Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 21 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #159

Jul 112010

Malibu

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering going out and cannot steer. Power steering will not work after starting the car. 2006 Malibu lt. Purchased new in 2006. Only 40,000 miles on it. Rotors have been replaced twice in first year. When used in mountain driving they warp and have to be replaced.

- Glenville, WV, USA

problem #158

Jul 082010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,921 miles
My 2006 Chevy Malibu is having power steering problems. This problem results in loss of steering. On July 8, 2010 I was making a left hand turn and my steering wheel started moving the car to left and then to the right then I completely lost steering. After a minute or so the steering came back but only to the point where I had to put all my muscle into it to steer. Power steering flashed on my radio during this occasion. After turning the car on and off a couple times the power steering flash disappeared and my steering was back to normal. I have lost steering completely for a short time driving on the interstate. This is very unsafe. I took my car into the Chevy dealership for service on July 9, 2010. I was told that I needed to replace my steering column and it would cost close to 600 dollars to fix. I have an extended warranty and for some reason it does not cover this. This should be a recall situation. It is very unsafe for me to be driving and I fear driving my son in the car with me. After reading online I have learned that I am not the only one with a 06 Malibu who has steering complaints. Alot of people have paid hundreds to fix this problem only for it to return. I can't afford to fix this problem this time let alone if it happens again after it is fixed. I really fear not being able to control my vehicle. As of now my vehicle continues to flash power steering on my radio and the steering is not working properly. When I turn the car on and off a couple times it fixes it for a few minutes and then it returns while I am driving.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #157

Jul 042010

Malibu

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 65 mph the contact noticed that the RPM's suddenly increased to 3000. The contact noticed that the power steering failed and began working properly. The failure was not diagnosed by the dealer. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 74000.

- St. Albans, WV, USA

problem #156

Jul 062010

Malibu

  • 82,367 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In January of 2010 I went in to get new tires and an alignment on my 06 Chevy Malibu lt. They told me that they could not do the alignment due to inter tie rods needed to be replaced. I ordered the parts and took it back in at the end of the week. A month later I noticed there was a clicking or popping noise. The noise wasn't consistent with turning or going forward it only made the noise every so often, so I thought nothing of it. Today I was driving the power steering light came on my steering locked up and I almost hit another car. I took it in to have it looked at it happens that it is that electric power steering had failed. This part is going to be replaced, until the car is parked and will not be driven. The car only has 82,000 miles on it. I am not the only one that has this problem with the Malibu. I have 3 children that ride in this car with me. Chevy knows there is a problem, please recall the Malibu for the safety of everyone on the road.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #155

Jun 202010

Malibu

  • 59,000 miles
Car is jerking to left while passing cars & while accelerating up hills. Almost hit concrete barrier on rt 30 while pulling out of olive garden. Had it at garage the said it was torque pull. It has been getting worse. In pgh, 6/20, going up steep hill power steering flashed on stereo & the car dinged then it pulled to the left then to the right.the garage said I needed something about a box, waiting for parts. Other mech said it felt like the power steering box is quitting out.

- Mt. Pleasant, PA, USA

problem #154

Jun 072010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Power steering failed on four occasions. In each case alarm went off on dashboard and steering reverted to very stiff operation. Three of the failures occurred shortly after starting and the fourth was while traveling straight at about 35mph.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #153

Jan 292010

Malibu

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevy Malibu has repeat steering problems. In past 6 months steering gear and I-shaft have been replaced during two separate visits to dealer. There is still excess noise during acceleration and during turns. The noise is continuous.

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #152

Jun 092010

Malibu

  • 80,315 miles
2005,06 Chevy Malibu power steering failure. System locks up as as result no steering.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #151

Jun 192010

Malibu

  • 68,000 miles
I pulled out of my driveway and immediately noticed that the steering was loose. I was able to make it to the end of the road but after a few seconds, it started tightening up and then it locked. I was not able to turn the steering wheel. I shut off the car and when I restarted it, the same thing happened. I had to do this 3 times to get back to my driveway. I called the dealership and they informed me that there was only a recall on the Chevy cobalt steering but not the Malibu.

- Charlton, MA, USA

problem #150

Jun 172010

Malibu

  • 82,000 miles
The power steering light came on. According to the dealer, the entire steering column needs to be replaced. The vehicle is not safe to drive. They state this is a known defect with the 06 Malibu and that the repair is $928. This is a recall issue because thousands of vehicle are having this issue. Why should I pay for their defect?

