Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,750 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Mar 032014


  • 62,000 miles


TL- the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that she would like to be reimbursed for work that was already done on her vehicle. Referred contact to Chevrolet manufacturer. Lnc

- Holliston, MA, USA

problem #29

Nov 132013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Since purchasing my car in August 2013, I have had to make three fairly costly repairs. Each time the mechanic told me this was a "known problem" for Chevrolet. The first was the intake valve. I hadn't experienced problems but took the car in for what I thought was a squealing belt. The squealing turned out to be the water pump. Since that was secondary in importance to the intake valve, I had that replaced first. Followed by the water pump a couple of months later. Then about a month ago, I was out of town and my car suddenly would not shift into park or reverse. It was a worn and stretched shifter cable. However GM says my car is not part of the recall.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #28

May 282014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
My brake lights go on after about 7 seconds when I am driving and not touching the brakes. The brake lights go off when I apply the brakes and then go back on when I am stopped. This is very dangerous and when I entered my VIN it does not show up on the recall list. I also have the issues with power steering going out and have also had to replace the shift cable last fall when I could not put the car in park- it was ripped in half. Cruise control stopped working years ago. Power mirrors do not work. Check air bag reminder goes on randomly. This car is a piece of garbage and very unsafe.

- Ocean City, MD, USA

problem #27

May 152014


  • 75,000 miles


The fuel sending devise keeps going bad and shows an empty tank then comes back on.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #26

Jan 182013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 14,096 miles
2007 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall. The consumer stated when he turned off the ignition, the vehicle continued to idle. The ignition switch and relay were replaced. The consumer stated the ignition switch, was replaced before the recall was announced. He believed the replacement switch was defective. Updated 10/28/14

- Spotswood, NJ, USA

problem #25

May 222013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 99,987 miles
The power steering had gone out repeatedly at different times, both while driving and not. It would come back on at times and now for the last 5 months has been out completely and is a danger to drive. It is my only vehicle and I drive 3 children around regularly. It is nearly impossible for someone of my strength and size to drive. I fear it is a matter of time before we have an accident. I was absolutely amazed to see there was not a recall on my make and year but every other year Malibu. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 10/21/2014

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #24

Apr 252014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the horn failed to function and the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Richland Center, WI, USA

problem #23

Feb 012010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The contact stated that the steering wheel became hard to turn. The electronic power steering assist was previously replaced however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 89,000 and the current mileage was 149,000. Updated 05/19/14 the steering wheel positioning sensor needed to be replaced.

- Pelican Lake , WI, USA

problem #22

Feb 252014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I notice my wires smoke some times when I drive, and when I put my foot on the brakes I have to do it more than two times and I had that fixed in February 2013. My fuel pump went out and I replaced it( onfebruary 15, 2014). Just about a week after getting my car fixed it seems to hesitate when I put my foot on the accelerator. I took it to get it looked at and no one could find anything wrong and it is yet doing this.

- Littlerock, AR, USA

problem #21

Mar 032014


  • 123,000 miles
My steering wheel pulsate whenever it feels like it. My steering wheel locks up while I am driving. I have to turn my car off and then turn it back on in order to have power steering. I have spent money for rotors resurfaced, alignment, and tie rods. I am worried about this situation causing an accident. I have taken it to dealer where I was informed there was nothing wrong. There are a ton of complaints.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #20

Dec 072013


  • 98,000 miles


Randomly losing power steering. Happened once briefly in August 2013. Took it for a diagnostic test immediately after this incident and was told nothing was wrong. Started happening on 12/7/13 and hasn't stopped. I had the car looked at by a mechanic on 12/10/13 who disassembled the steering column/dashboard, etc. And was told that nothing is wrong. On 12/16/13, it was taken to another mechanic, who test drove it and ran another diagnostic test and once again told me nothing is wrong and to pick up my car. Since then, I have been randomly losing the power almost daily to multiple times daily. I commute approx. 30 miles to and from work and have had to drive with no power steering at high rates of speed. To make it worse, the weather has been very bad the past week so I have been a nervous wreck not knowing when the power steering is going to go out. Within the past year, both my airbag and door ajar warnings have come on randomly when I have no door ajar. I wasn't as concerned since they are not an immediate danger. When I lose power steering the car does "ding" and "power steering" flashes on my audio system. If I am able to(not on the freeway)then I pull over, turn the car off and then back on. Sometimes this corrects the problem and sometimes it does not. Sometimes it will go awhile without this happening and sometimes it happens multiple times in a row. I am planning on taking it to a local dealership this weekend and hoping I don't get into an accident in the meantime. When I just spoke to the dealership the gentleman on the phone said that this is a common problem and he knows there are some recalls. From what I can see there are recalls on every year surrounding mine. This is extremely dangerous and something needs to be done. I hope the dealership is able to correct the problem and I don't end up spending hundreds of dollars and this is still going to happen.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
In 2012, I was having issues with the cruise control disengaging and refusing to re-engage. I noticed that the brake lights would be lit without the brakes being activated, as long as the vehicle was not in "park" (automatic transmission). The Chevrolet dealer applied dielectric grease to a connector in November 2012, and the problem went away. The problem reappeared this year (2013), including an instance when the brake lights did not light when the brakes were activated! the dealer charged me over $250 in parts and over $300 in labor to replace two parts. On my way to the dealer, I saw another Malibu with the same body design with the same problem. This is obviously a design, part, or manufacturing defect, and I should not have to pay to fix a faulty design, replace a faulty part, or due to poor manufacturing.

