Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,024 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 9 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #394

May 012012


  • 18,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated as the steering wheel became very hard to maneuver. In addition, the contact mentioned that the brake lights were constantly failing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who advised him that the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was 18,000 and the current mileage was 58,000.

- Bellerose Manor, NY, USA

problem #393

May 282014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I was traveling on a smooth, straight road with a gentle turn. The warning bell chimed and a message was displayed that noted power steering. I also heard clicking sounds coming from under the dash. At the same time the power steering failed and the car seemed to pull to the left and the car was impossible to steer. The car was pulled into oncoming traffic, but after a few seconds the power steering returned to the car and I was able to gain control. This happened again on the return trip home when I was pulling out from a dead stop. I contacted the dealer and according to them, my car is not included in the most current round of recalls from GM regarding power steering. I was informed that a replacement steering column would cost around 1,000.

- Lewisberry, PA, USA

problem #392

Jan 202012

Malibu 8-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
On May 20, 2014 I filed a complaint regarding the electronic power steering, the fuel level indicator and the clunk noise in the steering system on my car. I contacted General Motors by E mail and they gave me a telephone number to call. Today, May 27, 2014 I called General Motors regarding their recall for the power steering problem. They informed me that my car was not included in the recall. They gave me the telephone number of a dealer in puerto rico where I have to take the car for a diagnostic. GM will not cover the cost of the repairs. Why do we have to pay for the bad job the car manufacturers do when they make their cars? there must be a way in which consumers get compensated by these companies for the expenses they impose on us with their defective vehicles. For me this may be the last Chevrolet I will buy.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #391

Mar 012014


  • 65,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was a sudden loss of power steering as the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #390

May 202014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I was driving my car making a left turn when the power steering went out. I was able to make the turn (luckily no other cars were approaching). The vehicle was very difficult to turn. The power steering light came on the display and a chiming sound.

- Channahon, IL, USA

problem #389

Dec 162013


  • 110,335 miles
The first is the steering sounds like front end is going to fall apart when driving and when I turn corners. The second is the fuel the car constantly shuts off for no reason. And the third is the air conditoner blows from cold to hot.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #388

Mar 172014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles


The power steering turns off by itself while driving at any speed, but does it more consistently at 65 mph and above.

- Brawley, CA, USA

problem #387

May 162014


  • 154,345 miles
While my kids and was driving alone a very busy road. In my 2006 Chevy Malibu here in albany ga my car made a cling noise and I didnt notice what it meant by making the noise but however at that very second my car steering locked up and made it very hard for me to operate. I actually had to control my vehicle with muscle force. So. after getting to a place I can pull over and begin to call my husband I turn the car off and started it back up and it begin to work fine. Well, I had the same problem two days later and so I decide to call a Chevy dealer in he begin to tell me that its a recall on these particular vehicles and given another number to see if my vehicle.had a recall on it. Well, calling this number in waited on a rep. He ask for the make and model of car as well the VIN of the vehicle I gave him the information that was requested then he cane back to the phone and said theres no recall for this car. Ok Friday May 16,2014 this happened again. I have tried all source thats possible in dont know what to do next. Could someone please make contact with me before this car cause a fatal accident by this particular vehicle.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #386

May 122014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Loss of power steering when accelerating to passing gear.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #385

Jul 032012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 73,567 miles
Power steering light comes on. Needed to replace the steering column.

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #384

Apr 292014


  • 179,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph, the power steering warning lights illuminated as the vehicle became difficult to steer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The were no repairs completed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 179,000 and the current mileage was 180,000.

- Parsons, TN, USA

problem #383

Sep 242013


  • 120,000 miles
When slowing to a stop, the steering in the vehicle gave out and it was necessary to shut off and turn the vehicle back on the get the power steering to work again. Throughout this past winter, it frequently lost steering at stop signs, stop lights, and when moving at low speeds.

- Avon Lake, OH, USA

problem #382

Feb 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving various speeds and attempting to turn, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000 and the current mileage was 72,000. Updated 06/24/14 MA the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired under recall on May 7,2014. Updated 06/25/2014

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #381

Apr 252014


  • 79,300 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the power steering light illuminated then the power steering failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 79,300.

- Raynham, MA, USA

problem #380

Apr 232014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Car shuts off while driving an steering is hard.

- Chase , MD, USA

problem #379

Apr 212014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 149,500 miles
While merging on to a highway, my steering locked up and my son, who was driving, suddenly couldn't steer. Fortunately, it only lasted for a few seconds, and it came back. Had it not come back, we would have had a collision with a semi-truck that was right next to us. This is never happened prior to this and not since. My local Chevy dealer assures me that there are no recalls on this model, however, he also couldn't tell me why something like this would happen or offer a suggestion. Please advise.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #378

Feb 072012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Soon after I purchased this car I started having problems with the power steering system. In many occasions when I start the engine the power steering does not work. I cannot move the steering wheel. I turn the engine off, wait a few seconds and start the engine again, and the power steering works. I have had this problems at least 15 or 20 times since I purchased the car in January 9, 2012. It has never happened with the car moving. Also when I move the steering wheel from one side to the other the power steering alert light comes on and off and I hear a clunk noise that I can feel in the steering wheel. It is like if something is loose in the steering system. I checked the rack and pinion in several occasions and found it had the screws that hold it to the frame loose. I tightened them but the noise does not go away. I drive this car with caution and fear because of the power steering problem and the noise in the steering system. This month (April 2014) I started having problems with the fuel level sending unit. Sometimes it marks full and others empty with gas in the tank. At the same time the check engine light comes on and off.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #377

Feb 172010


  • 69,000 miles
I was driving home from work about 12 midnight, on the dan ryan expressway. The traffic was heavy with lots of truck on the road. I heard three beeps then a message ran across the dash check power steering, before I could finish reading the message I had no power steering. The car started to driving rough vibrating very hard to control. I was about three lane over from the exit lanes.thank the lord I'm still here. I seen a recall in March of 2010 on the Monte Carlo call and inquired about my car talked with a manager named [xxx] for about two months no contact then was told not a part of $1700 webb Chevy. General Motors does not care about it's consumers and something needs to be done this is an outrage. And I will never buy another GM. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #376

Mar 052014


  • miles
I was making a right hand turn onto a busy intersection and steering went out I ended up in the lane of on coming traffic turning in a left turning lane in opposite direction. Thank the lord no one was in that lane. And the 2nd time 2 weeks later it happened again when I was turning into a exxon station and almost hit the gas pump.just glad my breaks worked good and had both hands on the wheel since the first incident occurred. When will we get a notification about the recall.. I have not received anything yet. If need be I will take more steps because this needs to be fixed and I am not paying for it. I called the place where I bought the car and they gave me a number to call and I did and I was told to wait until I got recall card in the mail and have not seen anything yet......that was a month ago.

- Union Bridge, MD, USA

problem #375

Apr 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I have taken my car to Sierra Chevrolet in southfield, mi where it was purchased in 10/13, since purchasing on 3 different occasions in 5 months for loss of power steering and all systems on dashboard drop to zero (0), gas, speedometer and RPM's. I was first charged $125 (dealer claimed they would split cost) which didn't fix problem. Now they are trying to charge me $430 to replace a module with no guarantee this will fix problem. I am being repeatedly told my car does not fall under the recall. I have a copy of letter from NHTSA to General Motors dated 3/31/14 identifying safety recall of power steering as well GM's letter to dealerships dated 3/31/14 referred to as bulletin # 14116 which states dealers are to replace torque system in models 2004-2006 Malibu.

- Detroit, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?