Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,699 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Jul 152014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It's happened 3 times, driving various speeds the steering locks up. First time I was making a right turn and the car instantly locked up. I put the car in park and powered car off then started it back up it was fine. Second time about 3 months after the first time went threw a stop light started up a hill and the dash lights all flicker the radio powered off and the seat belt noise went off 2 or 3 times and the car locked up. I parked the car powered it off. Started it again it was fine. Last time it happened I was at a stop light making a right turn and again the steering locked up and I had to park my car and power it off on a main street where it's very busy. I started it again and it was fine this last time was on July 15, 2014. This car with all the recalls I feel is a death trap.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #34

Jul 212014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 137,200 miles
The power steering assist suddenly quit several times while driving; both at freeway speed and while exiting the freeway at about 15 mph. When the power steering fails the steering column would make a clicking sound, sometimes there would be a chime and the battery light indicator on the dash. Only one time the center console displayed "power steering." We narrowly avoided a crash while going around a curve in the freeway. The loss of power assist required exerting more force than normal to avoid colliding with the divider. When the power steering re-engaged without warning we swerved towards a truck in the adjacent lane. We took it to the nearest dealer who said it's a faulty ignition coil causing a short in the power steering. Cost quoted was $500 to fix in addition to $450 for the shifter cable that also went out.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #33

Jun 112012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 84,344 miles
The brake lights come on while driving without pressing brake pedal. When brake pedal is pressed, brake lights go off. First noticed this because cruise control would not set. Took it in for repairs at local dealership. They found the stoplamp switch to be faulty and replaced. Three days later, brake lights are on again without pressing brake pedal. Took it in again. This time they found a bulletin on problem and applied dielectric grease to the BCM connectors. Within a month, the problem occurred again intermittently, but did not take in. Since May 2014, brake lights are almost always on while driving even though brake pedal not pressed. Looked up similar problems on safercar.gov and found recall notice on vehicle. Called GM, gave them my VIN and GM recall number (13036) and they said that my vehicle was not included in the recall because they could not find any documented problems in my service history and I should go to local dealership to have electrical diagnostic test done. Went back to dealership and showed them printed copy of recall from safercar.gov and relayed conversation with GM. Dealership stated, after an afternoon with car, that recall number did not exist and they could not find any active recalls for my car. I asked about the service record and how come the 2012 services were not included, they said that it was only electrical and not really significant so they did not to document it. They also stated that because safercar.gov is not GM, they could not believe its reliability. After a long conversation, I asked if there was a recall on the Malibu in general, they said they did not know unless they had specific VIN. Dealership applied dielectric grease to BCM connectors. Frustrated at not getting answer, did own research and found recall numbers (103652, 103653, 103654) and a service bulletin (sb-08-05-22-009A) on the problem within 30 minutes.

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #32

May 242014

Malibu

  • 135,405 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While turning onto a freeway on-ramp the power steering failed entirely for several seconds and a clicking sound similar to when the turn signal comes on came from the steering column. After traveling about 100 meters, the power steering came back on causing us to over-correct and narrowly miss the barriers.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #31

Dec 112007

Malibu 4-cyl Diesel

  • 23,000 miles
Fuel gauge an fuel tank reader has not worked since we bought in 2007.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #30

Mar 032014

Malibu

  • 62,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that she would like to be reimbursed for work that was already done on her vehicle. Referred contact to Chevrolet manufacturer. Lnc

- Holliston, MA, USA

problem #29

Nov 132013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since purchasing my car in August 2013, I have had to make three fairly costly repairs. Each time the mechanic told me this was a "known problem" for Chevrolet. The first was the intake valve. I hadn't experienced problems but took the car in for what I thought was a squealing belt. The squealing turned out to be the water pump. Since that was secondary in importance to the intake valve, I had that replaced first. Followed by the water pump a couple of months later. Then about a month ago, I was out of town and my car suddenly would not shift into park or reverse. It was a worn and stretched shifter cable. However GM says my car is not part of the recall.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #28

May 282014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
My brake lights go on after about 7 seconds when I am driving and not touching the brakes. The brake lights go off when I apply the brakes and then go back on when I am stopped. This is very dangerous and when I entered my VIN it does not show up on the recall list. I also have the issues with power steering going out and have also had to replace the shift cable last fall when I could not put the car in park- it was ripped in half. Cruise control stopped working years ago. Power mirrors do not work. Check air bag reminder goes on randomly. This car is a piece of garbage and very unsafe.

- Ocean City, MD, USA

problem #27

May 152014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
The fuel sending devise keeps going bad and shows an empty tank then comes back on.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #26

Jan 182013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 14,096 miles
2007 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall. The consumer stated when he turned off the ignition, the vehicle continued to idle. The ignition switch and relay were replaced. The consumer stated the ignition switch, was replaced before the recall was announced. He believed the replacement switch was defective. Updated 10/28/14

- Spotswood, NJ, USA

problem #25

May 222013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 99,987 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering had gone out repeatedly at different times, both while driving and not. It would come back on at times and now for the last 5 months has been out completely and is a danger to drive. It is my only vehicle and I drive 3 children around regularly. It is nearly impossible for someone of my strength and size to drive. I fear it is a matter of time before we have an accident. I was absolutely amazed to see there was not a recall on my make and year but every other year Malibu. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 10/21/2014

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #24

Apr 252014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the horn failed to function and the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Richland Center, WI, USA

problem #23

Feb 012010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The contact stated that the steering wheel became hard to turn. The electronic power steering assist was previously replaced however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 89,000 and the current mileage was 149,000. Updated 05/19/14 the steering wheel positioning sensor needed to be replaced.

