Canada. (please see the link for more information wwwapps.tc.gc.ca/saf-sec-sur/7/vrdb-bdrv/search/recalldetail.aspx?lang=eng&rn=2012331 ) however, there is no such action in the usa. It is a very crucial safety problem and these cars are to be recalled immediately in the usa as well. GM should definitely take an action before any deadly accident happens.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #311

Jan 252013

Malibu

  • 104,835 miles
Traveling down the highway and suddenly the vehicle is very hard to steer got the vehicle pulled over to the side of the road after having to muscle the wheel then had the car towed to the dealer.was told it was a electric power steering assist motor that had went out causing the problem and after questioning about a recall was told they were recalled in Canada but not the us this is a very concerning matter that GM needs to correct.

- Ashlandcity, TN, USA

problem #310

Jan 232013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The power steering goes out whenever it want to while the car is in motion. The gas hand goes down to E when the car really have gas in it, but it will go back up on its own. The engine light is on, and the car do not get as much power have to hit the gas all the way RPM go all the way up. I have not even had this car for two years but having all these problems with it.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #309

Aug 042010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
When driving down the road attempting to switch lanes to the left the power steering failed. The vehicle lost power steering and pulled to the left towards oncoming traffic. Fortunately I was able to compensate for the loss and pull over without incident. My info center indicated a "power steering" error and chimed 3 times. After turning the car off and back on the problem remedied itself. Since then this has happened three additional times. This is an intermittent problem and the dealership cannot diagnose the error without reproducing it.

- Crosby, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?