Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 4 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #508

Sep 252006

Malibu

  • 400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ever since I purchased my Malibu with around 400 miles, I have had a continuous knock, which I can hear at lower speeds turning the wheel in either direction whether that be in drive or reverse. To me it sounds like it is coming from my steering column. From what I remember, I believe I was told it was some type of joint which knocks from friction and that it would just need lubrication in time. Over the years the knocking has continued and seems to be getting a little louder, with minor shaking of the steering column when driving on the freeway or accelerating to higher speeds. I am not sure if this might be a possible recall for this vehicle, but I did see a steering recall for this year, make and model. Is this a recalled item I have not received word of? I have had three recalls brought to my attention in the past six months which I have had taken care of, I was given no further word of there being any further issues. This problem has been with this vehicle from the beginning so I am now curious to know if these parts have been recalled.

- Orcutt, CA, USA

problem #507

Mar 202015

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 5 mph, the power steering failed. The contact had the faulty power steering module assembly replaced. The vehicle was repaired on March 20, 2014. The VIN and failure mileage were unavailable..... updated 08/30/15 updated 12/10/15

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #506

May 012012

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles
When turning and accelerating, the control center dings and shows loss of power steering, if you let up on the throttle power steering comes back, it needs the steering control module replaced and GM says it is not covered on this model.

- Dayton, MN, USA

problem #505

Apr 262015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 207,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lost power steering as I was making a left turn. The car would not turn and the brake was not slowing down the car. Ended up going up the sidewalk and crashing into a wall causing the airbags to deploy and spraining my wrist down to my elbow along with minor back pains. Now the car is considered a total loss.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #504

Mar 012015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Driving down the road my power steering light came on and now my wheel kicks all over when I try to drive! I took it to a GM dealer and they said that it's the power steering motor and that it has a dead spot they said they have had a lot of this going on in my make and model! this should be a recall! also my car is starting to decide when is should start. Sometimes it takes a few tries and I have to pray it starts and after that in park it will idle high the car isn't that old and doesn't have high mileage it shouldn't be doing this!

- Alma, MI, USA

problem #503

Mar 152013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
As I was making a turn on a major street my power steering went out; I have contacted GM numerous times to this fixed, without me have to come out of my pocket over $1,000 to get this fixed. In 2014 there was a recall done and when I went to the dealership to get this fixed they are stating that it is the power assist (motor) that is out and not part of the recall. I have been back in contact with GM but nothing has been done to resolve this. It is very difficult to drive the car without any power steering and this is a hazard to other drivers as well as me. GM should not be allowed to continue manufacturing and selling faulty vehicles. This is my last time reaching out to try to get a resolution, if nothing can be done to fix my car. I will have to pursue legal and constitutional rights as a consumer against GM.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #502

Mar 222015

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle lost power and the steering wheel became tight. The contact had to apply force to turn the steering wheel. The contact had to turn the vehicle off and restarted it in order to reset the computer. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering), but the failure recurred weeks later. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer who diagnosed that the power steering control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Beloit, WI, USA

problem #501

Apr 072015

Malibu

  • 1,500,000 miles
I was on 44 just turned on 41 no cars on left or right none behind proceeding across traffic light other party was making a right turn I was stopping brakes ankle was fractured and we had a head on colision.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #500

Sep 122014

Malibu

  • 156,000 miles
I do not recall exact accident date as I received nothing from insurance. Car was placed in park and turned off. Car had been parked and sitting for 30 minutes. Car came out of park and rolled into another parked car causing damage to that vehicle and to my vehicle.I do not think it went into park to start with. My insurance covered repair of the other vehicle and I repaired my own vehicle. My insurance told me that they would contact Chevrolet concerning accident. Later I noticed my insurance had listed this as a moving violation and raised my insurance. I have contacted my insurance concerning this as this was not a moving violation. I was not driving nor was I in the car and this seemed to involved a recall. I will report my insurance to the state insurance commission to look into this matter has I should not be punished for this problem. I had an excellent driving records for the past 30 years. I had taken car to dealer concerning recalls but was told parts not available. I took car on one occasion and part was ordered for recall. I took car back and was told my part given to some one else. I finally received final repair on 04/08/2015. I made several trips to have car looked at and parts to be ordered then had to take it back for repairs. I also had lose of steering at times for brief periods. I became fearful of driving this car after so many problems and was nervous and anxious when in the car. Too many recalls on this vehicle after I had it for a long time. Some one could have been hurt. Why so longer to notify me of so many recalls and why so long for repairs. If recall is done, parts should be available at dealer. I should not have to take it to be looked at, then wait for a part, then have to take it back it. I will consider legal action.

