Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,024 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 21 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #154

Jun 072010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles


Power steering failed on four occasions. In each case alarm went off on dashboard and steering reverted to very stiff operation. Three of the failures occurred shortly after starting and the fourth was while traveling straight at about 35mph.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #153

Jan 292010


  • 44,000 miles
2006 Chevy Malibu has repeat steering problems. In past 6 months steering gear and I-shaft have been replaced during two separate visits to dealer. There is still excess noise during acceleration and during turns. The noise is continuous.

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #152

Jun 092010


  • 80,315 miles
2005,06 Chevy Malibu power steering failure. System locks up as as result no steering.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #151

Jun 192010


  • 68,000 miles


I pulled out of my driveway and immediately noticed that the steering was loose. I was able to make it to the end of the road but after a few seconds, it started tightening up and then it locked. I was not able to turn the steering wheel. I shut off the car and when I restarted it, the same thing happened. I had to do this 3 times to get back to my driveway. I called the dealership and they informed me that there was only a recall on the Chevy cobalt steering but not the Malibu.

- Charlton, MA, USA

problem #150

Jun 172010


  • 82,000 miles
The power steering light came on. According to the dealer, the entire steering column needs to be replaced. The vehicle is not safe to drive. They state this is a known defect with the 06 Malibu and that the repair is $928. This is a recall issue because thousands of vehicle are having this issue. Why should I pay for their defect?

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #149

May 052010


  • 18,600 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at a speed of 35 mph, the vehicle began to pull from left to right. The dealer advised that the power steering motor had failed. The motor was replaced at the contact's expense. There were no recalls for the failure. The failure and current mileages were 18,600.

- West Milford , NJ, USA

problem #148

Jun 132010


  • 14,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 60 mph, the power steering failed. The dealer advised because the power steering was electrical, they were unable to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were 14,000.

- Old Canyon, AZ, USA

problem #147

Jun 102010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Chevrolet Malibu 2006 lt 4cylinder. Steering malfunction. This vehicle have a electronic steering system. My vehicle problem is getting worse, first when you put the vehicle in reverse turning to the left, the power steering turns off. Now the vehicle most of the time when you make left turn. Stiffens up the wheel. I actually have to turn the car off and turn it back on in order for it to loosen up the steering wheel.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #146

Apr 102010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated when reversing, the steering wheel would become extremely tight and difficult to steer. While driving at unknown speeds, the power steering warning light illuminated followed by a warning chime. The dealer advised he had not received any complaints of power steering failure in his model vehicle. The dealer advised bringing the vehicle into the dealer for diagnostic testing to determine the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 14,000 and the current mileage was 15,095. Updated 8/2/10 updated 08/09/10

- Stanley, VA, USA

problem #145

Sep 152008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 50 mph the power steering locked which caused him to engage the brakes and drive onto the emergency lane. He stated that the failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where he replaced the spark plugs and the spark plug wires. He also tested the electrical system and found that there were no electrical failures; however, the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 114,000. Updated 08/13/10. The consumer stated the battery light illuminated on the dash. The light would illuminate when accelerating up a grade/hill. Also when the light illuminated, there was a chime sound as if the door was being opened. There was a sudden and intermittent loss of power steering without warning. The loss of power steering has occurred while accelerating up a slight grade, accelerating from a stop light or accelerating while merging up a slight grade. Updated 08/23/10

- Glenmoore, PA, USA

problem #144

Jun 042010


  • 69,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 35 ph, the vehicle lost power steering, making it difficult to control. The contact stated that when the vehicle was turned off and restarted, the power steering seemed to reset itself and function properly. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 69,000.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #143

Feb 042009


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet mailbu. The contact stated that the steering wheel started making a clicking noise when the vehicle was turned. Also a power steering alarm light illuminated and the vehicle lost power steering. The failure normally occurred when the contact was driving at 15 mph and turning. The contact would turn off the vehicle and restart and the vehicle would function properly. The failure continued to get progressively worse. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. She was advised to take the vehicle to the dealership for repair. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. The current mileage was approximately 37,900.

