Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Aug 012016

Malibu

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car was involved in a previous Chevrolet recall for the same problem about 2-3 years ago. The cruise control does not engage all the time when on interstate driving and works sporadically. Also the brake lights work in reverse where when you are driving at low and high speeds, the brake lights are on but when you apply the brake, the brake lights go off. Also, you have to apply the brakes hard to get the lights to come on. Just a slight tap on the brakes does not turn on the brake lights.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #23

Aug 132016

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The cruise control don't work the brake light's stay on and go off when you push the brake pedal.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #22

Jun 042016

Malibu

  • 115,000 miles
My car was recalled and fixed on 3/17/15 for the cruise control cutting out and the brake lights coming on. It was fine until a month ago and it started doing the same thing again. I took it to smith Chevrolet in gallipolis Ohio and they reset the computer, this did not help. Now they tell me they need to replace module 02560 part # 25861370 and sensor 04625 part # 13597430 at a cost of about $410. I fill they did a patch job last year and now want me to pay to fix it. If I pull the electrical system and plug it in and out a few times everything works fine for a couple of weeks. I have contacted Chevrolet and my reference # from them is 8-2180763999. James at phone #866-790-5700 ext 5913683 is trying to help me. I can't drive around with my brake lights on all the time, it is not safe. I got pulled over by a state trooper once last year before it was repaired.

- Gallipolis, OH, USA

problem #21

Sep 082013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 123,798 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently. The brake pedal was depressed, but failed to slow down the vehicle. The contacts son lost control of the vehicle and crashed through a steel gate and also into a tree. The driver air bag failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact sustained brain injuries, a lacerated liver, and loss of eyesight in the left eye. The contact required extensive medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 123,798. The vehicle was destroyed. Updated 06/23/16.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #20

May 152015

Malibu

  • 148,000 miles
Starting before May 2015 and lasting until 11/19/15, the yellow warning dashboard lights, gauges, and dic would occasionally go berserk while driving. The first time this happened, I was on an interstate around 8am in the morning in may of 2015. At the same time during these episodes, the shifting of the automatic transmission would be jerky. The lights would "settle down" after long enough, but some combination of lights always remained on at the end of the episodes, such as the traction control light, check engine light, security light, and ABS light. The car would seem to return to normal sometimes after being restarted. I had a Chevrolet dealership check it out in 5/15/2015 and they found nothing. Sometimes during these episodes, the power steering would also lose power. The problem returned and I had a mechanic check it out and he put in a new ignition switch 11/19/15. The car has not gone berserk since then, but the power steering does not always work reliably and the check engine light came on once, but went off. The coolant temperature gauge has failed to work twice since then too. The cruise control also temporarily stopped working.

- Wheatland, OK, USA

problem #19

May 252015

Malibu

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Locust Grove, OK, USA

problem #18

Jun 132015

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Saturday I was running errand and all of a sudden my engine check light came on, before I could get home the engine power reduced notice came on and my power was barely at a crawl until I made it home. The good thing is I was on surface streets. Had I been on the freeway this could have been catastrophic. I am extremely disappointed because I make certain my car has the necessary scheduled maintenance and I was just at maita Chevrolet in elk grove less than a month ago and they never once indicated a potential problem.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #17

May 012015

Malibu

  • 93,000 miles
Owner of a 2007 Chevy Malibu. Had to replace fuel pump out of own pocket yet recall has not been extended to my VIN#. also, while driving at a high rate of speed my power steering cuts out and the steering wheel is physically turns itself and locks the wheel throwing me into adjacent lanes and erratically moving my car on the road. This has been a safety recall on other 2007 Chevy Malibu with the identical part number that is also on my car but after contacting GM I have been told that this is normal wear and tear on a vehicle and that to their knowledge it is safe for me to operate my vehicle, even though I have already had to repair 2 other recalls out of my pocket, had 2 taken care of by GM, yet now have an additional 3 or more parts on my car that are under recall but not extended to my VIN# but already showing identical symptoms for failure for parts that have been recalled. I feel like my life is in danger driving a vehicle GM is telling me that is safe. Not to mention the depreciation of the vehicle due to these mechanical issues. I have had numerous other issues with this vehicle and GM does not care about my safety or my money. I feel robbed.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #16

Jul 152014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,439 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while making a left turn at a low speed, the vehicle accelerated independently. The brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to stop. As a result, the contact crashed into a building and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a scratch to the left arm that did not required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was inspected by a technician from the dealer. The contact was unsure about what needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,439. Updated 4/15/15

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #15

Jan 062015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Vehicles cruise control was engaged when reaching and hill the cruise control sped up and as soon as it did I lost engine power completely it was not until I was able to safety make it to the side of the interstate coasting that I realized the engine had cut off. I then parked the vehicle turned off all electrical components and turned the ignition to the off position; and attempted to restart to engine switch resulted in nothing but the engine light coming on and the lights of the vehicle coming on but no firing of the engine or even a click from the starter at this point I was glad a had all my blankets and thing in the vehicle because in North Dakota and Montana its cold. After a few failed attempts at turning the key and nothing happening waiting 5mins in between I began calling my insurance company 10 more mins pass by and I"M on hold I decide to try the car again in which it fired right up the check engine light remained illuminated for about 2 days after the incident now it has disappeared from my dash lights my car goes in for repair next week to get engine heater installed and recalls taken care of however I don"T see what would cause the listed above issue to occur under any listed recalls but I am also not vehicle savvy.

