Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #10

Dec 152011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 72,800 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 10 mph, the contact attempted to turn the steering wheel but it became difficult to maneuver. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the electronic power steering module would have to be replaced and informed the contact of a voluntary recall for the same failure with the power steering. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for replacement of the electronic power steering module. The approximate failure mileage was 72,800. Updated 5/11/12 the consumer attached a letter from GM regarding problems with the electric power steering.

- Brookfield, OH, USA

problem #9

Jan 102012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 98,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while exiting a parking lot, the vehicle exhibited an abnormally loud noise as the power steering failed. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the electronic power assist was failing. The contact stated that no warning lights were illuminated, but the clock and radio had to be reset when the failure occurred. The failure mileage was 98,700. Updated 03/28/12 updated 04/09/12

- Ray, OH, USA

problem #8

Jul 302011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while changing lanes on a smooth road surface, the vehicle felt like it was driving over a groove. The steering wheel also seized and there was an increase in engine rpms, nearly causing a crash. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they stated the ignition coil assembly and the ground strap would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage is 121,000. Updated 08/24/11 updated 04/09/12 updated 05/03/12

- Carrollton, VA, USA

problem #7

Jul 062010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated the steering wheel would intermittently lock while attempting a turn. The contact would shut off the vehicle and when restarting, the power steering would reset itself. The dealer performed a diagnostic test and advised that the steering wheel torque input sensor would need to be replaced. There was not a recall for the failure. The manufacturer advised that they would speak to the dealer to determine who would be liable for the repairs. The contact was held liable for the repairs. The failure and current mileages were 51,000. Updated 11/9/10 the consumer stated while driving, the vehicle would loose power steering and pull the left in oncoming traffic. The cause could not be determined. Updated 11/16/10

- Galion, OH, USA

problem #6

Dec 012008


  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel locked and the power steering warning light illuminated on the dashboard. The vehicle was pulled over and upon restart, operated as normal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the electric power steering module was replaced. The failure recurred at 25,700 miles and was not taken in to be examined. The failure mileage was 7,000 and the current mileage was 25,700.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #5

May 052010


  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at speeds of 5 mph, the power steering failed. The dealer advised the electronic power steering assist would need to be replaced at the owners expense. The vehicle was not repaired and the VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were 54000.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #4

Apr 152008


  • 40,000 miles


I purchased the 2006 Malibu 11/2006. Since that time, the right front speaker has been replaced, the interior dome light fixture replaced, the electric steering column is inoperable and needs to be replaced. The steering makes a thumping noise when turning and pulls to the left. I am opting to purchase another vehicle as this car is a safety hazard. I don't know what will go wrong next.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #3

Feb 012008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,990 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 25 mph, the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. The purchase date was unknown. Updated 02-19-08. The current mileage was 9,000 and failure mileage was 8,990. Updated 02/19/08

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 162007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,900 miles
On Friday Nov.16,2007 at approximately 8:30am while I was trying to back out of my driveway, the powersteering in my 2006 Malibu stopped working and I sideswiped my husbands car, scratched the driver's side of the Malibu and cracked the hub cap. I contacted roadside service to pickup the Malibu at my residence.. once the Malibu arrived at frank Z cheverolet, where I purchased the vehicle, the service dept. Rep. Called me and stated that I had a failure in the powersteering electric monitor and told me to call Chevrolet to file a case. I was very concerned and frightened about the incident because if I had of been on the highway I could of been hurt, killed or injured someone else. Chevrolet's cust. Assist. Rep. Did not comfort me at all. I expressed that I wanted to terminate my lease on the vehicle because I did not feel safe in it anymore. So he told me that they had to go through certains steps and not to overreact. Chevrolet called out their 3rd party group of engineering specialist to inspect the car and they confirmed that a component in the powersteering monitor did in fact fail. Chevrolet's rep. Stated that the only option I had was to repair the car. If I refused, they would take the rental car back asap. So in so many words they told me that it is either their way or the highway. So I agreed to have the car repaired and they quickly changed their mind on terminating the rental. They even extended it until after the car is repaired and stated that they stand behind their products. As of today, on Dec. 8,2007 the car is still at the dealership. I truly feel that my security and safety was not taken in consideration, only the profit they were going to lose. Anytime the dealership service men do not want to touch the vehicle, anytime Chevrolet cust assist. Rep. Have to call engineering analyst to inspect the car and confirms the failure, that means that this is not a minor case, it was something major, esp. To me. Mileage about 13,900.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #1

Jun 152007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While attempting to make a gradual right turn with the accelerator pedal depressed, the steering wheel spun out of the contacts hands. The failure occurred while driving 15 mph and nearly caused a crash. The failure has occurred several times before in less dangerous scenarios. The dealer stated that the computer does that when it senses the wheels are not straight. The current and failure mileages were 31,000. The consumer stated the dealer informed him that it was normal for the computer to center the front wheels informing other customers of the same situation. Updated 08/09/07

- Sharpsburg, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?