Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,384 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #7

Jan 152014

Malibu

  • 151,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, an abnormal noise emitted from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the universal steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 151,000. The VIN was not available.

- Corbin/Knox County, KY, USA

problem #6

Jan 062014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 40 mph, the power steering failed and the power steering indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The power steering operated normally once the vehicle was turned off and restarted. The dealer stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired by an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 09/05/14 updated 12/15/2014

- Slatington, PA, USA

problem #5

Feb 202014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 115,690 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure was recurring for one month. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 115,690...updated 04-23-14 the consumer stated the dealer refused to perform a diagnostic test on the air bag because the warning light was not illuminated. Updated 04/24/2014

- Tuson, AZ, USA

problem #4

Aug 122011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2006 Malibu in 2007. Since the time of purchase I have had problems with this car's steering column. It would make a clunking sound every time I would make a turn left or right. I knew something wasn't right. I took the car to the dealer once and they replaced something in the steering column. I still hear the clunking noise today. When I turned the key to start the car at times it seemed like the car was cranking and running on its own. Hard to explain it unless you were starting the car. That was an issue as well. Now this 2006 Malibu was parked in my drive way after going to the store and the next day when I tried to start it it would not start. I thought it might be the battery and had that checked out. Not the battery, then I was told it was the timing chain. I had the car towed to the shop where I purchased the car and now I am told that the rocker arm broke and in turn it bent the rods and damaged the engine. The engine is now ceased and damaged.

- N Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #3

Jul 102010

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving in reverse at two mph the power steering steering light came on and then the power steering failed. The contact turned the vehicle off, restarted it and then the vehicle began to function normally. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the vehicle should be recalled by the manufacturer since the power steering malfunction was very common. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 10/15/10 the consumer stated the problem has been resolved. Updatd 10/2110

- King Of Prussia , PA, USA

problem #2

May 082009

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 25 mph the steering column made a popping and snapping noise. The contact was concerned that the noise would cause the steering wheel to lock. The failure mileage was 96,000. Updated 04/05/10 updated 05/05/10.

- Carthage, MO, USA

problem #1

Jul 232007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel was pulling to one side and making a knocking sound as she was pulling out of her driveway. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the steering column at less than 20,000 miles. The dealer also grounded down the rotors and cleaned the brakes, but they were not replaced. The powertrain and failure speed were unknown. The current mileage was 21,000 and failure mileage was 2,000. The consumer stated 2 months after purchasing vehicle she caught a flat and left headlight burnt out, there is air blowing through the vents along with a vacuuming noise, and the panel near the gas pedal was pulled out, the passenger side mirror will not close, and vehicle's door will not stay open. The consumer provided several repair invoices. Updated 08/27/07

- Buffalo, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?