- Westport, KY, USA

problem #14

Aug 052014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #13

Jul 072014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The parts needed to repair the vehicle would not be available for months. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rockaway Park, NY, USA

problem #12

Jun 152014

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 70 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- West Memphis, AR, USA

problem #11

Jun 112012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 84,344 miles
The brake lights come on while driving without pressing brake pedal. When brake pedal is pressed, brake lights go off. First noticed this because cruise control would not set. Took it in for repairs at local dealership. They found the stoplamp switch to be faulty and replaced. Three days later, brake lights are on again without pressing brake pedal. Took it in again. This time they found a bulletin on problem and applied dielectric grease to the BCM connectors. Within a month, the problem occurred again intermittently, but did not take in. Since May 2014, brake lights are almost always on while driving even though brake pedal not pressed. Looked up similar problems on safercar.gov and found recall notice on vehicle. Called GM, gave them my VIN and GM recall number (13036) and they said that my vehicle was not included in the recall because they could not find any documented problems in my service history and I should go to local dealership to have electrical diagnostic test done. Went back to dealership and showed them printed copy of recall from safercar.gov and relayed conversation with GM. Dealership stated, after an afternoon with car, that recall number did not exist and they could not find any active recalls for my car. I asked about the service record and how come the 2012 services were not included, they said that it was only electrical and not really significant so they did not to document it. They also stated that because safercar.gov is not GM, they could not believe its reliability. After a long conversation, I asked if there was a recall on the Malibu in general, they said they did not know unless they had specific VIN. Dealership applied dielectric grease to BCM connectors. Frustrated at not getting answer, did own research and found recall numbers (103652, 103653, 103654) and a service bulletin (sb-08-05-22-009A) on the problem within 30 minutes.

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #10

Feb 032014

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the brake lights malfunctioned. The contact mentioned that the brake light illuminated when the brakes were not engaged and failed to illuminate when brake pedal was depressed. Also, the contact stated that the cruise control failed to work. The failure recurred over a period of four months. The vehicle was not taken in for a diagnostic testing. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) but did not confirmed if the vehicle was included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified of this defect. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Superior, WI, USA

problem #9

May 282014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
My brake lights go on after about 7 seconds when I am driving and not touching the brakes. The brake lights go off when I apply the brakes and then go back on when I am stopped. This is very dangerous and when I entered my VIN it does not show up on the recall list. I also have the issues with power steering going out and have also had to replace the shift cable last fall when I could not put the car in park- it was ripped in half. Cruise control stopped working years ago. Power mirrors do not work. Check air bag reminder goes on randomly. This car is a piece of garbage and very unsafe.

- Ocean City, MD, USA

problem #8

Oct 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
In 2012, I was having issues with the cruise control disengaging and refusing to re-engage. I noticed that the brake lights would be lit without the brakes being activated, as long as the vehicle was not in "park" (automatic transmission). The Chevrolet dealer applied dielectric grease to a connector in November 2012, and the problem went away. The problem reappeared this year (2013), including an instance when the brake lights did not light when the brakes were activated! the dealer charged me over $250 in parts and over $300 in labor to replace two parts. On my way to the dealer, I saw another Malibu with the same body design with the same problem. This is obviously a design, part, or manufacturing defect, and I should not have to pay to fix a faulty design, replace a faulty part, or due to poor manufacturing.

- Glyndon, MN, USA

problem #7

Jun 302011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 87,650 miles
The brake lights come on and do not shut off (this is an intermittent problem but has gradually worsened to the point where it is happening almost all of the time now). Also, the cruise control does not work and at times it is difficult shifting out of park. We have brought the car to two different Chevy dealerships twice each, and to a private mechanic twice (for a total of 6 service trips). Despite spending several hundred dollars, none of them have fixed the problem. Someone almost hit me from behind a couple weeks ago because my brake lights did not change - he followed me to a gas station and yelled at me! it is so bad now that we don't dare drive the car for safety reasons, and cannot sell it for the same reason. My girlfriend bought this car when it was brand new and it is not only unsafe and dangerous, but unbeleiveably frustrating that they just keep charging us more money but don't fix the problem.

- Stacy, MN, USA

problem #6

Oct 162012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the cruise control was activated at 50 mph. The cruise control then became inoperable as the brake lights independently illuminated without the brakes being depressed. The failure recurred at any speed being driven by the contact. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 12/20/13

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 012013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The brake lights stay on while driving and turn off while applying the brakes. Cruise control does not always work. Car is hard to put in gear - you have apply brakes hard to put the car in gear.

- Colchester, CT, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?