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #149

May 052010

Malibu

  • 18,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at a speed of 35 mph, the vehicle began to pull from left to right. The dealer advised that the power steering motor had failed. The motor was replaced at the contact's expense. There were no recalls for the failure. The failure and current mileages were 18,600.

- West Milford , NJ, USA

problem #148

Jun 132010

Malibu

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 60 mph, the power steering failed. The dealer advised because the power steering was electrical, they were unable to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were 14,000.

- Old Canyon, AZ, USA

problem #147

Jun 102010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Chevrolet Malibu 2006 lt 4cylinder. Steering malfunction. This vehicle have a electronic steering system. My vehicle problem is getting worse, first when you put the vehicle in reverse turning to the left, the power steering turns off. Now the vehicle most of the time when you make left turn. Stiffens up the wheel. I actually have to turn the car off and turn it back on in order for it to loosen up the steering wheel.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #146

Apr 102010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated when reversing, the steering wheel would become extremely tight and difficult to steer. While driving at unknown speeds, the power steering warning light illuminated followed by a warning chime. The dealer advised he had not received any complaints of power steering failure in his model vehicle. The dealer advised bringing the vehicle into the dealer for diagnostic testing to determine the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 14,000 and the current mileage was 15,095. Updated 8/2/10 updated 08/09/10

- Stanley, VA, USA

problem #145

Sep 152008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 50 mph the power steering locked which caused him to engage the brakes and drive onto the emergency lane. He stated that the failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where he replaced the spark plugs and the spark plug wires. He also tested the electrical system and found that there were no electrical failures; however, the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 114,000. Updated 08/13/10. The consumer stated the battery light illuminated on the dash. The light would illuminate when accelerating up a grade/hill. Also when the light illuminated, there was a chime sound as if the door was being opened. There was a sudden and intermittent loss of power steering without warning. The loss of power steering has occurred while accelerating up a slight grade, accelerating from a stop light or accelerating while merging up a slight grade. Updated 08/23/10

- Glenmoore, PA, USA

problem #144

Jun 042010

Malibu

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 35 ph, the vehicle lost power steering, making it difficult to control. The contact stated that when the vehicle was turned off and restarted, the power steering seemed to reset itself and function properly. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 69,000.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #143

Feb 042009

Malibu

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet mailbu. The contact stated that the steering wheel started making a clicking noise when the vehicle was turned. Also a power steering alarm light illuminated and the vehicle lost power steering. The failure normally occurred when the contact was driving at 15 mph and turning. The contact would turn off the vehicle and restart and the vehicle would function properly. The failure continued to get progressively worse. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. She was advised to take the vehicle to the dealership for repair. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. The current mileage was approximately 37,900.

- Schaumburg , IL, USA

problem #142

Jun 012010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Power steering goes out with no particular cause. Occurs in very cold weather, occurs in very warm weather, goes out while driving (freeway/city streets), may go out with slippery conditions where steering moves freely. Dealers can not do anything if they can not duplicate the issue. Once the vehicle is restarted, the system appears to reset itself and you have power steering. GM customer service will do nothing unless a diagnostic from a dealer is done (costing from $120 - $200) where if it is not occurring, the diagnostic will do nothing. GM customer service recommendation, when the power steering does go out, find a dealer and have them run a diagnostic test. So a dealer is going to get us in anytime we happen to stop with power steering out, don't turn car off and wait for diagnostic to be completed, pay the cost of diagnostic test, then GM may give some help in how to fix their issue. This is a hazard that needs to be fixed by GM. My belief this is same issue they issued recall for the cobalt on. Description of that issue is exactly the same as is happening with Malibu. Must be similar components with the electric power steering"??" may go 4 months without it occurring, may happen for 4 days in a row off and on, very sporadic in occurrence. First occurred at 40,000 miles, out of warranty, and continues now with 75,000 + miles.

- Germantown, WI, USA

problem #141

Jun 072010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Power steering goes out. This just started happening about 5 days ago. It has happened at low speeds; in parking lot and parking garage and I could not turn the wheel. I almost ran into the concrete wall in my parking garage when I was turning a corner and it failed. There was a ding and the display read power steering. I turned the car off and restarted it and the issue cleared. Once I had to restart it twice for the error to clear. It has happened approx 5 times now, the latest being yesterday.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #140

Apr 102010

Malibu

  • 34,000 miles
The electronic power steering malfunctions causing the vehicle to go into a hard left turn. The problem occurs with out warning. It takes a very strong person to over power the electric steering motor and maintain control of the vehicle. Reprogramming the steering torque sensor corrects the problem temporarily. Replacing the steering column will correct the problem for a few thousand miles.

- Alma, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?