- Pelican Lake , WI, USA

problem #22

Feb 252014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I notice my wires smoke some times when I drive, and when I put my foot on the brakes I have to do it more than two times and I had that fixed in February 2013. My fuel pump went out and I replaced it( onfebruary 15, 2014). Just about a week after getting my car fixed it seems to hesitate when I put my foot on the accelerator. I took it to get it looked at and no one could find anything wrong and it is yet doing this.

- Littlerock, AR, USA

problem #21

Mar 032014

Malibu

  • 123,000 miles
My steering wheel pulsate whenever it feels like it. My steering wheel locks up while I am driving. I have to turn my car off and then turn it back on in order to have power steering. I have spent money for rotors resurfaced, alignment, and tie rods. I am worried about this situation causing an accident. I have taken it to dealer where I was informed there was nothing wrong. There are a ton of complaints.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #20

Dec 072013

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
Randomly losing power steering. Happened once briefly in August 2013. Took it for a diagnostic test immediately after this incident and was told nothing was wrong. Started happening on 12/7/13 and hasn't stopped. I had the car looked at by a mechanic on 12/10/13 who disassembled the steering column/dashboard, etc. And was told that nothing is wrong. On 12/16/13, it was taken to another mechanic, who test drove it and ran another diagnostic test and once again told me nothing is wrong and to pick up my car. Since then, I have been randomly losing the power almost daily to multiple times daily. I commute approx. 30 miles to and from work and have had to drive with no power steering at high rates of speed. To make it worse, the weather has been very bad the past week so I have been a nervous wreck not knowing when the power steering is going to go out. Within the past year, both my airbag and door ajar warnings have come on randomly when I have no door ajar. I wasn't as concerned since they are not an immediate danger. When I lose power steering the car does "ding" and "power steering" flashes on my audio system. If I am able to(not on the freeway)then I pull over, turn the car off and then back on. Sometimes this corrects the problem and sometimes it does not. Sometimes it will go awhile without this happening and sometimes it happens multiple times in a row. I am planning on taking it to a local dealership this weekend and hoping I don't get into an accident in the meantime. When I just spoke to the dealership the gentleman on the phone said that this is a common problem and he knows there are some recalls. From what I can see there are recalls on every year surrounding mine. This is extremely dangerous and something needs to be done. I hope the dealership is able to correct the problem and I don't end up spending hundreds of dollars and this is still going to happen.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
In 2012, I was having issues with the cruise control disengaging and refusing to re-engage. I noticed that the brake lights would be lit without the brakes being activated, as long as the vehicle was not in "park" (automatic transmission). The Chevrolet dealer applied dielectric grease to a connector in November 2012, and the problem went away. The problem reappeared this year (2013), including an instance when the brake lights did not light when the brakes were activated! the dealer charged me over $250 in parts and over $300 in labor to replace two parts. On my way to the dealer, I saw another Malibu with the same body design with the same problem. This is obviously a design, part, or manufacturing defect, and I should not have to pay to fix a faulty design, replace a faulty part, or due to poor manufacturing.

- Glyndon, MN, USA

problem #18

Jun 302011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 87,650 miles
The brake lights come on and do not shut off (this is an intermittent problem but has gradually worsened to the point where it is happening almost all of the time now). Also, the cruise control does not work and at times it is difficult shifting out of park. We have brought the car to two different Chevy dealerships twice each, and to a private mechanic twice (for a total of 6 service trips). Despite spending several hundred dollars, none of them have fixed the problem. Someone almost hit me from behind a couple weeks ago because my brake lights did not change - he followed me to a gas station and yelled at me! it is so bad now that we don't dare drive the car for safety reasons, and cannot sell it for the same reason. My girlfriend bought this car when it was brand new and it is not only unsafe and dangerous, but unbeleiveably frustrating that they just keep charging us more money but don't fix the problem.

- Stacy, MN, USA

problem #17

Nov 202013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Malibu and turning a corner when the power steering went out. Luckily I was in an area with no other vehicles at the time. I was able to get the vehicle home, when I started it again the power steering was working. This seems to be a common problem with this make and model from what I have read. The power steering goes out while driving and comes back on after restarting the car. The issue recurs without warning. It is very dangerous and could cause a serious accident. There should be a recall on the 2007 for this known issue.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to driver door lock malfunction caused by poor wire connection and consumer seeks reimbursement for repairs. The consumer stated while driving, the tire traction light illuminated and he was unable to turn it off, and then the check engine light illuminated. He was also unable to use the speed control setting, during that time. When he arrived home, he was unable to get out of the vehicle, because the driver door auto lock wouldn't operate properly. Two days later, when he put the vehicle into drive, the driver side door didn't lock automatically, but all the other locks worked properly. The dealer informed the consumer the harness came loose and it caused the wiring under the driver's seat to chaff and expose the wiring which then touched each other and caused the malfunction. He further advised that, as part of the repair, the harness and wiring were moved over from its original location so that the problem would never occur again.

- Audubon, NJ, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?