- Schaumburg , IL, USA

problem #142

Jun 012010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Power steering goes out with no particular cause. Occurs in very cold weather, occurs in very warm weather, goes out while driving (freeway/city streets), may go out with slippery conditions where steering moves freely. Dealers can not do anything if they can not duplicate the issue. Once the vehicle is restarted, the system appears to reset itself and you have power steering. GM customer service will do nothing unless a diagnostic from a dealer is done (costing from $120 - $200) where if it is not occurring, the diagnostic will do nothing. GM customer service recommendation, when the power steering does go out, find a dealer and have them run a diagnostic test. So a dealer is going to get us in anytime we happen to stop with power steering out, don't turn car off and wait for diagnostic to be completed, pay the cost of diagnostic test, then GM may give some help in how to fix their issue. This is a hazard that needs to be fixed by GM. My belief this is same issue they issued recall for the cobalt on. Description of that issue is exactly the same as is happening with Malibu. Must be similar components with the electric power steering"??" may go 4 months without it occurring, may happen for 4 days in a row off and on, very sporadic in occurrence. First occurred at 40,000 miles, out of warranty, and continues now with 75,000 + miles.

- Germantown, WI, USA

problem #141

Jun 072010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Power steering goes out. This just started happening about 5 days ago. It has happened at low speeds; in parking lot and parking garage and I could not turn the wheel. I almost ran into the concrete wall in my parking garage when I was turning a corner and it failed. There was a ding and the display read power steering. I turned the car off and restarted it and the issue cleared. Once I had to restart it twice for the error to clear. It has happened approx 5 times now, the latest being yesterday.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #140

Apr 102010


  • 34,000 miles
The electronic power steering malfunctions causing the vehicle to go into a hard left turn. The problem occurs with out warning. It takes a very strong person to over power the electric steering motor and maintain control of the vehicle. Reprogramming the steering torque sensor corrects the problem temporarily. Replacing the steering column will correct the problem for a few thousand miles.

- Alma, AR, USA

problem #139

Jun 032010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While traveling at speeds of 35 mph, the contact noticed an abnormal clicking noise. Seconds later, the power steering stopped functioning and the steering wheel became increasingly hard and difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 118,000. Updated 07/29/10 the consumer stated the steering wheel would lock up nd the power steering light illuminated. Updated 08/03/10

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #138

Jun 012010


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. She stated that on June 1, 2010, while driving, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was turned off and on which corrected the failure. The dealer and the manufacturer were not contacted. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage were 90,000.

- Mt Olive, NC, USA

problem #137

Apr 262010


  • miles
I have a 2006 Chevy Malibu that my daughter drives to work 5 days a week. It has approx. 76,000 miles. I went and drive the car on this date and notice the steering fluid display was on the radio display. I asked my daughter how long is was on there, she said approx. A week. I called the GMC dealer and got an appointment on the third of May. They told me that I need a new steering column and a shaft which would be about $1000. They said we could still drive the car that I would actually would lose just the power steering. On May 10, I took the car in and got it fixed. $850 later it is fixed. I have never had to replaced a steering column on any of my other cars, which had over 95,000 miles, the transmission went out on that one. Plus I tried to refill the steering fluid, and who know that my car had an electric power steering. Someone should inform the consumer on this. My main concern was for my daughter who drives this car in rush hour traffic. What if it locked up? it is a thought I would not wish to think of!

- Papillion , NE, USA

problem #136

May 222010


  • 85,000 miles
A couple of months ago, I noticed that when I made a turn especially a left turn the steering wheel locked up to the point it was very hard to turn. Now I notice that the steering wheel will get really tight while I am driving, and this happens every other day. I am almost afraid to drive the car but it is my only vehicle at this point, and I am still making payments on it. When the steering wheel becomes hard to turn, I have to put all my weight on the steering wheel to make the turn. No warning such as a powering steeling light comes on. I think if the problem continues it could lead to someone getting severely injured or dying.

- Prairie, MS, USA

problem #135

May 172010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
2006 Chevy Malibu electric power steering goes out randomly and locks up while driving causing driver to loose control of the vehicle. I have read numerous complaints about this problem on the internet ranging from year models 2004-2008 and I am wondering why there has not been an investigation into the problem. I also have been told that dealers have no idea what the problem is and how to fix it. I'm also learning that everyone is saying that the problem is caused by different things, but the result is all the same. The electric power steering is faulty no doubt about it!!! is GM going to wait until people die to do something about this problem. This is a very serious one!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Breaux Bridge, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?