- Glyndon, MN, USA

problem #18

Jun 302011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 87,650 miles
The brake lights come on and do not shut off (this is an intermittent problem but has gradually worsened to the point where it is happening almost all of the time now). Also, the cruise control does not work and at times it is difficult shifting out of park. We have brought the car to two different Chevy dealerships twice each, and to a private mechanic twice (for a total of 6 service trips). Despite spending several hundred dollars, none of them have fixed the problem. Someone almost hit me from behind a couple weeks ago because my brake lights did not change - he followed me to a gas station and yelled at me! it is so bad now that we don't dare drive the car for safety reasons, and cannot sell it for the same reason. My girlfriend bought this car when it was brand new and it is not only unsafe and dangerous, but unbeleiveably frustrating that they just keep charging us more money but don't fix the problem.

- Stacy, MN, USA

problem #17

Nov 202013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Malibu and turning a corner when the power steering went out. Luckily I was in an area with no other vehicles at the time. I was able to get the vehicle home, when I started it again the power steering was working. This seems to be a common problem with this make and model from what I have read. The power steering goes out while driving and comes back on after restarting the car. The issue recurs without warning. It is very dangerous and could cause a serious accident. There should be a recall on the 2007 for this known issue.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to driver door lock malfunction caused by poor wire connection and consumer seeks reimbursement for repairs. The consumer stated while driving, the tire traction light illuminated and he was unable to turn it off, and then the check engine light illuminated. He was also unable to use the speed control setting, during that time. When he arrived home, he was unable to get out of the vehicle, because the driver door auto lock wouldn't operate properly. Two days later, when he put the vehicle into drive, the driver side door didn't lock automatically, but all the other locks worked properly. The dealer informed the consumer the harness came loose and it caused the wiring under the driver's seat to chaff and expose the wiring which then touched each other and caused the malfunction. He further advised that, as part of the repair, the harness and wiring were moved over from its original location so that the problem would never occur again.

- Audubon, NJ, USA

problem #15

Sep 172013


  • 118,000 miles
I was getting ready to leave my house in my 2007 Chevy Malibu and when I went to turn my wheel to get out of my driveway I could not turn it. I pulled back in the driveway and tried again, same thing. We had a friend come over with a diagnostic and it was the electrical power steering. From reading all of the other numerous comments, I am surprised there is not a recall on this issue. Hoping GM does something about this.

- Lonsdale, MN, USA

problem #14

Jul 302013


  • miles
The buckle for the passenger side seat belt stop working on my 2007 Chevy Malibu, airbag light on for no reason, I lock the car come back all doors are unlocked.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #13

Jun 012013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The brake lights stay on while driving and turn off while applying the brakes. Cruise control does not always work. Car is hard to put in gear - you have apply brakes hard to put the car in gear.

- Colchester, CT, USA

problem #12

Apr 012012


  • 150,000 miles
On my 2007 Chevy Malibu, the cruise control will shut off by itself going down the road, the brake lights work backwards by step on brake they are off, foot off brake the lights are on. The steering wheel will lock up and have to shut car off and restart to get it to unlock and idling the car the steering wheel shakes and while driving down the road it shakes also. The part of the fuel pump that controls the gas gauge no longer works. I have taken to the dealer and they don't know of any recalls as of yet. But I have researched and have found this to be common problems, so why aren't there any recalls?

- Shelbyville, TN, USA

problem #11

Feb 112013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Malibu and am having problems with my brake lights. Currently my brake lights don't illuminate when I step on the brake pedal, but will illumnate when I take my foot off the brake pedal. Sometimes brake lights will stay on during my entire drive whether or not I'm using the brake pedal. Happens randomly, with no discernable causes. Article in fox news dated 3/13/2013 ( ) indicates NHTSA is actively researching possible recalls, but calls to my dealer and GM customer care we of no use. Both my dealer and GM customer care told me there were no active recalls, and that I just need to get the problem fixed myself and then I could request reimbursement at a future date if any recall did happen. It's disappointing that a company as large as GM wouldn't proactively help their customers when a known problem exists in a large number of vehicles. Also mentioned in this article were problems concerning the cruise control. My cruise control will randomly stop working, or not even allow me the option of using cruise. This is not as big of a safety concern as the brake light issue, but again, mention of this problem occuring is one more reason I believe GM should be more proactive in helping their customers deal with the specific issues and concerns already being address/investigated by the NHTSA.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?