- Gate City, VA, USA

problem #499

Dec 122005

Malibu

  • 123,018 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 40 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering motor and module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 123,018.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #498

Mar 122015

Malibu

  • 182,052 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized while driving. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering) but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering internal module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 182,052.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #497

Jan 262015

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering), there was a loud noise coming from the steering wheel without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Byram, MS, USA

problem #496

Apr 192012

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel required excessive force in order to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was restarted and the vehicle resumed to normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering sensor needed to be replaced. The power steering sensor was reset but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #495

Feb 192014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
The power steering light came on the display. I could not steer or turn the car. I turn the car off for about thirty minutes. I started the car back up called GM dealer on 38th street explained the problem & went in. The service department said that it was power steering column & that it would be 1200 dollars to fix. I did not have the money to fix it. On several occasions this has happened to me. As recently as February 25, 2015 I took my car to a private mechanic & paid $817 for suspension work, bushings etc & $253 for two tires. The mechanic informed me that the intermediate mid shaft needs to be replace & that there was still clucking noise & rattling in the steering wheel. I test drove the car with the mechanic & as I was turning out of the parking lot the power steering locked up again. It was very difficult for me to turn the steering wheel as I was turning on a busy intersection. The power steering light came on display. I cut my hazard lights on & cut the car off & started the car up....I do not feel safe in this car. I got on line on February 27, 2015 googled 2006 recalls on Chevrolet Malibu's & seen that there was a recall. I contacted dorman products & left a message in regards to my issue. I also contacted GM 18006302438, spoke with a representative about the issue (power steering) & she asked for my VIN number. She also asked me if I was the first owner of the car, I explained that I purchased the car from the andy mohr dealership & that there was a previous owner. The representative informed me that the recall letter to the previous owner on February 5, 2015. I updated my information & received a letter the next day for the recall. I am scheduled to go in for electric power steering assist (recall # 14772) on Tuesday March 3, 2015. I hope that this dangerous issue is taken care of. Concerned Chevrolet Malibu owner.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #494

Feb 132015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 36,752 miles
I had just bought the vehicle about two weeks prior to the first incident, I was driving up a two lane winding mountain road and my steering locked up, I heard a few dings and then the steering wheel released. When I got home I called Chevrolet in reno and asked if there was a recall on this particular issue, they said no. I also looked it up and there was nothing listed. This is a continuous problem. This month on February 13 was the final straw, I was driving on a dirt road at my daughters house and my steering wheel locked up and I hit a fence. No one was injured but my car is. This steering issue has occurred to many times to count. Someone is going to get killed from this issue. I have a friend who owns the same make and model and they were involved in a accident last week and totaled the car. They have the same issue!

- Fernley, NV, USA

problem #493

Nov 012014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds, the power steering seized intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on three separate occasions to be repaired under NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering) however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Burgan, NC, USA

problem #492

Jan 302015

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 65 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The driver crashed into a ditch and the vehicle rolled over approximately four times. The driver and two passengers were injured and required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a tow lot. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Jefferson City , MO, USA

problem #491

Jun 022014

Malibu

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure occurred intermittently. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #490

May 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
My 06, will not start without pressing the gas pedal, also it will show power steering failure when starting, I will have to restart vehicle for the power steering to activate, and while driving the power steering will stop working causing the vehicle to be hard to steer.

- Clio, AL, USA

problem #489

Jan 142015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 82,035 miles
While driving power steering light came on and when my daughter arrived home, I checked for fluids and found out this power steering was electronic. Look on line and found out about the recalls but this vehicle was not on the list. Could not take a chance of my daughter getting into an accident, she uses this car for work and college. Following day drove car to dealer and paid 438. 69 to make the necessary repairs which consisted of replacing the steering module code C0460, replaced the steering position/ torque sensor. Service manager could not understand why this was not covered under the recall because he said it was the same part being replace on the other recall vehicles. Thank you for your concern.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?